DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references given in the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-19 and 21-52 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome every specification objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8/13/2025. This Office Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on 23 of Remarks that none of the references disclose controlling current output from the charging device to the heater while at the same time avoiding positive current input into the energy storage device, as required by claim 1. Inui discloses switching between providing current to a heater from a battery or from an external power source. See paragraphs [0041] and [0052] of Inui. That is, Inui only teaches switching the supply of current to the heater, and does not disclose controlling the current input into the battery in any capacity. Wekwert only discloses preventing further charging or discharging of a battery when a voltage or temperature threshold is reached, and does not disclose a heater in any capacity. See paragraphs [0029-0030] of Wekwert.
Switching a connection between two separate sources and preventing charging of a battery does not inherently or expressly disclose, nor does it render obvious, actively controlling both the current output of the charging device to the heater and the current input to the energy storage device at the same time. Independent claim 1 patentably distinguishes the applied references for at least this reason.
Independent claims 24 and 39 have the same arguments as for claim 1 above.
The examiner submits that Honjo provides an overall arrangement of a charger, battery, and heater, provides temperature ranges for the battery to operate optimally, and the use of the heater to maintain the temperature ranges. However, Honjo does not explicitly disclose the heater can be powered by the battery, which would be useful in case external power for the charger is not available. Inui discloses a heater for the battery, where the heater is optionally powered by an external source or the battery. However, Honjo and Inui do not explicitly disclose preventing the battery from being charged when temperature conditions are unfavorable for charging. Wekwert discloses a system that prevents the charging of a battery when the battery temperature is within an acceptable range. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the advantages of each system and combined them for the reasons listed above. The examiner submits that this combination precisely fits the limitation set forth in claim 1, “controlling current output from the charging device to the heater while at the same time avoiding positive current input into the energy storage device.”
The examiner submits that the “series mode” in which the battery is charged and a separate “heating mode” in which the battery and charger are heated are inconsequential to the combination described above because series mode and heating mode would need an external source to either charge the battery or operate the heater. Combining Honjo with Inui allows the battery to be optionally used to power the heater.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 18, 21-27, 31-32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Publication of Honjo et al. (US 20210061115 A1, Published Mar. 4, 2021), hereinafter Honjo, in view of the US Patent Publications of Inui (US 20050264257 A1, Published Dec. 1, 2005) and Wekwert et al. (US 20200067333 A1, Published 2020-02-27), hereinafter referred to as Wekwert.
Regarding Independent claim 1, Honjo discloses a power system (Figs. 1 and 2 and ¶0031: vehicle 100 with temperature adjustment circuit 1) comprising:
a rechargeable energy storage device (Fig. 2: battery 2) configured to deliver stored energy and to be recharged by inputting energy into the energy storage device, the rechargeable energy storage device having a charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9. and ¶0059: second predetermined value TH2 compared with battery temperature Tb at step S106.) wherein the energy storage device is not to be charged below the charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9 and ¶0059: When Tb is lower than TH2, separate heating mode is executed at step S107, and when Tb is higher than TH2, battery 2 is charged at step S202);
a charging device (Fig. 1 and ¶0032: charger 3, power converter 5, and motor 105) operably coupled (¶0033: via power cable 111) to the rechargeable energy storage device (¶0032: battery 2 in battery case 103) and configured to recharge the energy storage device (¶0033: The power converter 5 drives the motor 105 with the electric power supplied from the battery 2 and charges the battery 2 with the electric power supplied from the motor 105);
a heater (Fig. 2: 17) coupled to the energy storage device for heating the energy storage device (¶0042: heater 17 heats a heat medium which is supplied to the battery 2 by pumping); and
a controller (Fig. 2: control device 10) operably coupled to the charging device (Fig. 1: 3, 5, 105) and configured to control the operation of the charging device (¶0063: control device 10 controls the output of the charger 3), the controller configured to receive one or more sensor signals configured to detect operational conditions of the power system (Fig. 2 and ¶0064: control device 10 receives information from a battery temperature sensor Sb), wherein in a low temperature operating mode with the energy storage device below the charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9: step S106) and the heater powered on (Fig. 9: step S107),
Honjo is silent on the heater being operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater, and
the controller configured to control current output of the charging device to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Inui discloses a heater operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater (Fig. 10: heater 40 is operably coupled to driving battery 50 and external power source 62, 63, 64),
a controller (Fig. 10: control circuit 60) is configured to control current output of the charging device (via switching circuit 67) to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater (Fig. 11 and ¶0052: At step n=2, the switching circuit 67 connects the AC/DC converter 62 to the heaters 40.)
