DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent. Claims have been amended.
Apparent priority 12/03/2021.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
This action is Non-Final.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6, 8-11 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sharifi and Golikov have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sharifi and Nelson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi (WIPO Publication WO2020/171809) in view of Nelson (US PG Pub 20190248019).
As per claim 1, Sharifi discloses:
A method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: processing, at a first time, first values, wherein the first values are for dynamic contextual parameters at the first time (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice); and wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; in response to determining, based on the processing at the first time, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice): automatically adapting particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at an assistant device, to the second state and from a first state that is active at the first time, the automatically adapting to the second state from the first state being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input); see also p. 0046 & 0056 - STT and natural language processing are performed locally); processing, at a second time, second values, wherein the second values are for the dynamic contextual parameters at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values; in response to the processing at the second time satisfying one or more second conditions (Sharifi; p. 0077 - if a sound-based event is detected; see also p. 0091 - Next, second user 101B says, “Sleuth that,” which in this example operates as hot word(s) that constitute an event to invoke automated assistant 120; see also p. 0095 – “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state): automatically adapting the particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at the assistant device, to a third state (Sharifi; p. 0077 - However, if a sound- based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), the adaptation to the third state being from the first state, the first state being active at the second time, the automatically adapting to the third state, from the first state, being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the third state (Sharifi p. 0077; see also p. 0091-0094 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input)); processing, at a third time, third values, wherein the third values are for the dynamic contextual parameters at the third time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state); in response to the processing at the third time satisfying one or more third conditions (Sharifi; p. 0077 - if a sound-based event is detected; see also p. 0091 - Next, second user 101B says, “Sleuth that,” which in this example operates as hot word(s) that constitute an event to invoke automated assistant 120; see also p. 0095 – “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state): automatically adapting the particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at the assistant device, to the second state, the adaptation to the second state being from the third state, the third state being active at the third time, the automatically adapting to the second state, from the third state, being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input)); wherein one of the first state, the second state, and the third state is an inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0077, 0093 & 0095 - inactive listening state) in which at least part of the particular audio data based assistant processing is suppressed for one or more registered users that are registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0093 – speaker recognition technology may be used to determine a speaker's identity. If the speaker's identity is successfully determined, and/or it is determined that the speaker has sufficient permissions, then certain hot word(s) may become activated; see also p. 0095 - “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state; see also p. 0097 – In Fig. 7, assume once again that first user 101A is speaker-recognizable by automated assistant 120 as registered user… first user 101A invokes assistant; the permissions policy permits the registered user to use certain hot words while others will not be recognized (suppressed)) and is also suppressed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0093 - the sound may not be captured at all, or may be discarded from memory immediately after it is determined that the speaker is not recognized). Sharifi, however, fails to disclose wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values. Nelson does teach wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device (Nelson; p. 0134-0137 – these paragraphs exemplify the process of assessing the user’s emotional state using environmental factors for profile selection in order to adapt the speech assistant to a different profile (e.g. state transitioning) p. 0140 - a user appearing in a dialogue environment (activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device) may trigger the activation of the automated dialogue companion (state transition); p. 0145 - As shown in FIG. 18A, the program configuration unit 840 also determines a program adaptively that is considered suitable for the user (may correspond to a state transition) at the time based on observation of the user state and/or the surrounding of the dialogue environment. To do that, the sensor info based program selector 1820 estimates, at 1855, the user state and the dialogue environment based on multimodal sensor data acquired by the user device and/or the agent device. Based on the estimated user state and/or dialogue environment, the sensor info based program selector 1820 adaptively selects, at 1865, a program), or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition (Nelson; p. 0152 - if a user has not responded to anything agent device said to him/her for an extended period (e.g., 0.5 hour), the agent device may be put to the inactive state in which the agent device is not engaged in any dialogue and does not retain any information from prior dialogues (current temporal condition)), wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs. For example, to transit from the inactive state to a standby state may be triggered when a user is detected in the vicinity (example of the one or more rules). To transit from the standby state to the active state may be conditioned on the completion of robot