This action is in response to the application filed on March 06, 2026
Claims 1-3,6-9,12-19,23-24,26-29 and 31-35 are under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,6-10, 12-20, 23-24,26-29 and 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wengerter et al. (USP 2011/0085508) in view of Guo et al. (USP: 2023/0179321) and in further view of Li et al. (USP: 2020/0389280).
As per Claim 1 Wengerter teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a transmitter, comprising:
Memory(Paragraph 0140 memory); and
One or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to:
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on the nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (Paragraph 0101-0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver);
encoding a payload size of bits with a shaping encoder to obtain a transport block (TB) having an actual TBs, wherein the actual TBS is selected from a set of TBSs based on the nominal TBS (Paragraph 0042, 0047, 0054, 0084 For example, the transport block (TB) size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The selection of the transport block size index from the subset of non-consecutive transport block size indices may be for example implemented by defining the offset to be a multiple of an integer number n, where n>1. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. Hence, in this example the transport block size indicator is selecting one out of every n.sup.th transport block size index between (and including) the minimum and the maximum transport block size index according to the resource allocation size.);
wherein the actual TBS includes a number of bits corresponding to each CB of the multiple CBs (Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen),
encoding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the payload size of bits corresponding to the actual TBS (Paragraph 0002, 0111 This shared channel may be for example a Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH) as know in LTE systems. However, it is also possible that the shared data channel and the associated control channels are mapped to the physical layer resources as shown in FIG. 2 or FIG. 3.Those dynamically allocated resources are typically mapped to at least one Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH). A PUSCH or PDSCH may for example have one of the following configurations ).
transmit, to a receiver, an indication of the actual TBS on uplink control information (UCI) (Paragraph 0043, 0046, 0084 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset); and
transmit the TB to the receiver (Paragraph 0022, 0050 a method for receiving a transport block in a mobile communication system. This information (usually together with the resource allocation) allows the mobile station (receiver) to identify the information bit size, the modulation scheme and the code rate in order to start the demodulation, the de-rate-matching and the decoding process. In some cases the modulation scheme maybe signaled explicitly).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
However Wengerter-Guo does not explicitly disclose receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS)
Li teaches receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS) (Paragraph 0025, 0038 the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission. The listen before talk (LBT) outcome with the understanding that the ending position is indicated by the UL grant; design not requiring the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission depending on the LBT outcome. For a nominal TTI contained in a slot, TB size (TBS) for the TB is determined by number of resource elements (REs) of the TTI considering other kinds of overhead, e.g., as defined in NR Rel-15. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter-Guo to include the teaching of Li so the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission. (See Li Paragraph 0025).
As per Claim 2 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform modulation based on the payload size of bits corresponding to the actual TBS (Paragraph 0022, 0030, 0087 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The transport format (MCS and/or TBS) information (even if the modulation and coding scheme changes between transmissions) does not have to be signaled in retransmissions, since the modulation and coding scheme can be determined from the transport block size and the resource allocation size, which can be determined from the resource allocation field. )..
As per Claim 3 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the payload size of bits with the shaping encoder, the one or more processors and configured to perform probabilistic shaping (Paragraph 0022, 0025, 0030 Payload size 6 Interpretation could depend on e.g. modulation scheme and the number of assigned resource units (c.f. HSDPA). In case of multi-layer transmission, multiple instances may be required. The use for other purposes, e.g., to control persistent scheduling, `per process` operation, or TTI length, is FFS. TF Transmission parameters FFS The uplink transmission parameters (modulation scheme, payload size, MIMO-related information, etc) the UE shall use.).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
(Canceled)
(Canceled)
As per Claim 6 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the transmitter comprises user equipment (UE); (Paragraph 0026, 0029, 0042 for uplink transmissions, L1/L2 signaling is provided on the downlink to the transmitters in order to inform them on the parameters for the uplink transmission. Essentially, the L1/L2 control channel signal is partly similar to the one for downlink transmissions. It typically indicates the physical resource(s) on which the UE should transmit the data (e.g. subcarriers or subcarrier blocks in case of OFDM, codes in case of CDMA) and a transport format the mobile station should use for uplink transmission).
