DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is an office action in response to the communication filed 11/14/2025.
Claims 1, 7, and 12 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Application No. JP2021-028782, filed on 02/25/2021 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 04/23/2026 has been reviewed and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
First, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a statutory category of invention. See MPEP 2106.03(II). In the instant case, claims 1-11 are directed to a machine, and claims 12-20 are directed to a process. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo test (Step 1: YES).
The claims are then analyzed to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04. In determining whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite a judicial exception (Prong 1 of Step 2A), as well as analyzed to evaluate whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the judicial exception (Prong 2 of Step 2A). See MPEP 2106.04.
Taking claim 1 as representative, claim 1 recites at least the following limitations that are believed to recite an abstract idea:
An order management device, comprising:
a communication interface connectable to a store station device and a plurality of order receiving servers, each order receiving server being operated by a different web- based order receiving agent service for sending pickup or delivery orders to a store operating the store station device; and
a processor configured to:
acquire, via the communication interface, first order data from the plurality of order receiving servers, each order receiving server providing the first order data in a data format specific to the web-based order receiving agent service operating the respective order receiving server sending the first order data, the first order data including a list of first item codes being ordered by a customer from outside the store via the web-based order receiving agent service for pickup or delivery from the store;
associate the first order data to a first order identifier identifying the first order data in the respective order receiving server sending the first order data, a system identifier identifying which web-based order receiving agent service sent the first order data, and a second order identifier identifying the first order data in the store station device;
extract data elements corresponding to the list of first item codes included in the first order data;
convert the first item codes, which are used in the order receiving server to identify orderable commodities, to second item codes, which are used in the store station device to identify orderable commodities, by reference to a conversion table;
generate second order data including the extracted data elements in a format matching a data format used by the store station device and the second item codes;
transmit the second order data to the store station device via the communication interface; and
transmit a preparation completion notice including the first order identifier to the respective order receiving server after receiving a notice of completion of preparation work including the second order identifier associated to the first order identifier from the store station device.
The above limitations recite the concept of ordering items for pickup or delivery. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. Specifically, the invention relates to marketing and sales activities. This is illustrated in [page 11, lines 11-13] of the Specification, describing the invention as relating to receiving orders related to commodities such as food from stores. Independent claims 7 and 12 recite similar concepts as those recited in claim 1 and accordingly fall within the same groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, under Prong One of Step 2A of the MPEP, claims 1, 7 and 12 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, claims 1, 7, and 12 recite additional elements, such as an order management device comprising a communication interface and a processor; a store station device, plurality of order receiving servers, the order receiving server, web-based order receiving agent, order receiving service, and a plurality of store stations. These additional elements are described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration. As such, these computer-related limitations are not found to be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Although these additional computer-related elements are recited, claims 1, 7, and 12 merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer is not indicative of integration into a practical application. Similar to the limitations of Alice, claims 1, 7, and 12 merely recite a commonplace business method (i.e., ordering item for pickup or delivery) being applied on a general purpose computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, claims 1, 7, and 12 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The courts have identified various examples of limitations as merely indicating a field of use/technological environment in which to apply the abstract idea, such as specifying that the abstract idea of monitoring audit log data relates to transactions or activities that are executed in a computer environment, because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer (see FairWarning v. Iatric Sys.). Likewise, claims 1, 7 and 12 specifying that the abstract idea of ordering items for pickup or delivery is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claims to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer. As such, under Prong Two of Step 2A of the MPEP, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 12 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Since claims 1, 7, and 12 recite an abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claims 1, 7, and 12 are “directed to” an abstract idea (Step 2A: YES).
Next, under Step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine if there are additional claim limitations that individually, or as an ordered combination, ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05. The instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for at least the following reasons.
