DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1 – 22 in application 17/538,351.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16 and 21 are amended.
Claims 1-22 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/06/2026 are partially persuasive. The prior art reference “Lim” has been replaced to teach the limitations presented in the arguments. Please see the updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquires set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1066), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows:
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Rutherford (US20080154770A1), in view of Rapanen (US20150363766A1), in further view of Bishop et al. (US20090140839A1).
Regarding Claim 1. Rutherford teaches:
receiving, at a financial institution system of a financial institution from a third-party website, a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user will be received at the financial institution system within a predetermined time period of receipt of the notification, wherein the notification includes a verification identifier of the user that was input during a transaction session with the third-party website, wherein the predetermined time period is established by the third-party website; [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204, Rutherford)].
causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, wherein the prompt presented includes a request for confirmation of a pending transaction […] [The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation. The issuing bank will then populate an authentication window to the cardholder detailing information related to the transaction such as Merchant name and amount, a personal security message, and a response area where authentication details can be entered by the cardholder (¶ 0007, Rutherford).
identifying, by the financial institution system based on the notification received from the third-party website, the pending transaction as a transaction involving the user that is pending; [The ARS (Authentication Request Server) receives transaction information from the requesting party (¶ 0012, Rutherford). The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford).
Rutherford does not teach:
[…] via a near-field communication interaction between the mobile device and a contactless card associated with the financial institution;
receiving, from the mobile device in response to a near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the presented prompt presented, via a link generated by the contactless card and directed to an authentication web address, a financial transaction authentication request including […] at the authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card;
decrypting the encrypted authentication payload;
obtaining […] from the decrypted authentication payload from the encrypted authentication payload as decrypted, wherein one of the […] is an application transaction counter;
[…] an encrypted authentication payload […]
[…] multiple parameters […]
authenticating, by using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters, the user as a holder of the contactless card; and
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the website.
Rapanen teaches:
[…] via a near-field communication interaction between the mobile device and a contactless card associated with the financial institution; [According to a third aspect, a system for performing at least partly a transaction is provided wherein the transaction is initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction. The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen).
receiving, from the mobile device in response to the near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the prompt presented, via a link generated by the contactless card and directed to an authentication web address, a financial transaction authentication request including decrypting the encrypted authentication payload; [at the authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card; [According to a third aspect, a system for performing at least partly a transaction is provided wherein the transaction is initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction. The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen). The NFC reader 120 is configured to deliver the retrieved identifier to the backbone system 125…request message arranged to be delivered to the server 125 (¶ 0028). According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
obtaining multiple parameters from the encrypted authentication payload as decrypted, wherein one of the multiple parameters is an application transaction counter; [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen because doing so allows the confirmation of a transaction.
The combination of Rutherford and Rapanen does not teach:
authenticating, by using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters, the user as a holder of the contactless card; and
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the third-party website.
The combination of Rutherford and Rapanen does not teach:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the third-party website.
Bishop teaches:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the third-party website. [It should be noted that completion of a transaction may be performed under any business as usual standard employed by the merchant and/or issuer system 230. For example, merchant server 222 may be configured to communicate transaction data to the appropriate issuer system 230, in real-time or substantially real-time, or by using batch processing at the end of each day. Any suitable means for delivering the transaction data to issuer systems 230 may be used. In one exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the transaction data may be delivered to issuer system 230 via a network 260. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction information and process the transaction under issuer defined protocol independent of any other protocol used by other issuers to process a transaction. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction data and provide the merchant with the appropriate satisfaction for the transaction (Paragraph 0149, Bishop)].
