DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 5/26/26. Claims 28-45 are pending. Claims 28-45 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-30, 33-35, and 37-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2004/0019972 to Schecter et al. (“Schecter”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0284924 to Pratt et al. (“Pratt”).
Claim 28. A pillow (Schecter, Fig. 1, #20) comprising: one or more inserts (Schecter, Fig. 5, #76); and a pillow cover (Schecter, Fig. 1, #22) comprising a top layer having one or more top edges that define a perimeter of the top layer (Schecter, Fig. 1), a bottom layer having one or more bottom edges that define a perimeter of the bottom layer (Schecter, Fig. 1, #20) and one or more gussets (Schecter, Fig. 1, #34, 44, 48) that are connected between the one or more top edges and the one or more bottom edges such that the top layer, the bottom layer and the one or more gussets define an interior space of the pillow cover (Schecter, Fig. 5); wherein the pillow cover further comprises an opening (Schecter, Fig. 1, #40) formed through a first gusset of the one or more gussets, the opening having a first end and a second end and being configured to enable the one or more inserts to be selectively inserted into and removed from the interior space (Schecter, paragraph [0011]); wherein the pillow cover further comprises a fastener having a top fastener section and a bottom fastener section, wherein first ends of the top and bottom fastener sections are positioned at a first end of the opening in the first gusset and the top and bottom fastener sections extend from the opening and extend away from the opening in different directions along the one or more top edges and the one or more bottom edges, respectively, without forming a continuous path around the entire perimeter of the pillow cover (Schecter does not disclose a fastener that is configured in the claimed manner; however Pratt teaches an expandible pillow with a zipper that is configured as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1, compare to Applicant’s Fig. 10; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pillow of Schecter with the zipper of Pratt in order to have a means to expand or contract the pillow and thereby change its size and its amount of firmness). that a set of second ends of the top and bottom fastener sections are positioned towards the second end separate from one another and extend along different ones of the one or more top edges and the one or more bottom edges, respectively, as distinct sections that do not form a continuous path around the perimeter of the pillow cover (see Pratt Fig. 1, compare to Applicant’s Fig. 10)
Claim 29. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the fastener is a zipper (Pratt discloses the use of a zipper; see at least the Abstract).
Claim 30. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the top and bottom layers each have a rectangular shape (the pillow disclosed by Schecter is rectangular, as is the pillow of Pratt) such that the one or more top edges are four top edges, the one or more bottom edges are four bottom edges, and the one or more gussets are four gussets (the pillow of Schecter has a continuous gusset; see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0033]).
Claim 33. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the pillow case further comprises a top flap that extends along the one or more top edges and a bottom flap that extends along the one or more bottom edges (see flaps in Schecter Fig. 1, and in detail drawings Figs. 1A and 1B).
Claim 34. The pillow of claim 33, wherein the top and bottom fastener sections diverge to extend along the top and bottom flaps respectively (in the proposed combination of the apparatus of Schecter with the perimeter zipper of Pratt, the zippers would be located on the upper and lower edges of the pillow, above and below the gusset as seen in Pratt Fig. 1).
Claim 35. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the second ends of the fastener encloses the first end of the fastener when the fastener is fully closed (see Pratt Figs. 1-2, end of zipper at #54 in Fig. 1 is located within closed zipper in Fig. 2).
Claim 37. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the first ends of the top and bottom fastener sections are positioned in a central region of the first gusset (see Pratt Fig. 1, end of zipper at #54 in Fig. 1 is “positioned in a central region of the first gusset”).
