DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues that Liu does not teach the limitation of, “at each time point, the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals directly onto the specified location of the micro shutter array for the collimated returned signals to pass through the portion of the micro shutter array open at the time point and then reach the condenser lens.” because: Liu does not teach a condenser lens and the receiving lens (Fig. 11: lens 22) taught by Liu does not collimate light.
The Examiner disagrees, in particular, with the premise of Applicant’s argument. The Examiner agrees that Liu does not teach a condenser lens and the receiving lens (Fig. 11: lens 22) taught by Liu does not collimate light. However, Liu does teach, wherein at each time point, the returned series of optical signals are directly on the specified location of the micro shutter array for the returned signal to pass through the portion of the micro shutter array open at the time point (Fig. 11: “…the reflected light 1111 and 1112 incident angle along with time change. An optical shutter 23 on the light transmission part 1101 of the position can be changed under the action of the control signal, to ensure the desired reflected light always reaches the detector array 802, while always suppressing interference light 1113.”) [Page 10, Par 8-9].
The only limitations that Liu does not teach in the amended claim are, a micro-shutter disposed between a receiver lens and a condenser lens, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array. This was previously stated by the rejection in the prior office action. That rejection (restated in the rejection of Claim 1 below) remedied this with the teachings of Lin and Lewis: Lin teaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in head mounted displays, for a micro-shutter (shutter 8) disposed between a receiver lens (lens 17) and a condenser lens (Convex lens 7 would converge or condense light, similar to convex lens 17) [Par 35-36], and Lewis teaches, on Fig. 7 (individual receiver selection slice), that it is desirable in lidar scanners for the receiver lens (lens 704 and 706) to collimate the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array (lenses 704 and 706 can function as down collimation lenses towards micromirror array 716) [Par 43-44].
Applicant is remined that in their arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Further, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Thus, between Liu, Lin, and Lewis, all limitations of the amended claims are either taught or made obvious, and the rejection of Claims 1-20 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 109188451 A, of record) in view of Lin (DE 102017118437 A1, of record) and Lewis (US 20200271788 A1, of record).
Re claim 1, Liu discloses on Fig. 1 and 11-12, an optical sensing system, comprising: a laser emitter (light source 10 of laser radar system 1), configured to sequentially emit a series of optical signals (pulse laser option) [Page 6, Par 1-5]; a steering device (scanning unit 12), configured to direct the series of optical signals in different directions towards an environment surrounding the optical sensing system (Scanning unit 12 deflects the beam for scanning) [Page 6, Par 1-5]; and a receiver (sensing device 21), configured to receive the series of optical signals returning from the environment (objects in environment shown in Fig. 1), wherein the receiver comprises: a micro shutter array (Fig. 11: sensing device 21 includes a shutter 23 that is a MEMS micro-shutter) [Page 10: Par 5-8], disposed in a light path of the returning series of optical signals (Fig. 11) and configured to sequentially open only a portion of the micro shutter array at a specified location at each time point (Fig. 11-12: micro-shutters can be controlled individually), to allow the returned series of optical signals to sequentially pass through the micro shutter array (“…micro-shutter unit allows the light to pass through. -each micro-shutter unit in shutter array can be aligned with the corresponding photoelectric detector of detector array 802 in 812”) [Page 10: Par 5-8], wherein at each time point, the returned series of optical signals are directly on the specified location of the micro shutter array for the returned signal to pass through the portion of the micro shutter array open at the time point (Fig. 11: “…the reflected light 1111 and 1112 incident angle along with time change. An optical shutter 23 on the light transmission part 1101 of the position can be changed under the action of the control signal, to ensure the desired reflected light always reaches the detector array 802, while always suppressing interference light 1113.”) [Page 10, Par 8-9],
a photodetector (Fig. 11: sensing device 21) configured to receive the optical signals sequentially passed through the micro shutter array (see Fig. 11).
But Liu does not explicitly disclose, a micro-shutter disposed between a receiver lens and a condenser lens, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in head mounted displays, for a micro-shutter (shutter 8) disposed between a receiver lens (lens 17) and a condenser lens (Convex lens 7 would converge or condense light, similar to convex lens 17)[Par 35-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu with Linin order to provide, an increase signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Lin[Par 6].
But, Liu in view of Lin still does not explicitly disclose, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches, on Fig. 7 (individual receiver selection slice), that it is desirable in lidar scanners for the receiver lens (lens 704 and 706) to collimate the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array (lenses 704 and 706 can function as down collimation lenses towards micromirror array 716) [Par 43-44].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu in view of Lin with Lewis in order to provide magnification as taught by Lewis [Par 44].
Re Claim 2, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 1, and Lin further discloses on Fig. 11-12, wherein the micro shutter array comprises a plurality of micro shutter elements arranged in a two-dimensional array (shutter 23 has a translucent portions 1101 and shading portions 1102, in a microshutter array with micro-shutter units) [Page 10, Par 8].
Re Claim 3, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 2, and Lin further discloses on Fig. 12, wherein the portion of the micro shutter array (micro-shutter array comprising micro shutter units, of Fig. 12) opened at each time point comprises one or more micro shutter elements (micro-shutter units have independently controlled baffles) [Page 10, Par 8].