authenticating, by using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters, the user as a holder of the contactless card; and [In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured with an RF protocol, such as a protocol in ISO 14443 format or according to Near Field Communication (NFC) formats. In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured to directly communicate with an acquirer/issuer or payment processor to complete payment. For example, the non-traditional device may be a cellular telephone that communicates directly to an acquirer/issuer or payment processor. A typical cellular telephone is already equipped with a microphone, a processor to process authentication using a voice print, and a communication line connecting the cellular telephone directly to an acquirer/issuer. In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured to facilitate transactions using a random number, an authentication tag, a counter, or an encrypted payload. In yet another embodiment, the non-traditional device may not be an RF operable device and may facilitate a payment transaction through voice verification and direct communication between a merchant point of sale device and a voice verification system (Paragraph 0007, Bishop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 2. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: after expiration of the predetermined time period, receiving a hyperlink corresponding to the transaction session which was deactivated by the third-party website after the expiration of the predetermined time period; maintaining, temporarily, the hyperlink in a data storage in association with information related to the user; and in response to a further notification from the third-party website regarding the user, using the hyperlink to reactivate the transaction session at the third-party website. [if a positive response to the request is not received within a timeout period, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further if at step 225, if a positive response to the request is received within a timeout period, the process may successively progress to steps 226 and 227 respectively for confirming whether a signature validation was obtained and whether the cardholder authentication process was successfully completed (by the ACS). If either of these steps is unsuccessful, the MPI may revert to step 2210 where the merchant may re prompt the cardholder for payment information. If both these steps indicate successful cardholder authentication process completion, at step 228 the MPI receives the authentication result, which may be positive or negative and have various reason codes (¶ 0205, Rutherford)].
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
populating a message with instructions executable by the mobile device that causes the mobile device to initiate a near-field communication read of the contactless card and with a hyperlink to the authentication web address of the financial institution; and [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204, Rutherford)].
forwarding the message to the mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, wherein the message may be formatted as a short message service message, a multimedia messaging service message, or as a financial institution in-application notification. [Furthermore, the NFC reader 120 is coupled to a backbone system 125 and thus arranged to communicate with a server 130 through the backbone system 125. The backbone system may be, but is not limited to, a payment system comprising a server and necessary data storage as well as cash register devices 127. The backbone system, i.e. the payment system, is configured to be used when a transaction between the buyer and seller is done, wherein the initiation of payment is performed through the NFC technology with the user terminal 110. The backbone system may exchange of information with the server 130. The backbone system may either deliver pieces of information relating to a transaction in separate messages to the server 130 or combine multiple pieces of information and deliver those in one message to the server 130 (Paragraph 0025, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the encrypted payload and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 4. The combination of Lim, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
wherein causing the prompt to presented, further comprises: forwarding a message to the mobile device to present the prompt, and initiating a background read of the contactless card by a near-field communication device of the mobile device. [Next the method according to an example of the invention is described by referring to FIG. 2. The method according to the invention is initiated with an NFC interaction of a user terminal 110 equipped with a SIM card comprising a secure element and a NFC reader 120. At least one identifier is stored with the secure element of the SIM card, which identifier may be used in a transaction. More specifically, the identifier stored in the secure element of the SIM card is retrieved during the NCF interaction of the user terminal 110 and the NFC reader. The retrieval of the identifier may be arranged so that it is automatically transferred during the interaction by pushing it to the NFC reader by the user terminal 110 or the NFC reader 120 may be configured to deliver an identifier request message to the user terminal 110, which, in response to a receipt of the request, is configured to retrieve the requested identifier from the secure element of the SIM. In some implementation of the invention the user terminal may comprise a software application installed and executed by a processor of the user terminal. The application may be configured to monitor any information exchange during the NFC interaction and to control an access to the secure element of the SIM card. In some further implementation the application may be arranged to prompt an acceptance from the user if the secure element is to be accessed and in that manner some information, such as the identifier, is retrieved from the secure element of the SIM (Paragraph 0027, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 5. The combination of Lim, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
applying a decryption algorithm to the encrypted authentication payload to obtain the multiple parameters from the encrypted authentication payload usable to authenticate the user. [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Lim with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 6. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above. The combination further teaches:
applying a decryption algorithm to the encrypted authentication payload to obtain the multiple parameters from the authentication payload usable to authenticate the user. [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 7. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
using one or more of the multiple parameters that include a version number, a unique identifier of the user, an application transaction counter, a one-time password, or a cryptogram usable to validate message integrity, confirm that information related to the user provided by the third-party website is substantially identical to information of the user maintained by the financial institution system. [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 8.
receive, at a financial institution system from a third-party website, a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user will be received at the financial institution system within a predetermined time period of receipt of the notification, wherein the notification includes a verification identifier of the user that was input during a transaction session with the third-party website, wherein the predetermined time period is established by the third-party website; [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204)].
cause a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, wherein the presented prompt includes a request for confirmation of a pending transaction […] [The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation. The issuing bank will then populate an authentication window to the cardholder detailing information related to the transaction such as Merchant name and amount, a personal security message, and a response area where authentication details can be entered by the cardholder (¶ 0007, Rutherford)].
