Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed December 15, 2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 – 6, 8 – 18, and 20 – 25 based upon lack of obviousness under 35 U.S.C § 103 as set forth in the last Office action because: facts presented are not germane to the rejection at issue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Inventor Andrew Wright Kirby (hereinafter, “the Inventor”)’s argument on page 5 of the affidavit pertaining to “10. The Du publication does not teach or suggest providing backup power to metering modules when voltage drops below a first threshold but remains greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold, in contrast to the solution provided in the present application. … 12. The Du publication does not disclose or suggest measuring power flow data during a "backup interval of time" when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts. In fact, the Du publication does not contemplate measuring and recording power flow during specific conditions for diagnostic purposes, in contrast to the present application.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely solely on Du. The Examiner also relies on Kagan, Vaswani, and Kiko. Kagan teaches, “an energy storage element (Fig. 1, power supply 116) coupled to the metering module and the communication module (Fig. 1, ¶ 81 power supply 116 provides power to each component of the IED 100)”. Vaswani teaches, “providing backup power to metering modules when voltage drops below a first threshold but remains greater than zero volts (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time) for a time exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time)”. The Examiner relies on Du to teach the limitations disclosed by Du. Du discloses measuring power flow and predicting a power failure (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure). It would be obvious to use the power failure prediction disclosed by Du to modify the meter disclosed by Kagan in view of Vaswani so that the meter changes to battery power and continues to measure power flow data before loss of power.
In response to the inventor's argument on pages 5 – 6 of the affidavit pertaining to “13. A difference between the approach in the Du publication and measuring during the specific voltage range described in the present application is that the approach in the Du publication is looking at meter event messages that are sent by meters as installed without any modifications at the meter. In contrast, measuring during the specific voltage range described in the present application requires enhancements to the meters. The Du publication solves its problem using generic meters without modifications, whereas the present application solves its problem by making enhancements to meters with energy storage elements such as batteries or capacitors that can supply backup power to metering modules and communication modules when voltage drops below specified thresholds.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Du to disclose making modifications to a meter. The Examiner relies on Du’s disclosure without making modifications to the meter. Du discloses, wherein the metering module (Fig. 16, meters 150 – 151), in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 before a failure resulting in an outage).
In response to the inventor's argument on page 6 of the affidavit pertaining to “The Du publication does not disclose or describe energy storage elements, backup power systems, voltage threshold detection circuitry, or methods for triggering backup power at specific voltage levels. The Du publication is directed to analyzing meter event messages from meters as installed and does not suggest modifications to meter hardware to enable continued operation during reduced voltage conditions.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Du to disclose “energy storage elements, backup power systems, voltage threshold detection circuitry, or methods for triggering backup power at specific voltage levels.” The Examiner relies on Kagan and Vaswani. Kagan discloses, energy storage elements, backup power systems (Fig. 1, power supply 116). Vaswani discloses, voltage threshold detection circuitry, or methods for triggering backup power at specific voltage levels (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 2, 3, and 6 pertaining to “It is respectfully submitted that nothing in Du teaches or suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art how to make and use an energy storage element that provides backup power to enable continued measurement and recording of power flow data specifically when voltage has dropped below a first threshold but remains greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold, as recited in claim 1. … For example, when a meter internally detects a voltage anomaly or power interruption, the meter automatically generates a meter event and transmits a corresponding specific meter event message to utility systems. … Thus, it is respectfully submitted that the inventor of Du (referred to as the Du Publication in the Kirby § 132 Declaration), Andrew Kirby, confirms that nothing in Du teaches or suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art how to implement an energy storage element coupled to a metering module and communication module that provides backup power specifically when voltage drops below a first threshold and remains greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold to enable continued measurement and recording of power flow data during this backup interval of time, as recited in claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely solely on Du. The Examiner also relies on Kagan, Vaswani, and Kiko. Kagan teaches, “an energy storage element (Fig. 1, power supply 116) coupled to the metering module and the communication module (Fig. 1, ¶ 81 power supply 116 provides power to each component of the IED 100)”. Vaswani teaches, “that provides backup power specifically when voltage drops below a first threshold and remains greater than zero volts (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time) for a time exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time)”. Du teaches, “to enable continued measurement and recording of power flow data during this backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure)”.