DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-27 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
- claims 1 and 18 are amended
- claims 8, 15, and 25 are canceled
b. This is a second non action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 05/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 1 and 18 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's first arguments, see “However, selecting SCI transmission resources and data transmission resources (from respective pools of resources) to be in a same subframe, and repeatedly transmitting the selected SCI transmission resources and data transmission resources-as described in Yasukawa-is not the same as, and does not teach or suggest, "generat[ing] a set of candidate sidelink control information messages, wherein each candidate sidelink control information message of the set of candidate sidelink control information messages indicates a set of different data resources for a same data transmission," as recited in independent claim 1.” on page 12, filed on 05/05/2026, with respect to Khoryaev et al. US Pub 2020/0229171 (hereinafter “Khoryaev9171”), in view of Wu et al. US Pub 2020/0351032 (hereinafter “Wu”), and further in view of Yasukawa et al. US Pub 2020/0322923 (hereinafter “Yasukawa”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Panteleev et al. US Pub 2021/0127364 (hereinafter “Panteleev”), in combination with previously applied references Khoryaev9171 and Wu. See section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 below for complete details.
Regarding Independent claims 11 and 16 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's second arguments, see “However, the Office Action then fails to point out any portion of Li (or the other cited references) that allegedly teaches or suggests "based at least in part on a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message by a second wireless device," as most recently amended into independent claim 1.” on page 14, filed on 05/05/2026, with respect to Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu, and further in view of Sarkis and of Li et al. US Pub 2021/0144736 (hereinafter “Li”), have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Li discloses based at least in part on a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message by a second wireless device (“where a first sidelink resource selected and/or reserved by a UE in a first resource pool may overlap, in the same sidelink slot, with a second sidelink resource indicated and/or reserved by a paired UE (i.e. “second wireless device”) in a second resource pool. In an example, after a UE selects and/or reserves a first sidelink resource, the UE may receive a sidelink control information from a paired UE, wherein the sidelink control information indicates and/or reserves a second sidelink resource for UE reception (i.e. “a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message”).” [0303]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 18, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. US Pub 2020/0229171 (hereinafter “Khoryaev9171”), in view of Wu et al. US Pub 2020/0351032 (hereinafter “Wu”), and further in view of Panteleev et al. US Pub 2021/0127364 (hereinafter “Panteleev”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Khoryaev9171 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless device (i.e. “the UE” [0252]), comprising:
receive, at the first wireless device (i.e. “the UE” [0252]), a first sidelink control information message (“wherein the UE is a first UE, wherein the sidelink transmission is a first sidelink transmission, wherein the SCI is a first SCI, and wherein, to sense the activity on the sidelink channel within a sliding sensing window” [0252]) from a second wireless device (i.e. “second UE” [0252]), wherein the first sidelink control information message indicates a scheduling conflict between first resources of a first data transmission of the second wireless device (“monitor the candidate resources for activity at least until a time that is a processing delay prior to an earliest transmission associated with the pre-selected candidate resources for potential sidelink transmission; refine the pre-selected candidate resources based on the monitoring and trigger a change for one or more of the pre-selected candidate resources if there is a collision or pre-emption detected” [0258]) and second resources of a second data transmission of the first wireless device (“decode a second SCI received from a second UE to extract information related to a second sidelink transmission of the second UE, the extracted information including one or more of: occupied and reserved sidelink transmission resources for the second sidelink transmission” [0252]);
select a second sidelink control information message from the set of candidate sidelink control information messages based at least in part on the second sidelink control information message indicating a data resource allocation for the second data transmission that mitigates the scheduling conflict (“re-select the sidelink resources from the refined pre-selected candidate resources” [0258]); and
transmit the second sidelink control information message from the first wireless device based at least in part on the scheduling conflict between the first data transmission and the second data transmission (“If UE detects through SCI decoding that recently announced transmissions from other UEs collide with tentatively selected candidate resources for transmission (R), UE reselects R tentative candidate resources from candidate resource set to avoid conflict (e.g. by excluding conflicting candidate resources). If there is no conflict detected, UE proceed with transmission on previously selected R candidate resources, otherwise UE makes new iteration and reselects R candidate resources (refinement of candidate resources—see FIG. 1B).” [0141]).
Khoryaev9171 does not specifically teach a first wireless device, comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses a first wireless device (“the second UE may also be referred to as RX UE” [0075]; see also Fig. 4), comprising:
one or more processors (“processor 122” in Fig. 12; [0221]);
memory (“memory 121” in Fig. 12; [0221]) coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (“a computer program which is stored on the memory and operable on the processor 122” [0221]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, to include Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Wu [0166]).
