DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the communications filed on April 16, 2026. The Applicant’s Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-55 are currently pending. Claims 1, 2, 24, have been amended. Claims 3-20, 22, 23, 26, 30-40, 42-43, 45-48, and 51 have been cancelled. Claims 54 and 55 are newly added. Claims 54 and 55 have been withdrawn in response to the restriction requirement. Claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 have been examined in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Newly amended and added claims 54 and 55 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Original claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 were directed to a system for:
the contact person's terminal further comprising a product information provider that provides, to the customer terminal, information regarding a product selected based on a request from the customer, and the customer terminal further comprising a product information display unit that displays, on the first display device, information regarding a product transmitted from the contact person's terminal.
New claims 54-55 are directed to a system for:
wherein the contact person's terminal further comprises a product information provider that provides, to the customer terminal, an image of a product of the one or more products displayed in the showroom while the contact person moves around the showroom with the contact person's terminal, and wherein the customer terminal further comprises a product information display unit that displays, on the first display device, the image of the product provided from the contact person's terminal.
Such a system was not included in the original claims and would have resulted in a restriction requirement.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 54 and 55 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the instantly amended claims, and are thus moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner respectfully notes, that as mapped below, it is the combination of Siddique and Sharpe which teach the newly added limitations of claim 1.
Thus, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1. When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A – Prong One. If the claims fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Step 2A – Prong Two. If the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, it must then be determined whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, then the claims are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B. If the claims are directed to a judicial exception, it must be evaluated whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e. “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 directed to a machine.
A claim “recites” an abstract idea if there are identifiable limitations that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106. In the instant case, claim 1 recites the steps of:
by a customer; by a contact person who serves the customer; receives voice of the customer; receives an image; displays the image received; receives audio; outputs audio received; captures an image; receives voice of the contact person; the customer is located in a showroom where one or more products are displayed and the contact person's is located in a space different from the showroom, receive, from the customer, a request for a product recommendation, transmit, to a product information, the request for the product recommendation, receive, from the product information, information on a recommended product provided based on the request for the product recommendation, and transmit the information on the recommended product, and receive the information on the recommended product from the contact person, and display the information on the recommended product, wherein the customer further comprises a first imaging that captures an image, and transmits the image captured by the first imaging to the contact person, wherein transmits, to the contact person, an image of a product of one or more products displayed in the showroom, and wherein the contact person transmits, to the customer, information or an image regarding the product, wherein online customer serving further comprises an appointment that accepts an appointment from the customer for a date and time when the customer will get served by the contact person via the online customer serving, and wherein the appointment is configured to set a contact person who is located in a place different from the showroom, regardless of the customer's residence, as the contact person who serves the customer -- these claim limitations set forth certain methods of organizing human activity, particularly commercial interactions including advertising, marketing, and sales activities/behaviors.
Further, the limitations of the claims are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Taking the independent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps via terminals to be used, the terminals comprising: input devices; audio transmitters that transmits, to another terminal, audio input by input devices; image receivers that receives transmitted from another terminal; display devices that displays received by the first image receiver; audio receivers that receives transmitted from another terminal; and audio output devices that outputs received by the first audio receiver, an imaging device, an image transmitter that transmits captured by the imaging device to another terminal, wherein the terminals are configured; a server; a system, wherein system further comprises a unit -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, taking the dependent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps via units, display units, and mobile terminals also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Thus, claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 are directed to an abstract idea.
Regarding the independent claims, the technical elements of performing the steps via terminals to be used, the terminals comprising: input devices; audio transmitters that transmits, to another terminal, audio input by input devices; image receivers that receives transmitted from another terminal; display devices that displays received by the first image receiver; audio receivers that receives transmitted from another terminal; and audio output devices that outputs received by the first audio receiver, an imaging device, an image transmitter that transmits captured by the imaging device to another terminal, wherein the terminals are configured; a server; a system, wherein system further comprises a unit -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, regarding the dependent claims, the technical elements of performing the steps via units, display units, and mobile terminals also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment.
When considering the elements and combinations of elements, the claim(s) as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not amount to an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment; the claims merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer; or the claims amounts to nothing more than requiring a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 21, 24, 25, 27-29, 41, 44, 49, 50, and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddique (US PGP 2018/0352303) in view of Tuchman (US PGP 2007/0138268) in view of Sharpe (US PGP 2007/0282703).