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 6 – 8 pertaining to “Furthermore, it is respectfully submitted that it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify the system described in Du with any other reference, including Kagan, Vaswani and/or Kiko or with what was generally known to one of ordinary skill in the art. … meter event messages that are already being generated and transmitted by existing meters deployed throughout the utility network without requiring any changes to the meter hardware. … Thus, modifying Du's system to add the hardware enhancements recited in claim 1 would fundamentally undermine the practical advantage of Du's approach. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Du's reliance on existing, unmodified meters is a deliberate engineering choice that enables deployment of the failure prediction system without the cost, complexity and logistical challenges of modifying or replacing millions of meters already installed in the field. Adding energy storage elements, backup power circuitry and voltage threshold detection hardware to meters would require hardware redesign, manufacturing changes, field deployment of modified meters and substantial cost that Du's software-based approach specifically avoids. … In fact, Du's deliberate choice to use unmodified meters teaches away from the hardware modifications recited in claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on modifying Du with hardware enhancements The Examiner modifies Du with software enhancements that can be done on meters without hardware modifications. The Examiner relies on the software-based approach taught by Du to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani. Du teaches, wherein the metering module (Fig. 16, meters 150 – 151), in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 before a failure resulting in an outage). Measuring the voltage for an interval of time does not require hardware enhancements, only software. The modification of Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du with Kiko is also software-based. Kiko teaches, backup interval of time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 data recorded), one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor). Characterizing power flow of a powerline is a software-based modification that does not require hardware enhancements on ammeter.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 8 – 9 pertaining to “Kagan describes an intelligent electronic device (IED) for power monitoring that includes a power supply and various processing components for measuring and analyzing electrical parameters. … However, Kagan is entirely silent regarding triggering backup power based on voltage dropping below a first threshold while remaining greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold, as recited in claim 1. … Kagan provides no teaching or suggestion to provide backup power during the transitional voltage range recited in claim 1, nor does Kagan recognize the value of capturing power flow data during this specific voltage window. Thus, Kagan does not remedy Du's deficiency regarding providing backup power to enable measurement during the backup interval when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts, as recited in claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Kagan to teach “triggering backup power based on voltage dropping below a first threshold while remaining greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold”. The Examiner relies on Kagan to teach, a backup power (Fig. 1, power supply 116). Vaswani teaches, “triggering backup power during a power outage (Fig. 2, ¶ 31 power the NIC 2 in the event of a power outage, ¶ 38 meter 130 switched to battery power during operation due to an interruption in the AC power supply,)” and determining the “transitional voltage range (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 38 if the power supply to the meter 130 is below a prescribed operational threshold)”. It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine the backup power taught by Kagan with the triggering of the backup power taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. The combination of Kagan and Vaswani thus teach measuring powerline voltage during the transition voltage range and triggering the backup power after a power outage. The combination of Kagan and Vaswani fails to teach, triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range as required by claim 1. Du teaches, predicting the transitional voltage range (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 predicting power failure exploit smart meter message patterns with intermittent or partial power problems). