DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in Fig. 1, 20, and 21.
Claims 1-20 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose the claimed invention. This argument is not persuasive because a new grounds of rejection has been set forth. Fig. 2B of Harris is now relied on to teach the amended claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babinot (US 20210273298 A1, cited in IDS of 06/07/2023) in view of Chen (CN-106935781-A, machine translation used for rejection below) and Harris (US 20180190960 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Babinot discloses a battery module ([0067]), comprising:
a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 1BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a second cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 2BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a third cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 3BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 7; element 110; [0165] teaches that features from Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 7 may be combined; Fig. 3 is used below as a close up of the features of Fig. 7) having a bottom (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24b), a busbar layer (Fig. 2; element 21), a top (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24a); and a sensor layer (Fig. 1; 18; “monitoring element”; [0068]; [0143]); the busbar layer (21) being coupled (Fig. 2) to and between the bottom isolation layer (24b) and the top isolation layer (24a); the top isolation layer (24a) being coupled to (Fig. 1, 2) the bus bar layer (21) and the sensor layer (18),
the bottom isolation layer (24b) contacting (Fig. 2) the first (40) and second (40) cylindrical battery cells, the bottom isolation layer (24b) having a first aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 1BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “1A”) and a second aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 2BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “2A”) extending therethrough,
the first aperture (1A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) therethrough and to expose a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC);
the second aperture (2A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) therethrough and to expose (Fig. 4; [0153]) a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC); and
the busbar layer (21) having first (annotated Fig 3; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LP) and third (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LP) layer portions being spaced apart from one another;
the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (annotated Fig. 3; “-” on 1BC and 2BC) and electrically contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC);
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting (annotated Fig. 3; “+” at 1 BC and 2BC) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second (2BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in parallel (Fig. 3; [0074]) to one another,
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the negative electrode (Fig. 3) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC); the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the positive electrode (48) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) such that the first (1BC) and third (3BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 3) to one another, the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP), wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode (52) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first long edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3; element 226); and
a second long edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (Fig. 3; element 228),
wherein the second long edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 3; element 1EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (228) are formed; and
a second edge portion (annotated Fig. 3; element 2EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shape slots (AS) are not formed.
The examiner notes that the rejection above relies on two embodiments, the embodiment of Fig. 1-4 to teach the general structure of the battery pack and laminated bus bar assembly (specifically the configuration of the layer portions), and the embodiment of Fig. 7 to teach the placement of the bus bars of the laminated bus bar assembly. Babinot discloses that the features of the two embodiments may be combined in [0165]. Therefore, such a combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Babinot fails to disclose “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, “via one of the arcuate-shaped slots formed in the first edge portion”; or “wherein each of the plurality of tabs defines a central axis, and the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second edge portion of the second long edge” or “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
Chen discloses a busbar layer (Fig. 9; element 4) having a first (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LP), and third (annotated Fig. 9; element 3LP) layer portion being spaced apart (Fig. 9) from one another; the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the negative electrode ([0039]) of a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 9; element 1BC) and the negative electrode ([0039]) of a second cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 9; element 2BC); the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the positive electrode ([0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode ([0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second cylindrical battery cells (2BC) are electrically coupled in parallel (Fig. 9) to one another,
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the negative electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC); the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting ([0041]) the positive electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) such that the first (1BC) and third (3BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 9) to one another, the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first long edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 9; element 41); and
a second long edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (annotated Fig. 9; element AS),
wherein the second long edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 9; element 1EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS) are formed,
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) via one of the arcuate-shaped slots (AS) formed in the first edge portion (1EP); and
a second edge portion (2EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS) are not formed (Fig. 9),
wherein each of the plurality of tabs (41) defines a central axis (annotated Fig. 9; element CA), and the central axis (CA) of each of the plurality of tabs (41) extends through the second edge portion (2EP) of the second long edge (2LE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Babinot by substituting the configuration of Chen’s bus bar layer, in place of the configuration of Babinot’s bus bar layer, such that the bus bar layer of Babinot in view of Chen possessed a second layer portion that electrically contacts the negative electrode of the third cylindrical battery cell via one of the arcuate-shaped slots formed in the first edge portion and wherein each of the plurality of tabs defines a central axis, and the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second edge portion of the second long edge. By adopting the configuration of Chen’s first, second and third layer portions in Babinot’s invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably and predictably expect to achieve a connection between the positive and negative electrodes ([0046]) of cylindrical battery cells ([0048]) in parallel, series or parallel and series ([0051]) as taught by Chen.
