DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on December 29, 2025 claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14 and 16-21 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are currently amended and claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 were previously cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1 and 11, as detailed below, are rejected over Wu 20140246904A1 In view of Guang et al. US20050275374A1 and Tomonobu et al. JP5489779B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-11, 14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu 20140246904A1 In view of Guang et al. US20050275374A1 and Tomonobu et al. JP5489779B2 .
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic device (FIG. 1) comprising:
a charger (124);
a first battery pack (12) electrically connected to the charger (124 through a first path (124b);
a processor (122) electrically connected to the charger (124), the first battery pack (126), (FIG. 1),
wherein the first battery pack (12) includes a first battery cell, a first load switch (SW2), a third load switch (SW1) a first current sensing circuit (120) that senses a first battery cell current flowing through the first load switch (SW2), the first current sensing circuit being electrically connected to a node (Nout) between the first load switch (SW2) and the third load switch (SW1) to sense the first battery cell current (¶17 - detection of the current and current to the battery pack is controlled)
wherein the first battery cell (126), the first load switch (SW1), and the third load switch (SW2_ are connected in series in which the first load switch (SW2) is between the first battery cell (126) and the third load switch(SW1) (FIG. 1)
Wu does not explicitly teach the battery packs including a first current sensing circuit that senses a first battery cell current flowing through the first load switch, the first current sensing circuit being electrically connected to a node between the first load switch and the third load switch to sense the first battery cell current. and a second current sensing circuit that senses a second battery cell current flowing through the second load switch, the second current sensing circuit being electrically connected to a node between the second load switch and the fourth load switch to sense the second battery cell current; the processor is configured to: set a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge the first battery cell and the second battery cell, activate a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell when the first battery cell current is equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack; in response to activating the constant current function, allow the charger to gradually decrease the target current of the output current of the charger; deactivate the constant current function of the first load switch when the first battery cell current is less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell, and in response to deactivating the constant current function, reset the target current value, and wherein the second battery cell, the second load switch, and the fourth load switch are connected in series in which the second load switch is between the second battery cell and the fourth load switch.
Although Wu does not explicitly teach a second battery pack electrically connected to the charger through a second path having a higher impedance than the first path ; and the processor electrically connected to the second battery pack; wherein the second battery pack ) includes a second battery cell a second load switch, a fourth load switch; and a second current sensing circuit that senses a second battery cell current flowing through the second load switch, the second current sensing circuit being electrically connected to a node between the second load switch and the fourth load switch to sense the second battery cell current, it is noted that the second battery pack is a duplication of the first battery pack. The courts have held that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP2144.04) In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
The arrangement of multiple battery packs being arranged with a processor and a charger is illustrated by Guang, which teaches a first battery pack including a battery cell 28 and switch Q12 and a second battery pack including cell 30 and switch Q13.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
The combination of Wu and Guang do not explicitly teach the processor is configured to: set a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge the first battery cell and the second battery cell, activate a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell when the first battery cell current is equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack; in response to activating the constant current function, allow the charger to gradually decrease the target current of the output current of the charger; deactivate the constant current function of the first load switch when the first battery cell current is less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell, and in response to deactivating the constant current function, reset the target current value
Tomonobu teaches to set a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge battery (page 4, ¶3 - target current value of I(1)),
activate a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell when the first battery cell current is equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack (page 4, ¶3 - Step S1 - I(1) is set to the maximum value of the charging current and charged in a constant current mode));
in response to activating the constant current function, allow the charger to gradually decrease the target current of the output current of the charger (page 4, ¶4 - step S2 – constant current mode charging reduced to I(2));
deactivate the constant current function of the first load switch when the first battery cell current is less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell (page 4, ¶3 - if I2 is less than the maximum allowable current then the current needs to be raised to be set to the maximum value that can be tolerated by the cell, thus, turning off the constant current function), and
in response to deactivating the constant current function, reset the target current value (page 4, ¶3- when charging, the charging current is set to the maximum value of the charging current that can be tolerated).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to apply the charging control of Tomonobu to the system of Wu in order to maintain the charging values within a specified range to prevent deterioration and to maintain a stable capacity (Tomonobu; page 1, ¶2).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 14, Wu discloses that the first load switch (SW2) allows the first battery cell current to be less than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell when the first load switch of the first battery pack is activated (¶19 – magnitude of the current I In response to the detection signal ds is lower than a threshold current – the switch SW2 is turned on when the detection signal is less than the threshold current)
Wu does not explicitly teach the constant current function of the first load switch.
