Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Receipt of the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 C.F.R. 1.114, the Amendment and Applicants’ Arguments/Remarks, all filed 13 February 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 19-20, and 24-37 are currently pending. Claims 2-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 17-18, and 21-23 have been cancelled. Claims 8-9 and 19-20 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1, 12, and 26-27 have been amended. Claims 28-37 are newly added. Claims 1, 5, 12, 15-16, and 24-37 are examined on the merits within.
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 11-12, 14-16, 18 and 22-27 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) Rejection of Ishizuka et al. has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C.103 Rejection of Ishizuka et al. in view of Mukai et al. has been modified to now recite Mukai et al. (JP2013014741) in view of Ishizuka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0223067) and DeCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0164311). The 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection of Ishizuka et al. in view of Mukai et al. and Watanabe et al. has been modified to now recite Mukai et al. (JP2013014741) in view of Ishizuka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0223067) and DeCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0164311) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP2017186187).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 5, 24, 26, 30-31, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai et al. (JP2013014741) in view of Ishizuka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0223067) and DeCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0164311).
Mukai et al. teach modifying a resin with a cellulose nanofiber. See paragraph [0001]. The resin may be polylactic acid. See paragraph [0016]. The composition may additionally comprise a colorant. See paragraph [0042]. Mukai et al. teach the cellulose fiber is highly crystalline with type 1 crystal structure. See paragraph [0038]. Cellulose can be oxidized using an N-oxyl compound such as TEMPO as an oxidation catalyst to obtain reaction product fibers. See paragraph [0031]. The production method comprises the steps of (a) preparing an emulsion comprising cellulose nanofibers, resin particles and a liquid medium, and then (b) removing the liquid medium from the emulsion by drying. See paragraph [0043].
Mukai et al. do not teach a porous particle.
Ishizuka et al. teach porous particles of substantially spherical shape. See abstract. The porous particles may or may not contain a component other than a polymer. The other components may be nanofibers such as cellulose nanofiber. See paragraph [0036]. The material of the porous polymers may be an organic polymer, an inorganic polymer or an organic-inorganic hybrid polymer. See paragraph [0031]. Examples include divinylbenzene polymers. See paragraph [0031]. The dispersion preparation step is performed by mixing a thermosetting composition containing at least a solvent serving as a porogen with a hydrophobic organic solvent (dispersion medium) to which the block copolymer (dispersant) has been added previously to disperse the thermosetting composition in the hydrophobic organic solvent in the form of particles. The thermosetting composition is an epoxy resin raw material composition containing an epoxy resin raw material, a curing agent, and a porogen. Thereafter, the polymerization step is performed by heating the dispersion. Then, epoxy resin porous particles are obtained through polymerization. Thereafter, the porogen, the solvent, the unreacted substances, and the like are removed from the porous particles. See paragraph [0115].
DeCarlo et al. teach that the chemical nature of chitosan provides many possibilities for covalent and ionic modifications which allow extensive adjustment of mechanical and biological properties. See paragraph [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add a porogen to the processing step of Mukai et al. to prepare an emulsion comprising cellulose nanofibers, resin particles, porogen and a liquid medium since this is a known effective manner of forming porous particles when attaching cellulose components. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to form porous particles having through holes that are not closed as taught by Ishizuka et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one polymer for another (i.e., polylactic acid for divinylbenzene) to yield predictable results because both Ishizuka et al. and Mukai et al. are directed to the effective combination of polymers and cellulose nanofibers. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the content of ionic groups to control the mechanical and biological properties of the particle as taught by DeCarlo et al. Since the prior art makes obvious the composite particle of claim 1, the properties should be the same, i.e., light diffusion index of 0.6 or more.
6. Claim(s) 28, 32, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai et al. (JP2013014741) in view of Ishizuka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0223067) and DeCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0164311) as applied to claims 1, 5, 24, 26, 30-31, and 36 above and further in view of Watanabe et al. (JP2017186187).
Mukai et al., Ishizuka et al., and DeCarlo et al. do not teach chitin.
Watanabe et al. teach porous silica particles as a scrubbing agent in cleansing cosmetics. See paragraph [0001]. The porous silica-based particles having naturally occurring polymers. See paragraph [0011]. The naturally occurring polymers are biodegradable including alkyl cellulose derivatives, polyamino acids, and polysaccharides. The naturally occurring polymer can be cellulose nanofibers. See paragraph [0014]. Example 6 comprises using a polymer dispersion of cellulose and xanthan gum (biodegradable polymer) composite particles with porous silica based particles. The composition may additionally comprise colorants, UV absorbers, fragrances, etc. See paragraph [0043]. The silica based particles may also contain fine particles containing at least one of titanium oxide, iron oxide, zinc oxide, ultramarine, Prussian blue, and an organic pigments. See paragraph [0016]. The fine particles have a particle size in the range of 100 nm to 1000 nm. See paragraph [0016]. Silver nitrate is added to the porous particles. See paragraph [0013]. Example 7 uses chitosan. The particle has a circularity in the range of 0.7 to 1. See paragraph [0018]. The specific surface area is 2.2 g/cm3. See paragraph [0021].