Both Honjo and Inui disclose power systems comprising, a rechargeable energy storage device, a charging device, a heater, and a controller. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the heater powered by the charger and/or battery in Inui into the power system of Honjo to provide greater flexibility to power the heater in case the charger is offline.
Honjo does not disclose a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Wekwert discloses a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals (¶0030: If a lower operational limit for the battery cells 220 is reached, the controller 200 prevents the battery pack 100 from being charged until temperature of battery cells and pack 100 are within an acceptable range.).
Honjo and Wekwert both disclose controlling the temperature environment of systems charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the controller function of preventing the charging of the battery in the system of Wekwert into the system of Honjo to ensure the battery does not become damaged under unfavorable temperatures for charging.
Regarding claims 5-7, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert disclose the power system of claim 1, wherein Inui further discloses the controller is configured to control the current output of the charging device to provide at least 50% or more, 75% or more, or 90% or more of the power required to power the heater in the low temperature operating mode (Fig. 10 and ¶0041: controlling circuit 61 controls switching circuit 67 to switch between DC/DC converter 61 (power from battery 50) and AC/DC converter 62 (power from commercial power outlet 64). Examiner interprets AC/DC provides 100% of the heater power when connected to heater via the switch 67).
Regarding claims 8-9, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein Inui further discloses the energy storage device is one of an electrochemical battery, a supercapacitor battery, and a solid-state battery, wherein the electrochemical battery is selected from the group consisting of: a Li-ion battery; a lithium based battery; a lead-acid battery; a LiFePO4 battery; a Lithium-ion polymer battery; a lithium-titanate-oxide (LTO) battery; a nickel-cadmium battery; and a nickel-metal hydride battery (¶0024: lithium-ion batteries).
Regarding claim 18, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert disclose the power system of claim 1, wherein Honjo further discloses the system comprising:
a temperature sensor (Fig. 2: Sb) operably coupled to the energy storage device (2) for detecting the temperature of the energy storage device and providing a temperature sensor signal representative of the detected temperature;
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes the temperature sensor signal representative of the detected temperature; and
wherein the controller (10) is operably coupled to the heater (17) and the controller is configured to turn the heater on (Fig. 9: step S107) when the controller detects that the temperature of the energy storage device is below the charging low temperature limit based on the temperature sensor signal (Fig. 9: step S106).
Regarding claims 21-23, Honjo and Inui discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein Inui further discloses:
the energy storage device comprises an electrochemical battery (¶0024 lithium-ion batteries can be used as rechargeable batteries); and
the charging device comprises a power device selected from the group consisting of an alternator, an AC generator, a DC generator, an AC powered power supply, a solar maximum power point tracking (MPPT) charger, and a secondary electrochemical battery (Fig. 10 and ¶0041: The examiner interprets the power cord 63 and commercial power outlet 64 as an AC power supply); and a power conversion device selected from the group consisting of a DC-DC converter, a DC-AC converter, an AC-DC converter, a pulse width modulation controller, a current limiting wire, and a current limiting self-resetting device (Fig. 10 and ¶0041: DC/DC converter 61 or AC/DC converter 62);
Honjo further discloses a charging device mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 1: charger 3, power converter 5, and motor 105 are mounted on a vehicle).
