DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-10, 14 and 18-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are independent. Claims 11-13 and 15-17 are cancelled. No claim is amended in the response filed 3/2/2026.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1 and 14, 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Holscher (US 7,439,403 B2) in view of Joos et al. (US 2020/0407665 A1) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s arguments.
The rejection of claims 1-10, 14 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Vinson et al. (US 9,493,725) in view of Joos et al. (US 2020/0407665 A1) is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s continue to urge Vinson et al. example 11 (Table 6, sample 1) is a surfactant package where m+n =11 representing 98.1% of the surfactant package but such a surfactant is never utilized in any example. And Applicants urge that the exemplary teaching of Vinson et al. would not generate a formulation with n=0, 1, and 2 according to the percentages in the clam limitations. See pages 9-11 of the response filed 3/2/2026. In response, Examiner maintains Applicant’s arguments to the examples are not persuasive nor relevant to a 103 rejection. Specifically, Vinson et al. col.5-6 teach exactly the same formulas 1 and 2 as claimed and copied herein:
See col.6,ln.26 guiding one of ordinary skill to the claim language teaching about 100% by weight of the first surfactant are isomers having m+n = 11.
Col.5, ln.20-54 teaches explicitly at least about 25% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=11, where n is 0. Thus when n=0 is explicitly addressed throughout col.4-6, for example see col.5,ln.20-23 reproduced herein:
shows that n=0 is actually contemplated by Vinson et al. Examiner maintains the position that while the claimed percentages are not exemplified in Vinson et al., one of ordinary skill can arrive at the claimed mixture of surfactant isomers by optimizing within the explicit teachings of Vinson et al. col.5-6 to arrive at the claimed percentages because Vinson teaches the same formulas I and II in the similar mixture of surfactant isomers. Relevant portions of col.4-col.6 are copied below and in red arrows point to large sections one of ordinary skill understands as being inclusive of Formula I when reading Vinson et al.
See the same teaching in col.4,ln.40-67 copied herein making it clear to one of ordinary skill that when the prior art is addressing only Formula II it writes out “Formula II”; when it is inclusive of Formula I it does not write it out.
Thus, limitation to 60-90% by weight of the first surfactant of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 having n< 3 is taught in Vinson et al. col.4,ln.66-67 teaching from about 55-75% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n =11. It is the Examiner’s position that one of ordinary skill reading Vinson et al. understands this teaching (col.4,ln.66-col.5,ln.11) is inclusive of Formula I because, later in col.5,ln.15, is where Vinson et al. distinguishes that only 0.001-20% by weight of first surfactants can be of Formula II.
One of ordinary skill reading Vinson et al. can arrive at the claimed limitation between about 25% to about 50% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n = 0; because the same is encompassed by Vinson et al. teaching exactly the same formula I and teaching at least about 25% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=11, where n is 0, 1, or 2, thus encompassing n=0 of the claim limitations. See col.5-6 explicitly teaching the same formulas I and II and col.5,ln.20-22.
Limitation wherein between about 15% to about 40% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n = 1 is met by Vinson et al. teaching exactly the same formula I and teaching at least about 25% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=11, where n is 0, 1, or 2, thus encompassing n=1 of the claim limitations. See col.5-6 explicitly teaching the same formulas I and II and col.5,ln.20-22.
Limitation to wherein between about 5% to about 20% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n= 2 is encompassed by Vinson et al. teaching as much as about 60% (which language encompasses 5-20%) by weight of the first surfactant, may be surfactants m+n=11, where n is 0, 1, or 2, thus encompassing n=2 of the claim limitations. See col.5-6 explicitly teaching the same formulas I and II and col.5,ln.20-22.
