DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9; “a heatsink capacitively connected to earth ground via a capacitor” is unclear; whereas an electrically conductive heatsink material asserted so as to necessitate electrical connectivity in one manner during normal conditions & operations with a capacitive connection to a capacitor that stores energy or controlled to supply energy since all heat sink(s) do not comprise i.e. an electrically conductive material to achieve a capacitive connection via a capacitor during normal operations. Otherwise, it appears the current claim construction is configured for a capacitive connectivity through an undesired discharge, partial discharge or fault etc. in which capacitively connecting a heatsink to earth ground via a capacitor must denote a claim construction configured for an undesired discharge or fault condition which causes the discharge or fault to be generated, and earth grounded. Regarding Claim 3; “the voltage” is unclear; whereas a voltage has not been previously asserted. Note: a voltage monitor only defines a term for the part. Regarding Claim 8; “the fluid” is unclear; whereas claim 7 only asserts a fluid cooling system, and does not explicitly assert an associated fluid but rather only asserts the type of cooling system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 7-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Shi 2021/0168965).
Regarding Claim 1; Shi discloses a heatsink arrangement for a power converter (as constituted by a power converter including a CapSink—as set forth by para. 0058, and depicted by Fig. 2), and suggests the heat sink arrangement comprising a heatsink capacitively connected to earth ground via a capacitor (as set forth by para. 0058—whereas DC-link capacitor 202 includes an N bus plate 204, which is connected to a dielectric material 206 that electrically insulates the heat sink 208 from the N bus plate 204 and similarly, the P bus plate 210 is insulated from the heat sink 208 with dielectric material 207; wherein the heat sink-208 is capacitively protected from electrical traces 212 which electrically connect the power semiconductor 212 to the N bus plate 204 and P bus plate 210 which further includes fins and other geometries to alter the electrical and thermal characteristics of the CapSink; and the heat sink-208 is directly coupled to an earth ground as depicted by Fig. 2, and otherwise depicted by Fig. 1D), wherein the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink (as depicted by Fig. 2 and already set forth by para. 0058—whereas 202 directly electrically connects to 208). Except, Shi does not explicitly disclose if so intended when or how the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink to capacitively connected the heat sink to earth ground via the capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the capacitor as directly electrically connected to the heat sink to capacitively connect to the earth ground since it was already known in the art that voltage spikes may be absorbed by the capacitor during a fault condition or power surge to prevent damage to the power semiconductor and any stored electrical charges may be safely discharged to the earth ground.
NOTE: The applicant discloses: the heatsink is grounded via a grounding capacitor. As the capacitor protects the cooling fluid against capacitively coupled voltages. The capacitor 2 protects the fluid of the fluid cooling system 6 against capacitively coupled voltages—as specified at para.’s 0005-0006 and 0020, and thus the office notes that a specific voltage between any particular structures, faults therebetween and/or manner of control has not been asserted to limit the claim construction to any one plausible claim construction to achieve the asserted function, and thus varying structures and/or conditions may be read thereon.
Regarding Claim 7; Shi discloses a power converter, the power converter, comprising a heatsink arrangement comprising a heatsink (as constituted by a power converter including a CapSink—as set forth by para. 0058, and depicted by Fig. 2) suggested as capacitively connected to earth ground via a capacitor (as set forth by para. 0058—whereas DC-link capacitor 202 includes an N bus plate 204, which is connected to a dielectric material 206 that electrically insulates the heat sink 208 from the N bus plate 204 and similarly, the P bus plate 210 is insulated from the heat sink 208 with dielectric material 207; wherein the heat sink-208 is capacitively protected from electrical traces 212 which electrically connect the power semiconductor 212 to the N bus plate 204 and P bus plate 210 which further includes fins and other geometries to alter the electrical and thermal characteristics of the CapSink; and the heat sink-208 is directly coupled to an earth ground as depicted by Fig. 2, and otherwise depicted by Fig. 1D), wherein the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink (as depicted by Fig. 2 and already set forth by para. 0058—whereas 202 directly electrically connects to 208), semiconductor switches mounted on the heatsink (as already set forth by the power semiconductor 212, and otherwise para. 0056 further discloses power semiconductive soldered directly on the base plate). Except, Shi does not explicitly for driving an electric motor, and the switches are mounted on a fluid cooling system, and does not otherwise disclose if so intended when or how the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink to capacitively connected the heat sink to earth ground via the capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the capacitor as directly electrically connected to the heat sink to capacitively connect to the earth ground since it was already known in the art that voltage spikes may be absorbed by the capacitor during a fault condition or power surge to prevent damage to the power semiconductor and any stored electrical charges may be safely discharged to the earth ground. Going further, in accordance with a desired application type, para. 0054 suggests the power converter for use with an electric motor and para. 0008 may otherwise disclose mounting the power electronics to respective heat sinks which include jet impinging and embedded microchannels in accordance to cost efficiency, and Fig. 1D otherwise suggest the N bus and P bus may integrate or atleast in-part define a cold plate, and thus it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
NOTE: The applicant discloses: the heatsink is grounded via a grounding capacitor. As the capacitor protects the cooling fluid against capacitively coupled voltages. The capacitor 2 protects the fluid of the fluid cooling system 6 against capacitively coupled voltages—as specified at para.’s 0005-0006 and 0020, and thus the office notes that a specific voltage between any particular structures, faults therebetween and/or manner of control has not been asserted to limit the claim construction to any one plausible claim construction to achieve the asserted function, and thus varying structures and/or conditions may be read thereon.