Regarding independent claim 24, Honjo discloses a subsystem for a power system (Figs. 1 and 2 and ¶0031: vehicle 100 with temperature adjustment circuit 1) comprising a charging device (Fig. 1 and ¶0032: charger 3, power converter 5, and motor 105) operably coupled (¶0033: via power cable 111) to an energy storage device (¶0032: battery 2 in battery case 103) and a heater coupled to the energy storage device for heating the energy storage device (¶0042: heater 17 heats a heat medium which is supplied to the battery 2 by pumping), the subsystem comprising:
a controller (Fig. 2: control device 10) configured to be operably coupled to the charging device (¶0063: control device 10 controls the output of the charger 3) and to receive one or more sensor signals configured to detect operational conditions of the power system (Fig. 2 and ¶0064: control device 10 receives information from a battery temperature sensor Sb); and
wherein the controller is configured to control the operation of the charging device (¶0063), including in a low temperature operating mode with the energy storage device temperature below a charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9: step S106) of the energy storage device and the heater powered on (Fig. 9: step S107).
Honjo is silent on the heater being operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater, and
the controller configured to control current output of the charging device to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Inui discloses a heater operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater (Fig. 10: heater 40 is operably coupled to driving battery 50 and external power source 62, 63, 64),
a controller (Fig. 10: control circuit 60) is configured to control current output of the charging device (via switching circuit 67) to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater (Fig. 11 and ¶0052: At step n=2, the switching circuit 67 connects the AC/DC converter 62 to the heaters 40.).
Both Honjo and Inui disclose power systems comprising, a rechargeable energy storage device, a charging device, a heater, and a controller. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have recognized the heater in Honjo could be powered by the charger and/or battery as it is configured in Inui to provide greater flexibility to power the heater in case the charger is offline.
Honjo does not disclose a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Wekwert discloses a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals (¶0030: If a lower operational limit for the battery cells 220 is reached, the controller 200 prevents the battery pack 100 from being charged until temperature of battery cells and pack 100 are within an acceptable range.).
Honjo and Wekwert both disclose controlling the temperature environment of systems charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the controller function of preventing the charging of the battery in the system of Wekwert into the system of Honjo to ensure the battery does not become damaged under unfavorable temperatures for charging.
Regarding claims 25-27, see the rejection for claims 5-7.
Regarding claims 31-32, see the rejections for claims 8-9.
Regarding claim 34, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the subsystem of claim 24, wherein the one or more sensor signals includes a temperature sensor signal representative of the temperature of the energy storage device (0046: temperature sensor 51 send signal to control circuit 60).
Claims 2-4, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert, and further in view of the US Patent Publications of Grace et al. (US 20190084435 A1, published 2019-03-21) and Yagi et al. (US 20020070710 A1, published 2002-06-13), hereinafter referred to as Grace and Yagi respectively.
Regarding claims 2, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein in the low temperature operating mode, the controller is configured to control the current output of the charging device to power the heater (Inui - Fig. 11 and ¶0052).
Honjo does not disclose the controller is configured to control current output of the charging device to power the heater while maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device.
Grace discloses powering a heater while maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device (¶0046: charge current is used to charge batteries while powering onboard accessories such as heaters that are on during this time).
Honjo and Grace disclose vehicles distributing power. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the maintenance of a nominal current while powering the heater in the system of Grace into the system of Honjo to allow other devices such as car accessories to charge or stay powered while the heater is operating.
Honjo does not disclose maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device.
Yagi discloses maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device (¶0034: battery supplies electric power to a load which the examiner interprets including a nominal current of 0 amps).
Both Honjo and Yagi disclose power distribution systems in vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device in the system of Yagi into the system of Honjo to ensure low or no parasitic draw of the battery.
Regarding claim 3, Honjo in view of Grace and Yagi discloses the power system of claim 2, wherein Yagi further discloses the nominal current discharge of the energy storage device is 1 amp or less (the examiner interprets a nominal current includes 0 amps).