Babinot in view of Chen still fails to disclose “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, or “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
Harris discloses a battery module (Fig. 2B) comprising a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 2A; 220) having a busbar layer (Fig. 2B; 121), a top isolation layer (annotated Fig. 2B; TIL), and a sensor layer (Fig. 2B; 123); the top isolation (TIL) layer being coupled to (Fig. 2B; [0104]) and between (Fig. 2B) the busbar layer (121) and the sensor layer (123), and wherein the sensor layer (123) includes a plurality of apertures (windows in 123 per [0115] illustrated in Fig. 2B; “W”), wherein each of the plurality of apertures (W) is shaped (Fig. 2B) and sized (Fig. 2B) to expose at least a corresponding one (Fig. 3A; 163) of a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3A; 163).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Babinot in view of Chen by substituting the sensor layer of Harris for the sensor layer of Babinot in view of Chen such that the top isolation layer was between the busbar layer and the sensor layer and the sensor layer included a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs of Babinot in view of Chen in order to predictably allow for measuring the voltage of a group (or groups) of cells in the battery module, and cell balancing as taught by Harris ([0105]).
Regarding claim 2, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the first layer portion (1LP) has first (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1AS) and second arcuate-shaped (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 2AS) slots that extend from a first edge (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1E) thereof into the first layer portion (1LP), the first (1AS) and second arcuate-shaped (2AS) slots being spaced apart from one another; and the plurality of tabs (41) of the first long edge (1LE) of the second layer portion (2LP) include first (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1T) and second (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 2T) tabs extending toward the first (1AS) and second (2AS) arcuate-shaped slots, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the first (1T) and second tabs (2T) contact the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC), respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the negative electrode (Chen [0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the negative electrode (Chen [0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) contact the first layer portion (1LP) proximate to the first (1AS) and second (2AS) arcuate-shaped slots, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein:
the busbar layer (21 modified to have Chen’s configuration) further has first (Fig. 7; right 14; “1OSW”) and second (Fig. 7; left 14; “2OSW”) outer side walls that extend perpendicular (Fig. 2 show 14 extends in a direction into the page of Fig. 7) to the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions,
the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions being disposed between the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls; and
first (Fig. 7; one of elements 12 modified to possess Chen’s configuration) and second (Fig. 7; another of elements 12 modified to possess Chen’s configuration) busbars being coupled to the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls, respectively, of the busbar layer (21).
Regarding claim 6, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein:
the first aperture (1A) in the bottom isolation layer (24b) has a circular aperture (Fig. 4; element 264) in the bottom isolation layer (24b) and a skirt-shaped (Fig. 4; element 266) communicating (the two apertures may be combined to form a single larger opening not limited in shape per [0153]) with the circular aperture portion (264), the circular portion (264) communicating with the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and the skirt-shaped portion (266) communicating with the portion (Fig. 4; portion of 52 within 266) of the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
Regarding claim 7, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses the top isolation layer (24a) having a first aperture (Fig. 4; element 262) extending therethrough; the first aperture (262) of the top isolation layer (24a) is sized and shaped to expose a first tab (Fig. 4; element 226 modified by Chen) of the plurality of tabs (Chen 41) of the first long edge (1LE) of the second layer portion (2LP) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and to expose a portion (Fig. 4; element 228 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
Regarding claim 8, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein:
the first aperture (262) in the top isolation layer (24a) has a circular (“not limited in shape”; [0153]) aperture portion (Fig. 4; element 262) and a skirt shaped aperture portion (Fig. 4; 266) communicating (the two apertures may be combined to form a single larger opening not limited in shape per [0153]) with the circular aperture portion (264), the circular portion (262) exposing the first tab (226 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and
the skirt-shaped portion (266) exposing the portion (228 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed circular aperture portions because Babinot discloses that the shape and size of the first aperture is not limited ([0153]) and a circular shape would have sufficiently allowed access to the terminals as desired by Babinot ([0153]).