head selection, profile/program configuration for a user who is nearby. Transition from the active state to the standby state may be carried out when a user does not respond to a question asked by the agent device for a specified period of time or when the user is detected to have left the area. In the standby state, the agent device may still be in a setting where it keeps track of all the information related to the on-going dialogue so that when the user responds or returns, the agent device can quickly pick up from where the dialogue was left off and continue; for another example of language that reads on the recited language see also p. 0146 where when different program selections (state transitions) are made, a set of program progression models (state transition models) are used to resolve the difference between the multiple program selections which each use different rules that specify priorities between different selected programs, the values used to make the program selection are compared to priority values of each model to resolve the final program selection. A program as disclosed by Nelson in p. 0100, corresponds to a program that drives the content of a dialogue between a user and an automated dialogue companion, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to understand that the disclosed program may correspond to the recited “state” and the program selection process may correspond to a “state transition”); and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs…; see also p. 0146 & p. 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sharifi to include wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values, as taught by Nelson, because conducting a human machine dialogue session based on what is observed from the human is crucially important in order to determine how to proceed effectively. One example is an education related dialogue. When a chatbot is used for teaching a child to read, whether the child is perceptive to the way he/she is being taught has to be monitored and addressed continuously in order to be effective. Another limitation of the traditional dialogue systems is their context unawareness. For example, a traditional dialogue system is not equipped with the ability to observe the context of a conversation and improvise as to dialogue strategy in order to engage a user and improve the user experience (Nelson; p. 0007). As per claim 2, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first state is one of: (a) a fully active state in which the particular audio data based assistant processing is fully performed for one or more registered users that are registered with the assistant device and is also fully performed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0094-0097 - in the example of figures 6-7, once the hot ward has been recognized and the assistant transitions to the active listening mode, both utterances from the registered and unregistered user are considered); (b) a partially active state in which the particular audio data based assistant processing is fully performed for at least some of the one or more registered users, but at least part of the particular audio data based assistant processing is suppressed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0093 automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER’ state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice. Otherwise the sound may not be captured at all, or may be discarded from memory immediately after it is determined that the speaker is not recognized); and (c) the inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0093 – speaker recognition technology may be used to determine a speaker's identity. If the speaker's identity is successfully determined, and/or it is determined that the speaker has sufficient permissions, then certain hot word(s) may become activated; see also p. 0095 - “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state; see also p. 0097 – In Fig. 7, assume once again that first user 101A is speaker-recognizable by automated assistant 120 as registered user… first user 101A invokes assistant; the permissions policy permits the registered user to use certain hot words while others will not be recognized (suppressed)). As per claim 3, Sharifi in view of Nelson, discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the second state is another of: (a) the fully active state, (b) the partially active state, and (c) the inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0077 & p. 0093-0097). As per claim 4, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the third state is the remaining of: (a) the fully active state, (b) the partially active state, and (c) the inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0077 & p. 0093-0097). As per claim 5, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the particular audio data based assistant processing is hot word processing (Sharifi; p. 0038 & p. 0048), the hot word processing comprising: processing a stream of audio data, using one or more local hot word models of the assistant device, to monitor for occurrence of a hot word (Sharifi; p. 0048 - one or more on-device invocation models 114 may be used by invocation module 113 to determine whether an utterance and/or visual cue(s) qualify as an invocation. Such an on-device invocation model 113 may be trained to detect variations of hot words/phrases and/or gestures), the stream of audio data being detected via at least one microphone of the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0046 - Speech capture module 110 may be configured to capture a user's speech, e.g., via a microphone 109); and causing further assistant processing to be performed based on detecting occurrence of the hot word in the stream of audio data (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state). As per claim 6, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein, in the partially active state, the particular audio data based assistant processing is suppressed, for any users that are not registered with the assistant device, by causing the further assistant processing to be performed further based on: verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users (Sharifi; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice). As per claim 8, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the hot word is an assistant hot word for invoking an automated assistant (Sharifi; p. 0038 & p. 0048 - …A user may verbally provide (e.g., type, speak) a predetermined invocation phrase, such as "OK, Assistant," or "Hey, Assistant," to cause automated assistant 120 to begin actively listening or monitoring typed text…).