Regarding claim 4, Honjo in view of Grace and Yagi discloses the power system of claim 2, wherein Yagi further discloses the nominal current discharge of the energy storage device is 5 amp or less (See rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claims 28-30, see the rejections for claims 2-4.
Claims 10-11, 17, 33, 39, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert, and further in view of the US Patent Publication of Sato (US 20150291053 A1, Published 2015-10-15).
Regarding claims 10-11, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the power system of claim 1.
Honjo is silent on the system further comprising:
a current sensor operably coupled to the energy storage device for detecting a current input or output of the energy storage device and providing a current sensor signal; and
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes a sensor signal representative of the current sensor signal.
wherein the current sensor is operably connected to the controller and the current sensor provides the current sensor signal directly to the controller.
Sato discloses a current sensor operably coupled to the energy storage device and configured to detect current input and output of the energy storage device, provide a current sensor signal representative of the detected current (¶0024 and Fig. 1: battery current sensor 83 detects current to and from the battery 10), and the current sensor (83) is operably connected to the controller (control section 90) and the current sensor provides the current sensor signal directly to the controller.
Honjo, Inui, Wekwert and Sato all disclose power systems for charging batteries in controlled temperature environments. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery current sensor in the power system of Sato into the power system of Honjo to monitor the state of charge of the battery by checking its output and ensure charging current levels to the battery are safe by checking its input.
Regarding claim 17, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the power system of claim 1.
Honjo is silent on the power system further comprising a current sensor operably coupled to the controller and configured for detecting a total current from the charging device to the combination of the energy storage device and heater and providing a current sensor signal representative of the detected current; and
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes a sensor signal representative of the current sensor signal.
Sato discloses the power system further comprising a current sensor operably coupled to the controller and configured for detecting a current (¶0024 and Fig. 1: battery current sensor 83 detects current to and from the battery 10).
Honjo, Inui, Wekwert and Sato all disclose power systems for charging batteries in controlled temperature environments. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery current sensor in the power system of Sato into the power system of Honjo to monitor the state of charge of the battery by checking its output and ensure charging current levels to the battery are safe by checking its input.
Honjo in view of Sato does not explicitly disclose detecting a total current from the charging device to the combination of the energy storage device and heater and providing a current sensor signal representative of the detected current; and
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes a sensor signal representative of the current sensor signal.
However, It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate one of the sensors in Sato to measure the total current of the system to track the total current draw and power demand of the energy storage device and heater.
Regarding claim 33, see the rejections for claims 10-11.
Regarding independent claim 39, Honjo discloses a power system (Figs. 1 and 2 and ¶0031: vehicle 100 with temperature adjustment circuit 1) comprising:
a rechargeable energy storage device (Fig. 2: battery 2) configured to deliver stored energy and to be recharged by inputting energy into the energy storage device, the rechargeable energy storage device having a charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9. and ¶0059: second predetermined value TH2 compared with battery temperature Tb at step S106.) wherein the energy storage device is not to be charged below the charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9 and ¶0059: When Tb is lower than TH2, separate heating mode is executed at step S107, and when Tb is higher than TH2, battery 2 is charged at step S202);
a charging device (Fig. 1 and ¶0032: charger 3, power converter 5, and motor 105) operably coupled (¶0033: via power cable 111) to the rechargeable energy storage device (¶0032: battery 2 in battery case 103) and configured to recharge the energy storage device (¶0033: The power converter 5 drives the motor 105 with the electric power supplied from the battery 2 and charges the battery 2 with the electric power supplied from the motor 105);
a heater (Fig. 2: 17) coupled to the energy storage device for heating the energy storage device (¶0042: heater 17 heats a heat medium which is supplied to the battery 2 by pumping);
a temperature sensor (Fig. 2: battery temperature sensor Sb) operably coupled to the energy storage device for detecting a temperature of the energy storage device and providing a temperature sensor signal representative of the detected temperature; and
a controller (Fig. 2: control device 10) operably coupled to the charging device (Fig. 1: 3, 5, 105) and configured to control the operation of the charging device (¶0063: control device 10 controls the output of the charger 3), the controller configured to receive one or more sensor signals configured to detect operational conditions of the power system (Fig. 2 and ¶0064: control device 10 receives information from a battery temperature sensor Sb), wherein in a low temperature operating mode with the energy storage device below the charging low temperature limit (Fig. 9: step S106) and the heater powered on (Fig. 9: step S107),
Honjo is silent on the heater being operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater, and
a controller configured to control current output of the charging device to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Inui discloses a heater operably coupled to the energy storage device and the charging device for powering the heater (Fig. 10: heater 40 is operably coupled to driving battery 50 and external power source 62, 63, 64),
a controller (Fig. 10: control circuit 60) is configured to control current output of the charging device (via switching circuit 67) to provide at least some of the power required to power the heater (Fig. 11 and ¶0052: At step n=2, the switching circuit 67 connects the AC/DC converter 62 to the heaters 40).