Returning to independent claims 1, 7, and 12, these claims recite additional elements, such as an order management device comprising a communication interface and a processor; a store station device, plurality of order receiving servers, the order receiving server, web-based order receiving agent, order receiving service, and a plurality of store stations. As discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, although additional computer-related elements are recited, the claims merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Moreover, the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 12 are manual processes, (e.g., acquire first order data, associate the first order data, etc.). The courts have indicated that mere automation of manual processes is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)). Furthermore, as discussed above with respect to Prong Two of Step 2A, claims 1, 7, and 12 merely recite the additional elements in order to further define the field of use of the abstract idea, therein attempting to generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such as the Internet or computing networks (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC. (Fed. Cir. 2014); Bilski v. Kappos (2010); MPEP 2106.05(h)). Similar to FairWarning v. Iatric Sys., claims 1, 7, and 12 specifying that the abstract idea of ordering of items for pickup or delivery is executed in a computer environment merely indicates a field of use in which to apply the abstract idea because this requirement merely limits the claim to the computer field, i.e., to execution on a generic computer.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. In Alice Corp., the Court considered the additional elements “as an ordered combination,” and determined that “the computer components…‘[a]dd nothing…that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’ and simply recite intermediated settlement as performed by a generic computer.” Id. (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1972). Similarly, viewed as a whole, claims 1, 7, and 12 simply convey the abstract idea itself facilitated by generic computing components. Therefore, under Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 7, and 12 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-11 and 13-20 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. Dependent claims 2-6, 8-11 and 13-20 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in the MPEP, in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Dependent claims 2-6, 8-11 and 13-20 fail to identify additional elements and as such, are not indicative of integration into a practical application. As such, under Step 2A, dependent claims 2-6, 8-11 and 13-20 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Similar to the discussion above with respect to claims 1, 7, and 12, dependent claims 2-6, 8-11 and 13-20, analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, merely further define the commonplace business method (i.e., ordering of items for pickup or delivery) being applied on a general purpose computer and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Further, these limitations generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, under the Alice/Mayo test, claims 1-20 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Ryan (U.S. Patent No. 9,595,061), hereinafter Ryan, in view of previously cited Aoyama (U.S. Patent No. 7,644,357), hereinafter Aoyama.
In regards to claim 1, Ryan discloses an order management device (Fig. 1 ref. 100, Fig. 2, ref. 200, device, col. 6, lines 12-20), comprising:
a communication interface (Network, e.g. internet, cloud, etc., col. 5, line 50 and col. 5, line 59-60) connectable to a store station device (point of sale (POS) device utilized by the store location, and information format for the POS device, col. 3, lines 51-53) and a plurality of order receiving servers (front end server and real-time integration (RTI) server both include one or more devices capable of storing, processing and/or routing information, col. 4, lines 46-47 and col. 4, lines 66-67), each order receiving server being operated by a different web- based order receiving agent service for sending pickup or delivery orders to a store operating the store station device (Front end server may receive from user device information such as order information and send the information to RTI server (e.g. for routing to POS device), col. 4, lines 52-56; RTI server includes a server that is associated with managing information for a cloud-based platform (e.g. group of POS devices, col. 5, lines 1-4); the front end server and RTI server may be integrated into a single device, col. 6, lines 5-6; RTI server and/or front end server facilitate an ecommerce platform for food delivery (col. 17, lines 20-23); and
a processor configured to (processor, col. 1, line 51-52) :
acquire, via the communication interface, first order data from the plurality of order receiving servers (front end servers and RTI servers), each order receiving server providing the first order data in a data format specific to the web-based order receiving agent service operating the respective order receiving server sending the first order data, the first order data including a list of first item information being ordered by a customer from outside the store via the web-based order receiving agent service for pickup or delivery from the store (the user visits a website associated with a store, the user selects a set of items for delivery from a particular store location, and the front server receives information, in a particular order format, identifying the set of items for delivery. The front end server provides the order information to the RTI server for processing, col. 3, lines 40-48; The store location is one of a plurality of store locations associated with two or more types of POS devices that utilizer corresponding two or more different information formats., col. 1, lines 55-58; RTI and front end server facilitate and e-commerce platform for delivery that integrates multiple point of sale device formats, col. 17, lines 20-23);
