DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 9/29/2025. As directed, claims 1, 13, 14, and 20 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled, and claim 21 has been added. Thus claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flynn (2009/0260628).
Regarding claim 14, Flynn discloses a nebulizer (figs. 6, 10, 12) comprising a nebulizer housing (i.e. 680, 1280), a patient interface (212), an ambient air infeed (954) for carrying inhaled air to the nebulizer for entraining a medication for administration to a patient’s lungs ([0088] last 20 lines), an exhaled air outfeed (921) for carrying exhaled air from the lungs through the exhaled air outfeed (921) to be treated or contained where the exhaled air may carry contagions entrained therein and could enter the contagions into the environment if not prevented ([0086] lines 1-6 disclose filtering the exhaled air), a disinfecting chamber (270, 964) attached to the nebulizer for reducing the amount of contagions entering the environment from the exhaled air outfeed ([0086] lines 1-6, [0104] lines 1-10); and a T splitter (214, 914) that separates inhaled air from exhaled air (as shown, the connector includes valves that at least partially separate air flows).
Regarding claim 15, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is a T-splitter (as shown the connector is a T shaped connector).
Regarding claim 16, Flynn discloses the device comprises at least two one-way valves (950, 940, 930; [0084] lines 1-5, [0085] lines 1-5, [0088] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is positioned between the patient interface (212, 912) and the nebulizer (680, 1280).
Regarding claim 18, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is positioned for communication with the exhaled air outfeed (fig. 9 shows flow arrows in fluid communication).
Regarding claim 19, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is attached to the exhaled air outfeed (921).
Regarding claim 20, Flynn discloses device (214, 914) for removably attaching to a nebulizer that has nebulizer housing(i.e. 680, 1280), a patient interface (212, 912), an ambient air infeed (954) for carrying inhaled air to the nebulizer for entraining a medication for administration to a patient’s lungs ([0088] last 20 lines), an exhaled air outfeed (921) for carrying exhaled air from the lungs through the exhaled air outfeed (921) to be treated or contained where the exhaled air may carry contagions entrained therein and could enter the contagions into the environment if not prevented ([0086] lines 1-6 disclose filtering the exhaled air), wherein the device (214, 914) is an ambient air T-splitter (as shown the connector is a T shaped connector) and comprises at least two one-way valves (950, 940, 930; [0084] lines 1-5, [0085] lines 1-5, [0088] lines 1-3), the device (214, 914) is positioned between the patient interface (212, 912) and the nebulizer (680, 1280) and positioned for communication with the exhaled air outfeed (fig. 9 shows flow arrows in fluid communication) being attached to the exhaled air outfeed (921).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn (2009/0260628) in view of LeMahieu (2008/0066739).
Regarding claim 1, Flynn discloses a nebulizer (figs. 6, 10, 12) having a nebulizer housing (i.e. 680, 1280), a patient interface (212), an ambient air infeed (954) for carrying inhaled air to the nebulizer for entraining a medication for administration to a patient’s lungs ([0088] last 20 lines), and an exhaled air outfeed (921) for carrying exhaled air from the lungs through the exhaled air outfeed (921) to be treated or contained where the exhaled air may carry contagions entrained therein and could enter the contagions into the environment if not prevented ([0086] lines 1-6 disclose filtering the exhaled air), the improvement comprising a disinfecting chamber (270, 964) attached to the nebulizer for reducing the amount of contagions entering the environment from the exhaled air outfeed ([0086] lines 1-6, [0104] lines 1-10).
Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (i.e. 270, 964) including a tube (272,274) around where exhaled air exits the chamber (i.e. via port 265) is removably attached to the nebulizer housing ([0066] lines 1-10, [0082] lines 13-20, [0073] lines 1-5 disclose the filter and nebulizer are detachably connected) and use of a filter for filtering bacteria and viruses ([0106 last 10 lines) but does not specifically disclose the disinfecting chamber comprises a UVC light source capable of reducing the amount of contagions. However, LeMahieu teaches the disinfecting chamber comprises a UVC light source capable of reducing the number of contagions ([0144] last 10 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the disinfecting chamber of Flynn with UV sterilization as taught y LeMahieu to provide the advantage of enhanced destruction of RNA or DNA of airborne pathogens as disclosed by LeMahieu in [0144] last 5 lines.
Regarding claim 3, Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (270, 964) is designed to create a cyclone flow pattern for exhaled air flowing through the disinfecting chamber (i.e. as shown, the chamber is cylindrical with annular walls thereby able to create a cyclone pattern at least against the walls).