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Kagan in view of Vaswani with Du to be able to teach the triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 pertaining to “Vaswani similarly fails to make up for the deficiencies of Kagan and/or Du. … The Office Action relies on Vaswani for teaching threshold values, but Vaswani addresses an entirely different problem than the one solved by claim 1. … This teaching is limited to complete power outages where voltage reaches zero volts, not the transitional voltage range recited in claim 1. … Thus, Vaswani does not teach or suggest providing backup power to a metering module specifically when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts, as recited in claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, the combination of Kagan and Vaswani teach measuring powerline voltage during the transitional voltage range and triggering the backup power after a power outage. The combination of Kagan and Vaswani fails to teach, triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range as required by claim 1. Du teaches, predicting the transitional voltage range period (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 predicting power failure exploit smart meter message patterns with intermittent or partial power problems). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Kagan in view of Vaswani with Du to be able to teach triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 pertaining to “Kiko likewise fails to remedy the deficiencies of Kagan, Vaswani and/or Du. Kiko describes an intelligent circuit breaker apparatus for monitoring and controlling devices within a premises. The Office Action relies on Kiko for teaching that backup power flow data can indicate voltage, current, power and power factor, citing paragraph [0176] of Kiko. … This passage of Kiko relates to historical data recording for billing and diagnostics purposes, not to measuring power flow during a backup interval when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts, in contrast to claim 1. … Furthermore, Kiko provides no teaching regarding an energy storage element that activates specifically when voltage drops below a first threshold but remains greater than zero volts for a time exceeding a second threshold, as recited in claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, The Examiner does not rely on Kiko to teach “measuring power flow during a backup interval when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts” The Examiner relies on Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du. Kagan and Vaswani teach measuring powerline voltage during the transitional voltage range (when voltage is below a first threshold and greater than zero volts) and triggering the backup power after a power outage. The combination of Kagan and Vaswani fails to teach, triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range as required by claim 1. Du teaches, predicting the transitional voltage range period (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 predicting power failure exploit smart meter message patterns with intermittent or partial power problems). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Kagan in view of Vaswani with Du to be able to teach triggering the backup power during the transitional voltage range for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 – 12 pertaining to “The combination of Kagan, Vaswani, Du and/or Kiko does not make claim 1 obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because each reference addresses different technical problems and employs different solutions that do not involve or suggest providing backup power during the specific transitional voltage range recited in claim 1. … The references provide no motivation ( or any other rational reason) for modifying their combined teachings to arrive at claim l's specific voltage range data collection capability, nor do the references suggest that valuable diagnostic information exists during this transitional period. … In the present situation, Andrew Kirby's statements in the Kirby § 132 Declaration demonstrate that the Office Action is suggesting modifications that are not within the level of ordinary skill in the art of power monitoring systems.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kagan, Vaswani, Du, and Kiko are all in the analogous field of powerline monitoring using Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI). Kagan (¶ 76 monitoring and determining power usage and power quality). Vaswani (¶ 2 Automated Meter Reading (AMR), Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI)), Du (¶ 8 The system and method of the present disclosure generally relate to the use of Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) messaging types), Kiko (¶ 200 The foregoing intelligent circuit breaker is added to a breaker panel to measure high-load devices, … which utilizes advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) and advanced meter reading (AMR)). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art of powerline monitoring using Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) to combine Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du, and further in view of Kiko.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 12 pertaining to “For reasons similar to those explained with respect to claim 1, claims 12 and 15 are not made obvious by Kagan in view Vaswani, in view of Du and in further view of Kiko. Thus, claims 12 and 15, as well as claims 13-14, 16-18, 20 and 22-25 depending therefrom, should be patentable over the cited art.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Same response to the arguments pertaining to claims 12 and 15 as the response to claim 1 mentioned above.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 of claims 1 – 6, 8 – 18, 20 – 25 as being unpatentable over Kagan et al (US 2020/0064153 A1) (herein after Kagan) in view of Vaswani et al (US 2012/0036250 A1) (herein after Vaswani) in view of Du et al (US 2016/0364648 A1) (herein after Du), and further in view of Kiko (US 2009/0206059 A1) (herein after Kiko), is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8 – 18, 20 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kagan et al (US 2020/0064153 A1) (herein after Kagan) in view of Vaswani et al (US 2012/0036250 A1) (herein after Vaswani) in view of Du et al (US 2016/0364648 A1) (herein after Du), and further in view of Kiko (US 2009/0206059 A1) (herein after Kiko).