Both Honjo and Inui disclose power systems comprising, a rechargeable energy storage device, a charging device, a heater, and a controller. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the heater powered by the charger and/or battery in Inui into the power system of Honjo to provide greater flexibility to power the heater in case the charger is offline.
Honjo does not disclose a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals.
Wekwert discloses a controller configured to control current output while at the same time avoiding a positive current input to the energy storage device, based on the one or more sensor signals (¶0030: If a lower operational limit for the battery cells 220 is reached, the controller 200 prevents the battery pack 100 from being charged until temperature of battery cells and pack 100 are within an acceptable range.).
Honjo and Wekwert both disclose controlling the temperature environment of systems charging batteries. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the controller function of preventing the charging of the battery in the system of Wekwert into the system of Honjo to ensure the battery does not become damaged under unfavorable temperatures for charging.
Honjo is silent on a current sensor selected from the group consisting of:
(1) a current sensor operably coupled to the energy storage device and configured to detect current input and output of the energy storage device and provide a current sensor signal representative of the detected current; and
(2) a current sensor operably coupled to a controller and configured to detect a total current from the charging device to the combination of the energy storage device and heater and provide a current sensor signal representative of the detected current;
Sato discloses a current sensor operably coupled to the energy storage device and configured to detect current input and output of the energy storage device and provide a current sensor signal representative of the detected current (¶0024 and Fig. 1: battery current sensor 83 detects current to and from the battery 10).
Honjo, Inui, Wekwert, and Sato all disclose power systems for charging batteries in controlled temperature environments. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery current sensor in the power system of Sato to the power system of Honjo to monitor the state of charge of the battery by checking its output and ensure charging current levels to the battery are safe by checking its input.
Regarding claim 43, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato disclose the power system of claim 39, wherein Inui discloses the controller is configured to control the current output of the charging device to provide at least 75% or more of the power required to power the heater in the low temperature operating mode (Fig. 10 and ¶0041: controlling circuit 61 controls switching circuit 67 to switch between DC/DC converter 61 (power from battery 50) and AC/DC converter 62 (power from commercial power outlet 64). Examiner interprets AC/DC provides 100% of the heater power when connected to heater via the switch 67).
Regarding claim 44, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato disclose the power system of claim 39, wherein Inui discloses the energy storage device is one of an electrochemical battery, a supercapacitor battery, and a solid-state battery (¶0024: lithium-ion batteries).
Regarding claim 45, Honjo discloses the power system of claim 39, wherein Sato further discloses the current sensor (83) is operably connected to the controller (control section 90) and the current sensor provides the current sensor signal directly to the controller (¶0024 and Fig. 1: battery current sensor 83 detects current to and from the battery 10).
Claims 12-15 and 46-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato, and further in view of Loftus (US 20160059732 A1, Published 2016-03-03).
Regarding claim 12, Honjo in view of Inui and Sato discloses the power system of claim 10, wherein the energy storage device (Inui - Fig. 10: battery 50) comprises a storage device management system (SDMS) (Inui - control circuit 60) operably coupled to the energy storage device, heater (Inui - 40), and current sensor (Sato - 83), and the SDMS is configured to receive the current sensor signal and to transmit the sensor signal representative of the detected current to the controller (Sato - ¶0024).
