DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 7/08/2026. Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 14, and 15 are amended. New claims 19-21 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-11 and 13-18 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendment filed, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Further, regarding the new limitations recited in claims 1, 14, 15, and 19-21, it is submitted that they are properly addressed by the new ground of rejection.
Furthermore, it is also submitted that all limitations in pending claims, including those not specifically argued, are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssens (US 20140040368 A1) in view of Rands (US 20190356715 A1) and Rathod (US 20250379933 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Janssens discloses a method of providing a user profile in a network environment in which a processor and a memory are implemented ([Abstract]: A profile feed of potential matching users may be provided to a user; [0008]: FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example network including a social interaction system; [0028] Social interaction system 101 is a computer system including one or more computing devices with computing hardware such as processors and memory), the method comprising:
identifying states of a plurality of online users accessing a profile provision system (Fig. 3, Fig. 5; [0086]-[0087]: Contact record 507 may further indicate a state 509 of the contact);
determining two or more second users to be displayed in a terminal of a first user if the two or more second users are currently maintaining an active connection to the profile provision system (Fig. 3; [0005]: identifying a plurality of matching users from the first plurality of users based at least in part on the received profile information… determining an ordering in which respective profile information of the identified plurality of matching users are to be presented in a first area of a first user interface to the first user… in association with the communication initiation control… enabling the first user to communicate with the second matching user; Fig. 3; [0056]: Multiple chat sessions may be simultaneously active, and the user interface may provide options for switching between various active sessions; Fig. 6; [0086]-[0091]: The state may indicate the current activity of the user 508… the state is selected from the following possible states… online state… Cards about a user that are shown to a viewer may maintain a special state relating the user and the viewer… Features indicator 605 may indicate a card type based at least in part on features available on the account of the displayed user 603. For example, three features may be identified: whether the displayed user has an active live webcam stream),
wherein the determining of the two or more second users comprises selecting a predetermined number of users, among a plurality of online users, to be the two or more second users, based on a number of good-feeling expressions, (Fig. 7A; [0139]: At state 1104, the system determines whether there are any cards with an unviewed "like." If so, then at state 1105 the card with the most recent unviewed "like" is selected and provided for display [cards with an unviewed "like" correspond to a predetermined number of users])
wherein a portion of the plurality of online users are prohibited from having their good-feeling expressions displayed by the profile provision system (Fig. 3; [0050]-[0052]: The user interface may also include… a like control 308… Optionally, the system provides a control via which the user can indicate a disinterest in another specified user… if a viewing user A activates this control with respect to a profile card for user B… user B may automatically be placed in ignored state and/or any future communication (e.g., chats, visits, likes, gifts, etc.) from user B to user A via the system is optionally not be shown to user A; [0158]: relatively lower ranked contacts are presented lower in the contact list or not displayed at all [This is nonfunctional descriptive material describing different types of information elements that are not functionally involved in the steps recited. None of the claimed steps are depending on any of the information being described]);
providing profile information of the two or more second users to the terminal of the first user ([0005]: causing, at least in part, profile information regarding a first matching user to be presented in the first area of the first user interface; [0042]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example user interface… In various embodiments, the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted),
wherein the profile information of the two or more second users is simultaneously displayed on a first screen of the terminal of the first user (Fig. 3; [0041]-[0049]: An example user-interface may include two or more areas or panes. For example, a first pane or area may be configured to show cards (e.g., profile cards, gift cards, etc.) and card navigation controls… Alternate organizations may be used… In an embodiment, an additional option is provided to allow the user to preview upcoming cards in the feed without dismissing the card being displayed. The user may then be able to select among the previewed cards or remain on the current card; [0096]: In an embodiment… both cards (optionally in a smaller version) may be shown simultaneously. [Nonfunctional descriptive material and is not functionally involved in the step recited. The providing step would be performed the same regardless of the data]).
determining a ranking for the two or more second users based, at least in part, on a number of times of an input of good-feeling expressions performed by the two or more second users, and a time duration during which terminals associated with the two or more second users maintained access to the profile provision system ([0005]: ranking the identified plurality of matching users based at least in part on a first criterion; determining an ordering in which respective profile information of the identified plurality of matching users are to be presented in a first area of a first user interface to the first user based at least in part on respective rankings).