Regarding claim 4, Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (i.e. 270, 964) is removably attached to the nebulizer housing ([0066] lines 1-10, [0082] lines 13-20, [0073] lines 1-5 disclose the filter and nebulizer are detachably connected).
Regarding claim 5, Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber comprises a filter (276, 948) capable of reducing the amount of contagions.
Regarding claim 6, Flynn discloses a device (214, 914) that separates inhaled air from exhaled air (as shown, the connector includes valves that at least partially separate air flows).
Regarding claim 7, Flynn discloses wherein the device (214, 914) is removably attachable to the nebulizer housing ([0082] lines 13-20, [0073] lines 1-5 disclose the connector and nebulizer are detachably connected).
Regarding claim 8, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is a T-splitter (as shown the connector is a T shaped connector).
Regarding claim 9, Flynn discloses the device comprises at least two one-way valves (950, 940, 930; [0084] lines 1-5, [0085] lines 1-5, [0088] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is positioned between the patient interface (212, 912) and the nebulizer (680, 1280).
Regarding claim 11, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is positioned for communication with the exhaled air outfeed (fig. 9 shows flow arrows in fluid communication).
Regarding claim 12, Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is attached to the exhaled air outfeed (921).
Regarding claim 13, Flynn discloses a nebulizer (figs. 6, 10, 12) comprising a nebulizer housing (i.e. 680, 1280), a patient interface (212), an ambient air infeed (954) for carrying inhaled air to the nebulizer for entraining a medication for administration to a patient’s lungs ([0088] last 20 lines), an exhaled air outfeed (921) for carrying exhaled air from the lungs through the exhaled air outfeed (921) to be treated or contained where the exhaled air may carry contagions entrained therein and could enter the contagions into the environment if not prevented ([0086] lines 1-6 disclose filtering the exhaled air), and a disinfecting chamber (270, 964) attached to the nebulizer for reducing the amount of contagions entering the environment from the exhaled air outfeed ([0086] lines 1-6, [0104] lines 1-10).
Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (i.e. 270, 964) which produces no back pressure on the nebulizer (as shown, the chamber connects via friction fit and thus does not create back pressure or push back on the chamber, i.e. no mechanical push member is present) and is removably attached to the nebulizer housing ([0066] lines 1-10, [0082] lines 13-20, [0073] lines 1-5 disclose the filter and nebulizer are detachably connected) and use of a filter for filtering bacteria and viruses ([0106 last 10 lines) but does not specifically disclose the disinfecting chamber comprises a UVC light source capable of reducing the amount of contagions. However, LeMahieu teaches the disinfecting chamber comprises a UVC light source capable of reducing the number of contagions ([0144] last 10 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the disinfecting chamber of Flynn with UV sterilization as taught y LeMahieu to provide the advantage of enhanced destruction of RNA or DNA of airborne pathogens as disclosed by LeMahieu in [0144] last 5 lines.
Regarding claim 21, Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (i.e. 270, 964) which produces no back pressure on the nebulizer (as shown, the chamber connects via friction fit and thus does not create back pressure or push back on the chamber, i.e. no mechanical push member is present).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 1st full paragraph that Flynn does not disclose UVC light or removable attachment. Examiner respectfully disagrees as Flynn discloses in [0066] lines 1-10, [0082] lines 13-20, [0073] lines 1-5 the filter and nebulizer are detachably connected). Further, Flynn is not relied on alone for UVC disinfection. LeMahieu teaches the disinfecting chamber comprises a UVC light source capable of reducing the number of contagions ([0144] last 10 lines). Tus the combination of Flynn and LeMahieu teach these limitations as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 8 last paragraph that Flynn does not address back pressure. However, Flynn discloses the disinfecting chamber (i.e. 270, 964) which produces no back pressure on the nebulizer (as shown, the chamber connects via friction fit and thus does not create back pressure or push back on the chamber, i.e. no mechanical push member is present). Thus Flynn teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant argue son page 10 first 2 paragraphs that Flynn does not disclose a separate device for retrofitting. However, a separate device for retrofitting is not found in the claim language. Flynn discloses the device (214, 914) is a T-splitter (as shown the connector is a T shaped connector) including ambient air infeed. Thus Flynn teaches this limitation as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 11 1st and 2nd paragraphs that the device of LeMahieu is incompatible and relies on hindsight. Examiner respectfully disagrees as both are concerned with the same problem to be solved of disinfecting air. Thus the combination of references teach this limitation and motivation is provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785