As per Claim 7 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine an effective code rate based on the actual TBS or the nominal TBS(Paragraph 0040-0043 FIG. 4 illustrates a simple example for TBS superset and code rate 0.125} and [64-QAM; code rate 0.9]. For a given resource allocation size RB_size (e.g. allocations between 1 and 100 resource blocks) a given number of TBS values (M), from which can be selected on a PDCCH (e.g. 29 values) is predefined. Thus, for a given allocation size a TBS from a certain range (size M) of the superset of size N can be signaled. One way of defining the ranges is defining e.g. the lowest TBS superset index nmin (RB_size) defining the lowest MCS level (smallest TBS) for a given RB allocation size. The basic principle of the scheme is that a TBS superset of size N is defined. The values of the superset are sorted in e.g. ascending order (TBS (n)<TBS (n+1)) and the TBS values are spaced linearly in log-domain (for example see MATLAB code below (MATLAB.RTM. ).
As per Claim 8 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determining an effective code rate based on a number of downlink information bits divided by a number of physical channel bits associated with the payload size of bits (Paragraph 0022, 0042, 0043 FIG. 4 exemplarily illustrates a simple example for TBS superset, for example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size) and TBS range signaling when applying the principles of the HSDPA signaling scheme in 3GPP TS 25.321. The figure is intended to exemplarily illustrate the basic principle of defining a TBS superset containing all possible transport block sizes for the applicable range of resource allocation sizes (x-axis) and assuming MCS levels between {QPSK; code rate 0.125} and [64-QAM; code rate 0.9]. Thus, for a given allocation size a TBS from a certain range (size M) of the superset of size N can be signaled. One way of defining the ranges is defining e.g. the lowest TBS superset index nmin (RB_size) defining the lowest MCS level (smallest TBS) for a given RB allocation size.).
As per Claim 9 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, to transmit transmitting the indication of the actual TBS the one or more processors are configured to: transmit the indication of the actual TBS via a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence or a guard interval (GI) sequence (Paragraph 0022, 0025 the data transmission is intended Resource assignment FFS Indicates which (virtual) resource units (and layers in case of multi- layer transmission) the UE(s) shall demodulate, information (usually together with the resource allocation) allows the mobile station (receiver) to identify the information bit size, the modulation scheme and the code rate in order to start the demodulation, the de-rate-matching and the decoding process. In some cases the modulation scheme maybe signaled explicitly).
encoding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the payload size of bits corresponding to the actual TBS (Paragraph 0002, 0111 This shared channel may be for example a Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH) as know in LTE systems. However, it is also possible that the shared data channel and the associated control channels are mapped to the physical layer resources as shown in FIG. 2 or FIG. 3.Those dynamically allocated resources are typically mapped to at least one Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH). A PUSCH or PDSCH may for example have one of the following configurations ).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
10. (Canceled)
11. (Canceled)
As per Claim 12 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: perform probabilistic shaping encoding on the number of bits for each CB (Paragraph 0130, the transport blocks are subjected to turbo encoding by means of a turbo encoder. The turbo encoder is typically associated with a codeblock interleaver that is interleaving (consecutive) transport block(s) in junks of a given size, the codeblock size. Accordingly, it may be desirable to align the transport block sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver. ).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
As per Claim 13 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the appartus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: transmitting, to the receiver, an indication of an actual size of each CB (Paragraph 0022, 0130 the transport blocks are subjected to turbo encoding by means of a turbo encoder. The turbo encoder is typically associated with a codeblock interleaver that is interleaving (consecutive) transport block(s) in junks of a given size, the codeblock size. Accordingly, it may be desirable to align the transport block sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver).
As per Claim 14 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein transmit the indication of the actual size of each CB of the multiple CBs, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the indication of the actual size of each CB via one or more of: (Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen) the (UCI) when the transmitter is a UE; or transmit the indication of the actual size of each CB via a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence or a guard interval (GI) sequence (Paragraph 0084 the transport block size should be signaled, the transport block size is typically not explicitly signaled, but is rather signaled as a transport block size indicator that is mapped to a TBS index. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size).