Khoryaev9171 and Wu do not specifically teach generate a set of candidate sidelink control information messages, wherein each candidate sidelink control information message of the set of candidate sidelink control information messages indicates a set of different data resources for a same data transmission.
In an analogous art, Panteleev discloses generate a set of candidate sidelink control information messages (“decode SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH”), wherein each candidate sidelink control information message of the set of candidate sidelink control information messages indicates a set of different data resources for a same data transmission (“To configure the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication, the processing circuitry is to decode SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE. A set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool is determined. The set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE. A second SCI is encoded for transmission via the PSCCH, the second SCI indicating a plurality of sidelink resources from the set of candidate sidelink resources.” [Abstract]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu, to include Panteleev’s method of sidelink collision avoidance, in order to facilitate sidelink collision avoidance (e.g., in broadcast, unicast, and groupcast communications), hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback procedures, and channel state information (CSI) acquisition procedures (Panteleev [0008]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Panteleev’s method of sidelink collision avoidance into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Wu further discloses determine a time period (i.e. “overlaps in time”) between reception the first sidelink control information message (e.g. “a transmission of a first PSFCH”) and a transmission time (e.g. “a reception of a second PSFCH”) for the second sidelink control information message (“The first UE of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: identify priority information for a plurality of PSFCHs through the a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and in case that a transmission of a first PSFCH would overlaps in time with a reception of a second PSFCH, perform the transmission of the first PSFCH or the reception of the second PSFCH based on the identified priority information.” [Claim 14 txt]).
Regarding claim 10
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Wu further discloses wherein the second wireless device has higher priority traffic than the first wireless device (“the PSCCH/PSSCH or the PSFCH in one slot based on at least one of a priority of a data packet indicated within the PSCCH corresponding to the PSFCH, a PSCCH/PSSCH resource allocation manner, a fact that whether the resource of the transmitted PSCCH/PSSCH is reserved in advance by SCI” [0028] and furthermore “The RX UE sorts the PSFCH based on a predefined priority, and transmits higher priority PSFCHs with a full power and discards lower priority PSFCHs.” [0085]).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended)
A method for wireless communication at a first wireless device, comprising:
generating a set of candidate sidelink control information messages, wherein each candidate sidelink control information message of the set of candidate sidelink control information messages indicates a set of different data resources for a same data transmission;
receiving, at the first wireless device, a first sidelink control information message from a second wireless device, wherein the first sidelink control information message indicates a scheduling conflict between first resources of a first data transmission of the second wireless device and second resources of a second data transmission of the first wireless device;
selecting a second sidelink control information message from the set of candidate sidelink control information messages based at least in part on the second sidelink control information message indicating a data resource allocation for the second data transmission that mitigates the scheduling conflict; and
transmitting the second sidelink control information message from the first wireless device based at least in part on the scheduling conflict between the first data transmission and the second data transmission.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The method of claim 18, further comprising:
determining a time period between receiving the first sidelink control information message and a transmission time for the second sidelink control information message.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 3. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 27
The method of claim 18, wherein the second wireless device has higher priority traffic than the first wireless device.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 27 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 10. Therefore method claim 27 corresponds to apparatus claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 10 rejection above.
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu and Panteleev, and further in view of Sarkis et al. US Pub 2021/0153167 (hereinafter “Sarkis”).
Regarding claim 2
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Wu further discloses decode the first sidelink control information message (i.e. “SCI”), wherein the decoded first sidelink control information message indicates a first data resource for the first data transmission (“Here, the receiving of the PSCCH/PSSCH refers to receiving and decoding the PSCCH/PSSCH on reserved resources, that is, the received and decoded PSCCH/PSSCH has indicated information of the reserved resources through the SCI” [0096]);
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach compare the first data resource for the first data transmission with a second data resource for the second data transmission; and determine that there is at least a partial overlap between the first data resource for the first data transmission and the second data resource for the second data transmission.