As per claim 1, Siddique teaches [an] online customer serving system, comprising:
a customer terminal to be used by a customer; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0056](The participant 102 may be using a computing device such as a desktop computer, laptop, terminal, tablet device or mobile device to view media content accessible over a communication network 104 from a media repository 106.); Fig. 2A)
a contact person's terminal to be used by a contact person who serves the customer; (Siddique: and (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0056](The participant 102 may be using a computing device such as a desktop computer, laptop, terminal, tablet device or mobile device to view media content accessible over a communication network 104 from a media repository 106.); Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0138] (The interactive system of FIGS. 1A-1D may further be used for shopping. A host may present a product in the presentation area 502 and talk about it on the stage 512 of FIG. 5A or host stream area of FIGS. 5B and 5C. It may be appreciated that the layout may be interchangeable and elements may be moved around. They can also be moved around in real-time using the appropriate messaging commands generated by the moderator, for example. The moderator portal 700 may include a counter showing the number and amount of sales. This may be displayed live to the moderator and also to participants. The moderator portal may also be used as a triage to direct participant questions or sales to specific units such as a specific customer service group or a sales group.))
the customer terminal comprising: (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0056](The participant 102 may be using a computing device such as a desktop computer, laptop, terminal, tablet device or mobile device to view media content accessible over a communication network 104 from a media repository 106.); Fig. 2A)
a first input device that receives voice of the customer; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0028] (In some embodiments the method may further comprise: receiving a plurality of user input from at least one of the first plurality of users and the second plurality of users; processing the user input into the interaction stream; sending the playback action to each of the first plurality of users and each of the second plurality of users corresponding to the user input ); [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074] (The CDN may be used to provide or distribute data for VOD content 172, Live streaming content 174, RTC content 176, voice data (VoIP) 178, participant screen 180 (e.g. for screen sharing experiences), and operating system data 182 (e.g. for sharing of a captured OS session). For RTC content 176, voice data 178, screen data 180, and OS data 182 may be restreamed across the CDN to broadcast to a larger viewership with relaxed interactivity constraints.)
a first audio transmitter that transmits, to the contact person's terminal, audio input by the first input device; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0060] (Persistent connections may be used for continuous transfer of data, for example, media data provided by the media repository 106 or data transmitted and received for live text and video communication.); [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074] (The CDN may be used to provide or distribute data for VOD content 172, Live streaming content 174, RTC content 176, voice data (VoIP) 178, participant screen 180 (e.g. for screen sharing experiences), and operating system data 182 (e.g. for sharing of a captured OS session). For RTC content 176, voice data 178, screen data 180, and OS data 182 may be restreamed across the CDN to broadcast to a larger viewership with relaxed interactivity constraints.))
a first image receiver that receives an image transmitted from the contact person's terminal; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A)
a first display device that displays an image received by the first image receiver; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.))
a first audio receiver that receives audio transmitted from the contact person's terminal; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.); [0028]; [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074]) and
a first audio output device that outputs audio received by the first audio receiver, (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.); [0060]; [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074]))
the contact person's terminal comprising: (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0056](The participant 102 may be using a computing device such as a desktop computer, laptop, terminal, tablet device or mobile device to view media content accessible over a communication network 104 from a media repository 106.); Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0138] (The interactive system of FIGS. 1A-1D may further be used for shopping. A host may present a product in the presentation area 502 and talk about it on the stage 512 of FIG. 5A or host stream area of FIGS. 5B and 5C. It may be appreciated that the layout may be interchangeable and elements may be moved around. They can also be moved around in real-time using the appropriate messaging commands generated by the moderator, for example. The moderator portal 700 may include a counter showing the number and amount of sales. This may be displayed live to the moderator and also to participants. The moderator portal may also be used as a triage to direct participant questions or sales to specific units such as a specific customer service group or a sales group.))
an imaging device that captures an image; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A)
a second image transmitter that transmits an image captured by the imaging device to the customer terminal; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.); [0060] (Persistent connections may be used for continuous transfer of data, for example, media data provided by the media repository 106 or data transmitted and received for live text and video communication.); [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074] (The CDN may be used to provide or distribute data for VOD content 172, Live streaming content 174, RTC content 176, voice data (VoIP) 178, participant screen 180 (e.g. for screen sharing experiences), and operating system data 182 (e.g. for sharing of a captured OS session). For RTC content 176, voice data 178, screen data 180, and OS data 182 may be restreamed across the CDN to broadcast to a larger viewership with relaxed interactivity constraints.))
a second input device that receives voice of the contact person; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0028] (In some embodiments the method may further comprise: receiving a plurality of user input from at least one of the first plurality of users and the second plurality of users; processing the user input into the interaction stream; sending the playback action to each of the first plurality of users and each of the second plurality of users corresponding to the user input ); [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074] (The CDN may be used to provide or distribute data for VOD content 172, Live streaming content 174, RTC content 176, voice data (VoIP) 178, participant screen 180 (e.g. for screen sharing experiences), and operating system data 182 (e.g. for sharing of a captured OS session). For RTC content 176, voice data 178, screen data 180, and OS data 182 may be restreamed across the CDN to broadcast to a larger viewership with relaxed interactivity constraints.))