Tomonobu teaches charging in a constant current mode (page 4, ¶3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to apply the charging control of Tomonobu to the system of Wu in order to maintain the charging values within a specified range to prevent deterioration and to maintain a stable capacity (Tomonobu; page 1, ¶2).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 16, Wu does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to allow a reference voltage of the charger to be changed from the first battery cell voltage to the second battery cell voltage in response to a second condition being satisfied.
Guang discloses that the processor is configured to allow a reference voltage of the charger to be changed from the first battery cell voltage to the second battery cell voltage in response to a second condition being satisfied (¶29 – when any cell is fully charged, the respective switch is opened to disconnect the battery, thus the second battery cell is charged; See also FIGs. 4A-4D and corresponding ¶48-51).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 17, Wu does not explicitly teach the second condition is whether a difference between the first battery cell voltage and the second battery cell voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold voltage value.
Guang discloses that the second condition is whether a difference between the first battery cell voltage and the second battery cell voltage is equal to or greater than a threshold voltage value (¶29 - when the first battery is fully charged and the second battery is not fully charged there is some difference between the first and second battery cell voltage and is thus greater than any threshold since they are unequal).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
Regarding claim 8 and claim 18, Wu does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to: set a target voltage value of the first load switch to a fully charged voltage of the first battery cell, and activate a constant voltage function of the first load switch when the second condition is satisfied.
Guang discloses that the processor is configured to: set a target voltage value of the first load switch to a fully charged voltage of the first battery cell, and activate a constant voltage function of the first load switch when the second condition is satisfied (¶45 – the system checks whether the battery cells have been fully charged and checks to determine which channels are charging/not charging. Those that are not charging, or are in a constant voltage state, the switches are turned off. ¶29 – when the battery is fully charged the respective switch is opened).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
Regarding claim 9 and claim 19, Wu does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to determine the reference voltage of the charger as a greater value of the first battery cell voltage and the second battery cell voltage, when the second condition is not satisfied.
Guang discloses that processor is configured to determine the reference voltage of the charger as a greater value of the first battery cell voltage and the second battery cell voltage, when the second condition is not satisfied (¶29 – when a battery is not in a fully charged state, the charger will continue charging; FIG. 5 – the charger will continue to rotate through the battery until a battery has a full charge).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
Regarding claim 10 and claim 20, Guang does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to: control the output current of the charger as a constant current until the reference voltage of the charger reaches a target voltage value of the charger, and control the output current of the charger such that the reference voltage is maintained at the target voltage value of the charger when the reference voltage reaches the target voltage value of the charger, and wherein the target voltage value of the charger is a fully charged voltage of the first battery cell or the second battery cell.