As per claim 9, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the further assistant processing comprises: performing speech recognition, on audio data that captures a spoken utterance and that follows and/or precedes the hot word in the stream of audio data, to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance (Sharifi; p. 0040 - automated assistant 120 may utilize automatic speech recognition ("ASR," also referred to as "speech-to-text," or "STT") to convert utterances from users into text); performing natural language understanding, on the recognition, to generate natural language understanding data (Sharifi; p. 0056 - … intent matcher 135 may include a natural language processor 122…; see also p. 0058-0064); and/or causing one or more actions to be performed based on the natural language understanding data (Sharifi; p. 0064 - known command syntaxes may be used to determine fitness of spoken utterances for triggering responsive action by automated assistant 120).
As per claim 10, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the hot word is an action hot word for directly invoking a particular action via the automated assistant, and wherein the further processing comprises causing, by the automated assistant, the particular action to be performed based on detecting occurrence of the hot word in the stream of audio data (Sharifi; p. 0070 - Additionally or alternatively, fulfillment module 124 may be configured to receive, e.g., from intent matcher 135, a user's intent and any slot values provided by the user or determined using other means (e.g., GPS coordinates of the user, user preferences, etc.) and trigger a responsive action. Responsive actions may include, for instance, ordering a good/service, starting a timer, setting a reminder, initiating a phone call, playing media, sending a message, etc. In some such implementations, fulfillment information may include slot values associated with the fulfillment, confirmation responses (which may be selected from predetermined responses in some cases), etc.).
As per claim 11, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the hot word is a third-party assistant application hot word for directly invoking a particular third-party application via the automated assistant, and wherein the further processing comprises causing, by the automated assistant, the particular third-party assistant application to be invoked based on detecting occurrence of the hot word in the stream of audio data (Sharifi; p. 0067 - In some implementations, automated assistant 120 may serve as an intermediary between users and one or more third party computing services 130 (or "third party agents", or "agents")…). As per claim 16, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first state is one of:(a) a first threshold state in which one or more first thresholds are utilized for the particular audio data based assistant processing (Sharifi; p. 0109 - if the confidence measure falls below a first threshold, then no action may be taken on data stored in buffer 144); (b) a second threshold state in which one or more second thresholds are utilized for the particular audio data based assistant processing (Sharifi; p. 0109 - If the confidence measure falls between the first threshold and a higher second threshold, then automated assistant 120 may seek permission from a user before taking responsive action, e.g., by confirming the user's request. If the confidence measure falls between the second threshold and a third higher threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action if only local resources are required... If the confidence measure falls above the third threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action without needing further input and without regard to whether local or cloud-based resources are required to fulfill the request); and (c) an inactive state in which the particular audio data processing is suppressed for the one or more registered users and is suppressed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0093 – speaker recognition technology may be used to determine a speaker's identity. If the speaker's identity is successfully determined, and/or it is determined that the speaker has sufficient permissions, then certain hot word(s) may become activated; see also p. 0095 - “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state; see also p. 0097 – In Fig. 7, assume once again that first user 101A is speaker-recognizable by automated assistant 120 as registered user… first user 101A invokes assistant; the permissions policy permits the registered user to use certain hot words while others will not be recognized (suppressed); see also p. 0077).