However, Janssens does not explicitly teach “configuring a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users and the plurality of online users to be displayed based on the ranking, wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Rands teaches
configuring a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users to be displayed based on the ranking ([0112]: The pairing algorithm can for example be executed at a back-end computer system, and operates as a pairing system to pair users based on one or more pairing criteria; [0182]: FIGS. 10A and 10B illustrate how a user can obtain a list 1002 of his/her matches via the dating app UI at his/her user device; [0194]: That is, the pairing algorithm may be configured such that users with higher engagement scores have a greater likelihood of being paired with other users).
Additionally, Rathod teaches dynamically update the queue list in real-time ([Abstract]: The method and systems for automatically identified currently viewing website domain name… including live chat from the first user and the second user in a communication including live chat queue of the website; [0031]: The object of the present invention is to enable real-time instant messaging (RIM) wherein users can view and respond on message real-time or near real-time. Real-time instant messaging (RIM) application updates and publishes the user's online status; [0195]: In an embodiments user who are in queue can view queuing status in the form of in-queue icon or animation),
wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status to the profile provision system, and wherein users who disconnect from the profile provision system are removed from the queue list within a predetermined time period ([0030]: Real time conversation… as a call, the conversation disappears/removes at the end of Text Call); [0006]: expiration of pre-set duration of timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens to incorporate the teachings of Rands and Rathod to determine a ranking for the two or more second users and configure a queue list to be updated in real time.”
The motivation for doing so would be to determine which users are able to communicate with each, as recognized by Rands ([0112] of Rands: Accordingly, in this context, it is any pairing criteria together with the randomized inputs that determine which users are able to communicate with each other via the dating app) and to alert users when their friends availability or status changes, as recognized by Rathod ([0089] of Rathod: The ability to schedule calls and alert users when their friend's availability/status changes shed some insight on the synergies between planning and communication).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
Rands further teaches wherein a state of each of the two or more second users includes whether the corresponding second user has input a good-feeling expression for the first user ([0109]-[0117]: The described embodiments of the present invention provide a dating app with real-time communication functions… but it is only when both users accept this suggested pairing that they are actually paired and thus able to engage in real-time communications).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 2.
Janssens further teaches wherein an indicator included in profile information is displayed differently by at least one of color, size, shape, location, and motion, based on whether the good-feeling expression has input for the first user (Fig. 3; [0048]: In an embodiment, right arrow 307 is optionally highlighted to prompt the user to proceed to additional cards in the card-feed. The highlighting may include blinking, coloration, bold text, increased size, and so on, as well as any combination of these. The highlighting may occur based on a specified condition; Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]: Features indicator 605 may indicate a card type based at least in part on features available on the account of the displayed user 603).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
Janssens further teaches further comprising: confirming a third user, wherein the third user is a user among the plurality of online users who has input a good-feeling expression for the first user ([0005]: the matching system comprising: causing, at least in part, profile information regarding a third matching user to be presented in the first area of the first user interface; Fig. 3; [0046] Card-feed pane 303 displays "cards," which may display profiles of users on the system… A card may also include profile information 305 (e.g., name… likes));
when the third user is also defined as one of the two or more second users, changing an indicator included in profile information of the third user in the terminal of the first user in response to the input of the good-feeling expression (Fig. 3; [0053]: For example, badge 310 in the card-feed indicates that the user whose card is being displayed has previously indicated a "like" (e.g., an interest in the user being liked) for the current user, viewing the displayed card… Optionally, a like counter 316 is provided, such that when other users "like" the user's profile, a like counter may increase its count. See also para [0048]); and
when the third user is not also defined as one of the two or more second users, providing the profile information of the third user to the terminal of the first user in response to the input of the good-feeling expression ([0006]: An example aspect includes a computer implemented method, comprising:… based at least in part on the re-ordering, causing at least in part by the computing system, profile information regarding a third matching user to be presented in the first area of the first user interface).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 4.