As per Claim 15 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit signaling to configure the receiver to provide feedback based on a group of CBs (CBG), wherein the receiver determines a number of CBs for the CBG based on the nominal TBS (0130, 0131 the transport block size may be aligned is the CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) feedback (that is indicating a transport block size the reporting mobile station is assuming to support based on the channel quality measurements)); and
receive, from the receiver, a feedback of the CBG (Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen);
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
As per Claim 16 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to encode the payload size of bits with the shaping encoder, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
perform probabilistic shaping encoding on a number of bits corresponding to the CBG or the actual TBS (Paragraph 0022, 0025, 0130 Payload size 6 Interpretation could depend on e.g. modulation scheme and the number of assigned resource units (c.f. HSDPA). In case of multi-layer transmission, multiple instances may be required. There are several possibilities to indicate the transport format. For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF)).
As per Claim 17 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus method of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: transmitting, to the receiver, an indication of an actual size of the CBG (Paragraph 0084-0086 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. ).
As per Claim 18 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein transmit the indication of the actual size of the CBG wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the indication of the actual size of the CBG via one or more of: the UCI a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence or a guard interval (GI) sequence (Paragraph 0084, 0087, 0130 a codeblock interleaver that is interleaving (consecutive) transport block(s) in junks of a given size, the codeblock size. Accordingly, it may be desirable to align the transport block sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver. Therefore, the transport format (MCS and/or TBS) information (even if the modulation and coding scheme changes between transmissions) does not have to be signaled in retransmissions, since the modulation and coding scheme can be determined from the transport block size and the resource allocation size, which can be determined from the resource allocation field. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. ).
As per Claim 19 Wengerter teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a receiver, comprising:
A memory(Paragraph 0140 memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors being configured to:
receive, from the transmitter on uplink control information (UCI), an indication of an actual TBS of a transport block (TB), wherein the actual TBS is selected from a set of TBSs based on the nominal TBS(Paragraph 0042, 0047, 0054, 0084 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The selection of the transport block size index from the subset of non-consecutive transport block size indices may be for example implemented by defining the offset to be a multiple of an integer number n, where n>1. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. Hence, in this example the transport block size indicator is selecting one out of every n.sup.th transport block size index between (and including) the minimum and the maximum transport block size index according to the resource allocation size.);
wherein the actual TBS includes a number of bits corresponding to each code block (CB) of multiple CBs generated using CB segmentation based on the nominal TBS(Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen),
receive the TB from the transmitter(Paragraph 0022, 0050 a method for receiving a transport block in a mobile communication system. This information (usually together with the resource allocation) allows the mobile station (receiver) to identify the information bit size, the modulation scheme and the code rate in order to start the demodulation, the de-rate-matching and the decoding process. In some cases the modulation scheme maybe signaled explicitly); and
decode the TB with a shaping decoder, based on the actual TBS (Paragraph 0043, 0046, 0084 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset..).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (Paragraph 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver );
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
perform demodulation of the number of bits based on the actual TBS (Paragraph 0022, 0030, 0087 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The transport format (MCS and/or TBS) information (even if the modulation and coding scheme changes between transmissions) does not have to be signaled in retransmissions, since the modulation and coding scheme can be determined from the transport block size and the resource allocation size, which can be determined from the resource allocation field).
However Wengerter-Guo does not explicitly disclose receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS)
Li teaches receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS) (Paragraph 0025, 0038 the listen before talk (LBT) outcome with the understanding that the ending position is indicated by the UL grant; design not requiring the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission depending on the LBT outcome. For a nominal TTI contained in a slot, TB size (TBS) for the TB is determined by number of resource elements (REs) of the TTI considering other kinds of overhead, e.g., as defined in NR Rel-15. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter-Guo to include the teaching of Li so the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission. (See Li Paragraph 0025).
20. (Canceled)
21. (Canceled)
22. (Canceled)
As per Claim 23 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein: the transmitter comprises user equipment (UE); (Paragraph 0026, 0029, 0042 for uplink transmissions, L1/L2 signaling is provided on the downlink to the transmitters in order to inform them on the parameters for the uplink transmission. Essentially, the L1/L2 control channel signal is partly similar to the one for downlink transmissions. It typically indicates the physical resource(s) on which the UE should transmit the data (e.g. subcarriers or subcarrier blocks in case of OFDM, codes in case of CDMA) and a transport format the mobile station should use for uplink transmission).