Applicants urge on page 11, that Vinson et al. disclose melamine-formaldehyde perfume capsules in their examples, which is a completely different architecture from the polyacrylate perfume microcapsules that are claimed and that one of ordinary skill would not combine the formaldehyde structure of Vinson et al. with the polyacrylate structure of Joos et al. because it is completely different architecture. In response, col.31, ln.30-39 Vinson et al. teaches their encapsulate comprises a perfume core and suggests a polyacrylate shell in general, thus, upon careful consideration, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because one of ordinary skill is motivated to replace the melamine formaldehyde shell of Vinson et al. with the claimed polyacrylate shell as taught by Joos et al. specifically teaching the claimed polyacrylate shell encapsulating perfume core encapsulates are more robust capsules over the melamine shell encapsulates in liquid laundry detergents. See Joos et al. [0011], [0050-0051], and table 2, [0146] on pg 12.
Finally Applicant’s arguments to unexpected results in their Tables 1 and 2, are not found commensurate in scope with the claims presented for examination because the independent claims 1 and 14 are not limited to the branched alkyl sulfate surfactant with its isomeric distribution in the polyacrylate encapsulate. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the same isomer mixtures as disclosed by Vinson to have the same odor scores. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Vinson et al. (US 9,493,725) in view of Joos et al. (US 2020/0407665 A1).
Vinson et al. (US 9,493,725) illustrate by example in col.41, table 8 composition B, and col.45, table 13 formulation N, and col.47-50 table 14 formulations U-AB and AD aka examples 13, 16 and 17 are to a liquid detergent composition comprising:
a) from 1% to 30%, by weight of the composition of a first surfactant consisting essentially of a mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula I (see col.2,ln.25) and surfactants of Formula II (see col.2,ln29).
Vinson et al. col.5-6 teach exactly the same formulas 1 and 2 as claimed in col.4-6. Reproduced herein: The detergent compositions may comprise from about 0.1% to about 99% by weight of the composition of a first surfactant, where the first surfactant consists essentially of a mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula I and surfactants of Formula II:
where from about 50% to about 100% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants having m+n=11; where from about 0.001% to about 25% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants of Formula II; where at least about 25%, or at least about 30%, or at least about 35%, or at least about 40% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants having m+n=10, m+n=11 where n is 0, 1, or 2, or m is 0, 1, or 2; and where X is a hydrophilic moiety.
The detergent compositions may comprise from about 0.1% to about 99% by weight of the composition of a first surfactant, where the first surfactant consists of a mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula I and surfactants of Formula II:
where from about 50% to about 100% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants having m+n=11; where from about 0.001% to about 25% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants of Formula II; and where X is a hydrophilic moiety.
The detergent compositions may comprise from about 0.1% to about 99% by weight of the composition of a first surfactant, where the first surfactant consists essentially of a mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula I and surfactants of Formula II:
where from about 50% to about 100% or about 55% to about 75% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants having m+n=11; where from about 0.5% to about 30% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants having m+n=10; where from about 0.001% to about 20% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants of Formula II; and where X is a hydrophilic moiety.
Specifically. col.6,ln.26 guides one of ordinary skill to the claim language teaching about 100% by weight of the first surfactant are isomers having m+n = 11.
Specifically, Col.5, ln.20-54 teaches explicitly at least about 25% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=11, where n is 0. Thus when n=0 is explicitly addressed throughout col.4-6, for example see col.5,ln.20-23.
Limitation to wherein from 90% to 100% by weight of the first surfactant are isomers having m+n = 11 is taught col.6,ln.25 also encompassing limitation to wherein about 60% to about 90% by weight of the first surfactant, of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n <3 since col.5,In.20-30 teach n is less than 3 and as much as 60-100% are surfactant with isomers of formula 1 having n=0,1 or 2.
Limitation to wherein between 25% to 50% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n = 0 is taught col.5, ln.20-col.6,ln.40 which teaching is reproduced:
At least about 25% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=10, m+n=11, where n is 0, 1, or 2, or m is 0, 1, or 2. At least about 30%, or at least about 35%, or at least about 40%, by weight of the first surfactant, may be surfactants having m+n=10, m+n=11where n is 0, 1, or 2, or m is 0, 1, or 2. As much as about 100%, or as much as about 90%, or as much as about 75%, or as much as about 60%, by weight of the first surfactant, may be surfactants having m+n=10, m+n=11, where n is 0, 1, or 2, or m is 0, 1, or 2.