Regarding claim 9, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris fails to disclose wherein the sensor layer includes an electrical trace that is electrically coupled to the positive electrode of the first cylindrical battery cell.
Harris discloses a battery module (Fig. 2B) comprising: a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 2A; 220) having a sensor layer (Fig. 2B; 123); wherein the sensor layer (123) includes an electrical trace (Fig. 2B; 124; “signal wires or traces”; [0105]) that is electrically coupled ([0105]; [0107]) to a positive electrode (“positive… terminal”; [0107]) of a cylindrical battery cell (Fig. 2B; cylindrical battery cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Babinot in view of Chen by adding an electrical trace that is electrically coupled to the positive electrode of the first cylindrical battery cell as taught by Harris to the sensor layer of Babinot in view of Chen and Harris in order to predictably allow for measuring the voltage of a group (or groups) of cells in the battery module, and cell balancing as taught by Harris ([0105]).
Regarding claim 10, Babinot discloses a battery module ([0057]), comprising:
a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 1BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a second cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 2BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 7; element 110; [0165] teaches that features from Fig. 1-6 and Fig. 7 may be combined; Fig. 3 is used below as a close up of the features of Fig. 7) having a bottom (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24b), a busbar layer (Fig. 2; element 21), a top (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24a) and a sensor layer (Fig. 1; 18; “monitoring element”; [0068]; [0143]); the busbar layer (21) being coupled (Fig. 2) to and between the bottom isolation layer (24b) and the top isolation layer (24a); the top isolation layer (24a) being coupled to (Fig. 1, 2) the bus bar layer (21) and the sensor layer (18),
the bottom isolation layer (24b) contacting (Fig. 2) the first (40) and second (40) cylindrical battery cells, the bottom isolation layer (24b) having a first aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 1BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “1A”) and a second aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 2BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “2A”) extending therethrough,
the first aperture (1A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) therethrough and to expose a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC);
the second aperture (2A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) therethrough and to expose (Fig. 4; [0153]) a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC); and
the busbar layer (21) having first (annotated Fig. 3; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LP), and third layer portions (annotated Fig. 3; element 3LP) that are spaced apart (Fig. 3) from one another; the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (Fig. 3) and electrically contacting (Fig. 3; indicated by “-”) the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC);
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against (Fig. 3) and electrically contacting (Fig. 3; indicated by “+”) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC);
the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against (Fig. 3) and electrically contacting (Fig. 3; indicated by “+”) the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second (2BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 3; [0074]) to one another, the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3; element 226); and
a second edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (Fig. 3; element 228),
wherein the second edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 3; element 1EP) having the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (228), wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) via one of the arcuate shaped slots (228) formed in the first edge portion (1EP); and
a second portion (annotated Fig. 3; element; element 2EP) that includes exactly zero arcuate-shape slots (Fig. 3)
The examiner notes that the rejection above relies on two embodiments, the embodiment of Fig. 1-4 to teach the general structure of the battery pack and laminated bus bar assembly (specifically the configuration of the layer portions), and the embodiment of Fig. 7 to teach the placement of the bus bars of the laminated bus bar assembly. Babinot discloses that the features of the two embodiments may be combined in [0165]. Therefore, such a combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Babinot fails to disclose wherein “the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second portion of the second edge”, “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, or “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
Chen discloses a busbar layer (Fig. 9; element 4) having a first (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LP), and third (annotated Fig. 9; element 3LP) layer portions being spaced apart (Fig. 9) from one another; the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the negative electrode ([0039]) of a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 9; element 1BC); the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the positive electrode ([0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the negative electrode ([0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC), the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the positive electrode ([0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second (2BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 9) to one another,
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 9; element 41); and
a second edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (annotated Fig. 9; element AS),
wherein the second edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 9; element 1EP) having the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode ([0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) via one of the arcuate-shaped slots (AS) formed in the first portion (1EP); and
a second portion (2EP) that includes exactly zero arcuate-shaped slots (AS),
wherein each of the plurality of tabs (41) defines a central axis (annotated Fig. 9; element CA), and the central axis (CA) of each of the plurality of tabs (41) extends through the second portion (2EP) of the second edge (2LE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Babinot by substituting the configuration of Chen’s bus bar layer, in place of the configuration of Babinot’s bus bar layer, such that each of the plurality of tabs defines a central axis, and the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second portion of the second edge as taught by Chen. By adopting the configuration of Chen’s first, second and third layer portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve a connection between the positive and negative electrodes ([0046]) of cylindrical battery cells ([0048]) in a parallel, series or parallel and series connection ([0051]) as taught by Chen.