Regarding Claim 1, Kagan teaches, a metering device (Fig. 1, IED 100) for monitoring power flow at a premises (Fig. 1, electrical power distribution system 111), the metering device comprising: a metering module (Fig. 1, CPU 150, DSP1 160, DSP2 170, FPGA 180, A/D converters 114, sensors 112) that measures power flow on powerlines at the premises and provides power flow data characterizing the power flow (Fig. 1, ¶ 78 sensed voltage and current) on the powerline; a communication module (Fig. 1, communication device 124) coupled to the metering module that transmits power flow data (Fig. 1, ¶ 87 communicate to a server or other computing device via the communication device 124) to a node on a meter network (Fig. 3, environment 300; Note: Fig 1 is part of Fig 3, see ¶ 103); and an energy storage element (Fig. 1, power supply 116) coupled to the metering module and the communication module (Fig. 1, ¶ 81 power supply 116 provides power to each component of the IED 100), — and wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are defined by the Computer and Business Equipment Manufacturers Association (CBEMA) curve (Fig. 31, ¶ 679 Displays a CBEMA graph of the PQ events).
Kagan fails to teach, — wherein the energy storage element provides backup power to the metering module and the communication module in response to a voltage on the powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts for a time interval exceeding a second threshold, wherein the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time, wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —
In analogous art, Vaswani teaches, — wherein the energy storage element (Fig. 2, power supply 4) provides backup power to the metering module and the communication module (Fig. 2, ¶ 31 power the NIC 2 in the event of a power outage) in response to a voltage on the powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time) for a time interval exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan by combining the metering device taught by Kagan with a metering storage device and an energy storage device, wherein the energy storage element provides backup power to a metering module and a communication module in response to a voltage on the powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts for a time interval exceeding a second threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Kagan in view of Vaswani fail to teach, — wherein the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time, wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —
In analogous art, Du teaches, — wherein the metering module (Fig. 16, meters 150 – 151), in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 before a failure resulting in an outage) and provide backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time, —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani by combining the metering device taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani with a metering device wherein, the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time; taught by Du for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs. [Du: ¶ 60].
Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du fail to teach, — wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —
In analogous art, Kiko teaches, — wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates, for the backup interval of time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 data recorded), one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du- by combining the metering device taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du with backup power flow data, wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates, for the backup interval of time, one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30 ].
Regarding Claim 2, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the communication module is configured to transmit the backup power flow data to the node (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 transmitted from the meter 130 to the communication station 120) on the meter network for the backup interval of time following the voltage dropping below the first threshold for the time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 battery power during operation due to an interruption in the AC power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a metering device, wherein a communication module is configured to transmit the backup power flow data to a node on a meter network for the backup interval of time that following a voltage dropping below a first threshold for a time exceeding a second threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 3, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 second (Fig. 3, ¶ 86 nodes can be configured to transmit their respective operation data to the communication station 120 at predetermined time intervals; Note: Fig 3 is communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a metering device, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 second; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 4, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute (Fig. 3, ¶ 86 nodes can be configured to transmit their respective operation data to the communication station 120 at predetermined time intervals; Note: Fig 3 is communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a metering device, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 5, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the energy storage element is a capacitor (Fig. 1, ¶ 82 power supply 116, capacitor dividing power supplies).
Regarding Claim 6, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the energy storage element is a battery (Fig. 1, ¶ 81 uninterruptible power supply (UPS)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 8, wherein the powerlines are coupled to a transformer (Fig. 6, transformer 640) and the power flow data during the backup interval of time characterizes a voltage signature (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 electric power consumed) of the power provided through the powerlines (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 data that can be monitored in the meter 130 and transmitted from the meter 130 to the communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a metering device that measures power on powerlines, wherein the powerlines are coupled to a transformer and a power flow data during a backup interval of time characterizes a voltage signature of the power provided through the powerlines; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 9, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 8, wherein the backup power flow data characterizes a voltage of the powerlines that is greater than 0 volts and less than the first threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a metering device that provides backup power flow data, wherein the backup power flow data characterizes a voltage of a powerlines that is greater than 0 volts and less than a first threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 10, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the metering device is a smart meter collar (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94 socket meter 220, also known as a S-base) installable between an electric meter and an inlet port of a premises (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94; Examiner interpretation: S-base meters are installed between traditional meters and inlet ports as known in the art).