In an analogous art, Sarkis discloses compare the first data resource for the first data transmission (“resources selected for the first transmission 712” [0067]) with a second data resource for the second data transmission (“resources for the second transmission 722”); and
determine that there is at least a partial overlap between the first data resource for the first data transmission and the second data resource for the second data transmission (“If the UE received the received reservation 716 or the received reservation 736 and detected the overlap ping resources 714 or 734 during the sensing period 656, the UE may reselect some or all of the resources selected for the first transmission 712, the second transmission 722, or the third transmission 732. In some aspects, the UE may reselect the first overlapping resource in the SCI it is to send. For example, the UE may reselect the resources for the first transmission 712, or just the overlapping resources 714, but may not reselect the resources for the second transmission 722 or the resources for the third transmission 732 (including the overlapping resources 732). In some aspects, the UE may reselect the overlapping resource, but not reselect the non-overlapping resources. For example, the UE may reselect the overlapping resources 714 and 734, but may not reselect the non-overlapping resources of the first transmission 712 and the third transmission 732.” [0067]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, to include Sarkis’ method for reselecting and/or reserving resources for sidelink communications, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Sarkis [0056]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Sarkis’ method for reselecting and/or reserving resources for sidelink communications into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 19
The method of claim 18, wherein the first sidelink control information message indicates the scheduling conflict further comprises:
decoding the first sidelink control information message, wherein the decoded first sidelink control information message indicates a first data resource for the first data transmission;
comparing the first data resource for the first data transmission with a second data resource for the second data transmission; and
determining that there is at least a partial overlap between the first data resource for the first data transmission and the second data resource for the second data transmission.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 19 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 19 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Claims 4, 5, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu and Panteleev, and further in view of Li et al. US Pub 2021/0144736 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 4
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach determine that the time period is greater than a generation time for generating generation of the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time for generating generation of the second sidelink control information message; select a third data resource for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission; and generate the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource, wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation.
In an analogous art, Li discloses determine that the time period is greater than a generation time for generation of the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time for generation of the second sidelink control information message (“For sidelink transmission mode 3, The UE shall determine the subframes and resource blocks for transmitting SCI format 1 as follows: SCI format 1 is transmitted in two physical resource blocks per slot in each subframe where the corresponding PSSCH is transmitted. If the UE receives in subframe n DCI format 5A with the CRC scrambled by the SL-V-RNTI, one transmission of PSCCH is in the PSCCH resource L.sub.Init (described in Subclause 14.2.4) in the first subframe that is included in (t.sub.0.sup.SL,t.sub.1.sup.SL,t.sub.2.sup.SL) and that starts not earlier than” [0066-0069]);
select a third data resource (i.e. “third sidelink resource”) for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission (“to perform resource re-selection to select a third sidelink resource, and to perform a sidelink transmission on the third sidelink resource.” [0443] and furthermore “The first device releases and/or drops the second sidelink resource. The first device performs resource re-selection to select a third sidelink resource. The first device performs a sidelink transmission on the third sidelink resource.” [0006]); and
generate the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource (“the second sidelink control information may schedule a third sidelink transmission” [0327]), wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation (“the second sidelink control information may schedule a third sidelink transmission from the second device to one or more devices comprising the first device, wherein the first device receives the second sidelink control information and the third sidelink transmission in the first sidelink slot.” [0327]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, to include Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Li [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system into Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach determine that the time period is greater than a modification time to modify the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time to modify the second sidelink control information message; select a third data resource for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission; and modify the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource, wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation.