a second audio transmitter that transmits, to the customer terminal, audio input by the second input device; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; [0060] (Persistent connections may be used for continuous transfer of data, for example, media data provided by the media repository 106 or data transmitted and received for live text and video communication.); [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074] (The CDN may be used to provide or distribute data for VOD content 172, Live streaming content 174, RTC content 176, voice data (VoIP) 178, participant screen 180 (e.g. for screen sharing experiences), and operating system data 182 (e.g. for sharing of a captured OS session). For RTC content 176, voice data 178, screen data 180, and OS data 182 may be restreamed across the CDN to broadcast to a larger viewership with relaxed interactivity constraints.))
a second audio receiver that receives audio transmitted from the customer terminal; (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.); [0028]; [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.; [0074]) and
a second audio output device that outputs audio received by the second audio receiver, wherein: (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108] (As shown in FIG. 2A participants in a digital interactive experience may engage in video chatting in addition to sharing a common synchronized video playback experience. If the device used by a participant is equipped with video and audio capture components such as a camera and microphone, the application interface 200 of FIG. 2A may provide additional video display areas 220 to facilitate video chat between participants.); Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078] (FIG. 2A shows an application interface 200 of an example synchronization video playback experience for two participants. The application interface may include a media player 202 with a video display area 204, and a number of playback controls and indicators comprising scrubber bar 206 and progress indicator, time indicator 210, and playback control (e.g. pause/play) 212. The media player interface shown in FIG. 2A may be provided using a web browser operating on a desktop computer. However a corresponding media player interface may be provided on other devices such as a mobile phone or tablet device as shown of various screen sizes and display resolutions in FIG. 2B. In the interface shown in FIG. 2A, participants may optionally engage with each other via video chat 220, as described in more detail subsequently, while simultaneously viewing the video content displayed in the display area 204.); [0060]; [0144] (Reference is now made to FIG. 10 wherein a dataflow diagram illustrating the flow of data in a method for an interactive broadcast is shown according to at least one exemplary embodiment. Input data may be collected from participants or spectators and processed to influence content received by participants and/or spectators. For example, the interaction system 100A-D of FIGS. 1A-1D may allow for mass audience participation. Participant input 1001 (also referred to herein as user input) may be processed by input processor 1002 to influence content generated by content generator 1003 presented to the participants, for example, in the presentation area 502 or the stage area 512 of FIGS. 5A-5C. The content generated by content generator 1003 may also be referred to as a composite interaction stream. In one example, the interactive event may be a sing-along using the interaction system wherein the audio from the entire audience may be superimposed by input processor 1002 and presented to participants.); [0074]))
the customer terminal is located in a showroom where one or more products are displayed and the contact person's terminal is located in a space different from the showroom, (Siddique: [0138] (The interactive system of FIGS. 1A-1D may further be used for shopping. A host may present a product in the presentation area 502 and talk about it on the stage 512 of FIG. 5A or host stream area of FIGS. 5B and 5C. It may be appreciated that the layout may be interchangeable and elements may be moved around.); [0146] (In some embodiments, the interaction system 100A-D may be transaction enabled. Participants can also, in real-time or post event, buy/shop products being presented on the stage 512 or in the presentation area 502 of FIGS. 5A-5C.); [0147] (The stage area 512 may include audio and/or video from the participant who joins stage or calls in. It may include a virtual/augmented reality representation of the participant or a non-photorealistic rendering of the participant.); [0131] (A host may be provided in a dedicated host stream area 508, which displays a live video stream of the host. The host may be located in a studio or at another appropriate location (e.g. at a live event) for facilitating the interactive experience. The host may be providing information in addition to those displayed in the presentation area.))
wherein the customer terminal further comprises a first imaging device that captures an image, and a first image transmitter that transmits the image captured by the first imaging device to the contact person's terminal, (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108]; [0057])
the first image transmitter transmits, to the contact person's terminal, an image . . . displayed in the showroom, and (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108]; [0057])
wherein online customer serving system further comprises an appointment unit that accepts an appointment . . . for a date and time when the customer will get served by the contact person via the online customer serving system, wherein (Siddique: [0135]-[0136])
wherein the appointment unit is configured to set a contact person who is located in a place . . . , regardless of the customer's residence, as the contact person who serves the customer. (Siddique: [0135]-[0136]; [0125]-[0126]; [0076]; [0138]; [0146]; [0131])
Siddique does not explicitly disclose the following known technique which is taught by Tuchman:
wherein the contact person's terminal is configured to: (Tuchman: [0073] (The chat and collaborative browsing component 212 (FIG. 2), in another embodiment, allows the agent to talk or browse with the customer using the wireless kiosk 122 (FIG. 1B) to provide interactive discussions of the product desired or service needed.); [0091] (Computing device 500 may also contain communications connection(s) 510 that allow the device to communicate with other devices. In embodiments, the communication connections 510 are used to connect customer with information over the VERA systems and networks, such as the Internet, that receives customer requests or events, and that sends information back to wireless kiosk used by the customer.))