As per claim 17, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 16, wherein the second state is another of: (a) the first threshold state, (b) the second threshold state, and (c) the inactive state; and/or wherein the third state is the remaining of: (a) the first threshold state, (b) the second threshold state, and (c) the inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0077 & p. 0093-0097). As per claim 18, Sharifi in view of Nelson disclose: The method of claim 17, wherein the particular audio data based assistant processing is hot word processing (Sharifi; p. 0038 & p. 0048), the hot word processing comprising: processing a stream of audio data, using one or more local hot word models of the assistant device, to monitor for occurrence of a hot word (Sharifi; p. 0048 - one or more on-device invocation models 114 may be used by invocation module 113 to determine whether an utterance and/or visual cue(s) qualify as an invocation. Such an on-device invocation model 113 may be trained to detect variations of hot words/phrases and/or gestures), the stream of audio data being detected via at least one microphone of the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0046 - Speech capture module 110 may be configured to capture a user's speech, e.g., via a microphone 109); and causing further assistant processing to be performed based on detecting occurrence of the hot word in the stream of audio data (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state). As per claim 19, Sharifi discloses: A method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: processing, at a first time, first values, for dynamic contextual parameters, at the first time (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice), and wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; in response to determining, based on the processing at the first time, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice); automatically adapting particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at an assistant device, to the second state and from a first state that is active at the first time, the automatically adapting to the second state from the first state being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input); see also p. 0046 & 0056 - STT and natural language processing are performed locally); processing, at a second time, second values, wherein the second values are for the dynamic contextual parameters at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values; in response to the processing at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - if a sound-based event is detected; see also p. 0091 - Next, second user 101B says, “Sleuth that,” which in this example operates as hot word(s) that constitute an event to invoke automated assistant 120; see also p. 0095 – “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state): automatically adapting the particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at the assistant device, to the third state and from the second state that is active at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - However, if a sound- based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), the automatically adapting to the third state from the second state being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the first state (Sharifi p. 0077; see also p. 0091-0094 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input)); wherein the third state is one of: (a) a fully active state in which the particular audio data based assistant processing is fully performed for one or more registered users that are registered with the assistant device and is also fully performed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0094-0097 - in the example of figures 6-7, once the hot ward has been recognized and the assistant transitions to the active listening mode, both utterances from the registered and unregistered user are considered); and (b) an inactive state in which at least part of the particular audio data based assistant processing is suppressed for one or more registered users that are registered with the assistant device and is also suppressed for any users that are not registered with the assistant device (Sharifi; p. 0093 – speaker recognition technology may be used to determine a speaker's identity. If the speaker's identity is successfully determined, and/or it is determined that the speaker has sufficient permissions, then certain hot word(s) may become activated; see also p. 0095 - “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state; see also p. 0097 – In Fig. 7, assume once again that first user 101A is speaker-recognizable by automated assistant 120 as registered user… first user 101A invokes assistant; the permissions policy permits the registered user to use certain hot words while others will not be recognized (suppressed); see also p. 0077); and wherein the second state is the other of (a) the fully active state and (b) the inactive state (Sharifi; p. 0093-0097). Sharifi, however, fails to disclose wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values. Nelson does teach wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device (Nelson; p. 0134-0137 – these paragraphs exemplify the process of assessing the user’s emotional state using environmental factors for profile selection in order to adapt the speech assistant to a different profile (e.g. state transitioning) p. 0140 - a user appearing in a dialogue environment (activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device) may trigger the activation of the automated dialogue companion (state transition); p. 0145 - As shown in FIG. 18A, the program configuration unit 840 also determines a program adaptively that is considered suitable for the user (may correspond to a state transition) at the time based on observation of the user state and/or the surrounding of the dialogue environment. To do that, the sensor info based program selector 1820 estimates, at 1855, the user state and the dialogue environment based on multimodal sensor data acquired by the user device and/or the agent device. Based on the estimated user state and/or dialogue environment, the sensor info based program selector 1820 adaptively selects, at 1865, a program), wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device (Nelson; p. 0151 - A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned, depending on application needs); or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition (Nelson; p. 0152 - if a user has not responded to anything agent device said to him/her for an extended period (e.g., 0.5 hour), the agent device may be put to the inactive state in which the agent device is not engaged in any dialogue and does not retain any information from prior dialogues (current temporal condition)), wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs. For example, to transit from the inactive state to a standby state may be triggered when a user is detected in the vicinity (example of the one or more rules). To transit from the standby