In an analogous art, Li discloses determine that the time period is greater than a modification time to modify the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time to modify the second sidelink control information message (“For sidelink transmission mode 4, The UE shall determine the subframes and resource blocks for transmitting SCI format 1 as follows: SCI format 1 is transmitted in two physical resource blocks per slot in each subframe where the corresponding PSSCH is transmitted. If the configured sidelink grant from higher layer indicates the PSCCH resource in subframe t.sub.n.sup.SL one transmission of PSCCH is in the indicated PSCCH resource m (described in Subclause 14.2.4) in subframe t.sub.n.sup.SL. If “Time gap between initial transmission and retransmission” in the configured sidelink grant (described in [8]) is not equal to zero, another transmission of PSCCH is in the PSCCH resource L.sub.ReTx in subframe t.sub.n+SF.sub.gap.sup.SL where SF.sub.gap is the value indicated by “Time gap between initial transmission and retransmission” field in the configured sidelink grant, L.sub.ReTx corresponds to the value n.sub.subCi.sup.start determined by the procedure in Subclause 14.1.1.4C with the RIV set to the value indicated by “Frequency resource location of the initial transmission and retransmission” field in the configured sidelink grant.” [0071-0075]);
select a third data resource (i.e. “third sidelink resource”) for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission( “to perform resource re-selection to select a third sidelink resource, and to perform a sidelink transmission on the third sidelink resource.” [0443] and furthermore “The first device releases and/or drops the second sidelink resource. The first device performs resource re-selection to select a third sidelink resource. The first device performs a sidelink transmission on the third sidelink resource.” [0006]); and
modify the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource (“the second sidelink control information may schedule a third sidelink transmission” [0327]), wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation (“the second sidelink control information may schedule a third sidelink transmission from the second device to one or more devices comprising the first device, wherein the first device receives the second sidelink control information and the third sidelink transmission in the first sidelink slot.” [0327]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), as modified by Wu and Panteleev, to include Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Li [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system into Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 21
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
determining that the time period is greater than a generation time for generating the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time for generating the second sidelink control information message;
selecting a third data resource for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission; and
generating the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource, wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 21 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 4. Therefore method claim 21 corresponds to apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 22
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
determining that the time period is greater than a modification time for modifying the second sidelink control information message based at least in part on a comparison of the time period with a processing time for modifying the second sidelink control information message;
selecting a third data resource for the second data transmission based on the second sidelink control information message such that the third data resource for the second data transmission is non-conflicting with a first data resource for the first data transmission; and
modifying the second sidelink control information message for the second data transmission based at least in part on the third data resource, wherein the third data resource comprises the data resource allocation.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 22 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 5. Therefore method claim 22 corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu, and further in view of Sarkis and of Li et al. US Pub 2021/0144736 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 11
Khoryaev9171 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (i.e. “the UE” [0252]), comprising:
generate a first sidelink control information message (“At 308, the operation flow/algorithmic structure 300 may further include selecting sidelink resources of the sidelink channel to use for a sidelink transmission, the sidelink transmission including an initial transmission of a sidelink message.” [0162] and see also Fig. 3),
Khoryaev9171 does not specifically teach a wireless device, comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (“The first UE may also be referred to as TX UE” [0075]; see also Fig. 4), comprising:
one or more processors (“processor 122” in Fig. 12; [0221]);
memory (“memory 121” in Fig. 12; [0221]) coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (“a computer program which is stored on the memory and operable on the processor 122” [0221]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, to include Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Wu [0166]).
Khoryaev9171 and Wu do not specifically teach wherein the first sidelink control information message is associated with a first time domain interlace included in a plurality of control resources and indicates a data resource for a data transmission based at least in part on the first time domain interlace, wherein the first time domain interlace is one of a plurality of time domain interlaces included in the plurality of control resources, and wherein the first time domain interlace comprises a first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots and a second time domain interlace of the plurality of time domain interlaces comprises a second plurality of non-contiguous mini- slots, each mini-slot in the first time domain interlace different from each mini-slot in the second time domain interlace; and
transmit the first sidelink control information message in a first mini-slot included in the first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of the first time domain interlace based at least in part on a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message by a second wireless device.
In an analogous art, Sarkis discloses generate a sidelink control information message (e.g. “SCI 542“ in Fig. 5), wherein the sidelink control information message is associated with a first time domain interlace (“The UE may sense up until a threshold time 654 (e.g., a time T3) prior to the transmission time 652.” [0065]) included in a plurality of control resources and indicates a data resource for a data transmission based at least in part on the first time domain interlace (“FIG. 6 is a diagram 600 illustrating sensing for overlapping resources. A UE may be preparing to transmit a first transmission 612 at a transmission time 652. The UE may be transmitting the first transmission 612 without a reservation, or the UE may be transmitting the first transmission 612 on resources reserved by a previous transmission 602. The first transmission 612 may include SCI which reserves resources for a second transmission 622 and a third transmission 632. During a sensing period 656, the UE may be sensing for overlap between resources reserved by other UEs and the resources for the first transmission 612, the second transmission 622, and the third transmission 632. The UE may monitor reservations received from other UEs and may determine if the received reservations indicate resources which the UE had selected for the first transmission 612, the second transmission 622, or the third transmission 632. The UE may sense up until a threshold time 654 (e.g., a time T3) prior to the transmission time 652.” [0064-0065]), wherein the first time domain interlace is one of a plurality of time domain interlaces included in the plurality of control resources (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]), and wherein the first time domain interlace includes a first plurality of mini-slots (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]) and a second time domain interlace of the plurality of time domain interlaces comprises a second plurality of mini-slots (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]), each mini-slot in the first time domain interlace different from each mini-slot in the second time domain interlace (“The number of slots within a subframe is based on the slot configuration and the numerology. For slot configuration 0, different numerologies μ 0 to 5 allow for 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, and 32 slots, respectively, per subframe. For slot configuration 1, different numerologies 0 to 2 allow for 2, 4, and 8 slots, respectively, per subframe.” [0041]); and
transmit the sidelink control information message in a mini-slot included in the first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of the first time domain interlace (“The UE may reselect non-overlapping resources due to signaling restrictions. For example, SCI may only signal reservations that are a set number of slots apart.” [0068]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu, to include Sarkis’ method for reselecting and/or reserving resources for sidelink communications, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Sarkis [0056]).