Tomonobu discloses that the processor is configured to:
control the output current of the charger as a constant current until the reference voltage of the charger reaches a target voltage value of the charger (“The rectifier 101 can automatically shift from the constant current mode to the constant voltage mode based on the voltage of the lithium ion assembled battery 3 during charging” (page 2, last ¶); “determined in step S7 that the voltages of all single cells 2 have reached the set voltage value V S (V S = 4.1 V), the process proceeds to step S8, and the charging mode is changed from the constant current mode to the constant voltage mode” (page 4, last ¶)), and
control the output current of the charger such that the reference voltage is maintained at the target voltage value of the charger when the reference voltage reaches the target voltage value of the charger (page 2, last ¶ - “the constant voltage mode is in the state in which the charging voltage is maintained at a constant value” – the nature of constant voltage is that the current is adjusted such that the voltage is maintained at a constant value), and
the target voltage value of the charger is a fully charged voltage of the first battery cell or the second battery cell (page 4, last ¶ - the set voltage value V S (V S = 4.1 V) which is the fully charged state of the battery).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to apply the charging control of Tomonobu to the system of Wu in order to maintain the charging values within a specified range to prevent deterioration and to maintain a stable capacity (Tomonobu; page 1, ¶2).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses a method performed by an electronic device (FIG. 1) including a charger (124 ), a first battery pack (12) electrically connected to the charger (124) through a first path (FIG. 1), wherein the first battery pack (12) includes a first battery cell (126), a first load switch (SW2), a third load switch (SW3), and a first current sensing circuit (120) that senses a first battery cell (126) current flowing through the first load switch (SW2), wherein the first current sensing circuit (120) is electrically connected to a node (Nout) between the first load switch (SW2) and the third load switch (SW1) to sense the first battery cell current wherein the first battery cell (126), the first load switch (SW1), and the third load switch (SW2_ are connected in series in which the first load switch (SW2) is between the first battery cell (126) and the third load switch(SW1) (FIG. 1)
Wu does not explicitly disclose a second battery pack electrically connected to the charger through a second path having a higher impedance than the first path, and the second battery pack includes a second battery cell, a second load switch, a fourth load switch, and a second current sensing circuit that senses a second battery cell current flowing through the second load switch, the method comprising: setting a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge the first battery cell and the second battery cell; in response to the first battery cell current being equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack activating, by a processor of the electronic device, a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell; in response to activating the constant current function, allowing, by the processor, the charger to gradually decrease the target current value of the output current of the charger; in response to the first battery cell current being less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell, deactivating, by the processor, the constant current function of the first load switch: and in response to deactivating the constant current function, resetting the target current value, wherein the second current sensing circuit is electrically connected to a node between the second load switch and the fourth load switch to sense the second battery cell current,
Although Wu does not explicitly teach a second battery pack electrically connected to the charger through a second path having a higher impedance than the first path ; and the processor electrically connected to the second battery pack; wherein the second battery pack ) includes a second battery cell a second load switch, a fourth load switch; and a second current sensing circuit that senses a second battery cell current flowing through the second load switch, the second current sensing circuit being electrically connected to a node between the second load switch and the fourth load switch to sense the second battery cell current, it is noted that the second battery pack is a duplication of the first battery pack. The courts have held that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP2144.04) In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
The arrangement of multiple battery packs being arranged with a processor and a charger is illustrated by Guang. Which teaches a first battery pack including a battery cell 28 and switch Q12 and a second battery pack including cell 30 and switch Q13.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide multiple battery module interactions, as taught by Guang, to the system of Wu, in order to provide for multiple cell charging and facilitating charging for further devices (Guang; ¶5).
Guang does not explicitly teach, the method comprising: setting a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge the first battery cell and the second battery cell; in response to the first battery cell current being equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack activating, by a processor of the electronic device, a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell; in response to activating the constant current function, allowing, by the processor, the charger to gradually decrease the target current value of the output current of the charger; in response to the first battery cell current being less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell, deactivating, by the processor, the constant current function of the first load switch: and in response to deactivating the constant current function, resetting the target current value, wherein the first current sensing circuit is electrically connected to a node between the first load switch and the third load switch to sense the first battery cell current,
Tomonobu teaches setting a target current value of an output current of the charger supplied to charge the battery cell (page 4, ¶3 - target current value of I(1)),;
in response to the first battery cell current being equal to or greater than a maximum allowable current of the first battery cell of the first battery pack activating, by a processor of the electronic device, a constant current function of the first load switch included in the first battery pack to increase an impedance of a charging path of the first battery cell (page 4, ¶3 - Step S1 - I(1) is set to the maximum value of the charging current and charged in a constant current mode));
in response to activating the constant current function, allowing, by the processor, the charger to gradually decrease the target current value of the output current of the charger (page 4, ¶4 -step S2 – constant current mode charging reduced to I(2));
in response to the first battery cell current being less than the maximum allowable current of the first battery cell, deactivating, by the processor, the constant current function of the first load switch (page 4, ¶3 - if I2 is less than the maximum allowable current then the current needs to be raised to be set to the maximum value that can be tolerated by the cell, thus, turning off the constant current function), and
in response to deactivating the constant current function, resetting the target current value (page 4, ¶3 - when charging, the charging current is set to the maximum value of the charging current that can be tolerated),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to apply the charging control of Tomonobu to the system of Wu in order to maintain the charging values within a specified range to prevent deterioration and to maintain a stable capacity (Tomonobu; page 1, ¶2).
