Status
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments and arguments filed 21 January 2026. As directed by Applicant, claims 1 and 18 are amended, claims 3 is newly cancelled, and claims 30 and 31 have been added, and claims 21-29 are now withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 18, 19 and 30-31 are presently examined. This is a Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[Examiner’s note: Strikethrough indicates that the reference does not teach that limitation]
Claims 1, 2, 5 6, 7 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Shenzhen Grenergy Technology (Chinese Patent Publication CN210359818U; in applicant’s IDS, translation of disclosure attached; herein after “Shenzhen”) in view of Shenzhen Optimum Battery Co., LTD (Chinese Patent Publication CN202695598; in applicant’s IDS, translation attached; herein after “Shenzhen Optimum”) and SK Innovation (Korean Patent Publication KR20180083129A; in previously filed form PTO-892; herein after “SK”).
Regarding claim 1, Shenzhen discloses a method of manufacturing a battery pack, the method comprising:
positioning multiple battery cells (figs. 1, 2, each battery 40) into a group of battery cells (fig. 1, 2, battery cells are grouped);
disposing foil connection material (60) onto top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells to form a battery pack;
placing the battery pack within a welding jig (Shenzhen, 10+20+30);
applying pressure to the disposed foil connection material using a top plate of the welding jig (Shenzhen, disclosure p. 2 last paragraph, “presses the … sheet”); and
welding (p. 3, 3rd -5th full paragraphs, “batteries can be laser welded at that time”) the disposed foil connection material to the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells (Figs. 3-7 show the fixing plate/welding jig 10 and how it is connected to the battery).
But, Shenzhen does not disclose “wherein the foil connection material includes a top insulating layer, a middle copper coated aluminum layer, and a bottom insulating layer; nor wherein the top insulating layer and the bottom insulating layer includes openings that expose the middle copper coated aluminum layer;”
However, Shenzhen Optimum, in his battery connection, teaches a plate with his connecting plate wherein the foil connector includes a top insulation layer, a middle layer of [metal] and a bottom insulation layer (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 1 last paragraph, “wherein a first surface of the metal foil is adhered to the insulating substrate, and a second surface of the metal foil is covered with an insulating paint [layer on the other side]” and “wherein the (Shenzhen, fig. 1, element 30, p. 2, 3rd paragraph from bottom) And Shenzhen Optimum teaches that the foil is only copper (p. 2 seventh paragraph). However, SK teaches copper coated aluminum is conventional for electrical connection in batteries in place of copper (SK, at least ¶0004, “busbar made of copper coated on the outside of aluminum”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Shenzhen with the teachings of Shenzhen Optimum and SK, in order to have a more effective connecting layer, avoiding potential short circuits (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 1 second to last paragraph), to use a foil, according to the teaching of SK, in order to “reduce cost, reduce weight, and improve performance” (SK, ¶0004)
Now, while Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teach all the above limitations, it still does not teach that there are openings both through the “top insulating layer and through the bottom insulating layer” to expose the middle layer. Shenzhen Optimum just shows, explicitly, that one side of the coated material has holes exposing the foil (fig. 1) and these openings and exposures are for making electrical connections (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 2 3rd to last paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK, to have openings and expose the foil on both sides, both top and bottom of the coated foil, in order to create more connections, as required by the operator, and to connect more batteries, depending on the set-up, and this would merely be a duplication of the method on the second side as on a first side, depending on the needs of the specific connection situation.
Regarding claim 2, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and but does not further teach, in this combination, a method wherein welding the disposed foil connection material to the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells includes welding the foil connection material to a positive button top and a negative case of the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells. However, Shenzhen does teach that the foil should be attached to both a positive and negative part of the battery (Shenzhen, p. 1 . background, first paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Shenzhen, and have the foil welded to a “button” and “case” of the battery pack, in order to take advantage of all the battery cells, and have them hooked up to both using both their positive and negative attachments, in order to complete the circuit, so that the battery cells may become part of the group and pack.
