DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 19-38 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following:
Regarding claim 19, the applicant argues on pages 6-8 that neither Narayanan nor Lenke suggests "control information corresponding to the particular audio clip" in the sense of a control signal generated because of, or tied to, that specific clip for the purpose of adjusting signal levels. It is because, claimed invention requires a closed loop between (i) detection of a particular clip, (ii) generation of corresponding control information, and (iii) dynamic adjustment of audio signal levels based on that correspondence. This argument is not persuasive. It is because, the applicant did not claim “dynamic adjustment of audio signal levels based on the correspondence between control information and a detected particular clip”. Instead, the applicant claims control information corresponding to the particular audio clip. Lenke teaches this limitation. In col. 7, lines 29-51, Lenke teaches detecting whether the user speaks. The system analyzes the user’s speech/user’s speaking [i.e., particular audio clip]. Since the mute feature [i.e., control information] is turned “on”, the other users will not hear anything. In col.8, lines 5-23, Lenke further elaborates on the teaching set forth in col. 7, lines 29-51 by teaching that the system is distinguishing between talking to the conference and background noise or side speech after recognizing that the user is staring out the window and talking. Based on such a determination, and by the system distinguishing between talking to the conference and background noise or side speech, the component 220 can automatically unmute 224 the device 202, such that the speech provided by the user 208 will be heard by other users in the communication session 250, or mute the device 202. In col.20, lines 22-31, Lenke also elaborates on the teaching set forth in col. 7, lines 29-51 by teaching that the system increasing the volume of one or more participants in the communication session based on a classification decision that their speech is intended for the communication session but has a lower volume or is more difficult to hear. In all of these teaching, it is clear that the mute/unmute feature (instruction/control) is the claimed “control information” to control the audio signal levels based on a determination made from the audio signal of the user’s speech or background.
Thus, the rejection of the claim will remain. The rejection of the claim 29 will remain for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-25, 28, 29, 31-35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan (US Patent No. 9,286,899) in view of Lenke et al. (US Patent No. 10,776,073).
Regarding claim 19, with respect to Figure -31, Narayanan teaches a method, comprising:
in a device (col.7, lines 19-24): while receiving a conversation/audio interaction [i.e., audio signal], detecting an audio signature of a user’s utterance [i.e., a particular audio clip] (fig.1-3; col.1, lines 50-62, col.7, lines 4-18, 31-46, col.8, lines 36-48); and
increasing/decreasing [i.e., adjusting] volume [i.e., one or more levels of the audio signal] according to volume control button [i.e., control information] (col.7, lines 31-46) (Note; since voice-controlled device is for supporting audio interactions with the user and the voice-controlled device also includes basic volume control button for increasing/decreasing [i.e., adjusting] volume, it is clear that the volume is the claimed one or more levels of the audio signal (see also col.5, line 63-col.6, line 1).).
However, Narayanan does not specifically teach a control information corresponding to the particular audio clip. Lenke teaches instruction/control [i.e., control information] corresponding to the user speaking [i.e., particular audio clip] (col.7, lines 29-51, col.8, line 49-col.9, line 13, col.9, lines 8-33). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan to incorporate control information corresponding to the particular audio clip in Lenke’s invention as taught by Narayanan. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to facilitate efficient performance of the voice-controlled device.
Narayanan does not specifically teach a hearing device. Lenke teaches a headset [i.e., hearing device] (col.7, lines 51-65, col.10, lines 11-12). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan to incorporate a hearing device in Lenke’s invention as taught by Narayanan. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to facilitate efficient performance of the voice-controlled device using as a hearing device.
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Narayanan teaches wherein: the audio conversation/audio interaction [i.e., audio signal] comprises a first sound from a first source and a second sound from a second source (col.1, lines 50-62, col.4, lines 62-67, col.7, lines 31-46);
the audio signature of the particular audio clip is associated with the second sound (col.5, line 63-col.6, line 1); and
the increasing/decreasing [i.e., adjusting] comprises adjusting the audio signal to enhance the second sound with respect to the first sound (col.7, lines 31-46).