Babinot in view of Chen still fails to disclose “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, or “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
Harris discloses a battery module (Fig. 2B) comprising a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 2A; 220) having a busbar layer (Fig. 2B; 121), a top isolation layer (annotated Fig. 2B; TIL), and a sensor layer (Fig. 2B; 123); the top isolation (TIL) layer being coupled to (Fig. 2B; [0104]) and between (Fig. 2B) the busbar layer (121) and the sensor layer (123), and wherein the sensor layer (123) includes a plurality of apertures (windows in 123 per [0115] illustrated in Fig. 2B; “W”), wherein each of the plurality of apertures (W) is shaped (Fig. 2B) and sized (Fig. 2B) to expose at least a corresponding one (Fig. 3A; 163) of a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3A; 163).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Babinot in view of Chen by substituting the sensor layer of Harris for the sensor layer of Babinot in view of Chen such that the top isolation layer was between the busbar layer and the sensor layer and the sensor layer included a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs of Babinot in view of Chen in order to predictably allow for measuring the voltage of a group (or groups) of cells in the battery module, and cell balancing as taught by Harris ([0105]).
Regarding claim 11, Babinot in view of Chen discloses wherein:
the first layer portion (1LP) has an arcuate-shaped slot (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1AS) that extends from an edge (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1E) thereof into the first layer portion (1LP); and the plurality of tabs (41) of the first edge (1LE) of the second layer portion (2LP) include a first tab (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1T) and the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS) of the second edge (2LE) of the second layer portion (2LP) include a first arcuate-shaped slot (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 2AS), the first tab (1T) of the second layer portion (2LP) extending toward the arcuate-shaped slot (1AS) of the first layer portion (1LP), the first arcuate-shaped slot (2AS) of the second layer portion (2LP) extending from the second edge (2E) into the second layer portion (2LP); and the third layer portion (3LP) has a tab (annotated Fig. 9; element 2T)
that extends toward the first arcuate-shaped slot (2AS) of the second layer portion (2LP).
Regarding claim 12, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein the negative electrode (Chen [0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) contacts the first layer portion (1LP) proximate to the arcuate-shaped slot (1AS) of the first layer portion (1LP); the first tab (1T) of the second layer portion (2LP) contacts the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC); the negative electrode (Chen [0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) contacts the second layer portion (2BC) proximate to the first arcuate-shaped slot (2AS) of the second layer portion (2LP); and the tab (2T) of the third layer portion (3LP) contacts the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC).