As per Claim 24 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the aparatus of claim 19, wherein, to receive the indication of the actual TBS, the one or more processors are configured to: receiving the indication of the actual TBS via a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence or a guard interval (GI) sequence (Paragraph 0022 This information (usually together with the resource allocation) allows the mobile station (receiver) to identify the information bit size, the modulation scheme and the code rate in order to start the demodulation, the de-rate-matching and the decoding process. In some cases the modulation scheme maybe signaled explicitly. ).
25. (Canceled)
As per Claim 26 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose performing probabilistic shaping decoding on the number of bits for each CB of the multiple CBs.
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
As per Claim 27 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receiving, from the transmitter, an indication of an actual size of each CB of the multiple CBs (Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
As per Claim 28 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive signaling to configure the receiver to provide feedback based on a group of CBs (CBG), and determine a number of CBs for the CBG based on the nominal TBS; and transmit, to the transmitter, a feedback of the CBG (Paragraph 0130, 0131 the transport blocks are subjected to turbo encoding by means of a turbo encoder. The turbo encoder is typically associated with a codeblock interleaver that is interleaving (consecutive) transport block(s) in junks of a given size, the codeblock size. Accordingly, it may be desirable to align the transport block sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver. ).
As per Claim 29 Wengerter teaches a method for wireless communications by a transmitter, comprising:
performing code block (CB) segmentation based on the nominal TBS to generate multiple CBs (Paragraph 0101-0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );
encode a payload size of bits with a shaping encoder to obtain a transport block (TB) having an actual TB size (TBS), wherein the actual TBS is selected from a set of TBSs based on a nominal TBS (Paragraph 0042, 0047, 0054, 0084 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The selection of the transport block size index from the subset of non-consecutive transport block size indices may be for example implemented by defining the offset to be a multiple of an integer number n, where n>1. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. Hence, in this example the transport block size indicator is selecting one out of every n.sup.th transport block size index between (and including) the minimum and the maximum transport block size index according to the resource allocation size.); wherein the actual TBS includes a number of bits corresponding to each CB of the multiple CBs(Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen),
encoding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the payload size of bits corresponding to the actual TBS (Paragraph 0002, 0111 This shared channel may be for example a Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH) as know in LTE systems. However, it is also possible that the shared data channel and the associated control channels are mapped to the physical layer resources as shown in FIG. 2 or FIG. 3.Those dynamically allocated resources are typically mapped to at least one Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH). A PUSCH or PDSCH may for example have one of the following configurations ).
transmit, to a receiver, an indication of the actual TBS on uplink control information (UCI)(Paragraph 0043, 0046, 0084 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset..); and
transmit the TB to the receiver (Paragraph 0022, 0050 a method for receiving a transport block in a mobile communication system. This information (usually together with the resource allocation) allows the mobile station (receiver) to identify the information bit size, the modulation scheme and the code rate in order to start the demodulation, the de-rate-matching and the decoding process. In some cases the modulation scheme maybe signaled explicitly).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
However Wengerter-Guo does not explicitly disclose receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS)
Li teaches receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS) (Paragraph 0025, 0038 the listen before talk (LBT) outcome with the understanding that the ending position is indicated by the UL grant; design not requiring the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission depending on the LBT outcome. For a nominal TTI contained in a slot, TB size (TBS) for the TB is determined by number of resource elements (REs) of the TTI considering other kinds of overhead, e.g., as defined in NR Rel-15. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter-Guo to include the teaching of Li so the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission. (See Li Paragraph 0025).
