DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
As of the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/17/2025, claims 1-20 were pending and claims 7-12 and 16-20 were withdrawn from consideration for being drawn to non-elected inventions.
In Applicant's Response filed on 9/16/2025, claims 1, 10, 13, and 15 were amended and claim 2 was canceled.
As such, claims 1 and 3-20 are pending and claims 1, 3-6, and 13-15 have been examined herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection of record to claim 1 and 13 for minor informalities has been withdrawn.
The rejection of record of claim 15 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 15.
The rejection of record of claims 1-6 and 13-15 under 35 USC § 112(a) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
The rejection of record of claim 6 under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al (Cytotherapy, Feb 2012; 14(2):247-56) in view of Ha et al (WO 200301580 A1, 14 Aug 2002) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 1.
Maintained Rejections
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of record of claims 1, 3-5, and 13-15 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (Cytotherapy, Feb 2012; 14(2):247-56) has been fully considered but is not considered persuasive. Thus, the rejection has been maintained. The rejection has been recast below. Response to arguments will follow the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of record of claims 1, 3-5, and 13-15 for double patenting over US 11,191,787 B2 has been fully considered but is not considered persuasive. Thus, the rejection has been maintained. The rejection has been recast below. Response to arguments will follow the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 13-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al (Cytotherapy, Feb 2012; 14(2):247-56).
Please note that claim 1 recites “(i) at least one of a human chondrocyte and a cell capable of differentiating into a human chondrocyte.” The examiner is interpreting that the cells listed in the claim are listed in the alternative (i.e., the composition can comprise human chondrocyte and hChonJb#7 OR cartilage precursor cell and hChonJb#7). This interpretation applies to claim 13 as well.
Ha teaches TissueGene-C (TG-C), which is a cell-mediated gene therapy for the regeneration of cartilage tissue (Introduction, para 4). TG-C is a 3:1 mixture of normal allogeneic human chondrocytes
(hChonJ) and irradiated allogeneic human chondrocytes that express TGF-β1 (designated hChonJb#7)(same para) (“composition comprising: (i) at least one of a chondrocyte . . . ; and (ii) hChonJb#7” as in instant claim 1; “wherein a ratio of said (i)to said (ii) ranges from 1:1 to 100:1” as in instant claim 3; “wherein the ratio of said (i) to said (ii) ranges from 1:1 to 3:1” as in instant claim 4; “wherein the composition comprises: (i) the chondrocyte; and (ii) the cell into which the gene encoding TGF-b is introduced” as in instant claim 5; “A composition comprising: at least one of a chondrocyte . . .; and a cell prepared by transducing a GP2-293 cell with a retroviral vector encoding TGF- (transforming growth factor-beta) and irradiating the transduced GP2-293 cell, wherein the retroviral vector encoding TGF-P is produced by co-transfection of a packaging cell line with two plasmids of pKEB1 and pKVSV-G” as in instant claim 13; “wherein the at least one of the chondrocyte and the cell capable of differentiating into the chondrocyte includes a human allogeneic chondrocyte” as in instant claim 14; and “wherein a ratio of the human allogenic chondrocyte to the cell prepared by transducing GP2-293 cell ranges from 1:1 to 3:1” as in instant claim 15).
Thus, Ha anticipates the invention of instant claims 1, 3-5, and 13-15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 102 rejection of claims 1, 3-5, and 13-15 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On p. 7 of Remarks, Applicant argues that the amendment of claim 1 to include the subject matter of claim 2 narrows the claim and, thus, the rejection should be withdrawn.
In response, the examiner disagrees. Claim 1, as amended, does not require the cell capable of differentiating into a human chondrocyte (cartilage precursor cell). As such, the rejection is proper as the HA reference discloses all of the invention of instant claim 1. Thus, the rejection is proper.
The arguments posited related to the previous 103 rejection of claim 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New Grounds of Rejections Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al (Cytotherapy, Feb 2012; 14(2):247-56) in view of Jiang et al (Nat Rev Rheumatol. 23 Dec 2014; 11(4):206-12).
The teachings of Ha were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection as applied to claim 1 of which claim 6 depend. The teachings will not be repeated here.