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 19. Furthermore, Narayanan teaches wherein: the first source is a user of the studio equipment (fig.1; col.1, lines 50-62).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Narayanan teaches wherein: the audio signal comprises a channel (col.3, lines 59-61) (Note; since there are user interactions [i.e., audio signal] from more than one room, the audio signal must come through a channel.); and
the adjusting comprises adjusting a power level of one or more channels of the audio signal to enhance sound corresponding to the particular audio clip (col.1, lines 41-52, col.2, lines 37-62, claim 4 in col.5).
However, Narayanan does not specifically teach wherein: the audio signal comprises a plurality of channels. Lenke teaches wherein: the audio signal comprises a plurality of channels (paragraphs 0008, 0056). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan to incorporate wherein: the audio signal comprises a plurality of channels in Narayanan’s invention as taught by Lenke. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide combination of multiple signals efficiently.
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Narayanan teaches wherein: the adjusting occurs for a predetermined threshold (col.1, lines 54-65); and
However, Narayanan in view of Lenke does not specifically teach wherein: the adjusting occurs for a predetermined amount of time. Examiner takes an official notice that wherein: the adjusting occurs for a predetermined amount of time is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan in view of Lenke to incorporate wherein: the adjusting occurs for a predetermined amount of time in Narayanan’s invention in view of Lenke’s invention as taught by Lenke. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide adjustment for a predetermined amount of time efficiently.
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Narayanan teaches wherein: the adjusting occurs according to a power level of the particular audio clip relative to another portion of the audio signal (col.1, lines 41-52, col.2, lines 37-62, claim 4 in col.5).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Narayanan does not specifically teach wherein: the computing device is a personal device worn on or in an ear of a user. Lenke teaches wherein: the computing device is a personal digital assistant/mobile phone [i.e., personal device] worn on or in an ear of a user (paragraph 0021). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan to incorporate wherein: the computing device is a personal device worn on or in an ear of a user in Narayanan’s invention as taught by Lenke. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide audio service using a personal device efficiently.
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan (US Patent No. 9,286,899) in view of Lenke et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0089390) further in view of Bonanno (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0040240).
Regarding claims 20 and 30, Narayanan in view of Lenke does not specifically teach wherein: the audio signal is generated by a video game. Bonanno teaches wherein: the audio signal is generated by a gaming unit [i.e., video game] (abstract; paragraph 0020). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan in view of Lenke to incorporate wherein: the audio signal is generated by a video game in Narayanan’s invention in view of Lenke’s invention as taught by Bonanno. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to efficiently generate audio from a game device.
Claims 26 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan (US Patent No. 9,286,899) in view of Lenke et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0089390) further in view of Shibao (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0132938).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Narayanan teaches that the adjusting occurs dynamically according to the acquired control information (col.1, lines 41-52, col.2, lines 37-62, claim 4 in col.5).
However, Narayanan in view of Lenke does not specifically teach wherein: the control information is acquired a priori. Shibao teaches wherein: the control information is acquired a priori (paragraph 0174). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan in view of Lenke to incorporate wherein: the control information is acquired a priori in Narayanan’s invention in view of Lenke’s invention as taught by Shibao. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to efficiently generate audio from a device.
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan (US Patent No. 9,286,899) in view of Lenke et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0089390) further in view of Shibao (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0132938) further in view of Bonanno (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0040240).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Narayanan further in view of Shibao does not specifically teach wherein: the control information is acquired and stored in the computing device when a particular video game is first played. Lenke teaches video playback (paragraph 0005) whereas Bonanno teaches wherein: the chat signal [i.e., control information] is acquired and stored in the computing device when a particular audio game is first played (abstract; paragraphs 0036-0038). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narayanan further in view of Shibao to incorporate wherein: the control information is acquired and stored in the computing device when a particular video game is first played in Narayanan’s invention further in view of Shibao’s invention as taught by Lenke and Bonanno. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to efficiently play a particular game.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD S ELAHEE/
MD SHAFIUL ALAM ELAHEE
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2694
November 16, 2025