Rutherford does not teach:
via a near-field communication interaction between the mobile device and with a contactless card associated with the financial institution;
receive, in response to a near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the presented prompt, a financial transaction authentication request including […] at an authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card;
decrypting the encrypted authentication payload;
obtaining […] from the decrypted authentication payload;
Rapanen teaches:
via a near-field communication interaction between the mobile device and with a contactless card associated with the financial institution; [A method for performing a transaction initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction between a user terminal including a subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal and a NFC reader. In the method a request including an amount of the transaction and an identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal is delivered and a payment card number corresponding to the identifier is obtained. Finally, a transaction request is initiated towards a transaction management system and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system an acknowledgement on successful transaction is delivered, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system the transaction request, canceling the transaction (Abstract, Rapanen)].
receive, in response to a near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the presented prompt, a financial transaction authentication request including […] at an authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card; [According to a third aspect, a system for performing at least partly a transaction is provided wherein the transaction is initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction. The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen)].
decrypting the encrypted authentication payload; [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
obtaining multiple parameters from the decrypted authentication payload; [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen because doing so allows the confirmation of a transaction.
The combination of Rutherford and Rapanen does not teach:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the website.
authenticate, the user as a holder of the contactless card using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters; and
Bishop teaches:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the website. [It should be noted that completion of a transaction may be performed under any business as usual standard employed by the merchant and/or issuer system 230. For example, merchant server 222 may be configured to communicate transaction data to the appropriate issuer system 230, in real-time or substantially real-time, or by using batch processing at the end of each day. Any suitable means for delivering the transaction data to issuer systems 230 may be used. In one exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the transaction data may be delivered to issuer system 230 via a network 260. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction information and process the transaction under issuer defined protocol independent of any other protocol used by other issuers to process a transaction. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction data and provide the merchant with the appropriate satisfaction for the transaction (Paragraph 0149, Bishop)].
authenticate, the user as a holder of the contactless card using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters; and [In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured with an RF protocol, such as a protocol in ISO 14443 format or according to Near Field Communication (NFC) formats. In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured to directly communicate with an acquirer/issuer or payment processor to complete payment. For example, the non-traditional device may be a cellular telephone that communicates directly to an acquirer/issuer or payment processor. A typical cellular telephone is already equipped with a microphone, a processor to process authentication using a voice print, and a communication line connecting the cellular telephone directly to an acquirer/issuer. In another embodiment, the non-traditional device may be configured to facilitate transactions using a random number, an authentication tag, a counter, or an encrypted payload. In yet another embodiment, the non-traditional device may not be an RF operable device and may facilitate a payment transaction through voice verification and direct communication between a merchant point of sale device and a voice verification system (Paragraph 0007, Bishop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: after expiration of the predetermined time period, receive a hyperlink corresponding to the transaction session which was deactivated by the website after the expiration of the predetermined time period; maintain, temporarily, the hyperlink in a data storage in association with information related to the user; and in response to a further notification from the website regarding the user, use the hyperlink to reactivate the transaction session at the website. [If the consumer taps the proximity device that he or she wishes to add to the mobile wallet onto the proximity reader within the allotted time (i.e., before 20 seconds expires), then in some embodiments an indication is provided, such as an audible sound (beep) from the speaker of the consumer's device, that a good read has occurred. The consumer is then presented with the webpage 650 shown in FIG. 6C. In this example, as shown by the webpage 650, information has been automatically populated or filled in, based on the data read by the proximity reader and transmitted by the consumer device to the wallet server, for the data entry fields including the name on card field 604, card number field 606 and the expiration date fields 608. In some embodiments, the card data including the security code will be provided by the device authentication server upon proximity device authentication, and will be pre-populated in an un-editable manner and/or in a suppressed or inactive manner. In addition, in some implementations the card nickname field 602, billing address field 612, and residence address fields 614 must be manually filled in by the consumer. However, in other embodiments, these fields would also be automatically filled in based on information previously supplied by the consumer, or based on card account data read from the proximity payment card that is to be added to the mobile wallet (Paragraph 0039, Rutherford)].