Janssens further teaches wherein the providing of the profile information of the third user to the terminal of the first user comprises:
displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information of the third user is to be displayed (Fig. 3; [0046]: In an embodiment, the profile picture 304 may rotate through the various pictures and/or other media, in a circular order and/or randomly for example, enabling the card viewer to automatically view multiple images associated with a user's card. See also para [0048], [0060], [0062]); and
displaying the profile information of the third user after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image ([0050]: A given card may automatically rotate through the different pictures (wherein a picture may be a photograph or other image) in the gallery at a predetermined or variable rate and optionally stop after one full rotation (or other specified number of rotations) through all the pictures. See also para [0047]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
Rands further teaches further comprising: for a given user of the two or more second users, determining, based on a first condition and a second condition, whether to stop displaying the profile information of the given user on the terminal of the first user,
wherein the first condition indicates whether a first period of time has lapsed after the profile information of the given user starts to be displayed, and wherein the second condition indicates whether a second period of time has lapsed after the given user's access to the profile provision system is discontinued (Fig. 6; [0162]: Preferably, each of the users is only permitted to send a limited number of such requests, up to a request threshold, for example a maximum of three requests to stop obscuring the video… This may be an absolute limit, whereby Bob is never allowed to send another request to Alice, or it may be time limited, whereby earlier requests are discounted for the purposes of imposing this limit once an appropriate amount of time has elapsed, for example).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
Janssens further teaches wherein the profile information of the two or more second users is displayed in a list positioned at a top of the first screen, and the first screen further includes profile information of a fourth user who is not included in the list, a profile of the fourth user being stored in the profile provision system ([0042]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example user interface including a contact list, chat pane, and card-feed display... the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted [non-functional descriptive material]. See also para [0041]-[0045]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 7.
Janssens further teaches further comprising: receiving selection input information indicating that one of the profile information of the two or more second users displayed in the list has been selected ([0049]: As described above, clicking (or otherwise interacting with) left arrow 306 or right arrow 307 will replace the currently displayed card in the card-feed area 303 with another card in the feed): and
in response to the reception of the selection input information, providing detailed information about the second user corresponding to the selected profile information to the terminal of the first user ([0063]: Optionally, when a person's picture is clicked (e.g., in a chat and/or overview section of the user interface), the corresponding profile may be presented in the card-feed section of the user interface).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 8.
Janssens further teaches wherein the detailed information about the second user is displayed on a second screen which overlaps the first screen in a pop-up manner in the terminal of the first user ([0209]: In embodiments where a user can both view profile information regarding other users and also communicate with other users (for example liking them or sending them a chat message) on the same user interface screen, the user has a very user-friendly user-interface, which prevents the need to navigate around to different sections of a website to perform different viewing and communication activities; [0126]: Optionally, system messages are displayed in a popup or separate part of the user interface).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 9.
Janssens further teaches wherein the second screen includes a label associated with the second user corresponding to the selected profile information (Figs. 3-4; [0053]: For example, badge 310 in the card-feed indicates that the user whose card is being displayed has previously indicated a "like" (e.g., an interest in the user being liked) for the current user, viewing the displayed card), and the label is displayed differently depending on whether the second user corresponding to the selected profile information has input a good-feeling expression for the first user ([0042]: The interface may be presented in various formats… In various embodiments, the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
Rathod further teaches wherein the method is performed using a cloud application ([0009]: Users can make ephemeral messaging or save call conversations at local storage of device and/or cloud storage; [0018]: Other services including Cloud Storage… cloud storage for call recording… fully responsive and easily accessible via the Cloud), and the method is performed in conjunction with an application implemented on the terminal ([0005]: Voice and video media streams are typically carried between the terminals using the Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) or Secure Real-time Transport Protocol (SRTP)).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Janssens further teaches comprising a computer program for performing the method of claim 1 (Fig. 1, [Abstract]: A video call mediating apparatus, method and computer readable recording medium thereof are disclosed; [0028]: Social interaction system 101 is a computer system including one or more computing devices).