receive, from the customer terminal, a request for a product recommendation, (Tuchman: [0073] (The chat and collaborative browsing component 212 (FIG. 2), in another embodiment, allows the agent to talk or browse with the customer using the wireless kiosk 122 (FIG. 1B) to provide interactive discussions of the product desired or service needed.); [0091] (Computing device 500 may also contain communications connection(s) 510 that allow the device to communicate with other devices. In embodiments, the communication connections 510 are used to connect customer with information over the VERA systems and networks, such as the Internet, that receives customer requests or events, and that sends information back to wireless kiosk used by the customer.); [0078]-[0081] (The customer notices the “Get Help” button on the display and presses the button. VERA immediately notifies the customer to put on the kiosk-attached bluetooth earpiece headset, pushes relevant customer interaction details into the visit experience database 142 (FIG. 1B), and initiates a VoIP call to a contact center, passing it a “key” to the interaction details in the database 142 (FIG. 1B). An agent receives the call and, using the “key”, acquires the relevant customer information and interaction details from the database 142 (FIG. 1B).); [0054]; [0014]))
transmit, to a product information server, the request for the product recommendation, (Tuchman: [0073]; [0091] (Computing device 500 may also contain communications connection(s) 510 that allow the device to communicate with other devices. In embodiments, the communication connections 510 are used to connect customer with information over the VERA systems and networks, such as the Internet, that receives customer requests or events, and that sends information back to wireless kiosk used by the customer.); [0078]-[0081] (VERA immediately notifies the customer to put on the kiosk-attached bluetooth earpiece headset, pushes relevant customer interaction details into the visit experience database 142 (FIG. 1B), and initiates a VoIP call to a contact center, passing it a “key” to the interaction details in the database 142 (FIG. 1B). The contact center receives the call in GigaPOP 146 (FIG. 1B) and routes the call to an agent queue that is trained in home theatre devices, including media center personal computers. An agent receives the call and, using the “key”, acquires the relevant customer information and interaction details from the database 142 (FIG. 1B).))
receive, from the product information server, information on a recommended product provided based on the request for the product recommendation, and (Tuchman: [0078]-[0083] (An agent receives the call and, using the “key”, acquires the relevant customer information and interaction details from the database 142 (FIG. 1B). The agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) uses the visitor experience database 142 (FIG. 1B) to identify the high-definition television (HDTV) and media center products of interest and immediately looks up product information from the retailer's database. The agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) also knows to search the manufacturer's system for extended product information, feature highlights, and cross-sell opportunities. The agent learns that the customer was considering a HDTV and a DVD Player purchase when the mobile kiosk popped up media center products. Using these parameters, the agent searches the retailer's product catalog for an HDTV/media center combination that best fits the customer's preferences. Once compiled, the list is pushed to the customer's mobile kiosk for a collaborative review with the agent. Once an acceptable combination is found, the agent uses the agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) to push the new product information to the mobile kiosk. VERA responds by updating the site map with the location of the new products. Before terminating the call, the agent notices a manufacturer recommendation for an “Extender Set-Top Box” that will allow the customer to access media center content from their new television.))
transmit, to the customer terminal, the information on the recommended product, and (Tuchman: [0073]; [0091] (In embodiments, the communication connections 510 are used to connect customer with information over the VERA systems and networks, such as the Internet, that receives customer requests or events, and that sends information back to wireless kiosk used by the customer.); [0078]-[0083] (Once compiled, the list is pushed to the customer's mobile kiosk for a collaborative review with the agent. Once an acceptable combination is found, the agent uses the agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) to push the new product information to the mobile kiosk. VERA responds by updating the site map with the location of the new products. Before terminating the call, the agent notices a manufacturer recommendation for an “Extender Set-Top Box” that will allow the customer to access media center content from their new television. She or he pushes this information and a list of recommended accessories to the mobile kiosk. VERA recognizes the new products and updates the display with relevant retailer and manufacturer incentives.))