Regarding claim 13, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the busbar layer (21 modified to have Chen’s configuration) further has first (Fig. 7; right 14; “1OSW”) and second (Fig. 7; left 14; “2OSW”) outer side walls that extend perpendicular (Fig. 2 show 14 extends in a direction into the page of Fig. 7) to the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions,
the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions being disposed between the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls;
Regarding claim 14, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein:
the first aperture (1A) in the bottom isolation layer (24b) has a circular aperture (Fig. 4; element 264) in the bottom isolation layer (24b) and a skirt-shaped (Fig. 4; element 266) communicating (the two apertures may be combined to form a single larger opening not limited in shape per [0153]) with the circular aperture portion (264), the circular portion (264) communicating with the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and the skirt-shaped portion (266) communicating with the portion (Fig. 4; portion of 52 within 266) of the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
Regarding claim 15, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses the top isolation layer (24a) having a first aperture (Fig. 4; element 262) extending therethrough; the first aperture (262) of the top isolation layer (24a) is sized and shaped to expose a first tab (Fig. 4; element 226 modified by Chen) of the plurality of tabs (Chen 41) of the first edge (1LE) of the second layer portion (2LP) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and to expose a portion (Fig. 4; element 228 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
Regarding claim 16, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein:
the first aperture (262) in the top isolation layer (24a) has a circular (“not limited in shape”; [0153]) aperture portion (Fig. 4; element 262) and a skirt shaped aperture portion (Fig. 4; 266) communicating (the two apertures may be combined to form a single larger opening not limited in shape per [0153]) with the circular aperture portion (264), the circular portion (262) exposing the first tab (226 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC), and
the skirt-shaped portion (266) exposing the portion (228 modified by Chen) of the busbar layer (21 modified by Chen) contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed circular aperture portions because Babinot discloses that the shape and size of the first aperture is not limited ([0153]) and a circular shape would have sufficiently allowed access to the terminals as desired by Babinot ([0153]).
Regarding claim 17, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris fails to disclose wherein the sensor layer includes an electrical trace that is electrically coupled to the positive electrode of the first cylindrical battery cell.
Harris discloses a battery module (Fig. 2B) comprising: a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 2A; 220) having a sensor layer (Fig. 2B; 123); wherein the sensor layer (123) includes an electrical trace (Fig. 2B; 124; “signal wires or traces”; [0105]) that is electrically coupled ([0105]; [0107]) to a positive electrode (“positive… terminal”; [0107]) of a cylindrical battery cell (Fig. 2B; cylindrical battery cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Babinot in view of Chen by adding an electrical trace that is electrically coupled to the positive electrode of the first cylindrical battery cell as taught by Harris to the sensor layer of Babinot in view of Chen and Harris in order to predictably allow for measuring the voltage of a group (or groups) of cells in the battery module, and cell balancing as taught by Harris ([0105]).
Regarding claim 18, Babinot discloses a battery module ([0057]), comprising:
a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 1BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a second cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 2BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a third cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 3; element 3BC; Fig. 2; element 40) having a positive electrode (Fig. 2; element 48) and a negative electrode (Fig. 2; element 52);
a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 7; element 110; [0165] teaches that features from Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 7 may be combined; Fig. 3 is used below as a close up of the features of Fig. 7) having a bottom (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24b), a busbar layer (Fig. 2; element 21), a top (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24a) and a sensor layer (Fig. 1; 18; “monitoring element”; [0068]; [0143]); the busbar layer (21) being coupled (Fig. 2) to and between the bottom isolation layer (24b) and the top isolation layer (24a); the top isolation layer (24a) being coupled to (Fig. 1, 2) the bus bar layer (21) and the sensor layer (18),
the bottom isolation layer (24b) contacting (Fig. 2) the first (40) and second (40) cylindrical battery cells, the bottom isolation layer (24b) having a first aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 1BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “1A”) and a second aperture (Fig. 4; element 264 and 266 at 2BC “replaced by a single bigger opening” as taught in [0153]; “2A”) extending therethrough,
the first aperture (1A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) therethrough and to expose a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC);