Regarding Claim 14, Janssens discloses an electronic apparatus for providing a user profile (Fig. 1; [0039]: The server 10 may receive data from at least one of the first terminal 100, the second terminal 200, and the third terminal 300), the electronic apparatus comprising:
a communication device (Fig. 1; [0036]: The server 10 may be connected to a communication network); and
a processor (Fig. 2; [0111]: Further, at least one of these components may include or may be implemented by a processor), wherein the processor is configured to:
identify states of a plurality of online users accessing a profile provision system (Fig. 3, Fig. 5; [0086]-[0087]: Contact record 507 may further indicate a state 509 of the contact);
determine two or more second users to be displayed in a terminal of a first user if the two or more second users are currently maintaining an active connection to the profile provision system (Fig. 3; [0005]: identifying a plurality of matching users from the first plurality of users based at least in part on the received profile information… determining an ordering in which respective profile information of the identified plurality of matching users are to be presented in a first area of a first user interface to the first user… in association with the communication initiation control… enabling the first user to communicate with the second matching user; Fig. 3; [0056]: Multiple chat sessions may be simultaneously active, and the user interface may provide options for switching between various active sessions; Fig. 6; [0086]-[0091]: The state may indicate the current activity of the user 508… the state is selected from the following possible states… online state… Cards about a user that are shown to a viewer may maintain a special state relating the user and the viewer… Features indicator 605 may indicate a card type based at least in part on features available on the account of the displayed user 603. For example, three features may be identified: whether the displayed user has an active live webcam stream),
wherein the determining of the two or more second users comprises selecting a predetermined number of users, among a plurality of online users, to be the two or more second users, based on a number of good-feeling expressions (Fig. 7A; [0139]: At state 1104, the system determines whether there are any cards with an unviewed "like." If so, then at state 1105 the card with the most recent unviewed "like" is selected and provided for display [cards with an unviewed "like" correspond to a predetermined number of users]),
wherein a portion of the plurality of online users are prohibited from having their good-feeling expressions displayed by the profile provision system (Fig. 3; [0050]-[0052]: The user interface may also include… a like control 308… Optionally, the system provides a control via which the user can indicate a disinterest in another specified user… if a viewing user A activates this control with respect to a profile card for user B… user B may automatically be placed in ignored state and/or any future communication (e.g., chats, visits, likes, gifts, etc.) from user B to user A via the system is optionally not be shown to user A; [0158]: relatively lower ranked contacts are presented lower in the contact list or not displayed at all [This is nonfunctional descriptive material describing different types of information elements that are not functionally involved in the steps recited. None of the claimed steps are depending on any of the information being described]);
provide profile information of the two or more second users to the terminal of the first user ([0005]: causing, at least in part, profile information regarding a first matching user to be presented in the first area of the first user interface; [0042]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example user interface… In various embodiments, the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted),
wherein the profile information of the two or more second users is simultaneously displayed on a first screen of the terminal of the first user (Fig. 3; [0041]-[0049]: An example user-interface may include two or more areas or panes. For example, a first pane or area may be configured to show cards (e.g., profile cards, gift cards, etc.) and card navigation controls… Alternate organizations may be used… In an embodiment, an additional option is provided to allow the user to preview upcoming cards in the feed without dismissing the card being displayed. The user may then be able to select among the previewed cards or remain on the current card; [0096]: In an embodiment… both cards (optionally in a smaller version) may be shown simultaneously. [Nonfunctional descriptive material and is not functionally involved in the step recited. The providing step would be performed the same regardless of the data]).
determine a ranking for the two or more second users based, at least in part, on a number of times of an input of good-feeling expressions performed by the two or more second users, and a time duration during which terminals associated with the two or more second users maintained access to the profile provision system ([0005]: ranking the identified plurality of matching users based at least in part on a first criterion; determining an ordering in which respective profile information of the identified plurality of matching users are to be presented in a first area of a first user interface to the first user based at least in part on respective rankings).