associate the first order data to a first order information identifying the first order data in the respective order receiving server sending the first order data, a system information identifying which web-based order receiving agent service sent the first order data, and a second order information identifying the first order data in the store station device (product order (first order) is associated with a particular order format associated with the web portal. col. 2, lines 10-12; RTI server includes a server associated with managing information for a cloud-based platform. The RTI server data hub includes one or more queues for receiving and/or providing order information so as to associate with the routing information. The RTI server includes a queue associated with receiving order information from an inbound message queue and providing the order information to a data conversion module associate with converting the information to a format associated with POS device, RTI may include one or more queues associated with routing information, col. 5, lines 1-18; The POS device utilizes a queue agent to obtain information such as order information of the RTI server, by querying the queue periodically, a group of POS devices may be associated with a POS data center, where the POS data center may include a device associated with a set of POS devices, the set being a subset of the group of POS devices associated with RTI server, and that routes message from RI server to a particular POS devices of the set of POS devices, col. 5, lines 33-44; The RTI server provides information to POS device indicating a network address for the particular queue such as an Internet protocol (IP) address, a port address or the like that POS utilizes to obtain the converted information, col. 9, lines 41-44;, Examiner notes that the network address of the particular queue is the order identifier identifying the order data);
extract data elements corresponding to the list of first item information included in the first order data (decomposing the request into a set of item pricing requests. The front end server decomposes the request into a set of item pricing requests for the POS device. , col. 15, lines 22-26; Fig. 10, ref. no. 1020);
convert the first item information, which are used in the order receiving server to identify orderable commodities, to second item information, which are used in the store station device to identify the orderable commodities (decomposing the request into a set of item pricing requests. The front end server decomposes the request into a set of item pricing requests for the POS device. , col. 15, lines 22-26; Fig. 10, ref. no. 1020; front end server provides the request for order pricing to a data conversion module, where the data conversion module is associated with converting the request for ordering pricing to a format associated with POS device, col. 15, lines 34-38; The examiner notes “which are used in the order receiving server to identify orderable commodities” and “which are used in the store station device to identify the orderable commodities” are merely intended use/result and are accordingly granted little to no patentable weight. Nevertheless, the limitations have been fully examined.);
generate second order data including the extracted data elements in a format matching a data format used by the store station device and the second item information (front end server provides the request for order pricing to a data conversion module, where the data conversion module is associated with converting the request for ordering pricing to a format associated with POS device, col. 15, lines 34-38; Examiner notes the conversion of the request to a format associated with the POS is the second order data.);
transmit the second order data to the store station device via the communication interface (The RTI server includes a queue associated with receiving order information from an inbound message queue and providing the order information to a data conversion module associate with converting the information to a format associated with POS device, col. 5, lines 13-18; providing the set of time pricing request that was converted to a POS device, col. 15, lines 45-46; Fig. 10 ref. no. 1030; RTI and POS server include a communication interface for receiving and transmitting information other devices, col. 5, line 18-21 and col. 5, lines 44-47); and
transmit a preparation completion notice including the first order information to the respective order receiving server after receiving a notice of completion of preparation work including the second order information associated to the first order information from the store station device (The POS device provides confirmation information to the user device, or the like via the RTI server and front end server, col. 3, line 67-col. 4, line 3; user device receives an order confirmation, payment confirmation, an order status, or the like, col.4, lines 39-41).
However, Ryan does not disclose item codes, the first and second identifiers, and converting the first item codes to second item codes by reference to a conversion table. Ryan discloses a device receiving information regarding a product order via a web portal. The product order relates to a take-out or delivery of a food product. The product order is associated with a format particular to the web portal. (Col. 1, lines 28-32) The device performs based on information associated with the particular type of POS device, one or more data conversions on data identifying the product order to generate a converted product order. The converted product order is associated with a format compatible with the particular type of POS device. The device stores the converted product order in a queue associated with the store location. (Col. 1, lines 41-48).