It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to substitute one fiber material for another to yield predictable results since Watanabe et al. used chitosan and cellulose interchangeably. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the pore diameter, specific surface area, and circularity to optimize the formulation to achieve the desired effect.
7. Claim(s) 12, 15-16, 25, 27, 29 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai et al. (JP2013014741) in view of Ishizuka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0223067) and DeCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0164311) and Watanabe et al. (JP2017186187).
Mukai et al. teach modifying a resin with a cellulose nanofiber. See paragraph [0001]. The resin may be polylactic acid. See paragraph [0016]. The composition may additionally comprise a colorant. See paragraph [0042]. Mukai et al. teach the cellulose fiber is highly crystalline with type 1 crystal structure. See paragraph [0038]. Cellulose can be oxidized using an N-oxyl compound such as TEMPO as an oxidation catalyst to obtain reaction product fibers. See paragraph [0031]. The production method comprises the steps of (a) preparing an emulsion comprising cellulose nanofibers, resin particles and a liquid medium, and then (b) removing the liquid medium from the emulsion by drying. See paragraph [0043].
Mukai et al. do not teach a porous particle.
Ishizuka et al. teach porous particles of substantially spherical shape. See abstract. The porous particles may or may not contain a component other than a polymer. The other components may be nanofibers such as cellulose nanofiber. See paragraph [0036]. The material of the porous polymers may be an organic polymer, an inorganic polymer or an organic-inorganic hybrid polymer. See paragraph [0031]. Examples include divinylbenzene polymers. See paragraph [0031]. The dispersion preparation step is performed by mixing a thermosetting composition containing at least a solvent serving as a porogen with a hydrophobic organic solvent (dispersion medium) to which the block copolymer (dispersant) has been added previously to disperse the thermosetting composition in the hydrophobic organic solvent in the form of particles. The thermosetting composition is an epoxy resin raw material composition containing an epoxy resin raw material, a curing agent, and a porogen. Thereafter, the polymerization step is performed by heating the dispersion. Then, epoxy resin porous particles are obtained through polymerization. Thereafter, the porogen, the solvent, the unreacted substances, and the like are removed from the porous particles. See paragraph [0115].
DeCarlo et al. teach that the chemical nature of chitosan provides many possibilities for covalent and ionic modifications which allow extensive adjustment of mechanical and biological properties. See paragraph [0004].
Watanabe et al. teach porous silica particles as a scrubbing agent in cleansing cosmetics. See paragraph [0001]. The porous silica-based particles having naturally occurring polymers. See paragraph [0011]. The naturally occurring polymers are biodegradable including alkyl cellulose derivatives, polyamino acids, and polysaccharides. The naturally occurring polymer can be cellulose nanofibers. See paragraph [0014]. Example 6 comprises using a polymer dispersion of cellulose and xanthan gum (biodegradable polymer) composite particles with porous silica based particles. The composition may additionally comprise colorants, UV absorbers, fragrances, etc. See paragraph [0043]. The silica based particles may also contain fine particles containing at least one of titanium oxide, iron oxide, zinc oxide, ultramarine, Prussian blue, and an organic pigments. See paragraph [0016]. The fine particles have a particle size in the range of 100 nm to 1000 nm. See paragraph [0016]. Silver nitrate is added to the porous particles. See paragraph [0013]. Example 7 uses chitosan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add a porogen to the processing step of Mukai et al. to prepare an emulsion comprising cellulose nanofibers, resin particles, porogen and a liquid medium since this is a known effective manner of forming porous particles when attaching cellulose components. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to form porous particles having through holes that are not closed as taught by Ishizuka et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one polymer for another (i.e., polylactic acid for divinylbenzene) to yield predictable results because both Ishizuka et al. and Mukai et al. are directed to the effective combination of polymers and cellulose nanofibers. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the content of ionic groups to control the mechanical and biological properties of the particle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add inorganic metal or organic colorants to the composition made obvious by Ishizuka et al. and Mukai et al. because Mukai et al. teach colorants as additives in polymer cellulose nanofiber combinations and Watanabe et al. teach inorganic metals and organic pigments are effectively combined with polymers and cellulose fibers. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the shape and size of the particles to effectively incorporate them within the porous polymer particles to achieve the desired effect. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to substitute one fiber material for another to yield predictable results since Watanabe et al. used chitosan and cellulose interchangeably.
Examiner’s Note: Claims 33 and 34 are free of the prior art.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1, 5, 12, 15-16, and 24-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,195,608.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 12,195,608 are directed to composite particles comprising a core particle and fine fibers of cellulose or chitin nanofibers wherein the fine fibers are inseparably bonded to a surface of the core particle. The only difference lies in the fact that U.S. Patent No. 12,195,608 further defines diameters of the chitin nanofiber. However this component is further defined in the dependent claims of the instant application. Thus the two are not patentably distinct.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
10. Applicant has requested that the provisional rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified. However, this request cannot be considered, especially in view that no patentable subject matter has yet been identified.
The obviousness double patenting rejections are hereby maintained.
Correspondence
11. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615