Regarding Claim 11, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the metering device is a smart meter (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94 socket meter 220, also known as a S-base) installable at an inlet port of a premises (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94; Examiner interpretation: The S-base meters is a smart meter since it’s comprised of data communication functionality).
Regarding Claim 12, Kagan teaches, a system (Fig. 6, system 600) for monitoring power flow at a plurality of premises (Fig. 1, electrical power distribution system 111; Note: Fig 1 is part of Fig. 6), the system comprising: a meter network (Fig. 6, network 610) comprising: a plurality of metering devices (Fig. 1, IED 100) that each include an energy storage element (Fig. 1, power supply 116) coupled to a metering module (Fig. 1, CPU 150, DSP1 160, DSP2 170, FPGA 180, A/D converters 114, sensors 112) and a communication module (Fig. 1, communication device 124), — and a utility server (Fig. 6, meter cloud server 602) coupled to the meter network that receives the data from each of the plurality of metering devices (Fig. 6, plurality of IEDs or meters 604 and 606), wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises, and wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are defined by the Computer and Business Equipment Manufacturers Association (CBEMA) curve (Fig. 31, ¶ 679 Displays a CBEMA graph of the PQ events).
Kagan fails to teach, — wherein the energy storage element provides backup power to the metering module and the communication module in response to a voltage on corresponding powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts for a time interval exceeding a second threshold, wherein the metering module of a respective metering device of the plurality of metering devices, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines at a respective premises during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide power flow data characterizing the measured power flow during the backup interval of time and the communication module transmits the power flow data to a node on the meter network during the backup interval of time; — wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises, —
In analogous art, Vaswani teaches, — wherein the energy storage element (Fig. 2, power supply 4) provides backup power to the metering module and the communication module (Fig. 2, ¶ 31 power the NIC 2 in the event of a power outage) in response to a voltage on corresponding powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time) for a time interval exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan by combining the system taught by Kagan with a meter network, wherein an energy storage element provides backup power to a metering module and a communication module in response to a voltage on corresponding powerlines dropping below a first threshold and being greater than zero volts for a time interval exceeding a second threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Kagan in view of Vaswani fail to teach, — wherein the metering module of a respective metering device of the plurality of metering devices, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines at a respective premises during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide power flow data characterizing the measured power flow during the backup interval of time and the communication module transmits the power flow data to a node on the meter network during the backup interval of time; — wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises, —
In analogous art, Du teaches, — wherein the metering module (Fig. 16, meters 150 – 151) of a respective metering device of the plurality of metering devices, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines at a respective premises during a backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 before a failure resulting in an outage) and provide power flow data characterizing the measured power flow during the backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) and the communication module transmits the power flow data to a node (Fig. 16, AMI network 160) on the meter network during the backup interval of time; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani by combining the system taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani with a system comprising a metering device wherein, the metering module of a respective metering device of the plurality of metering devices, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines at a respective premises during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold and provide power flow data characterizing the measured power flow during the backup interval of time and the communication module transmits the power flow data to a node on the meter network during the backup interval of time; taught by Du for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs [Du: ¶ 60].
Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du fail to teach, — wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises, —
In analogous art, Kiko teaches, — wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 data recorded), for the backup interval of time, one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du by combining the system taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du with power flow data, wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time indicates, for the backup interval of time, one of a voltage at the respective premises, a current at the respective premises, a power at the respective premises, and a power factor at the respective premises; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30 ].