Re claim 4, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 3, and Lin further discloses on Fig. 12-13, wherein at each time point a corresponding returning optical signal is incident on the one or more micro shutter elements in the portion of the micro shutter array opened at the time point (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which involved time change calculations) [Page 10, Par 7-10].
Re Claim 5, Liu and view of Lin discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 4, and Lin further discloses on Fig. 11-12, wherein micro shutter elements in a remaining portion of the micro shutter array are closed at the corresponding time point (micro-shutter array of Fig. 12 is independently controlled so each unit allows light to pass through it to the aligned detector of array 802, but Fig. 11 shows that only the desired angle of reflected light 1111 and 1112 is passed, shading portion 1102 blocks other interference light 113) [Page 10, Par 3-5].
Re Claim 6, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 1, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 11, wherein the specified location, at which the portion of the micro shutter array is opened at each time point (Fig. 11: portion 1101 is translucent), corresponds to an angular direction (angled light 1111 and 1112) at which the steering device is pointing at the corresponding time point (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle) [Page 10, Par 5-10].
Re Claim 7, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 1, and Liu further discloses, wherein a plurality of portions included in the micro shutter array (each portion of Fig. 11 shown in plurality in the array of Fig. 12) are sequentially opened according to a pattern in which the series of optical signals are directed towards the environment (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which involved time change calculations) [Page 510 Par 7-10].
Re Claim 8, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 7, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 1, and 12-13, further comprising one or more controllers (control unit 3) coupled to the steering device and the micro shutter array (Fig. 1: Control unit 3 controls the micro-shutter array of shutter 23 and the scan unit 12) [Page 10, Par 7], wherein the one or more controllers determine the pattern in which the series of optical signals are directed towards the environment and the pattern in which the plurality of portions of the micro shutter array are sequentially opened (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which involved time change calculations) [Page 10, Par 7-10].
Re Claim 9, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 7, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the steering device (Scanning unit 12) and the receiver (Sensing device 21) have a biaxial arrangement (scanning unit 12 and sensing device 21 have separate axis).
Re Claim 10, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 1, and Liu further discloses, wherein the micro shutter array is driven to close or open by a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) driver coupled to the micro shutter array (micro-shutter array of Fig. 12 is driven by a MEMS baffle assembly) [Page 10, Par 7-8].
Re Claim 11, Liu discloses on Fig. 1 and 11-12, an optical sensing method, comprising: sequentially emitting, by a laser emitter of an optical sensing system (light source 10 of laser radar system 1), a series of optical signals (pulse laser option) [Page 6, Par 1-5]; directing, by a steering device of the optical sensing system (scanning unit 12), the series of optical signals in different directions towards an environment surrounding the optical sensing system (Scanning unit 12 deflects the beam for scanning) [Page 6, Par 1-5]; receiving the series of optical signals (sensing device 21) returned from the environment (objects in environment shown in Fig. 1), by a micro shutter array disposed in a light path of the returning series of optical signals (Fig. 1 and 11: sensing device 21 includes a shutter 23 that can be a MEMS micro-shutter) [Page 10: Par 5-8], wherein the micro shutter array sequentially opens only a portion of the micro shutter array at a specified location at each time point (Fig. 11-12: micro-shutters can be controlled individually)[Page 10, Par 5], to allow the returned series of optical signals to sequentially pass through the micro shutter array (“…micro-shutter unit allows the light to pass through. -each micro-shutter unit in shutter array can be aligned with the corresponding photoelectric detector of detector array 802 in 812”) [Page 10: Par 5-8]; and receiving, by a photodetector (Fig. 11: sensing device 21), wherein at each time point, the returned series of optical signals are directly on the specified location of the micro shutter array for the returned signal to pass through the portion of the micro shutter array open at the time point (Fig. 11: “…the reflected light 1111 and 1112 incident angle along with time change. An optical shutter 23 on the light transmission part 1101 of the position can be changed under the action of the control signal, to ensure the desired reflected light always reaches the detector array 802, while always suppressing interference light 1113.”) [Page 10, Par 8-9].
But Liu does not explicitly disclose, a micro-shutter disposed between a receiver lens and a condenser lens, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array,
However, within the same field of endeavor, Linteaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in head mounted displays, for a micro-shutter (shutter 8) disposed between a receiver lens (lens 17) and a condenser lens (Convex lens 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu with Linin order to provide, an increase signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Lin[Par 6].
But, Liu in view of Lin still does not explicitly disclose, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches, on Fig. 7 (individual receiver selection slice), that it is desirable in lidar scanners for the receiver lens (lens 704 and 706) to collimate the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array (lenses 704 and 706 can function as down collimation lenses towards micromirror array 716) [Par 43-44].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu in view of Lin with Lewis in order to provide magnification as taught by Lewis [Par 44].
Re Claim 12, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing method of claim 11, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 11-12, wherein the micro shutter array comprises a plurality of micro shutter elements arranged in a two-dimensional array (shutter 23 has translucent portions 1101 and shading portions 1102, in a micro-shutter array with micro-shutter units) [Page 10, Par 8].
