DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ argue that Mizuta in view of Sakamoto could not reasonably be interpreted to render obvious the features recited in claims 1, 8 and 15. The Examiner disagrees.
Applicants assert that the Flexible sheet 11 of Sakamoto could not reasonably be interpreted to render obvious the claimed features because “Sakamoto does not disclose that the flexible sheet 11 is part of a semiconductor page”. The Examiner disagrees.
During Examination, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Here, the flexible sheet 11 of Sakamoto is interpreted as being a part of the claimed semiconductor package. Here, the Claimed “semiconductor package” is claimed such that it is recited as broad as possible with no limitations. Here, it is reasonable to interpret that the claimed package is in its “semiconductor package” in any area it is mounted. As such, the well-made rejection is proper and hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuta (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0053891) in view of Sakamoto (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0050397).
Regarding claim 1.
A semiconductor package, comprising:
Mizuta discloses Fig. 5:
a semiconductor die(11) configured to detect a force([0104]);
a mold compound(31) covering the semiconductor die(31 on 11);
Mizuta does not disclose:
and an engagement surface including a pattern of projections adapted to engage with a mounting surface on a member of interest.
In related art, Skaamoto discloses Fig. 1A:
and an engagement surface(13 and 19) including a pattern of projections(BB detail shown in fig. 2c) adapted to engage with a mounting surface on a member of interest (Projections include AH, P2 projecting from 13a).
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 2.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the projections are substantially parallel to one another along the engagement surface.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 3.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 2.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein a first projection of the pattern of projections has a substantially planar crest and a pair of flanks.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 4.
Mizuta discloses Fig. 5
The semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the mold compound(3) has an outer perimeter(3 fig. 5, extreme left and right of 3), and the projections(projections of 21) are substantially perpendicular to a pair of opposing sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface(projections of 21 are perpendicular to extreme edges of 3).
Regarding claim 5.
Mizuta discloses Fig. 5
The semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the mold compound(3) has an outer perimeter(3 left and right edges of 3),
Mizuta does not disclose:
and the projections are nonparallel to sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface and are non-perpendicular to the sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface.
However, the recited features are mere changes in shape which have been held to be obvious. Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 6.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Mizuta does not disclose:
Mizuta does not disclose: The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the projections are arranged in multiple columns and rows along the engagement surface.
In related art, Sakamoto discloses:
Mizuta does not disclose: The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the projections are arranged in multiple columns and rows along the engagement surface. (See Fig. 6a, 32 arranged in multiple rows and columns. )
Sakamoto discloses that the arrangement of projections of 32 provides the benefit of allowing input to the die at desired positions. As such, it would have been obvious to modifiy the device of Mizuta to include the multiple columns and rows of projections as taught by Sakamoto. Thus, the features of claim 6 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 7.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 6.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 6, wherein the projections are shaped as truncated pyramids.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 8.
Mizuta discloses Fig. Fig. 47:
A semiconductor package, comprising:
a die pad(Fig. 47, pad where 11 is mounted to wiring board 71) having a first side(top) and a second side(bottom) opposite the first side; and
a semiconductor die(11) mounted to the first side(top of 71) of the die pad(71), the semiconductor die(11) configured to detect a force([0104]), and
Mizuta does not disclose:
the second side of the die pad including a pattern of projections that are adapted to engage a pattern of recesses in a mounting surface of a member of interest.
In related art, Skaamoto discloses Fig. 1A:
the second side of the die pad including a pattern of projections(13 and 19) that are adapted to engage a pattern(BB detail shown in fig. 2c) of recesses in a mounting surface of a member of interest. (13 and 19) (Projections include AH, P2 projecting from 13a).
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 8 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 9.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 8.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein the projections include first and second projections having a rectangular cross-section.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 10.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 8.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein the projections are substantially parallel to one another along the second side of the die pad.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115].
wherein the projections are substantially parallel to one another along the second side of the die pad.(See Fig. 1A, projections on 13 and L are substantially parallel to each other along the die)
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 10 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 11.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 8.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein the projections are arranged in multiple rows and columns along the second side of the die pad.
In related art, Sakamoto discloses:
Mizuta does not disclose: The semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein the projections are arranged in multiple rows and columns along the second side of the die pad.
(See Fig. 6a, 32 arranged in multiple rows and columns. )
Sakamoto discloses that the arrangement of projections of 32 provides the benefit of allowing input to the die at desired positions. As such, it would have been obvious to modifiy the device of Mizuta to include the multiple columns and rows of projections as taught by Sakamoto. Thus, the features of claim 11 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 12.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 11.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the projections include first and second projections shaped as truncated pyramids.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 13.
Mizuta discloses
The semiconductor package of claim 8, further comprising a mold compound(3) that covers the die pad(11 and mounting areas) and the semiconductor die(11), the mold compound(3) having an outer perimeter(3 left and right), and the projections including first and second projections that are substantially perpendicular to opposing sides of the outer perimeter(projections shown in 21 as steps being perpendicular to the sides of 3).
Regarding claim 14.
Mizuta discloses Fig. 5
The semiconductor package of claim 8, further comprising a mold(3) compound that covers the die pad(mounting area of 11) and the semiconductor die(11), the mold compound having an outer perimeter(3 left and right sides),
Mizuta does not disclose:
and the projections include first and second projections that are nonparallel to sides of the outer perimeter and are non-perpendicular to the sides of the outer perimeter.