Khoryaev917, Wu, and Sarkis do not specifically teach wherein the time domain interlace includes a plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots within the plurality of control resources in a control subchannel; and transmit the sidelink control information message in a mini-slot of the plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of a control resource of the plurality of control resources associated with the time domain interlace.
In analogous art, Zhao discloses wherein the time domain interlace includes a plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots within the plurality of control resources in a control subchannel (“After determining the time domain position of the first sidelink transmission resource, the terminal may determine the time domain positions of the remaining sidelink transmission resources according to the time domain position of the first sidelink transmission resource and the second mini-slot interval. It should be understood that when the sidelink transmission resources allocated by the network device to the terminal include N sidelink transmission resources, the second mini-slot interval includes N-1 mini-slot intervals, corresponding to The mini-slot interval between the other N-1 sidelink transmission resources and the first sidelink transmission resource.” Col. , lines ); and
transmit the sidelink control information message in a mini-slot of the plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of a control resource of the plurality of control resources associated with the time domain interlace (“after determining the mini-slot to which the first sidelink transmission resource belongs, the mini-slots to which the second and third sidelink transmission resources belong can be determined according to .sub.t1 and .sub.t2 . mini-slot. Among them, t .sub.1 represents the mini-slot interval between the second sideline transmission resource and the first sideline transmission resource, and t .sub.2 represents the interval between the third sideline transmission resource and the first sideline transmission resource the mini-slot interval.” Col. , lines ).
Khoryaev917, Wu, Sarkis, and Zhao do not specifically teach wherein the time domain interlace includes a plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots within the plurality of control resources in a control subchannel; and transmit the sidelink control information message in a mini-slot of the plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of a control resource of the plurality of control resources associated with the time domain interlace.
In analogous art, Li discloses select a second sidelink control information message from the set of candidate sidelink control information messages based at least in part on the second sidelink control information message indicating a data resource allocation for the second data transmission (“where a first sidelink resource selected and/or reserved by a UE in a first resource pool may overlap, in the same sidelink slot, with a second sidelink resource indicated and/or reserved by a paired UE (i.e. “second wireless device”) in a second resource pool. In an example, after a UE selects and/or reserves a first sidelink resource, the UE may receive a sidelink control information from a paired UE, wherein the sidelink control information indicates and/or reserves a second sidelink resource for UE reception (i.e. “a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message”).” [0303])
wherein the time domain interlace includes a plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots (“For time domain resources of a resource pool for PSSCH. Support the case where the resource pool consists of non-contiguous time resources” [0190-0191]) within the plurality of control resources in a control subchannel (“Sub-channel based resource allocation is supported for PSSCH” [0199]); and
transmit the sidelink control information message (“If the UE transmits SCI format 1 on PSCCH according to a PSCCH resource configuration in subframe n, then for the corresponding PSSCH transmissions of one TB” [0040]) in a mini-slot of the plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots (“For time domain resources of a resource pool for PSSCH. Support the case where the resource pool consists of non-contiguous time resources” [0190-0191]) of a control resource of the plurality of control resources associated with the time domain interlace (“Sub-channel based resource allocation is supported for PSSCH” [0199]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu and Sarkis, to include Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Li [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu, Sarkis, and Li, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Li further discloses select the data resource from a slot (i.e. subframe) in a data resource pool (i.e. “subframe pool”), wherein the slot is based at least in part on the first time domain interlace (“If the UE transmits SCI format 1 on PSCCH according to a PSCCH resource configuration in subframe n, then for the corresponding PSSCH transmissions of one TB for sidelink transmission mode 3, the set of subframes and the set of resource blocks are determined using the subframe pool indicated by the PSSCH resource configuration (described in Subclause 14.1.5) and using “Retransmission index and Time gap between initial transmission and retransmission” field and “Frequency resource location of the initial transmission and retransmission” field in the SCI format 1 as described in Subclause 14.1.1.4A. [0043] for sidelink transmission mode 4, the set of subframes and the set of resource blocks are determined using the subframe pool indicated by the PSSCH resource configuration (described in Subclause 14.1.5) and using “Retransmission index and Time gap between initial transmission and retransmission” field and “Frequency resource location of the initial transmission and retransmission” field in the SCI format 1 as described in Subclause 14.1.1.4B.” [0040-0044]).