the second aperture (2A) of the bottom isolation layer (24b) being sized and shaped to receive (Fig. 4; [0153]) the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) therethrough and to expose (Fig. 4; [0153]) a portion of the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC); and
the busbar layer (21) having first (annotated Fig 3; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LP) and third (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LP) layer portions being spaced apart from one another;
the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (annotated Fig. 3; “-” on 1BC and 2BC) and electrically contacting the negative electrode (52) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the negative electrode (52) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC);
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting (annotated Fig. 3; “+” at 1 BC and 2BC) the positive electrode (48) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode (48) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second (2BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in parallel (Fig. 3; [0074]) to one another,
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the negative electrode (Fig. 3) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC); the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the positive electrode (48) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) such that the first (1BC) and third (3BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 3) to one another, the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP), wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode (52) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first long edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3; element 226); and
a second long edge (annotated Fig. 3; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (Fig. 3; element 228),
wherein the second long edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 3; element 1EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (228) are formed; and
a second edge portion (annotated Fig. 3; element 2EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shape slots (AS) are not formed,
wherein: the busbar layer (21) further has first (Fig. 7; right 14; “1OSW”) and second (Fig. 7; left 14; “2OSW”) conductive (“conductors”; [0068]) outer side walls that extend perpendicular (Fig. 2 show 14 extends in a direction into the page of Fig. 7) to the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions,
the first (1LP) and second (2LP) layer portions being disposed between the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls; and
first (Fig. 7; one of elements 12) and second (Fig. 7; another of elements 12) busbars being coupled to the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls, respectively, of the busbar layer (21),
wherein the first conductive outer side wall (1OSW) is disposed within a first virtual plane (annotated Fig. 7; element 1P; Fig. 2 shows that 14 extends in a direction into the page of Fig. 7), the second conductive outer side wall (2OSW) is disposed within a second virtual plane (annotated Fig. 7; element 2P; Fig. 2 shows that 14 extends in a direction into the page of Fig. 7), and the first (1LP) and second layer portions (2LP) are disposed within a third virtual plane (annotated Fig. 7; element 3P), wherein the third virtual plane (3P) is perpendicular to the first (1P) and second virtual planes (2P), and wherein first (Fig. 7; one of elements 12) and second (Fig. 7; another of elements 12) busbars being coupled to the first (1OSW) and second (2OSW) outer side walls, respectively, of the busbar layer (21)
.
The examiner notes that the rejection above relies on two embodiments, the embodiment of Fig. 1-4 to teach the general structure of the battery pack and laminated bus bar assembly (specifically the configuration of the layer portions), and the embodiment of Fig. 7 to teach the placement of the bus bars of the laminated bus bar assembly. Babinot discloses that the features of the two embodiments may be combined in [0165]. Therefore, such a combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Babinot fails to disclose “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
“via one of the arcuate-shaped slots formed in the first edge portion”; or “wherein each of the plurality of tabs defines a central axis, and the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second edge portion of the second long edge”.
Chen discloses a busbar layer (Fig. 9; element 4) having a first (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LP), second (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LP), and third (annotated Fig. 9; element 3LP) layer portions being spaced apart (Fig. 9) from one another; the first layer portion (1LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the negative electrode ([0039]) of a first cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 9; element 1BC) and the negative electrode ([0039]) of a second cylindrical battery cell (annotated Fig. 9; element 2BC); the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against (Fig. 9) and electrically contacting ([0041]) the positive electrode ([0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode ([0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC) such that the first (1BC) and second cylindrical battery cells (2BC) are electrically coupled in parallel (Fig. 9) to one another,