Honjo does not disclose that the SDMS and controller are two distinct components from each other in communication with each other.
Loftus discloses a SDMS (Fig. 1: Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 46) and a controller in communication with each other (¶0017: The BECM is in communication with one or more controllers).
Both Honjo and Loftus disclose battery management and control systems. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the SMDS and controller of Loftus into the system of Honjo for robust control of the heater and charging of the battery in harsh environments typical in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Honjo in view of Loftus discloses the power system of claim 12, wherein the sensor signal is transmitted digitally by the SDMS to the controller (Loftus - ¶0017: controller area network (CAN)).
Regarding claim 14, Honjo in view of Loftus discloses the power system of claim 12, wherein the SDMS is in communication with the controller via a communication system (Loftus - ¶0017).
Regarding claim 15, Honjo in view of Loftus discloses the power system of claim 14, wherein the communication system is one of controller area network (CAN) (¶0017: CAN), an Ethernet network or an RS-485 network.
Regarding claim 46, Honjo in view of Inui and Sato discloses the power system of claim 39, wherein the power system further comprises a storage device management system (SDMS) and the current sensor (Sato - 83) is operably coupled to the SDMS (Inui - control circuit 60), and the controller is configured to receive from the SDMS a sensor signal representative of the detected current (Sato - ¶0024).
Honjo does not disclose that the SDMS and controller are two distinct components from each other in communication with each other.
Loftus discloses a SDMS (Fig. 1: Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 46) and a controller in communication with each other (¶0017: The BECM is in communication with one or more controllers).
Both Honjo and Loftus disclose battery management and control systems. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the SMDS and controller of Loftus into the system of Honjo for robust control of the heater and charging of the battery in harsh environments typical in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 47, Honjo in view of Loftus discloses the power system of claim 46, wherein the sensor signal representative of the detected current is transmitted digitally by the SDMS to the controller (Loftus - ¶0017).
Regarding claim 48, Honjo in view of Loftus discloses the power system of claim 47, wherein the SDMS is in communication with the controller via a communication system (Loftus - ¶0017).
Regarding claim 49, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato discloses the power system of claim 39, wherein Inui discloses the power system further comprises a storage device management system (SDMS) Fig. 10: control circuit 60) configured to determine a heater status, including whether the heater is on or off ; and
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes the signal representative of the heater status (0046: control circuit 60 detects temperature from the battery and controls heater to power on and off).
Honjo does not disclose that the SDMS and controller are two distinct components in communication with each other.
Loftus discloses a SDMS (Fig. 1: Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 46) and a controller in communication with each other (¶0017: The BECM is in communication with one or more controllers).
Both Honjo and Loftus disclose battery management and control systems. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the SMDS and controller of Loftus into the system of Honjo for robust control of the heater and charging of the battery in harsh environments typical in a vehicle.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato, and further in view of Steil (US 20170309967 A1, Published 2017-10-26).
Regarding claim 16, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato disclose the power system of claim 10.
Honjo does not disclose wherein the current sensor is one of a shunt sensor and a Hall-effect sensor.
Steil discloses a current sensor is one of an analog sensor, a shunt sensor, and a Hall-effect sensor (¶0036 and Fig. 2: Hall sensor or a shunt sensor 4).
Honjo, Inui, Wekwert, Sato, and Steil all disclose battery systems. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the shunt sensor battery system in Steil for the current sensor in the system of Honjo as a cost effective option for measuring current.
Claims 19 and 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and further in view of Loftus.
Regarding claim 19, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein Inui further discloses the power system comprising a storage device management system (SDMS) (Fig. 10: control circuit 60) configured to determine a heater status, including whether the heater is on or off, and to transmit a signal representative of the heater status to the SDMS; and
wherein the one or more sensor signals includes the signal representative of the heater status (0046: control circuit 60 detects temperature from the battery and controls heater to power on and off).