Regarding claim 5, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method wherein welding the disposed foil connection material to the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells includes laser welding the disposed foil connection material to the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells (Shenzhen, p. 3, 3rd -5th full paragraphs, “batteries can be laser welded at that time”; Figs. 3-7 show the fixing plate/welding jig 10 and how it is connected to the battery).
Regarding claim 6, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method wherein applying pressure to the disposed foil connection material using a top plate of the welding jig includes: placing a conforming material (metal buffer sleeve 50) between the top plate of the welding jig (20, 30) and the disposed foil connection material; and applying the pressure to the disposed foil connection material via the conforming material such that the conforming material contacts the foil connection material (elastic, Shenzhen, p. 2 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach, in the combination above, a method welding a fuse between the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells and the foil connection material. However, Shenzhen Optimum teaches having a fuse arm between the foil of the different batteries (Shenzhen Optimum, linking arm 31, ¶¶24-26). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shenzhen with Shenzhen Optimum and have to batteries have a fuse linking them, in order to isolate the batteries should there be leakage or damage or excess current, so as not to damage other batteries.
Regarding claim 30, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a method wherein the top plate includes angled cutouts (Shenzhen, 20 or 30 has cutouts that expose the foil to the laser and they are angled down) that expose the disposed foil connection material, and wherein welding the disposed foil connection material to the top portions of each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells includes laser welding the disposed foil connection material via the angled cutouts by, as disclosed in Shenzhen, the primary reference, fixing the fixing plate to the upper and lower plates (Shenzhen, p. 2 3rd to last paragraph, where laser welding the battery to the foil connection).
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenzhen Grenergy Technology (Chinese Patent Publication CN21359818U; in applicant’s IDS, translation of disclosure attached; herein after “Shenzhen”) in view of Shenzhen Optimum Battery Co., LTD (Chinese Patent Publication CN202695598; in applicant’s IDS, translation newly attached; herein after “Shenzhen Optimum”) and SK Innovation (Korean Patent Publication KR20180083129A; in previously filed form PTO-892; herein after “SK”) and further in view of Jiangxi Ganfeng Cell Technology (Chinese Patent Publication CN109103405A; in applicants IDS; herein after “Jiangxi”).
Regarding claim 8, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach welding comprising: surface mounting a thermistor to each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells. However, Jiangxi teaches attaching a thermistor (1023) to the foil (1024) (Jiangxi, Abstract, fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shenzhen with the teaching of Jiangxi, to have thermistors attached to the foil and the battery cells to monitor the heat to detect a leak or other malfunction.
Regarding claim 9, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach a method of welding comprising: extending the foil connection material away from the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells; and surface mounting a thermistor to each of the multiple battery cells of the group of battery cells on top of the extended foil connection material. However, Jiangxi teaches attaching a thermistor (1023) to the foil (1024) (Jiangxi, Abstract, fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shenzhen with the teaching of Jiangxi, to have thermistors attached to the foil and the battery cells to monitor the heat to detect a leak or other malfunction.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenzhen Grenergy Technology (Chinese Patent Publication CN21359818U; in applicant’s IDS, translation of disclosure attached; herein after “Shenzhen”) in view of Shenzhen Optimum Battery Co., LTD (Chinese Patent Publication CN202695598; in applicant’s IDS, translation newly attached; herein after “Shenzhen Optimum”) and SK Innovation (Korean Patent Publication KR20180083129A; in previously filed form PTO-892; herein after “SK”) in view of Schlunke (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0168962)
Regarding claim 10, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and SK teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach welding wherein the battery cells are 18650 form factor Lithium- ion battery cells. However, Schlunke teaches using such rechargeable conventional batteries for battery packs (Schlunke, ¶18). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Shenzhen with Schlunke to be able to use such lithium batteries, as claimed, in order to use a conventional means (a battery) in a conventional way (to make a battery pack) and achieve not unexpected results (the expected result of a functioning battery pack, so the form of the jig would have to be able to accept such batteries.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenzhen Grenergy Technology (Chinese Patent Publication CN21359818U; in applicant’s IDS, translation of disclosure attached; herein after “Shenzhen”) in view of Shenzhen Optimum Battery Co., LTD (Chinese Patent Publication CN202695598; in applicant’s IDS, translation previously attached; herein after “Shenzhen Optimum”) and Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0166660).