Aoyama teaches the item codes (order item code, (col. 12, line 11)).
Furthermore, Aoyama teaches the first and second identifier (the information of conversion rule definition between the physical and common data items has a correspondence relationship by using numerous identifiers so as to uniquely the data items (col. line 6, lines 39-44); For example, there is a table in database 1 (ref. no. 117) of FIG. 1, namely the table “ORDER” to keep order data, where the table includes “ORDER_NO” as data item indicating an identifier to uniquely identify one order, (col. 8, lines 4-8); database 2 (ref. no. 119) of FIG. 1 includes tables namely a table “PCHODR” indicating order data and TABLE “RCVPLN” indicating an article receiving plan (col. 8, lines 19-22); Both “PCHODR” and RCVPLN” are uniquely identified by an identifier (col. 8, lines 23-32); data stored in table “ORDER” is obtained via the adapter 1 and the application program 1. The obtained data is converted into a data format “PCHORDR” and a data format of table “RVCVPLN”);
Furthermore, Aoyama teaches converting the first item codes to second item codes by reference to a conversion table (FIG. 7 is an example of the information of conversion rule definitions between physical and common data items to keep a correspondence relationship, using as a key a conversion rule identifier between physical and common data items 701 to uniquely identify an item conversion rule indicating that a value of a data item of a physical or common table as an input is set to a data item of a physical or common table as an output, between a conversion rule identifier between physical and common data items, a conversion rule identifier between physical and common tables 702 as an identifier of a conversion rule identifier between physical and common tables to which the conversion rule between physical and common data items belongs, an output data item identifier 703 as an identifier of a data item of a physical or common table as an output unit in the conversion rule between physical and common data items, and an input data item identifier 704 as an identifier of a data item of a physical or common table as an input unit, the input data item being set to the output data item. (col. line 6, lines 39-56 and Fig. 7); The examiner notes Fig. 7 depicts a conversion table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the code, identifiers, and conversion table of Aoyoma, in the device of Ryan, with the motivation to communicate data so as to conduct data format conversion between the systems (Aoyama, col. 1, lines 17-19).
In regards to claim 2, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order management device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to extract a settlement status from the first order data (front end server decomposes the request into a set of item pricing requests for POS device. Decomposing the requests may refer to separating multi-item order into the set of items which may be processed in parallel (e.g. processing may include one or more data conversions, queries, or the like). The request may be decomposed to perform another type of processing such as sequential processing on one or more items of the order or the like, col. 15, lines 24-32; front end server facilitates placing an order with POS device and a secure transaction for the order, col. 17, lines 7-9).
In regards to claim 3, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order management device according to claim 2, wherein the format of the second order data is identical to a format used by the store station device for managing in-store orders (product order can be take-out, col. 1, line 30; RTI server stores the converted order in a queue associated with a particular POS device, col. 9, lines 14-16; the queue is associated with a group of POS devices associated with a similar format, col. 9, lines 22-24).
In regards to claim 4, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order management device according to claim 1, wherein the format of the second order data is identical to a format used by the store station device for managing in-store orders (product order can be take-out, col. 1, line 30; RTI server stores the converted order in a queue associated with a particular POS device, (col. 9, lines 14-16); the queue is associated with a group of POS devices associated with a similar format, (col. 9, lines 22-24)).
In regards to claim 5, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order management device according to claim 1, further comprising: the permission to convert a first order data in the data format specific to a web-based order receiving agent service to second order data for the store station device (RTI server routes the order information to a set data conversion modules, RTI server selects from the set of data conversion modules a particular data conversion module associated with converting information to an information format associated with a type of POS used at the store location to which the order information is intended to be provided, (col. 8, lines 50-57)).