wherein the customer terminal is configured to: (Tuchman: [0073]; [0091]- [0092]; [0078]-[0083])
receive the information on the recommended product from the contact person's terminal, and (Tuchman: [0073]; [0091]; [0078]-[0083] (Once compiled, the list is pushed to the customer's mobile kiosk for a collaborative review with the agent. Once an acceptable combination is found, the agent uses the agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) to push the new product information to the mobile kiosk. VERA responds by updating the site map with the location of the new products. Before terminating the call, the agent notices a manufacturer recommendation for an “Extender Set-Top Box” that will allow the customer to access media center content from their new television. She or he pushes this information and a list of recommended accessories to the mobile kiosk. VERA recognizes the new products and updates the display with relevant retailer and manufacturer incentives.); [0092] (Requests from customers are selected with user input device(s) 512, and the information returned is displayed with output device(s) 512.))
display the information on the recommended product. (Tuchman: [0073]; [0091]; [0078]-[0083] (Once compiled, the list is pushed to the customer's mobile kiosk for a collaborative review with the agent. Once an acceptable combination is found, the agent uses the agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) to push the new product information to the mobile kiosk. VERA responds by updating the site map with the location of the new products. Before terminating the call, the agent notices a manufacturer recommendation for an “Extender Set-Top Box” that will allow the customer to access media center content from their new television. She or he pushes this information and a list of recommended accessories to the mobile kiosk. VERA recognizes the new products and updates the display with relevant retailer and manufacturer incentives.); [0092] (Requests from customers are selected with user input device(s) 512, and the information returned is displayed with output device(s) 512.))
This known technique is applicable to the method of Siddique as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to transmitting communications between two parties.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tuchman would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Tuchman to the teachings of Siddique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such product recommendation features into similar methods. Further, applying the contact person's terminal is configured to: receive, from the customer terminal, a request for a product recommendation, transmit, to a product information server, the request for the product recommendation, receive, from the product information server, information on a recommended product provided based on the request for the product recommendation, and transmit, to the customer terminal, the information on the recommended product, and wherein the customer terminal is configured to: receive the information on the recommended product from the contact person's terminal, and display the information on the recommended product to the teachings of Siddique would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would ensure the best possible customer experience through highly accessible product information (Tuchman: Para [0003]-[0012]).
While Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teaches an image captured and an appointment unit, Siddique/Tuchman do not explicitly disclose that the image is of a product of the one or more products displayed in the showroom or that the appointment unit that accepts an appointment from the customer. Still, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized such features to be obvious, as they were well established at the time of invention.
For example, Sharpe teaches
. . . transmits, to the contact person's terminal, an image of a product of the one or more products displayed in the showroom, and (Sharpe: [0020]-[0025] (A customer 104, in the retail store 106, who desires information about one or more products, can connect to an agent 102 who specializes in the product or the products at issue. When a customer 104 desires to communicate with an agent 102, the customer uses the kiosk 112 to initiate a session. In embodiments, the kiosk 112 gather's information from the customer 104 that indicates what kind of products the customer is interested in or has questions about. The call center server 124 receives the customer's request to communicate with an agent 102. Depending on what type of product with which the customer wants help, the call center server 124 sends the request to a specific agent desktop 126 or establishes a connection between the specific smart client kiosk 112 and a predetermined or selected agent desktop 126.); Fig. 3; [0031] (An embodiment of an agent interface 300 presented to an agent 102 (FIG. 1) on an agent desktop 126 (FIG. 1) is shown in FIG. 3. The top left frame 302 of the agent interface 300 displays a retail store name or logo 316 indicating the retail store 106 (FIG. 1) at which the customer 104 is shopping and also indicates the client for which the agent 102 (FIG. 1) is working. The top right frame 308 of the agent interface 300 contains detailed information 320 about a product 318. In an embodiment, such information 320 may include a listing of the features the product has that the client specifically requested, other features the product contains, and the features the product lacks but the customer desires. In the present embodiment, the information 320 is displayed as pictures and text. In alternate embodiments, the information 320 can be displayed as a video, audio with controls, an independent webpage, or any other form known in the art.); [0034] (Because agent interface 300 differs from the customer user interface 200 of FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the agent receives an indication 336 of what product 332 the customer 104 (FIG. 1) is currently browsing (the same is so for the character in frame 308, to understand what feature the customer is viewing for the same product).)
the contact person's terminal transmits, to the customer terminal, information or an image regarding the product. (Sharpe: [0039]-[0040] (Connect operation 408 connects the customer 104 (FIG. 1) with an information source. For example, the smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1) is connected to a source of information that answers the customers questions about the product as requested in the event. In embodiments, an information source can be a local datastore, a remote datastore, a message queue as described in conjunction with FIG. 5, a smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1), an agent desktop 126 (FIG. 2), the Internet, or any other information source known. Provide operation 410 provides information. A smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1), in embodiments, may retrieve the information from a database as instructed by a message sent to the smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1) from the agent desktop 126 (FIG. 1).); [0051] (Product knowledge 630 is transmitted to the agent desktop 602 for evaluation by an agent 102 (FIG. 1). The agent 102 (FIG. 1) determines what information is useful to customer 104 (FIG. 1) and sends the associated XML message(s) 510 (FIG. 5) to the customer device 604 via web services 618 and 608.)).