Claim 38. A pillow (Schecter, Fig. 1, #20) comprising: one or more inserts (Schecter, Fig. 5, #76); and a pillow cover (Schecter, Fig. 1, #22) comprising a top layer having one or more top edges that define a perimeter of the top layer (Schecter, Fig. 1), a bottom layer having one or more bottom edges that define a perimeter of the bottom layer (Schecter, Fig. 1, #20) and one or more gussets (Schecter, Fig. 1, #34, 44, 48) that are connected between the one or more top edges and the one or more bottom edges such that the top layer, the bottom layer and the one or more gussets define an interior space of the pillow cover (Schecter, Fig. 5); wherein the pillow cover further comprises an opening (Schecter, Fig. 1, #40) formed through a first gusset of the one or more gussets, the opening being configured to enable the one or more inserts to be selectively inserted into and removed from the interior space (Schecter, paragraph [0011]); wherein the pillow cover further comprises a fastener assembly having a top fastener section and a bottom fastener section, wherein first ends of the top and bottom fastener sections are positioned at a first end of the opening in the first gusset and the top and bottom fastener sections extend fully around a perimeter of the pillow cover and then beyond the first ends of the top and bottom fastener sections such that second ends of the top and bottom fastener sections extend past the first end of the opening and overlap a portion of the perimeter adjacent the opening (Schecter does not disclose a fastener that is configured in the claimed manner; however Pratt teaches an expandible pillow with a zipper that is configured as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pillow of Schecter with the zipper of Pratt in order to have a means to expand or contract the pillow and thereby change its size and its amount of firmness)
Claim 39. The pillow of claim 38, wherein the fastener assembly comprises one or more zippers extending continuously around the perimeter of the pillow cover (Pratt Fig. 1, zippers #50 and 52 extend around the perimeter of the pillow cover; also see Abstract).
Claim 40. The pillow of claim 38, wherein the gusset panels are flexible fabric members configured to expand or collapse in response to operation of the fastener assembly (Schecter paragraph [0027] discusses material choices, including the use of fabric).
Claim 41. The pillow of claim 38, wherein the fastener assembly is configured such that adjustment of the fastener between intermediate open and closed positions corresponds to intermediate loft levels of the pillow (see Pratt paragraph [0012] teaches zipping a wedge shaped configuration in which the zipper is closed around only half of the pillow; it is inherent that in this configuration the amount of loft is intermediate between the two states shown in Pratt Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Claim 42. The pillow of claim 38, wherein the top and bottom fastener sections diverge adjacent to the opening in the first gusset panel to form respective closure edges for the opening (see diverging zippers in Pratt Fig. 1, at #50 and #52).
Claim 44. The pillow of claim 1, wherein the fastener assembly comprises a zipper including opposed rows of interlocking teeth forming the first and second fastener sections, the zipper extending about substantially the entire periphery of the pillow cover and terminating proximate to the opening in the gusset panel (Pratt Fig. 1, zippers #50 and 52 extend around the perimeter of the pillow cover; also see Abstract; regarding “terminating proximate to the opening in the gusset panel,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the opening proximate to the end of zipper assembly of Pratt as an obvious matter of design choice at least because there does not appear to be any criticality to the relative location of the opening for fill, and the zippers for expanding the pillow).
Claim 45. The pillow of claim 1, wherein the one or more gusset panels are flexible fabric members configured to fold into the interior space when the fastener assembly is in the first condition and to extend outwardly from the interior space when the fastener assembly is in the second condition (Schecter paragraph [0027] discusses material choices, including the use of fabric).
Claims 31-32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2004/0019972 to Schecter et al. (“Schecter”) and US Patent Application Publication 2012/0284924 to Pratt et al. (“Pratt”), in view of US Patent 6,918,146 to England.
Claim 31. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the second ends of the opening are positioned within a central region of the first gusset. (Schecter discloses a zipper opening that is located approximately at the upper edge of the gusset; Schecter does not disclose the opening being “positioned within a central region of the first gusset”; however, England teaches a cushion with a gusset, and teaches a zippered opening located at a central region, as seen in Fig. 3A at #64, where the zipper is seen to be at the middle of the gusset; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the opening of Schecter in a “central region of the first gusset” for aesthetic reasons as a matter of design choice, and also because it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Claim 32. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the opening extends to a second gusset of the one or more gussets, the second gusset being adjacent to the first gusset (Schecter does not teach an opening that extends to multiple sides of the pillow cover; however England teaches a cushion with a zippered opening on multiple sides, or gussets, as seen in Fig. 3A at #64, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a zipper that extends to multiple sides of the pillow cover of Schecter in order to facilitate the placement of inserts within the pillow cover).
Claim 36. The pillow of claim 28, wherein the opening is formed in a central region of the first gusset (Schecter discloses a zipper opening that is located approximately at the upper edge of the gusset; Schecter does not disclose the opening being “formed in a central region of the first gusset”; however, England teaches a cushion with a gusset, and teaches a zippered opening located at a central region, as seen in Fig. 3A at #64, where the zipper is seen to be at the middle of the gusset; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the opening of Schecter in a “central region of the first gusset” for aesthetic reasons as a matter of design choice, and also because it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2004/0019972 to Schecter et al. (“Schecter”), in view of US Patent 6,918,146 to England, or US Patent 1,876,591 to Bawden.
