DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”.
Regarding claim 1, Salour discloses an endoscope (Col. 1, lines 50-51 and Col. 4, lines 24-27), comprising: an endoscope body (Col. 1, lines 50-51 and Col. 4, lines 24-27), including a distal portion (Figure 3, element is the temperature sensing probe that would be located at the distal end of an endoscope) configured for at least partial insertion into a patient (Col. 4, lines 17-27); a laser fiber extendable distally from the distal portion of the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 210; Col. 4, lines 17-27 this medical system can be in the form of an endoscope that is extended into the human body), the laser fiber being configured to at least one of optically sample or treat a target in an internal site of the patient (Figure 3, element 220 and 240 and Col. 3, lines 13-25; used for optical sampling, i.e. imaging); a luminescent mark located on a distal end of the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 290), the luminescent mark having a luminescent characteristic correlative to temperature when the luminescent mark is illuminated (Col. 3, lines 26-27); a light source (Figure 3, element 300) configured to illuminate the target and the luminescent mark with illumination (Col. 3, lines 26-37), the illumination propagating from the light source to the luminescent mark along an illumination optical path disposed outside the laser fiber (See Figure 3, the light transmitted from LED 300 travels along optical path 280 going into optical fiber 200 separate from laser fiber 210), the luminescent mark being configured to generate luminescent light in response to the illumination (Col. 3, lines 26-37), the laser fiber being configured to direct the luminescent light proximally away from the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 320; the light path from 290 is away from the endoscope end); and a sensor located away from the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 330), the sensor being configured to receive the luminescent light from a proximal end of the laser fiber (Figure 3, element 330 receives light 320) and generate a luminescence response signal in response to the luminescent light (Col. 4, lines 6-10), the luminescence response signal providing an indication of a temperature of a target medium proximate the target in the internal site of the patient (Col. 4, lines 6-10, Col. 2, lines 60-65, and Col. 3, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 5, Salour discloses a signal analyzer (Figure 3, element 340; Col. 4, lines 6-10, Col. 2, lines 60-65) coupled to the sensor for analyzing the luminescence response signal and generating a resulting indication of the temperature at the target medium (Col. 4, lines 6-10, Col. 2, lines 60-65, and Col. 3, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 13, Salour discloses the luminescent light comprises at least one of photoluminescence, candoluminescence, or thermoluminescence (Col. 3, lines 33-37; photoluminescence).
Regarding claim 15, Salour discloses a feedback analyzer coupled to the sensor (Figure 3, element 340) and including signal processing circuitry (Figure 3, element 340).
Regarding claim 16, Salour discloses a controller configured to interpret the luminescence response signal (Figure 3, element 340).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”, in view of US 2005/0203497 Speeg et al., hereinafter “Speeg” (cited previously).
Regarding claim 6, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Salour does not disclose a laser system having a controller configured to control the laser fiber for treating the target at the internal site of the patient.
However, Speeg discloses a medical apparatus (Abstract) that uses luminescent marks to determine temperature (Para 37) and teaches a laser system (Figure 1, element 10 and Para 21) having a controller (Para 8 and Figure 2, element 25) configured to control the laser fiber for treating the target at the internal site of the patient (Figure 4, element 13 and Para 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included the controller and treatment as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to deliver energy treatment in a temperature controlled environment (Speeg; Para 8 and 45).
Regarding claim 7, Salour discloses an endoscope (Col. 1, lines 50-51 and Col. 4, lines 24-27), comprising: an endoscope body (Col. 1, lines 50-51 and Col. 4, lines 24-27), including a distal portion (Figure 3, element is the temperature sensing probe that would be located at the distal end of an endoscope) configured for at least partial insertion into a patient (Col. 4, lines 17-27); a laser fiber extendable distally from the distal portion of the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 210; Col. 4, lines 17-27 this medical system can be in the form of an endoscope that is extended into the human body), the laser fiber being configured to at least one of optically sample or treat a target in an internal site of the patient (Figure 3, element 220 and 240 and Col. 3, lines 13-25; used for optical sampling, i.e. imaging); a luminescent mark located on a distal end of the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 290), the luminescent mark having a luminescent characteristic correlative to temperature when the luminescent mark is illuminated (Col. 3, lines 26-27); a light source (Figure 3, element 300) configured to illuminate the target and the luminescent mark with illumination (Col. 3, lines 26-37), the luminescent mark being configured to generate luminescent light in response to the illumination (Col. 3, lines 26-37), the laser fiber being configured to direct the luminescent light proximally away from the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 320; the light path from 290 is away from the endoscope end); and a sensor located away from the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 330), the sensor being configured to receive the luminescent light from a proximal end of the laser fiber (Figure 3, element 330 receives light 320) and generate a luminescence response signal in response to the luminescent light (Col. 4, lines 6-10), the luminescence response signal providing an indication of a temperature of a target medium proximate the target in the internal site of the patient (Col. 4, lines 6-10, Col. 2, lines 60-65, and Col. 3, lines 26-37).