. . . an appointment unit that accepts an appointment from the customer . . . (Sharpe: [0024]-[0025] (When a customer 104 desires to communicate with an agent 102, the customer uses the kiosk 112 to initiate a session. In embodiments, the kiosk 112 gather's information from the customer 104 that indicates what kind of products the customer is interested in or has questions about. The call center server 124 receives the customer's request to communicate with an agent 102. Depending on what type of product with which the customer wants help, the call center server 124 sends the request to a specific agent desktop 126 or establishes a connection between the specific smart client kiosk 112 and a predetermined or selected agent desktop 126. For example, if the customer's requests information about HDTV's, the contact center server will send the request to an agent who specializes in HDTV's; if the request is about cell phones, the contact center server will send the request to an agent who specializes in cell phones, etc.); Fig. 4; [0036]-[0038])
the appointment unit can set a contact person who is located in a place different from the showroom, . . . (Sharpe: [0018] (Embodiments of the present invention are directed to systems and methods for assisting customers in retail stores by providing the customers with information and advice from highly-trained and remotely-located retail assistants. In embodiments, a system connects an in-store customer with an agent at a call center. The call center may be located at the retail store or in a geographically separate location.); [0023])
This known technique is applicable to the method of Siddique/Tuchman as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to connecting users for the informing of products.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Sharpe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Sharpe to the teachings of Siddique/Tuchman would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such product image features into similar methods. Further, applying the transmitting, to the contact person's terminal, an image of a product of the one or more products displayed in the showroom, and the contact person's terminal transmits, to the customer terminal, information or an image regarding the product, an appointment unit that accepts an appointment from the customer, the appointment unit can set a contact person who is located in a place different from the showroom to the image, the appointment unit, and teachings of Siddique/Tuchman would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would allow customers to be provided with help and necessary information leading to an upgraded shopping experience (Sharpe: Para [0002]-[0006]).
As per claim 2, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the contact person's terminal further comprises a request presentation unit that presents, to the contact person, a request regarding the product received in advance from the customer together with information on a date and time the contact person will serve the customer. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 5A; [0138]-[0139]; [0136]; [0146]; [0009]-[0010]; [0120])
As per claim 21, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the appointment unit transmits the customer of the request together with the date and time when the customer will get served to the contact person terminal after the appointment is accepted and before the date and time of the appointment. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0097]; [0135]-[0139]; [0105]; [0127]-[0128])
As per claim 24, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the contact person's terminal further comprises a second image display unit that acquires, from the customer terminal, an image of a place where the product is to be used or installed by the customer and that displays the image on a second display device. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 5A; [0138]; [0119]-[0121]; Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078]; [0147]).
As per claim 25, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the contact person's terminal further comprises a second image display unit that acquires, from the customer terminal, an image of a place where the product is to be used or installed by the customer and that displays the image on a second display device. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 5A; [0138]; [0119]-[0121]; Fig. 5A; [0077]-[0078]; [0147]).
As per claim 27, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the appointment unit sets a contact person who belongs to an office located near a place of the customer's residence as the contact person who serves the customer. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0097]; [0135]-[0139]; [0105]; [0127]-[0128])
As per claim 28, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein: the appointment unit sets the contact person who serves the customer based on an availability of a contact person, regardless of a place of the customer's residence. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0097]; [0135]-[0139]; [0105]; [0127]-[0128])
As per claim 29, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein: at the date and time of the appointment that the appointment unit has accepted from the customer, communication connection between the contact person's terminal and the customer terminal is made. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; Fig. 5A; [0097]; [0135]-[0139]; [0105]; [0127]-[0128])
As per claim 41, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein
the contact person's terminal further comprises:
a product information provider that provides, to the customer terminal, an image or a video of an element in the space where the contact person's terminal is located, or (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1D; [0138]; [0146]-[0147]; [0131])
an acquirer that acquires, from the customer terminal, an image or a video of an element in the space where the customer terminal is located. (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1E; Fig. 2A; [0108]; [0057])
As per claim 44, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach further comprising an information provider that retains at least information regarding shape and price of a plurality of products, wherein: (Sharpe: Fig. 3; [0031]-[0033] (An embodiment of an agent interface 300 presented to an agent 102 (FIG. 1) on an agent desktop 126 (FIG. 1) is shown in FIG. 3. The top right frame 308 of the agent interface 300 contains detailed information 320 about a product 318. In an embodiment, such information 320 may include a listing of the features the product has that the client specifically requested, other features the product contains, and the features the product lacks but the customer desires. In the present embodiment, the information 320 is displayed as pictures and text. In alternate embodiments, the information 320 can be displayed as a video, audio with controls, an independent webpage, or any other form known in the art. The center frame 310, in embodiments, contains a list of products 322 available at retail store 106 (FIG. 1) and indications as to which products have the customer's requested features 212 (FIG. 2) and a listing of their respective prices 324. In an embodiment, an indication 326 next to one or more entries 322 can inform the agent as to how well the product 322 matches a customer's desires 212 (FIG. 2). By way of example, not limitation, the indication 326 can take the form of a symbol, a color code, highlighted, underlined, or italic text, a picture, or any other means of drawing attention to the product (this is an indication of how close a match the product is to the requirements selected in frame 306, e.g., 50% match, 75% match). In some embodiments, the agent interface 300 displays a picture 328 of the product currently selected by the agent as well as detailed information 330 about the selected product 332 in the bottom right frame 312.); [0067] (The agent desktop 602 (FIG. 6) then retrieves content information about these products from a local datastore 632 (FIG. 6) and displays the information to agent 102 (FIG. 2) using agent interface 300 (FIG. 3).))