However, Ryan does not disclose a storage unit storing a plurality of conversion tables comprising the individual conversion tables. Ryan does discloses using a Hybris data hub adapter to convert information of the data transfer object (DTO) to a comma separated value (CSV) format of information, (col. 7, line 67 – col. 9, line 2). Ryan further discloses selecting, by the RTI server, from a set of data conversion modules a particular data conversion module associated with converting information to an information format associated with a type of POS used at the store location, (col. 8, lines 52-56).
Aoyoma, on the other hand, teaches a storage unit storing a plurality of conversion tables comprising the individual conversion tables (a conversion rule identifier between physical and common tables, (col. 6, lines 47-48); classification of a reference input table and a referring table to create a record of an output table using values of a plurality of input tables, (col. 7, lines 39-41)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included a storage unit storing a plurality of conversion tables comprising the individual conversion tables of Aoyoma, in the device of Ryan, with the motivation of converting data between different data formats, as taught by Aoyoma, (col. 1, lines 17-19) over that of Ryan.
In regards to claim 6, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order management device according to claim 1, wherein the communication interface is connected to a plurality of store station devices, each store station device being at a different store (a group of POS devices is associated with a POS data center. The POS data center includes a device associated with a set of POS devices the set being a subset of the group of POS device associated with RTI server, and routes messages from RTI server to a particular POS device of the set of POS devices. POS device includes a communication interface., (col. 5, lines 38-45) ; the RTI server determines the store location assuaged to fulfill the order and determines a store configuration associated with the store location. The store configuration identifies a type of POS device utilized the by store location, (col. 3, lines 49-54)).
In regards to claim 7, claim 7 is directed to a system. Claim 7 recites limitations that are substantially parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1 which is directed towards a device. The combined device of Ryan/Aoyoma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Ryan further teaches:
a plurality of store stations configured to manage customer orders, each store station being operated by a different store (a group of POS devices is associated with a POS data center. The POS data center includes a device associated with a set of POS devices the set being a subset of the group of POS device associated with RTI server, and routes messages from RTI server to a particular POS device of the set of POS devices. POS device includes a communication interface., (col. 5, lines 38-45) ; the RTI server determines the store location assuaged to fulfill the order and determines a store configuration associated with the store location. The store configuration identifies a type of POS device utilized the by store location, (col. 3, lines 49-54));
Claim 7 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in claim 1 and in this paragraph.
In regards to claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a method. Claim 12 recites limitations that are substantially parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1 which is directed towards a device. The combined device of Ryan/Aoyoma teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Ryan further teaches:
acquire, via communication interface (Network, e.g. internet, cloud, etc., col. 5, line 50 and col. 5, line 59-60) of an order management server connected to a plurality of order receiving server, first order data in different formats from the plurality of order receiving servers (the user visits a website associated with a store, the user selects a set of items for delivery from a particular store location, and the front server receives information, in a particular order format, identifying the set of items for delivery. The front end server provides the order information to the RTI server for processing, col. 3, lines 40-48; The store location is one of a plurality of store locations associated with two or more types of POS devices that utilizer corresponding two or more different information formats., col. 1, lines 55-58; RTI and front end server facilitate and e-commerce platform for delivery that integrates multiple point of sale device formats, col. 17, lines 20-23)
Claim 12 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in claim 1 and in this paragraph.
In regards to claims 8-11 and 13-17, all the limitations in system claims 8-11 and in the method claims 13-17 are closely parallel to the limitations of device claims 2-6 analyzed above and rejected on the same basis.
In regards to claim 18, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order handling method according to claim 12, wherein the store is a restaurant (point of sale (POS) device manages transaction with a customer or a store location such as a restaurant, (col. 2, lines 63-64).
In regards to claim 20, Ryan/Aoyama teaches the order handling method according to claim 12, wherein the web-based order receiving agent service operating the order receiving server handles order payment processing and delivery of the order to the customer outside the store (RTI server and front end server facilitates and ecommerce platform for food delivery that integrates payment, (col. 17, lines 20-22); the cloud-based platform includes a front end server supporting a web platform and an RTI server for processing information of the web platform, (col. 3, lines 33-36)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Aoyama, in view of previously cited Su (U.S. Patent No. 11,188,970), hereinafter Xu.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of Ryan/Aoyoma teaches the order handling method of claim 12.