Salour does not disclose an actuator configured to adjust a position of the laser fiber; and a controller configured to cause the actuator to automatically adjust the position of the laser fiber based on the temperature of the target medium.
However, Speeg teaches an actuator configured to adjust a position of the laser fiber (Para 42 and Figure 7); and a controller (Para 8) configured to cause the actuator to automatically adjust the position of the laser fiber based on the temperature of the target medium (Para 8, “The main processor can automatically control the positioning of the light-emitting section within the treatment site… in response to the measured temperature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included the actuator as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to deliver energy treatment in a temperature controlled environment (Speeg; Para 8 and 45).
Regarding claim 8, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Salour does not disclose the controller is configured to adjust at least one setting of the laser system based at least in part on the indication of the temperature at the target medium.
However, Speeg teaches the controller is configured to adjust at least one setting of the laser system based at least in part on the indication of the temperature at the target medium (Para 8 and claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included the controller and treatment as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to deliver energy treatment in a temperature controlled environment (Speeg; Para 8 and 45).
Regarding claim 11, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Salour does not disclose the luminescent mark comprises at least one of a piece of crystal, a crystalline material, a polycrystalline material, an organic component, or an arrangement of quantum dots.
However, Speeg teaches the luminescent mark comprises at least one of a piece of crystal, a crystalline material, a polycrystalline material, an organic component, or an arrangement of quantum dots (Para 47; the element 48 contains a known crystal alexandrite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included a crystalline material as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to employ light scattering (Speeg; Para 37).
Regarding claim 12, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Salour does not disclose the luminescent mark comprises at least one of crystalline phosphor ceramics, organic components, quantum dots, or nanostructures.
However, Speeg teaches the luminescent mark comprises at least one of crystalline phosphor ceramics, organic components, quantum dots, or nanostructures (Para 37; the alexandrite particles can be interpreted as nanostructures as that term is very broad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included a nanostructures as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to employ light scattering (Speeg; Para 37).
Regarding claim 14, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Salour does not disclose the luminescent mark has a diameter of about 100 nm or less.
However, Speeg teaches the luminescent mark has a diameter of about 100 nm or less (Para 37; alexandrite particles are nanostructures; they can be seen in Figure 6 to compare size with the optical fiber that is meant to be inserted into a human’s veins; it is inherent that the particles are 100 nm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included a nanostructures as taught by Speeg, in the invention of Salour, in order to employ light scattering (Speeg; Para 37).
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0203497 Speeg et al., hereinafter “Speeg”, in view of US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”.
Regarding claim 17, Speeg discloses a method of monitoring temperature near a target (Abstract) the method comprising: providing a laser fiber (Figure 1, element 13 and Para 34) extendable distally from a distal portion of a medical probe (Figure 1, element 13 being distal from element 12), the laser fiber being configured to at least one of optically sample or treat the target (Figure 4, Figure 1, element 13 and Para 42; The therapeutic device is the optical fiber 13 that is being used to treat a patient in an internal site (see for example Para 44). The positioning device 70 uses rollers to roll, in and out, the optical fiber 13, i.e. the therapeutic device; optical fiber 13 treats a patient); situating a luminescent mark on a distal end of the medical probe (Para 28 discuses that the optical fiber 13 is actuatable to extend distally past element 64, see Figure 4. The luminescent marks are on the distal end of the optical fiber 13 as shown in Figure 6, element 48); illuminating the luminescent mark with illumination to induce luminescence (Para 37) of the luminescent mark (Figure 6, element 48 and Para 37), the luminescent mark having a luminescent characteristic correlative to temperature (Para 37 and 45); and determining a temperature of the target based at least in part on the luminescence signal (Para 37).
Speeg does not disclose an endoscope body; the illumination propagating from a light source to the luminescent mark along an illumination optical path disposed outside the laser fiber; the luminescent mark generating luminescent light in response to the illumination, directing the luminescent light proximally away from the endoscope body along the laser fiber; receiving the luminescent light from a proximal end of the laser fiber with a sensor located away from the endoscope body; generating, with the sensor, a luminescence response signal in response to the luminescent light, the luminescence response signal providing an indication of a temperature of a target medium proximate the target; and determining a temperature of the target based at least in part on the luminescence response signal.
