Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over U.S. 2013/0301129 A1 (“In”) as evidenced by U.S. 2021/0359275 A1.
Considering claims 1 and 2, In discloses an organic light emitting display device 300 having the following sequence of layers: light emitting panel 310, a second phase retardation layer 328 being a quarter-wave plate, a first phase retardation layer 326 being a half-wave plate, a polarizer 324 that linearly polarizes light passing therethrough, and a passivation layer 322 formed of TAC (triacetyl cellulose), wherein layers 328, 326, and 324 are respectively the same as layers 130, 120, and 110 described earlier in the reference. (In ¶¶ 0090-0094, referencing to ¶¶ 0061-0065; and Fig. 6, reproduced infra). In is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (phase retardation films used for displays).
While In does not state whether TAC is optically isotropic, substantially similar materials necessarily should have substantially similar properties, and in the instant case, as TAC is the material used in both In and the Instant Application, it naturally follows that the same material has the same characteristic (of being optically isotropic). Furthermore, it is noted that TAC is well-known to be an isotropic material. (See, e.g. U.S. 2020/0012016 A1 and U.S. 2021/0199870 A1). It is abundantly clear from Fig. 6 of In that layer 322 constitutes the outermost surface of the display device. In thus anticipates or alternatively renders obvious claims 1 and 2, as In discloses all materials recited in the claims, with the sole exception being a property that is inherent to TAC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0162889 A1 (“Delbaere”) in view of In.
Considering claims 1-3, Delbaere discloses an optical structure 6 comprising the following layers of material: layer 21 of a support; and layers 23, 26, 27, and 28, each respectively made of a photo-orientable polymerizable liquid crystal (PLCPO) material. (Delbaere ¶¶ 0012-0016 and ¶¶ 0100-0109). Delbaere is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (phase retardation films used for displays).
Delbaere discloses that support layer 21 may be part of an OLED display. (Id. ¶¶ 0055 and 0112). It is noted that an OLED display necessarily has a display panel. In its broader disclosure, Delbaere discloses that the combination of one PLCPO layer and another layer (which does not necessarily need to contain photo-orientable material) can serve as respective quarter wave and half wave retarding plates. (Id. ¶¶ 0100-0104). Furthermore, Delbaere discloses that the inclusion of a dichroic dye in a layer without photo-orientable material makes such a layer a linear polarizer. (Id. ¶ 0102). In a particularly preferred embodiment, Delbaere draws upon these broader disclosures and discloses a preferred triple-layered laminate structure expressly stated to be capable as operating as an antireflection structure for an OLED display, wherein two contiguous layers are made of respective PLCPO materials such that they exhibit respective birefringence and act as retarder layers, while the third layer (either the innermost or outermost) comprises LCP and dichroic dye and serves as a linear polarizer. (Id. ¶ 0109).
Given that there are only two possible locations for the linear polarizer layer relative to the contiguous bilayer of PLCPO materials acting as retarder, the arrangement of PLCPOlower/ PLCPOupper/ LCP linear polarizer is considered to be disclosed with sufficient specificity. Were this to be contended (which is not conceded), then this arrangement is obvious in view of the express disclosures of the reference.
Delbaere differs from the claimed invention, as it is silent re: the provision of a protective layer. However, the provision of an optically isotropic protective film over a sequence of λ/4 retardation layer, λ/2 retardation layer, and linear polarizer is known in the art, as discussed with regards to In at ¶¶ 5 and 6 of the present Office Action above. It would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have placed such an optically isotropic protective film over the LCP linear polarizer of Delbaere, as doing so imparts protection to layers located underneath the protective film. Delbaere in view of In renders obvious claims 1-3.
Considering claim 4, each of the lower two layers in the preferred embodiment of Delbaere discussed above contains respective PLCPO material, wherein alignment of the respective layers is implemented by a respective aligning light, in particular one with wavelength less than 420 nm (viz. UV light). (Delbaere ¶¶ 0010-0016 and ¶¶ 0027-0028). It is further noted that in specific examples, both the wavelength used (270-320 nm) and energy delivered (50-200 mJ/cm2) are substantially similar to the conditions disclosed in the Instant Application. (Id. ¶¶ 0138-0196). As such, claim 4 is considered to be obvious.
Response to Arguments
In view of the cancellation of claims 5-7 and amendments to claim 4, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 4-7 has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 1, all previously instated prior art rejections have been withdrawn. New lines of rejection have been instated above to address the newly-added limitation introduced by the amendment.
Concluding Remarks
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781