However, the combination of Ryan/Aoyoma does not teach wherein the notice of completion of preparation work is a notice indicating that the restaurant has cooked the list of items. Ryan discloses POS device provides confirmation that the order is being prepared such as information indicating an expected delivery time col. 16, line 66- col. 17, line 1).
Xu, on the other hand, teaches the notice of completion of preparation work is a notice indicating that the restaurant has cooked the list of items (the service computing device sends a preparation completion message, col. 12, lines 64-66; Examiner notes “indicating that the restaurant has cooked the list of items “ is intended as an end result which is given little patentability weight. In addition, the claim is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent the intended computer system, merely serves as a support information, with no functional relationship existing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have included the notice of completion of preparation work is a notice indicating that the restaurant has cooked the list of items of XU in the method of the combination of Ryan/Aoyoma, in order, to fulfill the order, (Xu, col. 1, line 19)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/14/2025, have been fully considered.
35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant argues that the claims “do not cover an abstract idea… No reasonable interpretation of present claims can find they cover or monopolize the very idea of marketing and sales or ‘the concept of ordering items for pickup or delivery,’ as alleged”. Remarks pages 9-10. The examiner disagrees. As shown in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 above, the limitations directed to the abstract idea are directly quoted and concepts within the identified as belonging to the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes groupings of abstract ideas. With respect to the instant claims, an order management device comprising a communication interface and a processor; a store station device, plurality of order receiving servers, the order receiving server, web-based order receiving agent, order receiving service, and a plurality of store stations have been analyzed as additional elements and accordingly are not analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 1. The claims further recite updating an order status based on an order spoken by a user. These claims fall into the Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping, which includes activity that falls within the enumerated sub-grouping of in that they recite commercial or legal interactions such as advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. Specifically, ordering items for pickup or delivery is a sales activity. Accordingly, these claims recite an abstract idea.
Applicant argues the claims are integrated into a practical application because the claims “represent a technological solution to identified problems or issues in the related art” (Remarks page 10). The examiner disagrees. The MPEP provides guidance on how to evaluate whether claims recite an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. For example, the MPEP states “the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement.” The MPEP further states that “[t]he specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art,” and that, “conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner…the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology” (see MPEP 2106.04). That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. Looking to the specification is a standard that the courts have employed when analyzing claims as it relates to improvements in technology. For example, in Enfish, the specification provided teaching that the claimed invention achieves benefits over conventional databases, such as increased flexibility, faster search times, and smaller memory requirements. Enfish LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Additionally, in Core Wireless the specification noted deficiencies in prior art interfaces relating to efficient functioning of the computer. Core Wireless Licensing v. LG Elecs. Inc., 880 F.3d 1356 (Fed Cir. 2018). With respect to McRO, the claimed improvement, as confirmed by the originally filed specification, was “…allowing computers to produce ‘accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters…’” and it was “…the incorporation of the claimed rules, not the use of the computer, that “improved [the] existing technological process” by allowing the automation of further tasks”. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, (Fed. Cir. 2016).
While the examiner acknowledges that improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field may constitute integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(a)), the instant claims do not provide a technical improvement. Rather, the claims provide an improvement to the abstract idea of ordering items. With respect to Applicant’s arguments that the invention improves by removing a need to install separate terminals, the examiner notes that formatting data is merely an improvement to the abstract idea and not a technical improvement.
