DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. “the second graphical representation includes a projected glucose level of the patient that is of higher priority than content presented in the first graphical representation at least due to the projected glucose level being outside of the target range of glucose levels;” is not found in the specification. There is no discussion about “priority” in the specification at all. At best FIG. 8-9 and corresponding paragraphs, [0091] – [0097] discuss using different colors or arrows to indicate trend or range. There is no discussion about ranking the displays or information or how the content is ordered for display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desborough et al. (US 2019/0015025 A1) (“Desborough”) in view of Bhavaraju et al. (US 2020/0272319 A1) (“Bhavaraju”).
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Desborough discloses A system for monitoring a patient, the system comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a memory ([0104]); and
processing circuitry coupled to the memory and configured to ([0104] – [0106]):
determine a current glucose level of the patient ([0055], [0058]);
determine a projected glucose level of the patient ([0055], [0058]);
determine a first graphical representation for display on a patient device (FIG. 3A, [0058], [0069]);
based on the projected glucose level of the patient being outside of a target range of glucose levels, determine a second graphical representation for display on a wearable device ([0075], [0023]),
wherein the second graphical representation is different from the first graphical representation in that: the first graphical representation includes previously measured glucose levels and the current glucose level ([0055], [0058], first display has historical and current glucose levels displayed), and
the second graphical representation includes a projected glucose level of the patient that is of higher priority than content presented in the first graphical representation at least due to the projected glucose level being outside of the target range of glucose levels ([0059], [0075], when it is detected glucose levels may go outside of a range a new display with a new color is displayed to show the projected levels with higher priority, see also at least [0076 – [0078] discussing emphasizing priority of display); and
output, by the patient device to the wearable device, an instruction to cause the wearable device to display the second graphical representation ([0104] – [0106] and [0075]).
Desborough fails to disclose wherein the first display is on the patient device and the second display is on the wearable device
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bhavaraju teaches wherein the first display is on the patient device and the second display is on the wearable device ([0054 – [0065], user interface view versus glance view at the smartwatch, a more detailed view at the patient device, a quick alert view at the wearable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device/system/method as taught by Desborough to include wherein the first display is on the patient device and the second display is on the wearable device as taught by Bhavaraju to show particular data ([0054], [0058]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a rate of change of the projected glucose level; and cause the second graphical representation to include an indication of the rate of change of the projected glucose level as content included in the second graphical representation that is of higher priority than content included in the first graphical representation (Bhavaraju [0058]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the projected glucose level based on the current glucose level and based further on one or more previous glucose levels for the patient (Desborough [0071], [0075]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 2, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein, to determine the second graphical representation, the processing circuitry is configured to determine a number of arrows to include in the second graphical representation based on the rate of change of the projected glucose level (Bhavaraju [0058]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein, to determine the second graphical representation, the processing circuitry is configured to determine a color to display the projected glucose level in the second graphical representation based on whether the projected glucose level is less than the target range, within the target range, or greater than the target range (Desborough [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the first graphical representation includes additional content not presented in the second graphical representation, wherein the additional content includes a time duration that has elapsed since the current glucose level of the patient was measured (Desborough [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 6, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the second graphical representation does not indicate the current glucose level or previously measured glucose levels (Desborough [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses further comprising a sensor device, wherein, to determine the current glucose level, the processing circuitry is configured to receive an indication of the current glucose level from the sensor device (Desborough [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 8, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the sensor device comprises one or more sensing elements configured to be inserted at least partially inside the patient (Desborough [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the second graphical representation to include one or more graphical icons indicating confidence intervals associated with the projected glucose level of the patient (Desborough [0079 - 0081]).
Regarding claim 11, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 10, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein, to output the instruction to cause the wearable device to display the second graphical representation, the processing circuitry is configured to output the instruction to cause the wearable device to display the second graphical representation indicating the projected glucose level concurrently with the patient device displaying the first graphical representation that includes a graph of the measured glucose levels (Bhavaraju [0054 – [0065], user interface view versus glance view at the smartwatch, a more detailed view at the patient device, a quick alert view at the wearable).
Regarding claim 12, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the patient device comprises a mobile phone (Desborough [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is arranged in the patient device (Desborough [0104] – [0106]).
Regarding claim 14, Desborough as modified discloses The system of claim 1, Desborough as modified further discloses wherein the wearable device comprises a smart watch (Desborough [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harper et al. (US 2011/0193704 A1). Which discloses a rate of change determination and color indications and different displays depending on the information/glucose/rate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791