DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 14, 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, at line 11, the limitations “the LED” lack sufficient antecedent basis. The Office suggests that Applicant modify the language at line 9 reciting “a light emitting diode” to read --a light emitting diode (LED)--.
In regards to claims 5 & 11, the claims end in a semi-colon (“;”) and may therefore be incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9 & 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu (US 2015/0057511) in view of Newberry (US 2018/0303433) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 210228124) (“Zhang” hereinafter).
In regards to claim 1, Basu discloses a pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074) comprising:
a pulse acquisition unit 10 comprising:
a photosensitive assembly comprising:
a photodiode 50 capable of detecting red light transmission between 600 nm and 700nm and near-infrared light transmission between 880 nm and 940 nm (see at least par 0093, 0097, 0099, 0104 & 0109); and,
a light emitting diodes (14, 15) capable of transmitting the red light and the near-infrared light (see at least par 0093, 0097, 0099, 0104 & 0109);
a spacer 28 (see at least par 0038, 0047, 0053, 0060, 0068, 0071, 0092, 0096 & 0109-0110) separating the LED from the photodiode, said spacer 28 (see at least par 0038, 0047, 0053, 0060, 0068, 0071, 0092, 0096 & 0109-0110) providing optical isolation between the photodiode and the LED;
a main circuit board (e.g., PCB or circuit board 12, 12’, see par 0040 & 0042 & 0062 & 0068-0073) having a main control chip (24, 54) (see par 0036, 0045, 0047 & 0071) in operational connection with the pulse acquisition unit 10 (see at least figs. 1-2);
said main control chip (24, 54) (see par 0036, 0045, 0047 & 0071) adapted for processing of collected pulsewave velocity signals; and
a housing containing the pulse acquisition unit 10, the spacer 28 (see at least par 0038, 0047, 0053, 0060, 0068, 0071, 0092, 0096 & 0109-0110) and the main circuit board (e.g., PCB or circuit board 12, 12’, see par 0040 & 0042 & 0062 & 0068-0073), at least a portion 29 of said housing be encased with a material optically transmissive at least to the red light and the near-infrared light, said transmission material in close optical connection with at least the photodetector and the LED (see at least fig. 14 and par 0093).
Basu discloses a pulsewave velocity detection device, as described above, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device comprising a single light emitting diode capable of transmitting the red light and the near-infrared light.
However, Newberry teaches that it is known to provide comprising a light emitting diode 622 capable of transmitting the red light and the near-infrared light (see at least fig. 2 and par 0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the pulsewave velocity detection device of Basu comprising a single light emitting diode capable of transmitting the red light and the near-infrared light as taught by Newberry since such a modification would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., the plurality of LEDs as taught Basu) for another (i.e., the single LED as taught by Newberry) to obtain predictable results such as measuring the reflected light across the wavelengths of the broad spectrum concurrently (see at least par 0092 of Newberry)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a pulsewave velocity detection device, as described above, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device comprising a resistor in electrical communication with the photodiode in parallel; and said main control chip adapted for transmitting of data waveforms through a universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface.
However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device (see abstract) comprising a resistor in electrical communication with the photodiode in parallel (see at least fig. 7 and English translation, which reads “the photosensitive component comprising a photodiode and a resistor D1, resistor D1 is connected in parallel with the photodiode”); and said main control chip adapted for transmitting of data waveforms through a universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry comprising a resistor in electrical communication with the photodiode in parallel; and said main control chip adapted for transmitting of data waveforms through a universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 2, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074) of claim 1, wherein said housing is configured as a finger mounted sensor device and has a form factor no larger than about 12 mm in length and about 5 mm in width (see at least par 0077 & 0110-0111).
In regards to claim 3, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074) of claim 1, wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface are adapted for the identification of at least one physiological parameter selected from a group consisting of: heart rate (see at least par 0034 & 0067) and heart rate variability (see at least par 0084); and blood pressures (see at least par 0034 & 0042-0043).
In regards to claim 5, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074), wherein said data waveforms transmitted receiver transmitter interface (see par 0039, 0062 & 0066-0067) are adapted for the identification of at least one cardiovascular flow parameter selected from a first group consisting of: heart rate (see at least par 0034 & 0067), Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a detection device of claim 1 that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 6, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) is adapted for the identification of Pulse Wave Velocity (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074), Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a pulsewave velocity detection device of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 7, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074) of claim 1, wherein said LED is controlled to create a plurality of time spaced pulse points comprise a collection of sixty four (64) separate pulse points every 1.28 seconds (e.g., data rate is 100 Hz, see at least par 0048 & 0104).
In regards to claim 9, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074), wherein said data waveforms transmitted receiver transmitter interface (see par 0039, 0062 & 0066-0067) are adapted for the identification of at least one cardiovascular flow parameter selected from a first group consisting of: heart rate (see at least par 0034 & 0067), Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a detection device of claim 1 that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 11, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074), wherein said data waveforms transmitted receiver transmitter interface (see par 0039, 0062 & 0066-0067) are adapted for the identification of at least one cardiovascular flow parameter selected from a first group consisting of: heart rate (see at least par 0034 & 0067), Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a detection device of claim 1 that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 12, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) is adapted for the identification of Pulse Wave Velocity (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074), Basu as modified by Newberry discloses a pulsewave velocity detection device of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface. However, Zhang teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface (see English translation, which says “the main control chip of the signal collecting to treatment to calculate heart rate, blood oxygen and so on physiological index, and the data waveform transmitted to the host via the UART interface”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry wherein said data waveforms transmitted through the universal asynchronous receiver transmitter interface as taught by Zhang since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Zhang) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as utilizing a similar main control chip circuit as that of Zhang for receiving optical signals and transmitting data remotely--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 13, Basu discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 (see at least par 3B-C & 11-13) (see at least par 0009, 0034, 0042-0043 & 0074) of claim 9, wherein said LED is controlled to create a plurality of time spaced pulse points comprise a collection of sixty four (64) separate pulse points every 1.28 seconds (e.g., data rate is 100 Hz, see at least par 0048 & 0104).
Claim(s) 4 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu (US 2015/0057511) in view of Newberry (US 2018/0303433), Zhang et al. (CN 210228124) (“Zhang” hereinafter) further in view of Connor (US 2020/0000345).
In regards to claim 4, Basu as modified by Newberry and Zhang discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 of claim 3, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission.
However, Connor teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission (see at least par 0042, 0120 & 0122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry and Zhang of wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission as taught by Connor since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Connor) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as providing motion correction measurements as taught suggested by Basu, see par 0072 thereof--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
In regards to claim 10, Basu as modified by Newberry and Zhang discloses the pulsewave velocity detection device 44 of claim 3, that fails to explicitly teach a detection device wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission.
However, Connor teaches that it is known to provide a detection device wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission (see at least par 0042, 0120 & 0122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the detection device of Basu as modified by Newberry and Zhang of wherein said data waveforms are filtered for motion artifacts prior to transmission as taught by Connor since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Connor) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Basu) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as providing motion correction measurements as taught suggested by Basu, see par 0072 thereof--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 & 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENE T TOWA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791