However, Janssens does not explicitly teach “configure a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users to be displayed based on the ranking, wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Rands teaches
configure a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users to be displayed based on the ranking ([0112]: The pairing algorithm can for example be executed at a back-end computer system, and operates as a pairing system to pair users based on one or more pairing criteria; [0182]: FIGS. 10A and 10B illustrate how a user can obtain a list 1002 of his/her matches via the dating app UI at his/her user device; [0194]: That is, the pairing algorithm may be configured such that users with higher engagement scores have a greater likelihood of being paired with other users).
Additionally, Rathod teaches dynamically update the queue list in real-time ([Abstract]: The method and systems for automatically identified currently viewing website domain name… including live chat from the first user and the second user in a communication including live chat queue of the website; [0031]: The object of the present invention is to enable real-time instant messaging (RIM) wherein users can view and respond on message real-time or near real-time. Real-time instant messaging (RIM) application updates and publishes the user's online status; [0195]: In an embodiments user who are in queue can view queuing status in the form of in-queue icon or animation),
wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status to the profile provision system, and wherein users who disconnect from the profile provision system are removed from the queue list within a predetermined time period ([0030]: Real time conversation… as a call, the conversation disappears/removes at the end of Text Call); [0006]: expiration of pre-set duration of timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens to incorporate the teachings of Rands and Rathod to determine a ranking for the two or more second users and configure a queue list to be updated in real time.”
The motivation for doing so would be to determine which users are able to communicate with each, as recognized by Rands ([0112] of Rands: Accordingly, in this context, it is any pairing criteria together with the randomized inputs that determine which users are able to communicate with each other via the dating app) and to alert users when their friends availability or status changes, as recognized by Rathod ([0089] of Rathod: The ability to schedule calls and alert users when their friend's availability/status changes shed some insight on the synergies between planning and communication).
Regarding Claim 15, Janssens discloses a terminal of a first user for providing profiles of a plurality of online users to the first user ([0030]: For example, a user may be an entity that is using a user-interface being displayed on a terminal), the terminal comprising:
a communication device (Fig. 1; [0036]: The server 10 may be connected to a communication network);
an output device (Fig. 1; [0038]: The social interaction system 101 may include one or more input/output (I/O) devices); and
a processor (Fig. 2; [0111]: Further, at least one of these components may include or may be implemented by a processor), wherein the processor is configured to:
access a profile provision system via the communication device (Fig.1; [0029]-[0030]: Social interaction system 101 may include one or more network interfaces for communicating with and over network 102… A user may have a profile accessible by the system and some or all of which may be displayed to other users);
receive profile information about two or more second users accessing the profile provision system, from an electronic apparatus associated with the profile provision system via the communication device (Fig. 3; [0005]: the matching system comprising… identifying a plurality of matching users from the first plurality of users based at least in part on the received profile information… causing at least in part profile information regarding a second matching user to replace the profile information of the first matching user in the first area, wherein the profile information of the second matching user is displayed);
control the output device to simultaneously display the profile information of the two or more second users on a first screen ([0005]: causing, at least in part, profile information regarding a first matching user to be presented in the first area of the first user interface; [0042]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example user interface… In various embodiments, the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted; [0096]: In an embodiment… both cards (optionally in a smaller version) may be shown simultaneously) if the two or more second users are currently maintaining an active connection to the profile provision system (Fig. 6; [0086]-[0091]: The state may indicate the current activity of the user 508… the state is selected from the following possible states… online state… Cards about a user that are shown to a viewer may maintain a special state relating the user and the viewer… Features indicator 605 may indicate a card type based at least in part on features available on the account of the displayed user 603. For example, three features may be identified: whether the displayed user has an active live webcam stream),