Regarding Claim 10. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein when generating the prompt for presentation on the mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, the instructions further cause the processor to: populate a message with instructions executable by the mobile device that causes the mobile device to initiate a near-field communication read of the contactless card and with a hyperlink to the authentication web address of the financial institution system; and forward the message to the mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, wherein the message may be formatted as a short message service message, a multimedia messaging service message, or as a financial institution in-application notification. [if a positive response to the request is not received within a timeout period, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further if at step 225, if a positive response to the request is received within a timeout period, the process may successively progress to steps 226 and 227 respectively for confirming whether a signature validation was obtained and whether the cardholder authentication process was successfully completed (by the ACS). If either of these steps is unsuccessful, the MPI may revert to step 2210 where the merchant may re prompt the cardholder for payment information. If both these steps indicate successful cardholder authentication process completion, at step 228 the MPI receives the authentication result, which may be positive or negative and have various reason codes (¶ 0205, Rutherford))].
Regarding Claim 11. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: forward instructions to the mobile device operable to initiate a background read of the contactless card by a near-field communication device of the mobile device. [Furthermore, the NFC reader 120 is coupled to a backbone system 125 and thus arranged to communicate with a server 130 through the backbone system 125. The backbone system may be, but is not limited to, a payment system comprising a server and necessary data storage as well as cash register devices 127. The backbone system, i.e. the payment system, is configured to be used when a transaction between the buyer and seller is done, wherein the initiation of payment is performed through the NFC technology with the user terminal 110. The backbone system may exchange of information with the server 130. The backbone system may either deliver pieces of information relating to a transaction in separate messages to the server 130 or combine multiple pieces of information and deliver those in one message to the server 130 (Paragraph 0025, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 12. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein when decrypting the encrypted authentication payload, the instructions further cause the processor to: apply a decryption algorithm to the encrypted authentication payload to obtain the multiple parameters from the encrypted authentication payload usable to authenticate the user. [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 13. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 12 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein when decrypting the encrypted authentication payload, the instructions further cause the processor to: obtain a version number, a unique identifier of the user, a one-time password, or a cryptogram usable to validate message integrity as the other ones of the multiple parameters in the encrypted authentication payload. [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 14. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 above. The combination further teaches:
The computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein when authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, the instructions further cause the processor to: confirm, by using the application transaction counter to authenticate the other ones of the multiple parameters that include a version number, a unique identifier of the user, a one-time password, or a cryptogram usable to validate message integrity, that information related to the user provided by the website is substantially identical to information of the user maintained by the financial institution system. [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 15.
receive a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user will be received within a predetermined time period of receipt of the notification, wherein the notification includes a verification identifier of the user that was input during a transaction session with a third-party website for a pending transaction, wherein the predetermined time period is established by the third-party website; [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204, Rutherford)].
Rutherford does not teach:
generate for presentation on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, a prompt that includes a request for confirmation of a pending transaction via a near-field communication interaction between the mobile device and with a contactless card associated with a financial institution system;
receive, in response to a near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the presented prompt, a financial transaction authentication request including […] at an authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card;
decrypting the encrypted authentication payload;
obtaining […] from the decrypted authentication payload as decrypted, wherein one of the multiple parameters is an application transaction counter;
Rapanen teaches:
generate for presentation on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, a prompt that includes a request for confirmation of a pending transaction via a near-field communication interaction between a mobile device and with a contactless card associated with a financial institution system; [A method for performing a transaction initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction between a user terminal including a subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal and a NFC reader. In the method a request including an amount of the transaction and an identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal is delivered and a payment card number corresponding to the identifier is obtained. Finally, a transaction request is initiated towards a transaction management system and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system an acknowledgement on successful transaction is delivered, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system the transaction request, canceling the transaction (Abstract, Rapanen)].
receive, in response to the near-field communication interaction responsive to presentation of the prompt presented, a financial transaction authentication request including […] at an authentication web address of the financial institution system as the confirmation of the pending transaction, wherein a portion of the encrypted authentication payload is maintained on the contactless card; [According to a third aspect, a system for performing at least partly a transaction is provided wherein the transaction is initiated with near field communication, NFC, interaction. The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen)].
decrypt the encrypted authentication payload; [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
obtaining multiple parameters from the encrypted authentication payload as decrypted, wherein one of the multiple parameters is an application transaction counter; [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen because doing so allows the confirmation of a transaction.