Limitation to wherein between about 15% to 40% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n = 1: wherein between about 5% to about 20% of the mixture of surfactant isomers of Formula 1 have n = 2: is suggested by the art disclosing in col.5,ln.2-5, From about 0% to about 5%, or about 0.01% to about 5%, or about 0.5% to about 3% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n≦9. From about 0.5% to about 30% or about 1% to about 28% by weight of the first surfactant may be surfactants having m+n=10. Examiner notes that the claim language to where n is 0, 1, or 2, or m is 0, 1, or 2 is not stated in this paragraph, but can be found in col.5,ln.20-30. And one of ordinary skill reading Vinson in its entirety can reasonably assume that the n values are 0, 1 or 2 or m is 0, 1 or 2 because that is the teaching in col.5.
Limitation to wherein from 0.001% to 25% by weight of the first surfactant are surfactants of Formula 2; and wherein X is a hydrophilic moiety (2-alkyl branched alkyl sulfate (see col.6,ln.36 and examples 2-3, col.12-13 encompassing claims 6-7 and 18.
Regarding the amendment to X, see col.6,ln.39-58 teaching the same X as recited by the amended claim and reproduced herein.
Limitation b) from 0.1% to 5% by weight of the composition of an encapsulate comprising a shell and a core is taught by the examples 16 and 17 where the perfume core is encapsulated in melamine-formaldehyde shell; Col.31,ln.31 teaches the core comprises the perfume. And col.31,ln.39 teaches the shell comprises the polyacrylates as required in claims 1 and 14.
Limitation of claim 1 c) a detergent adjunct (see the remaining compounds including the claim 6 additional LAS surfactant). Also see the prior art claim 6 for the detergent adjuncts.
The liquid detergent formulations of Vinson et al. are exemplified with a melamine formaldehyde shell and do not exemplify the polyacrylate shell required by claim 1 and independent claim 14. Examiner notes that col.31, ln.30-39 Vinson et al. teaches the encapsulate comprises a perfume core and suggests a polyacrylate shell in general.
In the analogous art of liquid detergent comprising encapsulates, Joos et al. (US 2020/0407665 A1) teach encapsulates with a perfume core and polyacrylate shell are known in the liquid laundry detergent art and specifically guide one of ordinary skill to the claimed polyacrylate shell encapsulating perfume core encapsulates as they are more robust capsules over melamine shell encapsulates in liquid laundry detergents. See [0011], [0050-0051], and table 2, [0146] on page 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the liquid detergent formulations of Vinson et al. with the claimed encapsulate where the core comprises a perfume and the shell comprises polyacrylates because Vinson et al. suggest liquid detergent formulations with encapsulates where the core comprises a perfume and the shell comprises polyacrylates and Joos et al. teach encapsulates with a perfume core and polyacrylate shell are more robust capsules over melamine shell encapsulates in liquid laundry detergents. One of ordinary skill is motivated to combine the teachings of Vinson with that of Joos since both are in the analogous art of liquid laundry detergents with encapsulated perfume cores.
Vinson et al. encompass the claimed dry fabric odor score of claims 2-3, 9-10 and 19, since it uses the same perfume raw materials in an encapsulate (see col.31,ln.50-56) which is analogous to the perfume raw materials of the instant specification US20230174896A1 [0036]. The amendment to the claims fabric head space method claims does not provide a contribution over the composition of Vinson teaching the same detergent with the same formulas. Vinson et al. teach col.3,ln.30-39 teaches perfume core and suggests a polyacrylate shell encapsulate.
Regarding the claims 4, 5, 14 ratio by weight of the first surfactant to the perfume encapsulate, Vinson et al. teach in Example 17 col.47, formulation U, 5 wt % of the Example 11 sulfated surfactant with 0.5 wt% of encapsulated perfume (See example 17, formulation U col.49) meeting the claimed ratios.
Conclusion
/PREETI KUMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761