Regarding claim 21. Guang does not specifically teach that when the constant current function of the first load switch is activated, the impedance of the charging path of the first battery cell is increased to maintain the first battery cell current below a first load switch target current.
Tomonobu discloses that when the constant current function of the first load switch is activated (page 6, first full ¶ - “when it is determined that the voltages of all the single cells 2 have reached the set voltage value V S (V S = 4.1 V), the process proceeds to step S18, and the charging mode is switched from the constant current mode to the constant voltage mode”), the impedance of the charging path of the first battery cell is increased to maintain the first battery cell current below a first load switch target current (due to Ohms law, R = ΔV/I, when the change in voltage is increasing, the resistance (R), or impedance, likewise increases while the current (I) is constant).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to apply the charging control of Tomonobu to the system of Wu in order to maintain the charging values within a specified range to prevent deterioration and to maintain a stable capacity (Tomonobu; page 1, ¶2).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu 20140246904A1 In view of Guang et al. US20050275374A1 and Tomonobu et al. JP5489779B2 and further in view of Leach et al. US20070190369A1.
Regarding claim 2, Wu does not explicitly disclose the first battery pack includes a first voltage sensing circuit configured to sense a first battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the first battery cell, and wherein the second battery pack includes a second voltage sensing circuit configured to sense a second battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the second battery cell.
Leach discloses that a battery pack (FIG. 12 at the bottom half – see annotated FIG. 12 below) includes a first voltage sensing circuit (¶14 - battery protection circuit monitors the voltage and current of each battery; FIG. 12 at 1230) configured to sense a first battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the first battery cell (B1).
Leach discloses that a second battery pack (FIG. 12 at the top half – see annotated FIG. 12 below) includes a second battery cell (B2), a second voltage sensing circuit (¶14 - battery protection circuit monitors the voltage and current of each battery; FIG. 12 at 1232) configured to sense a second battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the second battery cell (B2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the battery pack of Wu in order to provide a battery with a protection circuit that will allow a fuel cell to continue charging while the fault is rectified by a user (Leach; ¶48 and ¶75).
Regarding claim 12, Wu does not explicitly disclose a first voltage sensing circuit configured to sense a first battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the first battery cell, and a first current sensing circuit configured to sense a first battery cell current flowing through the first load switch, and wherein the second battery pack includes a second voltage sensing circuit configured to sense a second battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the second battery cell, and a second current sensing circuit configured to sense a second battery cell current flowing through the second load switch.
Leach discloses that a battery pack (FIG. 12 at the bottom half – see annotated FIG. 12 below) includes a first battery cell (B1), the first load switch (S1), a first voltage sensing circuit (¶14 - battery protection circuit monitors the voltage and current of each battery; FIG. 12 at 1230) configured to sense a first battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the first battery cell (B1).
Leach discloses that a second battery pack (FIG. 12 at the top half – see annotated FIG. 12 below) includes a second battery cell (B2), a second load switch (S3), a second voltage sensing circuit (¶14 - battery protection circuit monitors the voltage and current of each battery; FIG. 12 at 1232) configured to sense a second battery cell voltage applied to both ends of the second battery cell (B2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the battery pack of Wu in order to provide a battery with a protection circuit that will allow a fuel cell to continue charging while the fault is rectified by a user (Leach; ¶48 and ¶75).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al. US20060232241A1 ¶23 discloses determining a voltage at a common node.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859