state to the active state may be conditioned on the completion of robot head selection, profile/program configuration for a user who is nearby. Transition from the active state to the standby state may be carried out when a user does not respond to a question asked by the agent device for a specified period of time or when the user is detected to have left the area. In the standby state, the agent device may still be in a setting where it keeps track of all the information related to the on-going dialogue so that when the user responds or returns, the agent device can quickly pick up from where the dialogue was left off and continue; for another example of language that reads on the recited language see also p. 0146 where when different program selections (state transitions) are made, a set of program progression models (state transition models) are used to resolve the difference between the multiple program selections which each use different rules that specify priorities between different selected programs, the values used to make the program selection are compared to priority values of each model to resolve the final program selection. A program as disclosed by Nelson in p. 0100, corresponds to a program that drives the content of a dialogue between a user and an automated dialogue companion, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to understand that the disclosed program may correspond to the recited “state” and the program selection process may correspond to a “state transition”); and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs…; see also p. 0146 & p. 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sharifi to include wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values, as taught by Nelson, because conducting a human machine dialogue session based on what is observed from the human is crucially important in order to determine how to proceed effectively. One example is an education related dialogue. When a chatbot is used for teaching a child to read, whether the child is perceptive to the way he/she is being taught has to be monitored and addressed continuously in order to be effective. Another limitation of the traditional dialogue systems is their context unawareness. For example, a traditional dialogue system is not equipped with the ability to observe the context of a conversation and improvise as to dialogue strategy in order to engage a user and improve the user experience (Nelson; p. 0007). As per claim 20, Sharifi discloses: A method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: processing, at a first time, first values, for dynamic contextual parameters, at the first time (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice), and wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; in response to determining, based on the processing at the first time, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice); automatically adapting particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at an assistant device, to the second state and from a first state that is active at the first time, the automatically adapting to the second state from the first state being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the second state (Sharifi; Fig. 2; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input); see also p. 0046 & 0056 - STT and natural language processing are performed locally); processing, at a second time, second values, wherein the second values are for the dynamic contextual parameters at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - when a sound is detected while automated assistant 120 is in the inactive listening state, automated assistant may store the sound data in a buffer, such as memory buffer 144. If the sound stops and no sound-based event (e.g., hot word or phrase) is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition back into the inactive listening state. However, if a sound-based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values; in response to the processing at the second time satisfying one or more second conditions (Sharifi; p. 0077 - if a sound-based event is detected; see also p. 0091 - Next, second user 101B says, “Sleuth that,” which in this example operates as hot word(s) that constitute an event to invoke automated assistant 120; see also p. 0095 – “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state): automatically adapting the particular audio data based assistant processing, performed locally at the assistant device, to the third state and from the second state that is active at the second time (Sharifi; p. 0077 - However, if a sound- based event is detected, then automated assistant 120 may transition into the active listening state), the automatically adapting to the third state from the second state being independent of receiving any explicit user interface input that requests or confirms the automatically adapting to the first state (Sharifi p. 0077; see also p. 0091-0094 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice (automatically adapting without any explicit user interface input)); wherein the third state is: (a) a first threshold state in which one or more first less restrictive thresholds are utilized for the particular audio data based assistant processing (Sharifi; p. 0109 - if the confidence measure falls below a first threshold, then no action may be taken on data stored in buffer 144); wherein the second state is: (b) a second threshold state in which one or more second more restrictive thresholds are utilized for the particular audio data based assistant processing (Sharifi; p. 0109 - If the confidence measure falls between the first threshold and a higher second threshold, then automated assistant 120 may seek permission from a user before taking responsive action, e.g., by confirming the user's request. If the confidence measure falls between the second threshold and a third higher threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action if only local resources are required... If the confidence measure falls above the third threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action without needing further input and without regard to whether local or cloud-based resources are required to fulfill the request); wherein automatically adapting the particular audio data based assistant processing, to the second state and from the third state, causes the particular audio data based assistant processing to switch from utilizing the one or more first less restrictive thresholds to utilizing the one or more second more restrictive thresholds (Sharifi; p. 0109 - If the confidence measure falls between the first threshold and a higher second threshold, then automated assistant 120 may seek permission from a user before taking responsive action, e.g., by confirming the user's request. If the confidence measure falls between the second threshold and a third higher threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action if only local resources are required... If the confidence measure falls above the