30. (Canceled)
As per Claim 31 Wengerter teaches a method for wireless communications by a receiver, comprising:
transmitting, to a transmitter, a grant that indicates a norminal transport block size (TBS);
receiving, from a transmitter on uplink control information (UCI), an indication of an actual transport block size (TBS) of a transport block (TB) (Paragraph 0042, 0047, 0054, 0084 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The selection of the transport block size index from the subset of non-consecutive transport block size indices may be for example implemented by defining the offset to be a multiple of an integer number n, where n>1. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. Hence, in this example the transport block size indicator is selecting one out of every n.sup.th transport block size index between (and including) the minimum and the maximum transport block size index according to the resource allocation size.); wherein the actual TBS is selected from a set of TBSs based on a nominal TBS(Paragraph 0043, 0046, 0084 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset..); wherein the actual TBS includes a number of bits corresponding to each code block (CB) of multiple CBs generated using CB segmentation based on the nominal TBS (Paragraph 0101- 0104, 0130 it may be desirable to align the transport block (TBS) sizes to the codeblock size of the codeblock (CB) interleaver, e.g. such that the transport block sizes are multiples of the codeblock sizes of the codeblock interleaver.. );code the spacing of the TBS values in log-domain are different for different transport block size ranges. Hence, for a specific transport block size from a given transport block size subset, only selected resource block allocation sizes are available (e.g. for a transport block size from subset 1 chosen from the even transport block size superset indices only even resource block allocation sizes are possible)--or in other words, for a given resource block allocation size, only selected transport block size indices of the superset can be chosen),
decode the TB with a shaping decoder, based on the actual TBS (Paragraph 0043, 0046, 0084 The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. The interpretation of the transport block size indicator to determine the actual transport block size may for example depend on the resource allocation size. For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset..) and
perform demodulation of the number of bits based on the actual TBS (Paragraph 0022, 0030, 0087 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The transport format (MCS and/or TBS) information (even if the modulation and coding scheme changes between transmissions) does not have to be signaled in retransmissions, since the modulation and coding scheme can be determined from the transport block size and the resource allocation size, which can be determined from the resource allocation field).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
However Wengerter-Guo does not explicitly disclose receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS)
Li teaches receive an uplink grant that schedules a nominal transport block size (TBS) (Paragraph 0025, 0038 the listen before talk (LBT) outcome with the understanding that the ending position is indicated by the UL grant; design not requiring the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission depending on the LBT outcome. For a nominal TTI contained in a slot, TB size (TBS) for the TB is determined by number of resource elements (REs) of the TTI considering other kinds of overhead, e.g., as defined in NR Rel-15. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter-Guo to include the teaching of Li so the user equipment (UE) to change a granted transport block size (TBS) for a PUSCH transmission. (See Li Paragraph 0025).
As per Claim 32 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the actual TBS includes an indication of the number of bits corresponding to each CB of the multiple CBs (Paragraph 0022, 0033, 0082 "Transport Format" (TF) (Transport-block size information (6 bits)), the "Redundancy and constellation Version" (RV/CV) (2 bits) and the "New Data Indicator" (NDI) (1 bit) are signaled separately by in total 9 bits. It should be noted that the NDI is actually serving as a 1-bit HARQ Sequence Number (SN), i.e. the value is toggled with each new transport-block to be transmitted.Typically, there are several possibilities to indicate the transport format. For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The transport block size is defined as the size (number of bits) of a transport block. Depending on the definition, the transport size may include or exclude the CRC bits. ).
As per Claim 33 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actual TBS selected from the set of TBSs is different than the nominal TBS (Paragraph 0018, 0043 0047 For simplicity and to have a better overview, an example of having 22 different transport block sizes is shown, where for each resource allocation size it may be selected from a range of 12 transport block sizes of the superset. A more specific object is to design this mechanism so as to allow for reducing the MAC padding overhead (difference in bits between MAC protocol data unit and selected transport block size, assuming that the transport block size is larger or equal to the MAC protocol data unit size) that has to be added for filling transport blocks as would be implied by the L1/L2 control signaling presently discussed in the 3GPP working group. ).
As per Claim 34 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actual TBS is based on one or more bits in a payload of the TB(Paragraph 0022, 0030, 0087 For example, the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the transport block size of the data (payload size, information bits size), the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) level, the Spectral Efficiency, the code rate, etc. may be signaled to indicate the transport format (TF). The transport format (MCS and/or TBS) information (even if the modulation and coding scheme changes between transmissions) does not have to be signaled in retransmissions, since the modulation and coding scheme can be determined from the transport block size and the resource allocation size, which can be determined from the resource allocation field. )..