Regarding Claim 13, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the system of claim 12, wherein the utility server generates a map (Fig. 1, ¶ 53 geographic area) characterizing regions of premises that have power at or above the first threshold and regions of premises that have power greater than 0 volts and less than the first threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 50 geographic characteristics as the node for which the threshold operating information is defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the system taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a meter network comprising a utility server, wherein the utility server generates a map characterizing regions of premises that have power at or above a first threshold and regions of premises that have power greater than 0 volts and less than the first threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 14, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the system of claim 13, wherein the map further characterizes regions of premises that have no power (Fig. 1, ¶ 74 geographic area experiencing the outage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the system taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a meter network that generates a map, wherein the map further characterizes regions of premises that have no power; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 15, Kagan teaches, a method for monitoring power flow at a premises (Fig. 1, ¶ 73 a method; electrical power distribution system 111) comprising: measuring, by a metering module (Fig. 1, CPU 150, DSP1 160, DSP2 170, FPGA 180, A/D converters 114, sensors 112) of a metering device (Fig. 1, IED 100) that communicates on a meter network (Fig. 3, environment 300; Note: Fig 1 is part of Fig 3, see ¶ 103), a first power flow characterizing power (Fig. 1, ¶ 78 sensed voltage and current) on powerlines for the premises; — and wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are defined by the Computer and Business Equipment Manufacturers Association (CBEMA) curve (Fig. 31, ¶ 679 Displays a CBEMA graph of the PQ events).
Kagan fails to teach,— detecting, by the metering device, a drop in a voltage on the powerlines to a level less than a first threshold and greater than zero volts for an interval of time exceeding a second threshold; providing, from an energy storage element to the metering device, backup power to the metering module and a communication module of the metering device in response to the detecting; measuring and recording, by the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, a second power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold; and transmitting, by the communication module, power flow data characterizing the second power flow measured by the metering module to a node on a meter network during the backup interval of time following the voltage dropping below the first threshold for the time interval exceeding the second threshold, wherein the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —.
In analogous art, Vaswani teaches, — detecting, by the metering device, a drop in a voltage on the powerlines to a level less than a first threshold and being greater than zero volts (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored) for an interval of time exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored); providing, from an energy storage element (Fig. 2, power supply 4) to the metering device, backup power to the metering module and a communication module (Fig. 2, ¶ 31 power the NIC 2 in the event of a power outage) of the metering device in response to the detecting; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan by combining the method taught by Kagan with a method of detecting, by the metering device, a drop in a voltage on the powerlines to a level less than a first threshold and greater than zero volts for an interval of time exceeding a second threshold; providing, from an energy storage element to the metering device, backup power to the metering module and a communication module of the metering device in response to the detecting; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Kagan in view of Vaswani fail to teach, — measuring and recording, by the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, a second power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold; and transmitting, by the communication module, power flow data characterizing the second power flow measured by the metering module to a node on a meter network during the backup interval of time following the voltage dropping below the first threshold for the time interval exceeding the second threshold, wherein the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —.
In analogous art, Du teaches, — measuring and recording, by the metering module (Fig. 16, meters 150 – 151), in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, a second power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 elements 250-256 become deficient slowly before a failure, detect elements becoming deficient before a failure) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 16, ¶ 83 intermittent or partial power problems) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 16, ¶ 62 before a failure resulting in an outage); and transmitting, by the communication module, power flow data characterizing the second power flow measured by the metering module to a node (Fig. 16, AMI network 160) on a meter network during the backup interval of time following the voltage dropping below the first threshold for the time interval exceeding the second threshold, —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani with a method of; measuring and recording, by the metering module, in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element, a second power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts for a time exceeding the second threshold; and transmitting, by the communication module, power flow data characterizing the second power flow measured by the metering module to a node on a meter network during the backup interval of time following the voltage dropping below the first threshold for the time interval exceeding the second threshold; taught by Du for the benefit of providing quality of service to customers by predicting an outage before it occurs [Du: ¶ 60].
Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du fail to teach, — wherein the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines, —.
In analogous art, Kiko teaches, — wherein the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 data recorded) one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a method wherein, the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time indicates one of a voltage of the powerlines, a current of the powerlines, a power of the powerlines, and a power factor of the powerlines; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30].
Regarding Claim 16, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 second (Fig. 3, ¶ 86 nodes can be configured to transmit their respective operation data to the communication station 120 at predetermined time intervals; Note: Fig 3 is communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a method wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 second; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 17, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute (Fig. 3, ¶ 86 nodes can be configured to transmit their respective operation data to the communication station 120 at predetermined time intervals; Note: Fig 3 is communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with as method wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 18, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the energy storage element is a capacitor or a battery (Fig. 1, ¶ 82 power supply 116, capacitor dividing power supplies; Fig. 1, ¶ 81 uninterruptible power supply (UPS)).