the contact person's terminal further comprises an estimate presentation unit that transmits, to the customer terminal, an estimate of a product selected by the information provider from among the plurality of products. (Sharpe: Figs. 2-3; [0031]-[0033] (An embodiment of an agent interface 300 presented to an agent 102 (FIG. 1) on an agent desktop 126 (FIG. 1) is shown in FIG. 3. The center frame 310, in embodiments, contains a list of products 322 available at retail store 106 (FIG. 1) and indications as to which products have the customer's requested features 212 (FIG. 2) and a listing of their respective prices 324. In an embodiment, an indication 326 next to one or more entries 322 can inform the agent as to how well the product 322 matches a customer's desires 212 (FIG. 2). By way of example, not limitation, the indication 326 can take the form of a symbol, a color code, highlighted, underlined, or italic text, a picture, or any other means of drawing attention to the product (this is an indication of how close a match the product is to the requirements selected in frame 306, e.g., 50% match, 75% match).); [0067]-[0068] (The agent desktop 602 (FIG. 6) then retrieves content information about these products from a local datastore 632 (FIG. 6) and displays the information to agent 102 (FIG. 2) using agent interface 300 (FIG. 3). After the agent 102 (FIG. 1) reviews the content information, she decides what information would be helpful to relay to the customer 104 (FIG. 1). Agent 102 (FIG. 1) indicates what information should be viewed by the customer 104 (FIG. 1) using agent interface 300 (FIG. 3). The agent desktop 602 sends an XML message containing a message in the message body 706 (FIG. 7) to the smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1) using the VERA Messaging Service 506 (FIG. 5), which is placed in the “Session3252” queue.))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Sharpe to the teachings of Siddique/Tuchman is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 49, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the customer terminal is a mobile terminal. (Tuchman: [0031] (The wireless kiosk 122, similar to the wireless kiosk 102 (FIG. 1), is a mobile device that the customer receives when he or she enters the store and uses throughout the shopping experience in the retail store.))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Tuchman to the teachings of Siddique is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 50, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the customer visiting the showroom can be served by the contact person present in the space different from the showroom while the customer can check the one or more products displayed in the showroom. (Tuchman: [0031] (The wireless kiosk 122, similar to the wireless kiosk 102 (FIG. 1), is a mobile device that the customer receives when he or she enters the store and uses throughout the shopping experience in the retail store.); [0047] (The agent desktop 152, in embodiments, manages the interaction flow by providing tools, information, and scripting to an expert agent to ensure that each customer interaction is handled professionally and expeditiously. The human, expert agent can be located in the data center 160 or in another party's facilities, such as those of the retailer.); [0072]-[0073] (creates a network connection between the agent 316 (FIG. 3) at the agent contact center 308 (FIG. 3) with the wireless kiosk 312 (FIG. 3) at the retail store 302 (FIG. 3). The chat and collaborative browsing component 212 (FIG. 2), in another embodiment, allows the agent to talk or browse with the customer using the wireless kiosk 122 (FIG. 1B) to provide interactive discussions of the product desired or service needed.))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Tuchman to the teachings of Siddique is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 51, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein
the space where the contact person's terminal is located is the showroom and the space where the customer terminal is located is the space different from the showroom (Siddique: Figs. 1A-1D; [0076]; [0138]; [0146]-[0147]; [0131]), and
the contact person's terminal further comprises an estimate presentation unit that transmits, to the customer terminal, an estimate of a product selected by the information provider from among the plurality of products. (Sharpe: [0039]-[0040] (Connect operation 408 connects the customer 104 (FIG. 1) with an information source. For example, the smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1) is connected to a source of information that answers the customers questions about the product as requested in the event. In embodiments, an information source can be a local datastore, a remote datastore, a message queue as described in conjunction with FIG. 5, a smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1), an agent desktop 126 (FIG. 2), the Internet, or any other information source known. Provide operation 410 provides information. A smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1), in embodiments, may retrieve the information from a database as instructed by a message sent to the smart client kiosk 112 (FIG. 1) from the agent desktop 126 (FIG. 1).); [0051] (Product knowledge 630 is transmitted to the agent desktop 602 for evaluation by an agent 102 (FIG. 1). The agent 102 (FIG. 1) determines what information is useful to customer 104 (FIG. 1) and sends the associated XML message(s) 510 (FIG. 5) to the customer device 604 via web services 618 and 608.); [0020] (In another embodiment, the agent 102 may provide the customer 104 with product information. Product information may include information about a specific product, information about a class of products, information used in the sale of a product, a product rating, a product description, a product price, a product's features, a product's peripheral devices, or any other type of information associated with a product.))