As per Claim 35 Wengerter – Guo-Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the nominal TBS comprises an original payload size of the TB before the payload size of bits is encoded with the shapping encoder (Paragraph 0022, 0025, 0030 Payload size 6 Interpretation could depend on e.g. modulation scheme and the number of assigned resource units (c.f. HSDPA). In case of multi-layer transmission, multiple instances may be required. The use for other purposes, e.g., to control persistent scheduling, `per process` operation, or TTI length, is FFS. TF Transmission parameters FFS The uplink transmission parameters (modulation scheme, payload size, MIMO-related information, etc) the UE shall use.).
However Wengerter does not explicitly disclose a shaping encoder, perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs;
Guo teaches a shaping encoder (Paragraph 0026, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0339 constellation point with smaller power can appear more frequently than a constellation point with larger power in the output of the channel coding and modulation. The second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. The code block information allocation schemes of Example 2 can be reused for each code block of the TB. In this disclosure, the channel coding and modulation schemes can encode a TB into a modulation sequence with a desired probability for constellation points. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper.), perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs
perform code block (CB) segmentation based on a nominal transport block size (TBS) to generate multiple CBs (0033, 0131, 0132, 0322, 0328 the total bits of Kc are allocated in each LDPC code block for a TB. In this method, the first 2*Zc bits in each LDPC code block are punctured, so the first 2*Zc bits are set as the part of bits of Kc. the TB can be encoded by the combination of channel coding and the specific coding operations, only one BG is used for channel coding. a transport block may comprise the following steps without a specific order: channel coding, specific coding, transport block CRC attachment, code block segmentation, code block CRC attachment);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wengerter to include the second coding operation includes distribution matching operation and a signaling shaping operation. (See Guo Paragraph 0339).
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on March 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 8-12 the Applicant argues in substance that:
Remark:
“The Office Action fails to show that Wengerter in further view of Guo and in further view of Li explicitly discloses, implicitly teaches, or otherwise suggests "[encoding] a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on the payload size of bits corresponding to the actual TBS" as recited in amended independent claim 1. The Office Action fails to show that Wengerter in further view of Guo and in further view of Li explicitly discloses, implicitly teaches, or otherwise suggests "perform[ing] demodulation of the number of bits based on the actual TBS" as recited in amended independent claim 19.”
Response: In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' representative’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation. Applicant’s representative’s are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner appreciates applicant’s representative’s explanation however, Guo explicitly states that partition data bits into transport blocks (TBs) for channel coding and modulation are disclosed. The number of information bits of the transport block may be referred to as TBS. Channel coding and modulation schemes may be used to encode the information bits into a modulation sequence. A modulation sequence may include a constellation point sequence output from a modulation mapper. Wengerter disclose a shared data channel may be used for communication of user data (in form or protocol data units) on uplink and/or downlink on the air interface between mobile stations (UEs) and base stations (eNodeBs). This shared channel may be for example a Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH) as known in LTE systems. However, it is also possible that the shared data channel and the associated control channels are mapped to the physical layer resources as shown in FIG. 2 or FIG. 3.... Example from Guo (Paragraph 0036, 0070 determine the modifying factor and compute the number of code blocks (C) based on the modifying factor. To obtain the number of code blocks, the UE can first select the LDPC base graph according to the rules shown in Table 4 and then determine the maximum code block size of the selected base graph. For BG1, the maximum code block size may be Kcb=8448, and for BG2, the maximum code block size is Kcb=3840. For a TB, the total number of bits after cyclic redundancy check (CRC). The output of the transport block CRC attachment excluding the at least one portion of the output of the transport block CRC attachment are the input of the code block segmentation, and the output of the code block segmentation is the input of the code block CRC attachment, the output of the code block CRC attachment is the input of the channel coding...)
Example from Wengerter (Paragraph 0002-0005 Those dynamically allocated resources are typically mapped to at least one Physical Uplink or Downlink Shared CHannel (PUSCH or PDSCH). A PUSCH or PDSCH may for example have one of the following configurations: One or multiple codes in a CDMA (Code Division Multiple Access) system are dynamically shared between multiple MS. One or multiple subcarriers (subbands) in an OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) system are dynamically shared between multiple MS. Combinations of the above in an OFCDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Code Division Multiplex Access) or a MC-CDMA (Multi Carrier-Code Division Multiple Access) system are dynamically shared between multiple MS.)
Therefore Wengerter, Guo and Li reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468