However, Salour teaches an endoscope body (Col. 1, lines 50-51 and Col. 4, lines 24-27); the illumination propagating from a light source to the luminescent mark along an illumination optical path disposed outside the laser fiber (See Figure 3, the light transmitted from LED 300 travels along optical path 280 going into optical fiber 200 separate from laser fiber 210); the luminescent mark generating luminescent light in response to the illumination (Col. 3, lines 26-37), directing the luminescent light proximally away from the endoscope body along the laser fiber (Figure 3, element 320; the light path from 290 is away from the endoscope end); receiving the luminescent light from a proximal end of the laser fiber with a sensor (Figure 3, element 330) located away from the endoscope body (Figure 3, element 330 receives light 320); generating, with the sensor, a luminescence response signal in response to the luminescent light (Col. 4, lines 6-10), the luminescence response signal providing an indication of a temperature of a target medium proximate the target; and determining a temperature of the target based at least in part on the luminescence response signal (Col. 4, lines 6-10, Col. 2, lines 60-65, and Col. 3, lines 26-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included an endoscope and luminescence response as taught by Salour, in the invention of Speeg, in order to measure temperature when a user is undergoing an endoscopic examination (Salour; Col. 4, lines 17-27).
Regarding claim 18, Speeg discloses determining the temperature of the target comprises correlating the luminescent light to temperature based on a lookup table (Para 8 and 37).
Regarding claim 19, Speeg discloses the luminescent light comprises at least one of photoluminescence, candoluminescence, or thermoluminescence (Para 37 and 47; photoluminescence).
Regarding claim 20, Speeg discloses adjusting at least one setting associated with a treatment device based at least in part on the determined temperature (Para 8 and claim 8).
Claim(s) 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”, in view of US 5,419,312 Arenberg et al., hereinafter “Arenberg”.
Regarding claim 21, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Salour does not disclose the sensor includes a spectrometer configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light.
However, Arenberg discloses an endoscope device capable of diagnosis and treatment (Abstract) and teaches the sensor includes a spectrometer (Col. 20, lines 40-45) configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light (Col. 21, lines 41-42, 47-51, Col. 22, lines 4-9 and 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a spectrometer as taught by Arenberg, in the invention of Salour, in order to allow the spectrometer to read the amount and spectrum of fluorescent light and to determine fluid pressure and temperature levels within the selected body cavity (Arenberg; Col. 22, lines 23-30).
Claim(s) 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”, in view of US 2005/0203497 Speeg et al., hereinafter “Speeg”, further in view of US 5,419,312 Arenberg et al., hereinafter “Arenberg”.
Regarding claim 22, Salour discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
Salour does not disclose the sensor includes a spectrometer configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light.
However, Arenberg discloses an endoscope device capable of diagnosis and treatment (Abstract) and teaches the sensor includes a spectrometer (Col. 20, lines 40-45) configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light (Col. 21, lines 41-42, 47-51, Col. 22, lines 4-9 and 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a spectrometer as taught by Arenberg, in the invention of Salour, in order to allow the spectrometer to read the amount and spectrum of fluorescent light and to determine fluid pressure and temperature levels within the selected body cavity (Arenberg; Col. 22, lines 23-30).
Claim(s) 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 2005/0203497 Speeg et al., hereinafter “Speeg”, in view of US 8,201,997 Salour, hereinafter “Salour”, further in view of US 5,419,312 Arenberg et al., hereinafter “Arenberg”.
Regarding claim 23, Speeg discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
Speeg does not disclose the sensor includes a spectrometer configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light.
However, Arenberg discloses an endoscope device capable of diagnosis and treatment (Abstract) and teaches the sensor includes a spectrometer (Col. 20, lines 40-45) configured to generate the luminescence response signal in response to a spectrum of the luminescent light (Col. 21, lines 41-42, 47-51, Col. 22, lines 4-9 and 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a spectrometer as taught by Arenberg, in the invention of Speeg, in order to allow the spectrometer to read the amount and spectrum of fluorescent light and to determine fluid pressure and temperature levels within the selected body cavity (Arenberg; Col. 22, lines 23-30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Examiner agrees that neither Speeg nor Natarajan discloses endoscopes. For this reason, examiner changed the primary reference to US 8,201,997 Salour to disclose the newly amended limitations. Refer to rejections above for the newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796