third threshold, automated assistant 120 may take responsive action without needing further input and without regard to whether local or cloud-based resources are required to fulfill the request); and wherein utilizing the one or more first less restrictive thresholds in the first threshold state and utilizing the one or more second more restrictive thresholds in the second threshold state causes the audio data based assistant processing to be less restrictive in the first threshold state than in the second threshold state (Sharifi; p. 0093 – speaker recognition technology may be used to determine a speaker's identity. If the speaker's identity is successfully determined, and/or it is determined that the speaker has sufficient permissions, then certain hot word(s) may become activated; see also p. 0095 - “Sleuth that” in this example is a hot phrase that triggers automated assistant 120 to transition from the inactive listening state to the active listening state; see also p. 0097 – In Fig. 7, assume once again that first user 101A is speaker-recognizable by automated assistant 120 as registered user… first user 101A invokes assistant; the permissions policy permits the registered user to use certain hot words while others will not be recognized (less restrictive, because it permits the usage of more hot words)).
Sharifi, however, fails to disclose wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values. Nelson does teach wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device (Nelson; p. 0134-0137 – these paragraphs exemplify the process of assessing the user’s emotional state using environmental factors for profile selection in order to adapt the speech assistant to a different profile (e.g. state transitioning) p. 0140 - a user appearing in a dialogue environment (activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device) may trigger the activation of the automated dialogue companion (state transition); p. 0145 - As shown in FIG. 18A, the program configuration unit 840 also determines a program adaptively that is considered suitable for the user (may correspond to a state transition) at the time based on observation of the user state and/or the surrounding of the dialogue environment. To do that, the sensor info based program selector 1820 estimates, at 1855, the user state and the dialogue environment based on multimodal sensor data acquired by the user device and/or the agent device. Based on the estimated user state and/or dialogue environment, the sensor info based program selector 1820 adaptively selects, at 1865, a program), wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device (Nelson; p. 0151 - A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned, depending on application needs); or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition (Nelson; p. 0152 - if a user has not responded to anything agent device said to him/her for an extended period (e.g., 0.5 hour), the agent device may be put to the inactive state in which the agent device is not engaged in any dialogue and does not retain any information from prior dialogues (current temporal condition)), wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs. For example, to transit from the inactive state to a standby state may be triggered when a user is detected in the vicinity (example of the one or more rules). To transit from the standby state to the active state may be conditioned on the completion of robot head selection, profile/program configuration for a user who is nearby. Transition from the active state to the standby state may be carried out when a user does not respond to a question asked by the agent device for a specified period of time or when the user is detected to have left the area. In the standby state, the agent device may still be in a setting where it keeps track of all the information related to the on-going dialogue so that when the user responds or returns, the agent device can quickly pick up from where the dialogue was left off and continue; for another example of language that reads on the recited language see also p. 0146 where when different program selections (state transitions) are made, a set of program progression models (state transition models) are used to resolve the difference between the multiple program selections which each use different rules that specify priorities between different selected programs, the values used to make the program selection are compared to priority values of each model to resolve the final program selection. A program as disclosed by Nelson in p. 0100, corresponds to a program that drives the content of a dialogue between a user and an automated dialogue companion, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to understand that the disclosed program may correspond to the recited “state” and the program selection process may correspond to a “state transition”); and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values (Nelson; p. 0151-0152 - Transitions among different states may be bi-directional and transition in any direction between two states may be enabled. A transition between two states in a certain direction may be conditioned (e.g. by applying one or more rules), depending on application needs…; see also p. 0146 & p. 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sharifi to include wherein the dynamic contextual parameters include at least one of: a current activity parameter indicating an activity occurring in an environment of the assistant device, wherein the current activity parameter is determined based on at least one of: (i) accessing a calendar entry of a registered user, or (ii) accessing activity data from an application running on the assistant device or another client device in the environment of the assistant device; or a temporal parameter indicating a current temporal condition, wherein processing the first values includes: determining, based on applying one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the first values, to transition the particular audio data based assistant processing to a second state; and wherein processing the second values includes: determining a third state for the particular audio data based assistant processing by applying the one or more rules that are each for a corresponding state to the second values, as taught by Nelson, because conducting a human machine dialogue session based on what is observed from the human is crucially important in order to determine how to proceed effectively. One example is an education related dialogue. When a chatbot is used for teaching a child to read, whether the child is perceptive to the way he/she is being taught has to be monitored and addressed continuously in order to be effective. Another limitation of the traditional dialogue systems is their context unawareness. For example, a traditional dialogue system is not equipped with the ability to observe the context of a conversation and improvise as to dialogue strategy in order to engage a user and improve the user experience (Nelson; p. 0007).