Regarding claim 13
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu, Sarkis, and Li, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Li further discloses select a slot segment (e.g. “sub-channel”) from a plurality of slot segments of a control resource pool (“A candidate single-subframe resource for PSSCH transmission R.sub.x,y is defined as a set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels with sub-channel x+j in subframe t.sub.t.sup.SL where j=0 . . . , L.sub.subCH−1.” The UE shall assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool (described in 14.1.5) [0048]); and
select the first time domain interlace based at least in part on the selected slot segment, wherein the selected slot segment includes the first mini-slot (“The UE shall assume that any set of L.sub.subCH contiguous sub-channels included in the corresponding PSSCH resource pool (described in 14.1.5) within the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] corresponds to one candidate single-subframe resource, where selections of T.sub.1 and T.sub.2 are up to UE implementations under T.sub.1≤4 and T.sub.2min (prio.sub.TX)≤T.sub.2≤100, if (prio.sub.TX) is provided by higher layers for prio.sub.TX, otherwise 20≤T.sub.2≥100. UE selection of T.sub.2 shall fulfil the latency requirement.” [0047]).
Regarding claim 14
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu, Sarkis and Li, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Li further discloses select the first mini-slot associated with the first time domain interlace based at least in part on a priority of traffic (“wherein the first sidelink resource is selected (and/or utilized) for delivering/transmitting a first data packet associated with a first priority, (ii) to perform a second sidelink resource selection/re-selection procedure for selecting a second sidelink resource in the carrier/cell, wherein the second sidelink resource is selected (and/or utilized) for delivering/transmitting a second data packet associated with a second priority, and wherein the first sidelink resource and the second sidelink resource overlap (e.g., fully or partially overlap) in time domain in a sidelink slot, and (iii) to perform a first sidelink transmission based upon the first priority and the second priority, wherein the first sidelink transmission is performed on the first sidelink resource to deliver/transmit the first data packet based upon the first priority of the first data packet being higher than (e.g., relatively higher than) the second priority of the second data packet, or the first sidelink transmission is performed on the second sidelink resource to deliver/transmit the second data packet based upon the second priority of the second data packet being higher than (e.g., relatively higher than) the first priority of the first data packet.” [0452]).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Sarkis, and further in view of Li et al. US Pub 2021/0144736 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 16
Wu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (“the second UE may also be referred to as RX UE” [0075]; see also Fig. 4), comprising:
one or more processors (“processor 122” in Fig. 12; [0221]);
memory (“memory 121” in Fig. 12; [0221]) coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
decode the first sidelink control information message (i.e. “SCI”), wherein the first sidelink control information message indicates a data resource for a data transmission based at least in part on the first time domain interlace (“Here, the receiving of the PSCCH/PSSCH refers to receiving and decoding the PSCCH/PSSCH on reserved resources, that is, the received and decoded PSCCH/PSSCH has indicated information of the reserved resources through the SCI in advance, instead of attempting blind receiving and decoding on each sub-channel.” [0096]).
Wu does not specifically teach receive a first sidelink control information message in a first mini-slot included in a first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of a first time domain interlace, wherein the first time domain interlace is one of a plurality of time domain interlaces included in a plurality of control resources, and wherein the first time domain interlace comprises the first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots and a second time domain interlace of the plurality of time domain interlaces comprising a second plurality of non- contiguous mini-slots, each mini-slot in the first time domain interlace different from each mini-slot in the second time domain interlace, and wherein the first sidelink control information message is received in the first mini-slot of the first time domain interlace based at least in part on a second mini-slot of the first time domain interlace being reserved for communication of a second sidelink control information message by a second wireless device.