Honjo does not disclose that the SDMS and controller are two distinct components in communication with each other.
Loftus discloses a SDMS (Fig. 1: Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 46) and a controller in communication with each other (¶0017: The BECM is in communication with one or more controllers).
Both Honjo and Loftus disclose battery management and control systems. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the SMDS and controller of Loftus into the system of Honjo for robust control of the heater and charging of the battery in harsh environments typical in a vehicle.
Regarding claim 35, see the rejection for claim 19.
Claims 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert, and further in view of Watanabe et al. (US 20210031748 A1, Published 2021-02-04), hereinafter referred to as Watanabe.
Regarding claim 36, Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert discloses the subsystem of claim 24, wherein:
the energy storage device comprises an electrochemical battery (Inui - ¶0024: lithium-ion batteries).
Honjo does not disclose the charging device comprises an alternator; and
the controller is configured to control the operation of the alternator, including controlling a current output of the alternator.
Watanabe discloses a charging device comprises an alternator (¶0022 and Fig. 1: alternating current motor); and
the controller is configured to control the operation of the alternator, including controlling a current output of the alternator (¶0046: control unit 123 regulates current output from DC-DC converter).
Both Honjo and Watanabe teach battery charging systems in vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the alternator and output current control in the system of Watanabe into the system of Honjo to convert the unused mechanical energy in a vehicle into another power source for charging the battery system.
Regarding claims 37-38, see the rejection for claim 36.
Claims 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui and Wekwert and Sato, and further in view of Grace and Yagi.
Regarding claim 40, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert and Sato discloses the power system of claim 39, wherein in the low temperature operating mode, the controller is configured to control the current output of the charging device to power the heater (Inui - Fig. 11 and ¶0052).
Honjo does not disclose the controller is configured to control current output of the charging device to power the heater while maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device.
Grace discloses powering a heater while maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device (¶0046: charge current is used to charge batteries while powering onboard accessories such as heaters that are on during this time).
Honjo and Grace disclose vehicles distributing power. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the maintenance of a nominal current while powering the heater in the system of Grace into the system of Honjo to allow other devices such as car accessories to charge or stay powered while the heater is operating.
Honjo does not disclose maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device.
Yagi discloses maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device (¶0034: battery supplies electric power to a load which the examiner interprets including a nominal current of 0 amps).
Both Honjo and Yagi disclose power distribution systems in vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate maintaining a nominal current discharge of the energy storage device in the system of Yagi into the system of Honjo to ensure low or no parasitic draw of the battery.
Regarding claim 41, Honjo in view of Grace and Yagi discloses the power system of claim 40, wherein Yagi further discloses the nominal current discharge of the energy storage device is 1 amp or less (the examiner interprets a nominal current includes 0 amps).
Regarding claim 42, Honjo in view of Grace and Yagi discloses the power system of claim 41, wherein Yagi further discloses the nominal current discharge of the energy storage device is 5 amp or less (See rejection for claim 41).
Claims 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert, and Sato, and further in view of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 50, Honjo in view of Inui, Wekwert , and Sato discloses the subsystem of claim 39, wherein:
the energy storage device comprises an electrochemical battery (Inui - ¶0024: lithium-ion batteries).
Honjo does not disclose the charging device comprises an alternator; and
the controller is configured to control the operation of the alternator, including controlling a current output of the alternator.
Watanabe discloses a charging device comprises an alternator (¶0022 and Fig. 1: alternating current motor); and
the controller is configured to control the operation of the alternator, including controlling a current output of the alternator (¶0046: control unit 123 regulates current output from DC-DC converter).
Both Honjo and Watanabe teach battery charging systems in vehicles. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the alternator and output current control in the system of Watanabe into the system of Honjo to convert the unused mechanical energy in a vehicle into another power source for charging the battery system.
Regarding claims 51-52, see the rejection for claim 50.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 December 5, 2025
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859