Regarding Claim 8; Shi discloses the power converter according to claim 7, except, explicitly wherein the fluid of the fluid cooling system is non-deionized water. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the above-mention fluid cooling system defined by the cold plate or jet impinging cooling system as comprising non-deionized water since it was known in the art that cost-savings may be achieved.
Regarding Claim 9; Shi discloses a power converter, the power converter, comprising a heatsink arrangement for the power converter (as constituted by a power converter including a CapSink—as set forth by para. 0058, and depicted by Fig. 2), semiconductor switches mounted on a heatsink, and a fluid cooling system, wherein the heatsink is suggested as capacitively connected to earth ground via a capacitor (as set forth by para. 0058—whereas DC-link capacitor 202 includes an N bus plate 204, which is connected to a dielectric material 206 that electrically insulates the heat sink 208 from the N bus plate 204 and similarly, the P bus plate 210 is insulated from the heat sink 208 with dielectric material 207; wherein the heat sink-208 is capacitively protected from electrical traces 212 which electrically connect the power semiconductor 212 to the N bus plate 204 and P bus plate 210 which further includes fins and other geometries to alter the electrical and thermal characteristics of the CapSink; and the heat sink-208 is directly coupled to an earth ground as depicted by Fig. 2, and otherwise depicted by Fig. 1D), wherein the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink (as depicted by Fig. 2 and already set forth by para. 0058—whereas 202 directly electrically connects to 208), and wherein an insulation layer provided between the semiconductor switches and the heatsink comprises a parasitic capacitance (as constituted by a parasitic capacitance which exist along with a configuration of a thermal interface material and the heat sink and may characterize a low impedance path at operational frequencies--as set forth by para.’s 0053 and 0051 to achieve electrical insulation and thermal conductance). Except, Shi does not explicitly for driving an electric motor, and the switches are mounted on a fluid cooling system, and does not otherwise disclose if so intended when or how the capacitor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink to capacitively connected the heat sink to earth ground via the capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the capacitor as directly electrically connected to the heat sink to capacitively connect to the earth ground since it was already known in the art that voltage spikes may be absorbed by the capacitor during a fault condition or power surge to prevent damage to the power semiconductor and any stored electrical charges may be safely discharged to the earth ground. Going further, in accordance with a desired application type, para. 0054 suggests the power converter for use with an electric motor and para. 0008 may otherwise disclose mounting the power electronics to respective heat sinks which include jet impinging and embedded microchannels in accordance to cost efficiency, and Fig. 1D otherwise suggest the N bus and P bus may integrate or atleast in-part define a cold plate, and thus it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
NOTE: The applicant discloses: the heatsink is grounded via a grounding capacitor. As the capacitor protects the cooling fluid against capacitively coupled voltages. The capacitor 2 protects the fluid of the fluid cooling system 6 against capacitively coupled voltages—as specified at para.’s 0005-0006 and 0020, and thus the office notes that a specific voltage between any particular structures, faults therebetween and/or manner of control has not been asserted to limit the claim construction to any one plausible claim construction to achieve the asserted function, and thus varying structures and/or conditions may be read thereon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, and 10-17, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2; the heatsink arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising a resistor provided in parallel to the capacitor, wherein the resistor is directly electrically connected to the heatsink.
Regarding Claim 3; the heatsink arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a voltage monitor measuring the voltage across the capacitor is provided for detecting faults.
Regarding Claim 5; the heatsink arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a capacitance of the capacitor is selected such that a current through the capacitor during faults is limited to less than 30A.
Regarding Claim 6; the heatsink arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the capacitor's capacitance is smaller than 19pF and is preferably in the range of 0.1-10pF.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 7-9 have been considered but are moot; whereas new rejections are herein presented to read on the amended claim language. The office hereby notes that it appears the applicant has in-part corrected the previous 112(b) rejection(s). However, “capacitively connected” as above-mentioned may be accomplished in varying manners which read on more than one plausible claim construction. The applicant has not discussed the manner by which the claim intends to accomplish capacitively connected and has not present associated voltages associated with any of the claim structures so as to connect the heatsink to earth ground i.e. under normal conditions when the power converter is functions at normal operative voltage ranges etc. or otherwise deemed if a fault condition or undesired voltage spike is required etc. As such, the current claim rejections are presented to define a plausible claim construction during a voltage spike or fault condition. It is noted that the claim(s) may be deemed as distinct if operable voltages are presented to suggest a capacitive control thereof that is not accomplished by the prior art.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835