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Sharpe to the teachings of Siddique/Tuchman is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 52, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the contact person's terminal is configured to transmit, to the customer terminal, a tool configured to provide additional information on the recommended product, and the customer terminal is configured to receive the tool configured to provide additional information on the recommended product from the contact person's terminal and display the tool configured to provide additional information on the recommended product. (Tuchman: [0013] (Among other things, the embodiments of the present invention provide a communications system for providing a virtual sales agent to assist a customer in a retail store including a network comprising: a portable wireless communication device comprising: (a) means to input alphanumeric data and to transmit that data to a network, (b) means to transmit and receive voice communications with a remote specialized sales agent, and (c) means to receive video or photographic information such as product information.); [0078]-[0083] (An agent receives the call and, using the “key”, acquires the relevant customer information and interaction details from the database 142 (FIG. 1B). The agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) uses the visitor experience database 142 (FIG. 1B) to identify the high-definition television (HDTV) and media center products of interest and immediately looks up product information from the retailer's database. The agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) also knows to search the manufacturer's system for extended product information, feature highlights, and cross-sell opportunities. The agent learns that the customer was considering a HDTV and a DVD Player purchase when the mobile kiosk popped up media center products. Using these parameters, the agent searches the retailer's product catalog for an HDTV/media center combination that best fits the customer's preferences. Once compiled, the list is pushed to the customer's mobile kiosk for a collaborative review with the agent. Once an acceptable combination is found, the agent uses the agent desktop 152 (FIG. 1B) to push the new product information to the mobile kiosk. VERA responds by updating the site map with the location of the new products. Before terminating the call, the agent notices a manufacturer recommendation for an “Extender Set-Top Box” that will allow the customer to access media center content from their new television. She or he pushes this information and a list of recommended accessories to the mobile kiosk. VERA recognizes the new products and updates the display with relevant retailer and manufacturer incentives.))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Tuchman to the teachings of Siddique is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 53, Siddique/Tuchman/Sharpe teach wherein the contact person's terminal is configured to transmit, to the customer terminal, a moving image of the recommended product, and the customer terminal is configured to receive the moving image of the recommended product from the contact person's terminal and display moving image of the recommended product. (Tuchman: [0073] (Provide operation 410 provides the information to the customer. In another embodiment, the customer requires installation information and the content matching and delivery component 208 (FIG. 2) finds an installation video, which is streamed from the video streaming system 144 (FIG. 1B) to the wireless kiosk 122 (FIG. 1B). The chat and collaborative browsing component 212 (FIG. 2), in another embodiment, allows the agent to talk or browse with the customer using the wireless kiosk 122 (FIG. 1B) to provide interactive discussions of the product desired or service needed.); [0013] (Among other things, the embodiments of the present invention provide a communications system for providing a virtual sales agent to assist a customer in a retail store including a network comprising: a portable wireless communication device comprising: (a) means to input alphanumeric data and to transmit that data to a network, (b) means to transmit and receive voice communications with a remote specialized sales agent, and (c) means to receive video or photographic information such as product information.); [0036]; [0045])
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Tuchman to the teachings of Siddique is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Parise, "Solving the crisis of immediacy: How digital technology can transform the customer experience." Business Horizons 59.4 (2016): 411-420. – disclosing remote experts
Walker (WO 2001020478 A2) -- customer may submit this product recommendation request to the cashier at a point-of-sale terminal, or to a product terminal located at the point-of-sale terminal via on-line access to the store's World Wide Web site in a remote implementation.
/JENNIFER V LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3688 /Jeffrey A. Smith/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688