The combination of Rutherford and Rapanen does not teach:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the website.
authenticate, the user as a holder of the contactless card using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters; and
Bishop teaches:
in response to authenticating the user as the holder of the contactless card, enabling completion of the pending transaction by sending user identifying information to the website. [It should be noted that completion of a transaction may be performed under any business as usual standard employed by the merchant and/or issuer system 230. For example, merchant server 222 may be configured to communicate transaction data to the appropriate issuer system 230, in real-time or substantially real-time, or by using batch processing at the end of each day. Any suitable means for delivering the transaction data to issuer systems 230 may be used. In one exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the transaction data may be delivered to issuer system 230 via a network 260. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction information and process the transaction under issuer defined protocol independent of any other protocol used by other issuers to process a transaction. Issuer system 230 may receive the transaction data and provide the merchant with the appropriate satisfaction for the transaction (Paragraph 0149, Bishop)].
authenticate, the user as a holder of the contactless card using the application transaction counter to authenticate other ones of the multiple parameters; and [if a positive response to the request is not received within a timeout period, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further if at step 225, if a positive response to the request is received within a timeout period, the process may successively progress to steps 226 and 227 respectively for confirming whether a signature validation was obtained and whether the cardholder authentication process was successfully completed (by the ACS). If either of these steps is unsuccessful, the MPI may revert to step 2210 where the merchant may re prompt the cardholder for payment information. If both these steps indicate successful cardholder authentication process completion, at step 228 the MPI receives the authentication result, which may be positive or negative and have various reason codes (¶ 0205, Rutherford)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 16. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above. The combination further teaches:
The computing apparatus of claim 15, wherein the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to: after expiration of the predetermined time period, receive a hyperlink corresponding to the transaction session which was deactivated by the website after the expiration of the predetermined time period; maintain, temporarily, the hyperlink in a data storage in association with information related to the user; and in response to a further notification from the website regarding the user, using the hyperlink to reactivating the transaction session at the website. [if a positive response to the request is not received within a timeout period, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further if at step 225, if a positive response to the request is received within a timeout period, the process may successively progress to steps 226 and 227 respectively for confirming whether a signature validation was obtained and whether the cardholder authentication process was successfully completed (by the ACS). If either of these steps is unsuccessful, the MPI may revert to step 2210 where the merchant may re prompt the cardholder for payment information. If both these steps indicate successful cardholder authentication process completion, at step 228 the MPI receives the authentication result, which may be positive or negative and have various reason codes (¶ 0205, Rutherford)].
Regarding Claim 17. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above. The combination further teaches:
wherein when generating the prompt for presentation on the mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to: the computing apparatus of claim 15: populate a message with instructions executable by the mobile device that causes the mobile device to initiate a near-field communication read of the contactless card and with a hyperlink to the authentication web address of the financial institution; and forward the message to the mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user, wherein the message may be formatted as a short message service message, a multimedia messaging service message, or as a financial institution in-application notification. [[if a positive response to the request is not received within a timeout period, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further if at step 225, if a positive response to the request is received within a timeout period, the process may successively progress to steps 226 and 227 respectively for confirming whether a signature validation was obtained and whether the cardholder authentication process was successfully completed (by the ACS). If either of these steps is unsuccessful, the MPI may revert to step 2210 where the merchant may re prompt the cardholder for payment information. If both these steps indicate successful cardholder authentication process completion, at step 228 the MPI receives the authentication result, which may be positive or negative and have various reason codes (¶ 0205, Rutherford))].