wherein the two or more second users are determined by selecting a predetermined number of users, among a plurality of online users accessing the profile provision system, based on a state of each of the plurality of online users, wherein the state is based on a number of good-feeling expressions (Fig. 7A; [0099]: Card-feed 701 includes multiple feed cards 701; Fig. 11; [0139]: At state 1104, the system determines whether there are any cards with an unviewed "like." If so, then at state 1105 the card with the most recent unviewed "like" is selected and provided for display [cards with an unviewed "like" correspond to a predetermined number of users]);
wherein a portion of the plurality of online users are prohibited from having their good-feeling expressions displayed by the profile provision system (Fig. 3; [0050]-[0052]: The user interface may also include… a like control 308… Optionally, the system provides a control via which the user can indicate a disinterest in another specified user… if a viewing user A activates this control with respect to a profile card for user B… user B may automatically be placed in ignored state and/or any future communication (e.g., chats, visits, likes, gifts, etc.) from user B to user A via the system is optionally not be shown to user A; [0158]: relatively lower ranked contacts are presented lower in the contact list or not displayed at all [This is nonfunctional descriptive material describing different types of information elements that are not functionally involved in the steps recited. None of the claimed steps are depending on any of the information being described]);
determine a ranking for the two or more second users based, at least in part, on a number of times of an input of good-feeling expressions performed by the two or more second users, and a time duration during which terminals associated with the two or more second users maintained access to the profile provision system ([0005]: ranking the identified plurality of matching users based at least in part on a first criterion; determining an ordering in which respective profile information of the identified plurality of matching users are to be presented in a first area of a first user interface to the first user based at least in part on respective rankings).
However, Janssens does not explicitly teach “configure a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users to be displayed based on the ranking, wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Rands teaches
configure a queue list that includes a selected one of the two or more second users to be displayed based on the ranking ([0112]: The pairing algorithm can for example be executed at a back-end computer system, and operates as a pairing system to pair users based on one or more pairing criteria; [0182]: FIGS. 10A and 10B illustrate how a user can obtain a list 1002 of his/her matches via the dating app UI at his/her user device; [0194]: That is, the pairing algorithm may be configured such that users with higher engagement scores have a greater likelihood of being paired with other users).
Additionally, Rathod teaches dynamically update the queue list in real-time ([Abstract]: The method and systems for automatically identified currently viewing website domain name… including live chat from the first user and the second user in a communication including live chat queue of the website; [0031]: The object of the present invention is to enable real-time instant messaging (RIM) wherein users can view and respond on message real-time or near real-time. Real-time instant messaging (RIM) application updates and publishes the user's online status; [0195]: In an embodiments user who are in queue can view queuing status in the form of in-queue icon or animation),
wherein at least one of the second users disappear from the queue list based on a real-time check of their connection status to the profile provision system, and wherein users who disconnect from the profile provision system are removed from the queue list within a predetermined time period ([0030]: Real time conversation… as a call, the conversation disappears/removes at the end of Text Call); [0006]: expiration of pre-set duration of timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens to incorporate the teachings of Rands and Rathod to determine a ranking for the two or more second users and configure a queue list to be updated in real time.”
The motivation for doing so would be to determine which users are able to communicate with each, as recognized by Rands ([0112] of Rands: Accordingly, in this context, it is any pairing criteria together with the randomized inputs that determine which users are able to communicate with each other via the dating app) and to alert users when their friends availability or status changes, as recognized by Rathod ([0089] of Rathod: The ability to schedule calls and alert users when their friend's availability/status changes shed some insight on the synergies between planning and communication).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the terminal of claim 15.
Janssens further teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the output device to display the indicator on an upper right side in the profile information of each of the two or more second users (Fig. 3; [0051]: A card-feed may also display and/or maintain counters keeping track of activities by other users. For example, a visit counter 315 may be provided to keep track of the number of visits from other users to a given user's profile, a like counter 316 may be provided to keep track of the number of other users liking the given user's profile, a link counter 317 may be provided keeping track of the number of other users linking with the given user, a gift counter 318 may be provided keeping track of the number of gifts received by the given user from other users, or any other counters).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the terminal of claim 15.