In an analogous art, Sarkis discloses receive a sidelink control information message (e.g. “SCI 542“ in Fig. 5) in a mini-slot included in a first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots of a first time domain interlace (“The UE may sense up until a threshold time 654 (e.g., a time T3) prior to the transmission time 652.” [0065]), wherein the first time domain interlace is one of a plurality of time domain interlaces included in a plurality of control resources (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]), and wherein the first time domain interlace includes a first plurality of mini-slots (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]) and a second time domain interlace of the plurality of time domain interlaces comprises a second plurality of mini-slots (“Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots. Subframes may also include mini-slots, which may include 7, 4, or 2 symbols. Each slot may include 7 or 14 symbols, depending on the slot configuration.” [0041]), each mini-slot in the first time domain interlace different from each mini-slot in the second time domain interlace (“The number of slots within a subframe is based on the slot configuration and the numerology. For slot configuration 0, different numerologies μ 0 to 5 allow for 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, and 32 slots, respectively, per subframe. For slot configuration 1, different numerologies 0 to 2 allow for 2, 4, and 8 slots, respectively, per subframe.” [0041]);
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), to include Sarkis’ method for reselecting and/or reserving resources for sidelink communications, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Sarkis [0056]).
Wu and Sarkis do not specifically teach, and wherein the first time domain interlace includes the first plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots and a second time domain interlace of the plurality of time domain interlaces comprising a second plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots.
In analogous art, Li discloses wherein the time domain interlace includes a plurality of non-contiguous mini-slots (“For time domain resources of a resource pool for PSSCH. Support the case where the resource pool consists of non-contiguous time resources” [0190-0191]) .
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), as modified by Sarkis, to include Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system, in order to mitigate data transmission conflict (Li [0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Li’s method of handling multiple device-to-device resources in a wireless communication system into Wu’s method for HARQ feedback method includes transmitting a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17
Wu, as modified by Sarkis and Li, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Wu further discloses receive the data transmission in the data resource indicated by the first sidelink control information message (“In the 3GPP LTE standard, a direct communication link between User Equipments (UEs) is referred to as sidelink (SL). Similar to an uplink (UL) and a downlink (DL), a sidelink includes a control channel and a data channel, among which the former is referred to as Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), and the latter is referred to as Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH). The PSCCH is used to indicate information regarding a time-frequency domain resource location, a modulation and coding mode and the like of PSSCH transmission, and the PSSCH is used to carry data.” [0071]).
Claims 6, 7, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu and Panteleev, and further in view of Hosseini et al. US Pub 2021/0136781 (hereinafter “Hosseini”), and of Panasonic NPL “Remaining Issues on Sidelink Mode 2 Resource Allocation”, 3GPP R1-2000542, 24th Feb – 6th Mar 2020 (hereinafter “Panasonic”).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach a processing time threshold.
In an analogous art, Hosseini discloses a processing time threshold (“For example, UE 115-/ may determine that a gap between the last symbol of a PSFCH carrying the sidelink HARQ data and a first symbol of the first set of resources or the second set of resources (whichever is earlier), exceeds a first threshold duration. In some cases, the first threshold duration is the sidelink processing time of UE 115-/ (e.g., the first threshold duration may be equal to N″)” [0206]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu, to include Hosseini ’s method for feedback reporting for sidelink, in order to increase sidelink transmission reliability (Hosseini [0005]).
Khoryaev9171, Wu, Panteleev, and Hosseini do not specifically teach compare the time period with a processing time threshold; determine that the time period is less than the processing time threshold;
In an analogous art, Panasonic discloses compare the time period with a processing time threshold (i.e. “Priority are compared related to resource m” in Fig. 1; see also Section 2.1. Timing relation of sensing/(re)selection window, on pages 1-2);
determine that the time period is less than the processing time threshold (“Proposal 1: The re-evaluation procedure on resource m is not required to be triggered, if the time difference between resource m and the time to receive the reserving SCI corresponding to resource m is shorter than the value K.
• The value K should be larger than or equal to the sum of expected UE decoding time of SCI and re-evaluation time.
• K is proposed as 1 slot. We are also ok with 2 slots if necessary.” On page 2, section 2.1); and
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu, Panteleev, and Hosseini, to include Panasonic’s method for configuring timing relation of sensing and selection window, in order to facilitate resource reselection processing time (Panasonic, Section 2.1). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Panasonic’s method for configuring timing relation of sensing and selection window into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach a processing time threshold.