However, the recited features are mere changes in shape which have been held to be obvious. Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 15.
Mizuta discloses:
A semiconductor package, comprising:
a die pad(112);
a semiconductor die(11) mounted to the die pad(112); and
a mold compound(3) having a first side(top) and a second side(bottom 3) opposite the first side, the compound covering the die pad(112 covered by 3) and the semiconductor die(3 covers 11),
Mizuta does not disclose:
and the second side including a pattern of projections that are adapted to engage with a mounting surface on a member of interest.
In related art, Skaamoto discloses Fig. 1A:
and the second side including a pattern of projections that are adapted to engage(13 and 19) with a mounting surface on a(BB detail shown in fig. 2c) member of interest. (Projections include AH, P2 projecting from 13a).
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 15 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 16.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 15.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 15, wherein the projections are substantially parallel to one another along the engagement surface.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 17.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 15.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 16, wherein a first projection of the pattern of projections has a substantially planar crest and a pair of flanks.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 18.
Mizuta discloses
The semiconductor package of claim 16, wherein the mold compound(3) has an outer perimeter (left and right of 3) ,and the projections include first(21 left and right) and second projections that are substantially perpendicular to a pair of opposing sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface(along surface of 11 mounting). (projections of 21 are perpendicular to extreme edges of 3).
Regarding claim 19.
Mizuta discloses:
The semiconductor package of claim 16, wherein the mold compound(3) has an outer perimeter(3 left and right),
Mizuta does not discloses;
and the projections include first and second projections that are nonparallel to sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface and are non-perpendicular angle to the sides of the outer perimeter along the engagement surface.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation.
Regarding claim 20.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 15.
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 15, wherein the projections are spaced from one another along a radius of an axis extending perpendicularly through the first side and the second side of the mold compound.
However, Sakamoto discloses that the sizes and shapes of the projections may be changed as required by design specification. See [0115]. Further, mere changes in shape of prior art products absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to modify Mizuta to include the recited features for the obvious benefit of fitting the device into a desired application with a lower profile and better heat dispensation. is pa
Regarding claim 21.
Mizuta discloses:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a die pad(12) on which the semiconductor die is mounted(113 mounted on 12),
Mizuta does not disclose:
wherein the engagement surface is part of the die pad.
However, the features recited are a mere duplication of the working parts which has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Here, the addition of the projections on to the die would provide the benefit of allowing the die to be installed in a desired space easily. As such, there is no new and unexpected results, and the features would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 22.
Mizuta discloses:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor die(11).
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the engagement surface is part of the semiconductor die.
Mizuta does not disclose:
wherein the engagement surface is part of the die pad.
However, the features recited are a mere duplication of the working parts which has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Here, the addition of the projections on to the die would provide the benefit of allowing the die to be installed in a desired space easily. As such, there is no new and unexpected results, and the features would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 23.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 1
Mizuta does not disclose:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the engagement surface is part of the mold compound.
However, the recited features are a mere reversal or rearrangement of parts which as been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(C).
Here, the implementation of the projections into the molding compound is a mere reverse or rearrangement of parts. Here the changes would provide no new and unexpected result, and as such, would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 24.
Mizuta discloses:
The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising conductive leads(top of 11, connected to 113, and connected to 4) coupled to the semiconductor die and spaced from the engagement surface(4 connected to lead on 113 spaced from bottom of 11).
Regarding claim 25
Mizuta discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
a packaged semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor die(113); and
a mold compound(3),
Mizuta does not disclose:
in which a side of the packaged semiconductor device includes a plurality of structures protruding away from the semiconductor die.
In related art, Skaamoto discloses Fig. 1A:
in which a side of the packaged semiconductor device includes a plurality of structures (13 and 19) protruding away from the semiconductor die. (BB detail shown in fig. 2c) (Projections include AH, P2 projecting from 13a).
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 25 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 26.
Mizuta discloses:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the semiconductor die includes a force sensor([0104]);
Mizuta does not disclose:
configurable to detect a force through the plurality of structures.
However, Mizuta discloses that the device may be a force sensor,
However, the recited features are a mere reversal or rearrangement of parts which as been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(C).
Here, the implementation of sensing the force in anyway using the projections is a mere reverse or rearrangement of parts. Here the changes would provide no new and unexpected result, and as such, would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 27.
Mizuta discloses all of the features of claim 25:
Mizuta does not disclose
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the plurality of structures are in at least one of: the mold compound, the semiconductor die, or a die pad on which the semiconductor die is mounted.
In related art, Skaamoto discloses Fig. 1A:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the plurality of structures are in at least one of: the mold compound, the semiconductor die, or a die pad on which the semiconductor die is mounted. (Projections include AH, P2 projecting from 13a which in modified Mizuta would place projections on the bottom of the die pad 12 of Mizuta).
Skaamoto discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of better mounting and better heat dispensation from the die. Further, the features provide the benefit of providing a more compact mounting with better heat dispensation. As such, the features of claim 27 would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicants claims.
Regarding claim 28.
Mizuta discloses: The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the packaged semiconductor device includes conductive terminals(top of 11) coupled to the semiconductor die(113) and spaced from the plurality of structures(top of 111 spaced from structures which would be at bottom of device when modified in view of Sakamoto).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898