Re Claim 13, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing method of claim 12, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 12, wherein the portion of the micro shutter array (micro-shutter array comprising micro shutter units, of Fig. 12) opened at each time point comprises one or more micro shutter elements (micro-shutter units have independently controlled baffles) [Page 10, Par 8].
Re claim 14, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 13, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 12-13, wherein receiving the series of optical signals by the micro shutter array further comprises: controlling the one or more micro shutter elements in each portion of the micro shutter array to open at a time point when a corresponding returning optical signal is incident on the portion of the micro shutter array (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which involve time change calculations) [Page 10, Par 7-10].
Re Claim 15, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing method of claim 14, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 11-12, wherein receiving the series of optical signals by the micro shutter array further comprises: controlling micro shutter elements in a remaining portion of the micro shutter array to remain closed at the corresponding time point. (micro-shutter array of Fig. 12 is independently controlled so each unit allows light to pass through it to the aligned detector of array 802, but Fig. 11 shows that only the desired angle of reflected light 1111 and 1112 is passed, shading portion 1102 blocks other interference light 113) [Page 10, Par 3-5].
Re Claim 16, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing system of claim 11, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 1, and 12-13, further comprising: controlling, by one or more controllers (control unit 3) coupled to the steering device and the micro shutter array (Fig. 1: Control unit 3 controls the micro-shutter array of shutter 23 and the scan unit 12) [Page 10, Par 7], the steering device to direct the series of optical signals towards the environment according to a first pattern and the micro shutter array to sequentially open a plurality of portions included in the micro shutter array according to a second pattern (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which would inherently involve time change calculations) [Page 10, Par 7-10].
Re Claim 17, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the optical sensing method of claim 16, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 1 and 12-13, wherein the second pattern in which a plurality of portions of the micro shutter array are sequentially opened corresponds to the first pattern in which the series of optical signals are directed towards the environment (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, thus the scan unit 12 and the shutter 23 are driven so that they correspond to teach other in a pattern) [Page 10, Par 7-10].
Re Claim 18, Liu in view of discloses, the optical sensing method, of claim 11, and Liu further discloses on Fig. 11, wherein the specified location, at which the portion of the micro shutter array is opened at each time point (Fig. 11: portion 1101 is translucent), corresponds to an angular direction (angled light 1111 and 1112) at which the steering device is pointing at the corresponding time point (control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle) [Page 10, Par 5-10].
Re Claim 19, Liu discloses on Fig. 1 8, and 11-12, a receiver (optical sensing device 21) of an optical sensing system, comprising: a micro shutter array (Fig. 11: sensing device 21 includes a shutter 23 that is a MEMS micro-shutter, Fig. 12) [Page 10: Par 5-8] disposed in a light path of returning series of optical signals (See Fig. 1) and configured to sequentially open only a portion of the micro shutter array at a specified location at each time point (“…micro-shutter unit allows the light to pass through. -each micro-shutter unit in shutter array can be aligned with the corresponding photoelectric detector of detector array 802 in 812”, and further control unit 3 controls the shutter 23, and thus the micro-shutter units of Fig. 12 and 13, to estimate the returning light spot size and angle, as well as controlling the scan unit 12 to control the light emission unit 1 to further estimate the angle, all of which would inherently involve time change calculations) [Page 10: Par 5-10], to allow the returned series of optical signals to sequentially pass through the micro shutter array (See Fig. 11); and a photodetector (detector 802 of sensing device 21), wherein at each time point, the returned series of optical signals are directly on the specified location of the micro shutter array for the returned signal to pass through the portion of the micro shutter array open at the time point (Fig. 11: “…the reflected light 1111 and 1112 incident angle along with time change. An optical shutter 23 on the light transmission part 1101 of the position can be changed under the action of the control signal, to ensure the desired reflected light always reaches the detector array 802, while always suppressing interference light 1113.”) [Page 10, Par 8-9].
But Liu does not explicitly disclose, a micro-shutter disposed between a receiver lens and a condenser lens, and wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in head mounted displays, for a micro-shutter (shutter 8) disposed between a receiver lens (lens 17) and a condenser lens (Convex lens 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu with Linin order to provide, an increase signal-to-noise ratio as taught by Lin[Par 6].
But, Liu in view of Lin still does not explicitly disclose, wherein the receiver lens collimates the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches, on Fig. 7 (individual receiver selection slice), that it is desirable in lidar scanners for the receiver lens (lens 704 and 706) to collimate the returned series of optical signals towards the micro shutter array (lenses 704 and 706 can function as down collimation lenses towards micromirror array 716) [Par 43-44] .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu in view of Lin with Lewis in order to provide magnification as taught by Lewis [Par 44].
Re Claim 20, Liu in view of Lin and Lewis discloses, the receiver of claim 19, and Lin further discloses on Fig. 11-12, wherein the micro shutter array comprises a plurality of micro shutter elements arranged in a two-dimensional array (shutter 23 has translucent portions 1101 and shading portions 1102, in a micro-shutter array with micro-shutter units) [Page 10, Par 8].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu (US 20220146815 A1, of record) teaches individual switchable MEMS micro-shutter array.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872