Regarding Claim 20, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Kagan further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the metering device is a smart meter collar (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94 socket meter 220, also known as a S-base) installable between an electric meter and an inlet port of a premises (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94; Examiner interpretation: S-base meters are installed between traditional meters and inlet ports as known in the art) or a smart meter (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94 socket meter 220, also known as a S-base) installable at an inlet port of a premises (Fig. 2C, ¶ 94; Examiner interpretation: The S-base meters is a smart meter since it’s comprised of data communication functionality).
Regarding Claim 21, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the energy storage element is configured to provide smoothing of the power to the metering module (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 battery power during operation due to an interruption in the AC power supply; Examiner interpretation: battery power inherently provides smoothing power when it provides power to the meter during an outage) and the communication module in response to the voltage on the powerlines being above the first threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 49 threshold value (i.e., maximum and minimum values) for each type of information to be monitored; ¶ 49 electric power consumed, over a particular period of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering device taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with an energy storage element wherein, the energy storage element is configured to provide smoothing of the power to the metering module and the communication module in response to the voltage on the powerlines being above the first threshold; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 22, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kiko further teaches, the metering device of claim 1, wherein the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines during the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)) and second power flow data for a second time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)), wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the metering device taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with backup power flow data wherein, the backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines during the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time and second power flow data for a second time, wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30].
Regarding Claim 23, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kiko further teaches, the system of claim 12, wherein the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)) and second power flow data for a second time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)), wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the system taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with backup power flow data wherein, the power flow data characterizing the measured power flow for the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time and second power flow data for a second time, wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30].
Regarding Claim 24, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the system of claim 12, wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute (Fig. 3, ¶ 86 nodes can be configured to transmit their respective operation data to the communication station 120 at predetermined time intervals; Note: Fig 3 is communication station 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a method wherein the backup interval of time is at least 1 minute; taught by Vaswani for the benefit of determining if recorded operating information of a metering device describes an anomalous event. [Vaswani: ¶ 99].
Regarding Claim 25, Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Vaswani further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines during the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)) and second power flow data for a second time (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 load signature (including loss of power information)), wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines (Fig. 2, ¶ 176 power, current, voltage, power factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko by combining the method taught by Kagan in view of Vaswani in view of Du in view of Kiko with a method wherein, the power flow data characterizing the second power flow on the powerlines during the backup interval of time comprises first power flow data for a first time and second power flow data for a second time, wherein the first power flow data differs from the second power flow data in one of the voltage of the powerlines, the current of the powerlines, the power of the powerlines, or the power factor of the powerlines; taught by Kiko for the benefit of monitoring power flow using an apparatus that is easily installed [Kiko: ¶ 30].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
King et al (US 2013/0123997 A1) teaches, a metering device (Fig. 1, electricity meter 102) for monitoring power flow at a premises (Fig. 1, electrical power system 100).
Gunn et al. (US 6,687,627 B1) teaches, wherein the metering module (Fig. 7 revenue meter 700), in response to receiving the backup power from the energy storage element (Fig. 7, Col 16, Ln 45 – 46 Other meters utilize rechargeable batteries to reduce maintenance), is configured to measure and record the power flow on the powerlines during a backup interval of time (Fig 7. Col 11, Ln 11 detect, quantify and report any power quality event) defined as an interval of time in which the voltage is below the first threshold and greater than zero volts (Fig. 7, Col 11, Ln 18 – 19 before losing operating power due to extended power quality events) for a time exceeding the second threshold (Fig. 7, Col 11, Ln 18 throughout the duration of the event) and provide backup power flow data characterizing the power flow on the powerlines recorded during the backup interval of time (Fig. 7, Col 11, Ln 17 – 18 quantify and/or record and report the power quality event throughout the duration of the event).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/16/2026