Claim 43. A pillow comprising: one or more pillow inserts (Schecter, Fig. 5, #76); and a pillow cover (Schecter, Fig. 1, #22) comprising a first layer and a second layer (Schecter, Fig. 1) positioned opposite one another to define an interior space (Schecter, paragraph [0011]) therebetween, the first and second layers each having a periphery; one or more gusset panels extending between the peripheries (Schecter, Fig. 1, #34, 44, 48) of the first and second layers such that the first layer, the second layer, and the one or more gusset panels together define the interior space ; wherein the pillow cover includes an opening (Schecter, Fig. 1, #40) formed through at least one of the gusset panels, the opening configured to permit the one or more pillow inserts to be selectively inserted into and removed from the interior space; wherein the pillow cover further includes aplurality of fastener assemblies, each fastener assembly having a first fastener section and a second fastener section configured to engage and disengage one another, each fastener assembly being positioned along a respective portion of the periphery of the pillow cover and being associated with a respective gusset panel of the one or more gusset panels (Schecter discloses a zipper at one end as seen at #42 in Fig. 1, but does not teach a plurality of independent fastener assemblies; however England teaches a cushion with a zippered opening on multiple sides, or gussets, as seen in Fig. 3A at #64, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a zipper that extends to multiple sides of the pillow cover of Schecter in order to facilitate the placement of inserts within the pillow cover; alternatively, Bawden teaches independent zipper openings at opposite ends of a pillow which are seen in Fig. 2 at #’s 16; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to increase or decrease the thickness of the pillow, or alternatively to provide ventilation as described in Bawden lines 3-6); wherein the plurality of fastener assemblies are separate from one another and do not form a continuous path around the periphery of the pillow cover wherein each fastener assembly is independently operable between: a first condition, in which the first and second fastener sections of the respective fastener assembly are engaged to contract only the respective gusset panel and reduce the volume of the interior space; and a second condition, in which the first and second fastener sections of the respective fastener assembly are disengaged to allow only the respective gusset panel to expand and increase the volume of the interior space (the purpose of the zippers of England is to allow the insertion and removal of auxiliary support members in order to adjust the level of firmness of the cushion, and doing so would inherently increase the volume of the interior space; alternatively Bawden discloses increasing or decreasing the volume of the pillow as seen in Figs. 1-2); and wherein adjustment between the first and second conditions selectively varies a loft of the pillow, wherein each fastener assembly is operable independently of the other fastener assemblies such that operation of one fastener assembly does not require operation of any other fastener assembly (the multiple fasteners of England and/or Bawden are seen to be independent).
Response to Applicant's remarks and amendments
Regarding the objection to claim 38, Applicant has amended the claim and the objection is withdrawn.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 112(a) of claim 46, Applicant has cancelled the claim and the rejection have been withdrawn.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 112(b) of claim 28, Applicant has amended the claim language and the rejections have been withdrawn.
With respect to claim 28, Applicant argues on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks that the prior art of Pratt doesn’t teach the claim, as amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the claimed invention is a “diverging fastener configuration.” It is noted however that the term “diverge” has been cancelled from claim 28. Moreover, Pratt Fig. 1 teaches a diverging fastener configuration, as seen at #28, wherein there are zippers around the upper and lower perimeter, which are equivalent to Applicant’s zippers # 30 and 32, and wherein the zippers converge/diverge at #28 which is equivalent to Applicant’s location #18.
With respect to claim 38, Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks that the prior art of Pratt doesn’t teach the claim, as amended, with respect to an “overlapping path.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Pratt’s zipper terminates before reaching it’s starting point. However, this is not correct. As can be seen in Pratt Fig. 1, the zipper overlaps at the portion of the mattress where the zippers are diverging, seen at #28, and reproduced below:
With respect to claim 43, Applicant argues on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks that the prior art of Pratt doesn’t teach the claim, as amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The embodiment of the claimed invention of Claim 43 appears to be best seen in Applicant’s Figs. 13A and 13B. This embodiment is taught by Schecter in view of England and/or Bawden, as discussed above. Alternatively US Patent 4,494,411 to Tesch (not cited in the above rejections) teaches zippers on all sides of a pillow and appears to read on the claimed invention of claim 43.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MYLES A THROOP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673