Claims 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi in view of Nelson and further in view of Krishnan (US PG Pub 20220093101). As per claim 12, Sharifi in view of Nelson disclose: The method of claim 4, upon which claim 12 depends. Sharifi, however, fails to disclose wherein the particular audio data processing is invocation-free speech recognition processing, the invocation-free speech recognition processing comprising: performing speech recognition, on audio data that captures a spoken utterance and using one or more local speech recognition models of the assistant device, to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance; determining, based on processing the recognition, whether the spoken utterance is an assistant command; and causing further assistant processing to be performed based on the spoken utterance being determined to be an assistant command. Krishnan does teach wherein the particular audio data processing is invocation-free speech recognition processing, the invocation-free speech recognition processing comprising: performing speech recognition, on audio data that captures a spoken utterance and using one or more local speech recognition models of the assistant device, to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance; determining, based on processing the recognition, whether the spoken utterance is an assistant command; and causing further assistant processing to be performed based on the spoken utterance being determined to be an assistant command (Krishnan; p. 0045 - the multi-user dialog may allow all audio captured by the device 110 to be processed (at least minimally) by the system to determine if audio is system directed, without requiring the wakeword to be spoken). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of in view of Nelson to include wherein the particular audio data processing is invocation-free speech recognition processing, the invocation-free speech recognition processing comprising: performing speech recognition, on audio data that captures a spoken utterance and using one or more local speech recognition models of the assistant device, to generate a recognition of the spoken utterance; determining, based on processing the recognition, whether the spoken utterance is an assistant command; and causing further assistant processing to be performed based on the spoken utterance being determined to be an assistant command, as taught by Krishnan, in order to restrict processing where appropriate and only process user information in a manner that ensures compliance with all appropriate laws, regulations, standards, and the like (Krishnan; p. 0034). As per claim 13, Sharifi in view of Nelson and Krishnan disclose: The method of claim 12, wherein, in the partially active state, the particular audio data based assistant processing is suppressed, for any users that are not registered with the assistant device, by causing the further assistant processing to be performed further based on: verifying that the spoken utterance was uttered by one of the one or more registered users (Sharifi; p. 0093 - automated assistant 120 may only transition from the inactive listening state of FIG. 2 to the “STORE SOUND DATA IN BUFFER?” state of FIG. 2 if the sound corresponds to a registered user's voice).
As per claim 15, Sharifi in view of Nelson and Krishnan discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein the further assistant processing comprises: causing one or more actions to performed based on the recognition (Sharifi; p. 0070 - Additionally or alternatively, fulfillment module 124 may be configured to receive, e.g., from intent matcher 135, a user's intent and any slot values provided by the user or determined using other means (e.g., GPS coordinates of the user, user preferences, etc.) and trigger a responsive action. Responsive actions may include, for instance, ordering a good/service, starting a timer, setting a reminder, initiating a phone call, playing media, sending a message, etc. In some such implementations, fulfillment information may include slot values associated with the fulfillment, confirmation responses (which may be selected from predetermined responses in some cases), etc.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi in view of Nelson and further in view of Huang (US PG Pub 20190043507).