Janssens further teaches further comprising: an input device (Fig. 1; [0038] The social interaction system 101 may include one or more input/output (I/O)), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, via the input device, selection input information indicating that one of the profile information of the two or more second users is selected ([0063]: Optionally, when a person's picture is clicked (e.g., in a chat and/or overview section of the user interface), the corresponding profile may be presented in the card-feed section of the user interface); and
display, via the output device, a second screen including detailed information about the second user corresponding to the selected profile information in response to the reception of the selection input information, wherein the second screen is displayed so that the second screen overlaps the first screen in a pop-up manner ([0042]: The interface may be presented in various formats… In various embodiments, the elements of the interface may be differently arranged, additional elements may be included, and elements may be omitted; [0044]: Interface 301 may be organized into several sections or panes… In an embodiment, the "right" or forward button 307 may optionally be on a separate navigation pane… Alternate organizations may be used; [0126]: Optionally, system messages are displayed in a popup or separate part of the user interface).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the terminal of claim 17.
Janssens further teaches wherein the detailed information includes an image of the second user corresponding to the selected profile information (Fig. 3; [0046]: Card-feed pane 303 displays "cards," which may display profiles of users on the system, among other things. A card may include a profile image 304 (which may be in the form of a picture, drawing, icon, etc.) and whether the second user corresponding to the selected profile information has input a good-feeling expression for the first user ([0053]: For example, badge 310 in the card-feed indicates that the user whose card is being displayed has previously indicated a "like" (e.g., an interest in the user being liked) for the current user, viewing the displayed card),
the second screen further includes a label associated with the second user corresponding to the selected profile information, and the label is located on an upper right side of the image and is displayed differently depending on whether the good-feeling expression has input ([0052]: For example, "like" button 308 records a unidirectional indication that the current user is interested in the user whose card is being displayed (even if the other user does not reciprocate). See also para [0189]).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssens (US 20140040368 A1) in view of Rands (US 20190356715 A1) and Rathod (US 20250379933 A1) and in further view of Hwang et al. (US 20210157462 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the method of claim 1.
However, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod do not explicitly teach “wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image ([0129]: Referring to FIG. 17, in response to elapse of a preset period of time after the profile screen 1630 is displayed on the video chat screen 920… Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer. For example, an animation effect that the reputation badge 1712 acquired from the first user rises from bottom to top may apply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod to incorporate the teachings of Hwang to display a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide various effects for displaying output of the profile information, as recognized by Hwang ([0128]-[0129] of Hwang: If a reputation badge has not been acquired by the second user, the reputation information 1631 may not be displayed on the profile screen 1630…. Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 14.
However, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod do not explicitly teach “wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image ([0129]: Referring to FIG. 17, in response to elapse of a preset period of time after the profile screen 1630 is displayed on the video chat screen 920… Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer. For example, an animation effect that the reputation badge 1712 acquired from the first user rises from bottom to top may apply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod to incorporate the teachings of Hwang to display a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide various effects for displaying output of the profile information, as recognized by Hwang ([0128]-[0129] of Hwang: If a reputation badge has not been acquired by the second user, the reputation information 1631 may not be displayed on the profile screen 1630…. Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer).
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod disclose the terminal of claim 15.
However, the combined teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod do not explicitly teach “wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches wherein the providing of the profile information of the two or more second users comprises displaying a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed, and displaying the profile information after a preset period of time from the display of the motion image ([0129]: Referring to FIG. 17, in response to elapse of a preset period of time after the profile screen 1630 is displayed on the video chat screen 920… Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer. For example, an animation effect that the reputation badge 1712 acquired from the first user rises from bottom to top may apply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Janssens, Rands, and Rathod to incorporate the teachings of Hwang to display a motion image in a region where the profile information is to be displayed.
The motivation for doing so would be to provide various effects for displaying output of the profile information, as recognized by Hwang ([0128]-[0129] of Hwang: If a reputation badge has not been acquired by the second user, the reputation information 1631 may not be displayed on the profile screen 1630…. Various effects about an output form of the reputation badge 1712 may apply to the layer).
Conclusion
23. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S D H/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168