the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting the negative electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC); the third layer portion (3LP) being disposed against and electrically contacting ([0041]) the positive electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) such that the first (1BC) and third (3BC) cylindrical battery cells are electrically coupled in series (Fig. 9) to one another, the second layer portion (2LP) being disposed between the first layer portion (1LP) and the third layer portion (3LP),
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) includes:
a first long edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 1LE) having a plurality of tabs (Fig. 9; element 41); and
a second long edge (annotated Fig. 9; element 2LE) having a plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (annotated Fig. 9; element AS),
wherein the second long edge (2LE) includes:
a first edge portion (annotated Fig. 9; element 1EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS) are formed,
wherein the second layer portion (2LP) electrically contacts the negative electrode ([0039]) of the third cylindrical battery cell (3BC) via one of the arcuate-shaped slots (AS) formed in the first edge portion (1EP); and
a second edge portion (2EP) in which the plurality of arcuate-shaped slots (AS) are not formed (Fig. 9),
wherein each of the plurality of tabs (41) defines a central axis (annotated Fig. 9; element CA), and the central axis (CA) of each of the plurality of tabs (41) extends through the second edge portion (2EP) of the second long edge (2LE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Babinot by employing the configuration of Chen’s first, second and third layer portions, in place of the configuration of Babinot’s bus bar layer, such that the bus bar layer of modified Babinot possesses a second layer portion that electrically contacts the negative electrode of the third cylindrical battery cell via one of the arcuate-shaped slots formed in the first edge portion and wherein each of the plurality of tabs defines a central axis, and the central axis of each of the plurality of tabs extends through the second edge portion of the second long edge. By adopting the configuration of Chen’s first, second and third layer portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably and predictably expect a connection between the positive and negative electrodes ([0046]) of cylindrical battery cells ([0048]) in a parallel, series or parallel and series connection ([0051]) as taught by Chen.
a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 7; element 110; [0165] teaches that features from Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 7 may be combined; Fig. 3 is used below as a close up of the features of Fig. 7) having a bottom (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24b), a busbar layer (Fig. 2; element 21), a top (Fig. 2) isolation (“insulation layers”; [0091]) layer (Fig. 2; element 24a); and a sensor layer (Fig. 1; 18; “monitoring element”; [0068]; [0143]); the busbar layer (21) being coupled (Fig. 2) to and between the bottom isolation layer (24b) and the top isolation layer (24a); the top isolation layer (24a) being coupled to (Fig. 1, 2) the bus bar layer (21) and the sensor layer (18),
Babinot in view of Chen still fails to disclose “between the busbar layer and the sensor layer”, or “wherein the sensor layer includes a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs”.
Harris discloses a battery module (Fig. 2B) comprising a laminated busbar assembly (Fig. 2A; 220) having a busbar layer (Fig. 2B; 121), a top isolation layer (annotated Fig. 2B; TIL), and a sensor layer (Fig. 2B; 123); the top isolation (TIL) layer being coupled to (Fig. 2B; [0104]) and between (Fig. 2B) the busbar layer (121) and the sensor layer (123), and wherein the sensor layer (123) includes a plurality of apertures (windows in 123 per [0115] illustrated in Fig. 2B; “W”), wherein each of the plurality of apertures (W) is shaped (Fig. 2B) and sized (Fig. 2B) to expose at least a corresponding one (Fig. 3A; 163) of a plurality of tabs (Fig. 3A; 163).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Babinot in view of Chen by substituting the sensor layer of Harris for the sensor layer of Babinot in view of Chen such that the top isolation layer was between the busbar layer and the sensor layer and the sensor layer included a plurality of apertures, wherein each of the plurality of apertures is shaped and sized to expose at least a corresponding one of the plurality of tabs of Babinot in view of Chen in order to predictably allow for measuring the voltage of a group (or groups) of cells in the battery module, and cell balancing as taught by Harris ([0105]).
Regarding claim 19, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the first layer portion (1LP) has first (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1AS) and second arcuate-shaped (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 2AS) slots that extend from a first edge (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1E) thereof into the first layer portion (1LP), the first (1AS) and second arcuate-shaped (2AS) slots being spaced apart from one another; and the second layer portion (2LP) has first (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 1T) and second (Chen annotated Fig. 9; element 2T) tabs extending toward the first (1AS) and second (2AS) arcuate-shaped slots, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, Babinot in view of Chen and Harris discloses wherein: the first (1T) and second tabs (2T) contact the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the first cylindrical battery cell (1BC) and the positive electrode (Chen [0039]) of the second cylindrical battery cell (2BC), respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723