In an analogous art, Hosseini discloses a processing time threshold (“For example, UE 115-/ may determine that a gap between the last symbol of a PSFCH carrying the sidelink HARQ data and a first symbol of the first set of resources or the second set of resources (whichever is earlier), exceeds a first threshold duration. In some cases, the first threshold duration is the sidelink processing time of UE 115-/ (e.g., the first threshold duration may be equal to N″)” [0206]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, to include Hosseini ’s method for feedback reporting for sidelink, in order to increase sidelink transmission reliability (Hosseini [0005]).
Khoryaev9171, Wu, Panteleev, and Hosseini do not specifically teach compare the time period with a processing time threshold; determine that the time period is less than the processing time threshold; and perform a joint resource re-selection for the data resource allocation for the second data transmission.
In an analogous art, Panasonic discloses compare the time period with a processing time threshold (i.e. “Priority are compared related to resource m” in Fig. 1; see also Section 2.1. Timing relation of sensing/(re)selection window, on pages 1-2);
determine that the time period is less than the processing time threshold (“Proposal 1: The re-evaluation procedure on resource m is not required to be triggered, if the time difference between resource m and the time to receive the reserving SCI corresponding to resource m is shorter than the value K.
• The value K should be larger than or equal to the sum of expected UE decoding time of SCI and re-evaluation time.
• K is proposed as 1 slot. We are also ok with 2 slots if necessary.” On page 2, section 2.1); and
perform a joint resource re-selection for the data resource allocation for the second data transmission (“For a UE performing re-evaluation and re-selection of resources for transmission, the new selection window will very likely have less candidate resources comparing with the previous selection window of [n+T1, n+T2]. Put it more generally, when PDB limitation is close to the current timing, there might not be enough resource corresponding to X%.
Observation: To use the X% limitation even in case PDB limitation is close to the current timing can increase SL-RSRP threshold unnecessary. To select the random selection within X% can be unreasonable in such condition. Some correction would be required.” On page 6, section 2.4)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu, Panteleev, and Hosseini, to include Panasonic’s method for configuring timing relation of sensing and selection window, in order to facilitate resource reselection processing time (Panasonic, Section 2.1). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Panasonic’s method for configuring timing relation of sensing and selection window into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 23
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
comparing the time period with a processing time threshold; and
determining that the time period is less than the processing time threshold.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 23 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 6. Therefore method claim 23 corresponds to apparatus claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 24
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
comparing the time period with a processing time threshold;
determining that the time period is less than the processing time threshold; and
performing a joint resource re-selection for the data resource allocation for the second data transmission.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 24 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 7. Therefore method claim 24 corresponds to apparatus claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev9171, in view of Wu and Panteleev, and further in view of Khoryaev et al. US Pub 2022/0039080 (hereinafter “Khoryaev9080”).
Regarding claim 9
Khoryaev9171, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, previously discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
Khoryaev9171, Wu, and Panteleev do not specifically teach the second sidelink control information message is transmitted in a first radio frequency spectrum band and the second data transmission is transmitted in a second radio frequency spectrum band, the second radio frequency spectrum band is different from the first radio frequency spectrum band.
In an analogous art, Khoryaev9080 discloses the second sidelink control information message is transmitted in a first radio frequency spectrum band (“a first communication on the low band”) and the second data transmission (“enable a second communication on the high band”) is transmitted in a second radio frequency spectrum band (“wherein the multi-band broadcast communications comprise a first communication on the low band that includes control data based on the set of sidelink resources to enable a second communication on the high band, or the first communication on the high band that includes the control data based on the set of sidelink resources to enable the second communication on the low band; wherein the control data includes at least one of: a set of radio-layer parameters, the geo-location information, or results of a sensing and resource selection operation.” [0261]),
the second radio frequency spectrum band is different from the first radio frequency spectrum band (“multi-band broadcast communications based on a low band and a high band that is greater in frequency than the low band, wherein the multi-band broadcast communications comprise a first sidelink communication on the low band that includes sidelink control information based on the set of sidelink resources to enable a second sidelink communication on the high band.” [0246]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, as modified by Wu and Panteleev, to include Khoryaev9080’s method for sidelink communication, in order to improve sidelink device’s location determination (Khoryaev9080 [0005-0006]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Khoryaev9080’s method for sidelink communication into Khoryaev9171’s autonomous resource selection in new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communication, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 26
The method of claim 18, wherein:
the second sidelink control information message is transmitted in a first radio frequency spectrum band and the second data transmission is transmitted in a second radio frequency spectrum band,
the second radio frequency spectrum band is different from the first radio frequency spectrum band.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 26 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 9. Therefore method claim 26 corresponds to apparatus claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 9 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411