Although the claims include computer technology such as an order management device comprising a communication interface and a processor; a store station device, plurality of order receiving servers, the order receiving server, web-based order receiving agent, order receiving service, and a plurality of store stations, such elements are merely peripherally incorporated in order to implement the abstract idea. Put another way, these additional elements are merely used to apply the abstract idea of ordering items for pickup or delivery in a technological environment without effectuating any improvement or change to the functioning of the additional elements or other technology. This is unlike the improvements recognized by the courts in cases such as Enfish, Core Wireless, and McRO. Unlike precedential cases, neither the specification nor the claims of the instant invention identify such a specific improvement to computer capabilities. The instant claims are not directed to technological improvements but are directed to improving the business method of u ordering items for pickup or delivery. The claimed process, while arguably resulting in a better process for ordering, is not providing any improvement to another technology or technical field as the claimed process is not, for example, improving the server and/or computer components that operate the system. Rather, the claimed process is utilizing data sets related to user orders while still employing the same server and/or computer components used in conventional systems to improve ordering items for pickup or delivery, e.g. a business method, and therefore is merely applying the abstract idea using generic computing components. As such, the claims are not integrated into practical application.
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues the claims are allowable because the cited art does not disclose “convert the first item codes, which are used in the order receiving server to identify orderable commodities, to second item codes, which are used in the store station device to identify the orderable commodities, by reference to a conversion table” (Remarks page 11). The examiner disagrees. Ryan discloses converting the first item information, which are used in the order receiving server to identify orderable commodities, to second item information, which are used in the store station device to identify the orderable commodities. Ryan discloses this in col. 15, lines 22-26; Fig. 10, disclosing decomposing the request into a set of item pricing requests. The front end server decomposes the request into a set of item pricing requests for the POS device. Ryan additionally discloses in col. 15, lines 34-38 that the front end server provides the request for order pricing to a data conversion module, where the data conversion module is associated with converting the request for ordering pricing to a format associated with POS device. Additionally, Aoyama teaches converting the first item codes to second item codes by reference to a conversion table. Aoyama teaches this at least in col. line 6, lines 39-56 and Fig. 7, teaching information of conversion rule definitions between physical and common data items to keep a correspondence relationship, using as a key a conversion rule identifier between physical and common data items 701 to uniquely identify an item conversion rule indicating that a value of a data item of a physical or common table as an input is set to a data item of a physical or common table as an output, between a conversion rule identifier between physical and common data items, a conversion rule identifier between physical and common tables 702 as an identifier of a conversion rule identifier between physical and common tables to which the conversion rule between physical and common data items belongs, an output data item identifier 703 as an identifier of a data item of a physical or common table as an output unit in the conversion rule between physical and common data items, and an input data item identifier 704 as an identifier of a data item of a physical or common table as an input unit, the input data item being set to the output data item. Accordingly, the cited art teaches this limitation in the claim.
Applicant argues the dependent claims are allowable for the same reasons as the independent claims (Remarks pages 11-12). The examiner disagrees. The 103 rejection of the independent claims is maintained and the 103 rejection of the dependent claims are maintained for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hession et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,445,683 B1) discloses a computer-implemented method for providing searchable aggregated data structure for a networked application. Source data in a plurality of formats is acquired from delivery service computers. The acquired source data is mapped according to a predetermined data format. Formatted data is linked to common restaurants based on restaurant identifier data.
Checketts et al. (US 2010/0211436 A1) discloses mobile computing device network of multi-vendors, multi-interface computers.
Shimokawa et al. (US 2018/0204275 A1) discloses an information processing system, the system is configured to acquire an order request that can be delivered form various shops.
Jiang (2018/0232821 A1) discloses a restaurant ordering process operative in a server which includes parsing the plurality of packets received from a computing device and extracting an order and a serial code from the plurality of packets to process the order.
Schultz et al. (US 2019/0318401 A1) discloses a muti-platform e-commerce distribution system which includes bi-directional data translation system, a product distribution platform, and a commerce graph API.
Garabedian et al. (WO 2014/081584 B1) discloses a method and system for managing customer interaction with an establishment using a cloud computing infrastructure such as a menu and ordering platform delivered to a mobile customer device based on location detection.
NPL reference U teaches a restaurant ordering application. The app communicates with restaurant partners. Restaurants on the app may gather impressions from users.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA MAE MITROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/MARISSA THEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3689