Regarding claim 18, Shenzhen discloses a method of manufacturing a battery pack, the method comprising:
positioning multiple battery cells (40) into a group of battery cells (Shenzhen, figs. 1-2);
disposing a foil (60) connector onto a top portion of each battery cell of the group of battery cells;
pressing a conforming material (50) onto the disposed foil connector; and welding the foil connector to the group of battery cells (p. 3, 3rd -5th full paragraphs, “batteries can be laser welded at that time”; figs. 3-7).
However, Shenzhen does not disclose wherein the foil connector includes a top insulation layer, a middle layer of aluminum, and a bottom insulation layer; and wherein the top insulating layer and the bottom insulating layer includes openings what expose the middle coated aluminum layer.
However, Shenzhen Optimum, in his battery connection, teaches a plate with his connecting plate wherein the foil connector includes a top insulation layer, a middle layer of [metal] and a bottom insulation layer (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 1 last paragraph, “wherein a first surface of the metal foil is adhered to the insulating substrate, and a second surface of the metal foil is covered with an insulating paint [layer on the other side]”, and wherein the (Shenzhen Optimum, fig. 1, p. 2 3rd pargraph from bottom, openings expose foil middle). Shenzhen Optimum teaches that the foil is copper (p. 2 seventh paragraph). However, Kim teaches that copper and aluminum a conventional metals used for these foils and are essentially interchangeable (Kim, ¶0005, “cathode active material to a current collector such as a sheet, a mesh, a film, and a foil of aluminum or copper.”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shenzhen with Shenzhen Optimum and Kim , in order to have a more effective connecting layer, avoiding potential short circuits (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 1 second to last paragraph), and to use a conventional metal in a conventional way to affect this device.
Now, while Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and Kim teach all the above limitations, it still does not teach that there are openings both through the “top insulating layer and through the bottom insulating layer” to expose the middle layer. Shenzhen Optimum just shows, explicitly, that one side of the coated material has holes exposing the foil (fig. 1) and these openings and exposures are for making electrical connections (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 2 3rd to last paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and Kim, to have openings and expose the foil on both sides, both top and bottom of the coated foil, in order to create more connections, as required by the operator, and to connect more batteries, depending on the set-up, and this would merely be a duplication of the method on the second side as on a first side, depending on the needs of the specific connection situation.
Regarding claim 19, Shenzhen in view of Shenzhen Optimum and Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 18, as above, and further discloses a method comprising: placing the battery pack within a welding jig (fixing frames 10 +20 +30), and pressing the conforming material (50) onto the disposed foil connector using a top plate of the welding jig.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Shenzhen Optimum does not teach “openings in the insulating body or the varnish- instead, Shenzen [sic] Optimum discloses the use of electrode connecting pieces and associated linking arms (see Figure 1).” (Remarks, p. 7 of 9, second to last paragraph). However, as noted above, Shenzhen Optimum does teach openings in the insulating coating to access the middle layer, that is, “connecting plates 30 with through holes, and the electrode connecting plates are only reserved by etching to connect with other metal foils 20 of the connecting plate”, i.e. the linking arms 31 are etched through the coating to get to connecting plate/foil 30 (Shenzhen Optimum, p. 2, 3rd paragraph from the bottom”. And further it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have openings on both sides, as noted above, to render obvious the language of the amendment. Thus, these claims are rejected, and the headings of the rejections above remain the same.
No other independent arguments are made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached and previously filed forms PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761