Ha differs from the instant invention in that it does not teach that the composition is a hChonJb#7 and a cell capable of differentiating into a chondrocyte (i.e., cartilage precursor cell as recited in instant claim 1).
Jiang teaches that human articular cartilage contains a population of stem or progenitor cells that can be isolated and characterized in vitro on the basis of having self-renewal, multilineage differentiation and migratory abilities (Key points). Upon injury to healthy cartilage, cartilage stem/progenitor cells (CSPCs) emerge and migrate to the injury site where they are thought to participate in tissue reparative activities (same para). The reference teaches that CSPCs are a candidate therapeutic target for OA, potentially involving strategies to enhance joint resurfacing, extracellular matrix production or chondroprotection (same para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create a composition containing hChonJb#7 cells as taught by Ha, where the composition also contains cartilage precursor cells as taught by Jiang, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Jiang shows that cartilage precursor cells participate in tissue reparative activities, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to simply substitute one known element (chondrocyte of Ha) for another (cartilage precursor cell of Jiang) to obtain the predictable result of advantageously having a composition that maintains the ability to participate in tissue reparative activities when cartilage is damaged and as a therapeutic for osteoarthritis as taught by the prior art.
Maintained Rejection - Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,191,787 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘787 patent would anticipate the instant invention if it were available as prior art.
Claim 1 of ‘787 recites “a method of treating rheumatoid arthritis, the method comprising: administering directly to an articular cavity of a subject a composition comprising (i) a chondrocyte; and (ii) a cell into which a gene encoding TGF-β (transforming growth factor-beta) is introduced, wherein the cell in (ii) is hChonJb#7, wherein the administration of the composition has an effect of inhibiting expression of IL-6, IL-17A, IL-1β, and TNF-α in a synovial lavage fluid in the articular cavity of the subject.” Claim 4 of ‘787 recites “a method of treating rheumatoid arthritis, the administering, directly to an articular cavity of a subject via an intra-articular injection a composition comprising (i) a chondrocyte; and (ii) hChonJb#7, wherein the administration of the composition has an effect of inhibiting expression of IL-6, IL-17A, IL-1β, and TNF-α in a synovial lavage fluid in the articular cavity of the subject.” This would anticipate “composition comprising: (i) at least one of a chondrocyte . . .; and (ii) hChonJb#7 which is a cell into which a gene encoding TGF-( (transforming growth factor-beta) is introduced and is derived from human embryonic kidney 293 (HEK-293) cell” as in instant claim 1 as the method of ‘787 requires the instant product. It would also anticipate “” as in instant claim 5, “a composition comprising: at least one of a chondrocyte . . .; and a cell prepared by transducing a GP2-293 cell with a retroviral vector encoding TGF- (transforming growth factor-beta) and irradiating the transduced GP2-293 cell, wherein the retroviral vector encoding TGF-P is produced by co-transfection of a packaging cell line with two plasmids of pKEB1 and pKVSV-G” as in instant claim 13.
Claim 2 of ‘787 recites “wherein a ratio of (i) the chondrocyte; and (ii) hChonJb#7 ranges from 1:1 to 100:1.” This would anticipate “wherein a ratio of said (i)to said (ii) ranges from 1:1 to 100:1” as in instant claim 3.
Claim 3 of ‘787 recites “wherein the ratio of (i) the chondrocyte; and (ii) hChonJb#7 ranges from 1:1 to 3:1.” This would anticipate “wherein the ratio of said (i) to said (ii) ranges from 1:1 to 3:1” as in instant claim 4 and “a ratio of the human allogenic chondrocyte to the cell prepared by transducing GP2-293 cell ranges from 1:1 to 3:1” as in instant claim 15.
Thus, the patented claims of ‘787 would anticipate the instant claims and constitute double patenting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive. As discussed above, the claims remain rejected over the previously cited reference Ha, as well as newly cited reference Jiang. The rejection cannot be held in abeyance. Applicant is reminded that double patenting rejections can be overcome by sufficient amendments to the claims such that the conflicting claims are no longer at issue or with a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1632 /KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632