As per claim 7, Sharifi in view of Nelson discloses: The method of claim 6, upon which claim 7 depends. Sharifi in view of Nelson, however, fails to disclose wherein verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users comprises: processing, using a text-dependent speaker identification (TDSID) model, at least a portion of the stream of audio data that captures the hot word; and verifying that output, generated using the TDSID model based on the processing, matches a stored TDSID embedding for the one of the one or more registered users. Huang does teach wherein verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users comprises: processing, using a text-dependent speaker identification (TDSID) model, at least a portion of the stream of audio data that captures the hot word; and verifying that output, generated using the TDSID model based on the processing, matches a stored TDSID embedding for the one of the one or more registered users (Huang; p. 0029 - keyphrase detection and text-dependent speaker recognition is applied to a subsequent phrase in addition to waking keyphrase detection and speaker recognition of a waking keyphrase). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sharifi in view of Nelson to include wherein verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users comprises: processing, using a text-dependent speaker identification (TDSID) model, at least a portion of the stream of audio data that captures the hot word; and verifying that output, generated using the TDSID model based on the processing, matches a stored TDSID embedding for the one of the one or more registered users, as taught by Huang, because this has the effect of providing more phonetically-constrained (text-dependent) data for more accurate speaker recognition, and it has been found that for higher security applications, users are more willing to tolerate a slightly longer interaction when provided the perception of greater security anyway (Huang; p. 0029). Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi in view of Nelson and Krishnan and further in view of Huang. As per claim 14, Sharifi in view of Nelson and Krishnan disclose: The method of claim 13, upon which claim 14 depends. And further, Huang discloses wherein verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users comprises: processing, using a text-independent speaker identification (TISID) model, at least a portion of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance; and verifying that output, generated using the TISID model based on the processing, matches a stored TISID embedding for the one of the one or more registered users (Huang; p. 0025 - …The segmented speech is then passed to a text-independent speech recognition (TI-SR) unit to perform the TI-SR 110 to determine one or more speaker scores that indicate the likelihood that the command (or entire utterance) was spoken by an authorized user… (hybrid)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Sharifi in view of Nelson and Krishnan to include wherein verifying that the hot word was uttered by one of the one or more registered users comprises: processing, using a text-independent speaker identification (TISID) model, at least a portion of the audio data that captures the spoken utterance; and verifying that output, generated using the TISID model based on the processing, matches a stored TISID embedding for the one of the one or more registered users, as taught by Huang, because this has the effect of providing more phonetically-constrained (text-dependent) data for more accurate speaker recognition, and it has been found that for higher security applications, users are more willing to tolerate a slightly longer interaction when provided the perception of greater security anyway (Huang; p. 0029).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art made of record and not relied upon includes: Maury (US PG Pub 20220148592) discloses examples described herein relate to triggering voice assistant(s) on a network microphone device (NMD). An NMD is a networked computing device that typically includes an arrangement of microphones, such as a microphone array, that is configured to detect sound present in the NMD's environment. Once the voice assistant is triggered, the NMD may start recording voice input as a potential voice command. Within examples, the NMD may operate in a wakewordless mode if certain conditions are met. These conditions may involve detecting user proximity in one of multiple different ranges. For instance, an example NMD may monitor for user proximity in a first range from the playback device via at least one touch-sensitive sensor and/or user line-of-sight in a second range that is further from the playback device than the first range. When either user proximity or user line-of-sight is detected, the the NMD may enables the wakewordless mode (Maury; Abstract).
Smith (US PG Pub 20200395006) discloses a playback device includes at least one microphone configured to detect sound. The playback detects sound via the one or more microphones and determines whether (i) the detected sound includes a voice input, (ii) the detected sound excludes background speech, and (iii) the voice input includes a command keyword. In response to the determining, the playback device performs a playback function corresponding to the command keyword (Smith; Abstract).
/RODRIGO A CHAVEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658