Regarding Claim 18. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above. The combination further teaches:
The computing apparatus of claim 15, wherein the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to: forward instructions to the mobile device to initiate a background read of the contactless card by a near-field communication device of the mobile device. [Furthermore, the NFC reader 120 is coupled to a backbone system 125 and thus arranged to communicate with a server 130 through the backbone system 125. The backbone system may be, but is not limited to, a payment system comprising a server and necessary data storage as well as cash register devices 127. The backbone system, i.e. the payment system, is configured to be used when a transaction between the buyer and seller is done, wherein the initiation of payment is performed through the NFC technology with the user terminal 110. The backbone system may exchange of information with the server 130. The backbone system may either deliver pieces of information relating to a transaction in separate messages to the server 130 or combine multiple pieces of information and deliver those in one message to the server 130 (Paragraph 0025, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 19. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above. The combination further teaches:
The computing apparatus of claim 15, wherein when decrypting the encrypted authentication payload, the instructions further configure the computing apparatus to: apply a decryption algorithm to the encrypted authentication payload to obtain the multiple parameters from the encrypted authentication payload usable to authenticate the user. [According to an example of the invention the received identifier from the secure element through the interaction is encrypted. In such a case the server 130 is configured to conclude, e.g. on a basis of format of a request 210 or content of the request 210, that the request comprises an encrypted identifier for a transaction. In response to this the server 130 is configured to decrypt the identifier with a pre-agreed decryption method and thus, on the basis of decrypted identifier information, to retrieve the corresponding payment card number. The described example of the invention increases a security within the system as typically all transaction related information shall be maintained as secret as possible (Paragraph 0032, Rapanen)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 20. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 19 above. The combination further teaches:
The computing apparatus of claim 19, wherein the other ones of the multiple parameters in the encrypted authentication payload include a version number, a unique identifier of the user a one-time password, or a cryptogram usable to validate message integrity. [A piece of software called the Merchant Plug In (MPI) is used by participating merchants to exchange messages, pass information and query participants in order to establish an authentication session between the cardholder and their card issuer during an online purchase (¶ 0006, Rutherford). Customers fill in payment data at Merchant web sites in the usual fashion…The Merchant then sends a message to the issuing bank, through the cardholder device, to initiate and authentication session between the cardholder and the card issuer in which transaction details such as Merchant name and transaction amount may also be presented to the cardholder for confirmation (¶ 0007, Rutherford). Cardholder—The cardholder initiates the transaction and is responsible for entering data into both the merchant's payment web pages (¶ 0078, Rutherford). At step 224, if a positive verification result is not received within a predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2270 to submit an unauthenticated authorization request. Further at step 224, if a positive verification result is received within the predetermined wait time, the MPI may proceed to step 2250 to generate a message to the issuer to requesting cardholder authentication (¶ 0204)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 21. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the link generated by the contactless card includes a uniform resource locator (URL) directed to an authentication web address. The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen). The NFC reader 120 is configured to deliver the retrieved identifier to the backbone system 125…request message arranged to be delivered to the server 125 (¶ 0028)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Regarding Claim 22. The combination of Rutherford, Rapanen, and Bishop teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above. The combination further teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein the URL generated by the contactless card comprises the encrypted authentication payload. [The system comprises a NFC reader configured to interact with a secure element of a subscriber identity module residing in a user terminal in order to obtain an identifier stored in the secure element; a transaction management system for confirming the transaction; and a server communicatively coupled to the NFC reader and to the transaction management system wherein the server is configured to receive a request for the transaction from the NFC reader, the request comprising an amount of the transaction and the identifier obtained from a secure element of the subscriber identity module residing in the user terminal in through the interaction between the user terminal and the NFC reader; obtain a payment card number corresponding to the identifier within the request by initiating a query to data storage accessible to the server, the data storage storing information on at least one identifier and at least one payment card number corresponding to the identifier; initiate a transaction request towards a transaction management system managing transactions with the payment card in question, the transaction request comprising the amount of the transaction and the payment card number; and in response to a successful acknowledgment from the transaction management system to the transaction request, deliver an acknowledgement on successful transaction, and in response to an unsuccessful acknowledgement from the transaction management system to the transaction request, cancel the transaction (Paragraph 0017, Rapanen). The NFC reader 120 is configured to deliver the retrieved identifier to the backbone system 125…request message arranged to be delivered to the server 125 (¶ 0028)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the receiving of a notification that a financial transaction authentication request from a user and the time period of Rutherford with the causing a prompt to be presented on a mobile device corresponding to the verification identifier of the user of Rapanen and the completion of the transaction of Bishop because doing so allows the authentication of the user as the holder of the contactless card and the completion of the pending transaction to be completed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Das et al. (US20100146263A1)
The invention relates to a method of authentication for a provider comprising requesting a verification system for authentication of a transaction initiated by a user by transmitting to the verification system details of the transaction initiated; requesting the user to authenticate the transaction on a mobile device by transmitting to the user mobile device details of the transaction; validating the authentication request received from the verification system on the mobile device and prompting the user to enter a personal identification number, displaying to the user transaction details on receiving a valid personal identification number and requesting user to authenticate transaction; generating on receiving user authentication an authentication parameter for transmission to the verification system; and authenticating the transaction to the provider on receiving a valid authentication parameter from user mobile device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698