DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10-19 and 21-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,392,771 in view of Urdea et al. (US 2010/0075436).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11, 12, 17-19 and 25 – Claims 1-18 of the ‘771 Patent recite a method that includes the steps of: contacting one or more single cells with a first plurality of capturing synthetic particles, wherein the one or more single cells are capable of secreting a plurality of secreted factors, wherein each capturing synthetic particle comprises a plurality of capture probes capable of specifically binding to at least one of the plurality of secreted factors secreted by a single cell, wherein contacting one or more single cells with a first plurality of capturing synthetic particles comprises partitioning the one or more single cells and the first plurality of capturing synthetic particles to a plurality of first partitions, wherein a first partition of the plurality of first partitions comprises a single cell of the one or more single cells and a single capturing synthetic particle of the first plurality of capturing synthetic particles; pooling the single capturing synthetic particles from each first partition of the plurality of first partitions to generate a second plurality of capturing synthetic particles; contacting the second plurality of capturing synthetic particles with a plurality of secreted factor-binding reagents each capable of specifically binding to a secreted factor bound by a capture probe, wherein each of the plurality of secreted factor-binding reagents comprises a secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotide comprising a unique factor identifier sequence for the secreted factor-binding reagent; hybridizing a plurality of oligonucleotide barcodes with the secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotides, wherein the oligonucleotide barcodes each comprise a first molecular label; extending the plurality of oligonucleotide barcodes hybridized to the secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotides to generate a plurality of barcoded secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotides each comprising a sequence complementary to the unique factor identifier sequence and the first molecular label; and obtaining sequencing data of the plurality of barcoded secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotides to determine the number of copies of the at least one secreted factor secreted by at least one of the one or more single cells. Claims 1-18 of the ‘771 Patent do not recite measuring emissions of a synthetic particle to determine the secretion level of at least one secreted factor secreted by the one or more cells.
Urdea teaches using nanoreactor technology for sample analysis in microfluidic systems. The embodiments of the device and method most relevant to the instant claims are shown in Figures 1-5 and described in Paragraphs 0031-0128. Urdea teaches a plurality of synthetic particles (particles including magnetic beads, see Paragraphs 0039-0040 of Urdea) comprising capture probes (reagents including peptides, nucleic acids, antibodies, proteins, etc., see Paragraphs 0041-0042) each capable of specifically binding to at least one of a plurality of secreted factors secreted by a single cell, and a plurality of secreted factor-binding reagents comprised of a detectable moiety (reporters including quantum dots, see Paragraphs 0043-0044), the factor binding reagents comprising different reagents and different detectable moieties. With respect to the method claims, Urdea recites a method in the claims that includes the steps of contacting a first plurality of beads with a cell sample, partitioning the first beads and contacted cells, then pooling the plurality of partitioned first beads and cells for additional analysis which includes measuring emissions from the detectable moieties using cell sorting equipment. See the claims, especially claims 12-22; the Examples, and Paragraphs 0049-0083. Claims 1-18 of the ‘771 Patent recite obtaining sequencing data of the plurality of barcoded secreted factor-binding reagent specific oligonucleotides to determine the number of copies of the at least one secreted factor secreted by at least one of the one or more single cells, but do not specifically recite measuring emissions from the first particle or barcode oligonucleotide. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the fluorescence cell sorting equipment and particles from Urdea with the method recited in claims 1-18 of the ‘771 Patent. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the fluorescence cell sorting equipment and particles in order to perform optical assays as taught by Urdea.
Regarding claims 8, 10 and 21 - Urdea teaches the use of fluorescence cell sorting equipment in Paragraphs 0126-0127 and quantum dots as the detectable moiety in Paragraphs 0040, 0043 and 0055-0056.
Regarding claims 14 and 16 - Urdea recites identifying proteins or sugars as a part of the cell that may be identified in Paragraphs 0043-0044.
Regarding claim 15 - Urdea discloses use of antibodies as the capture of anchor probe in Paragraph 0042.
Regarding claims 13, 22 and 25 – Claim 9 of the ‘771 Patent recites at least one secreted factor comprising a cytokine.
Regarding claims 23 and 24 – Urdea teaches synthetic particles comprised of magnetic beads in Paragraph 0039-0040.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,392,771 in view of Urdea et al. (US 2010/0075436), and further in view of Fan et al. (2017/0138942) . Claims 1-18 of the ‘771 Patent and Urdea as combined above in Paragraphs 4-11 recite every element of claims 5 and 6 except for the recited microplate dimensions. Fan teaches an array for detecting at least one target in a sample, and in particular a plurality of targets in a sample is disclosed. The array comprises, at least one capture agent or component thereof attached to a substrate, the at least one capture agent capable of specifically binding the at least one target to form a capture agent target binding complex. In Paragraphs 0240-0265, Fan teaches a microplate which may be used for their high throughput method. Fan teaches a microwell array of at least 10-1,000,000 wells in Paragraph 0153. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the microplate from Fan with the combined method recited in the ‘771 Patent and Urdea. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the microplate to the ‘771 Patent and Urdea in order to recite a have an array of containers for performing the method as taught by Fan.
Regarding claim 6 – Fan teaches every element of claim 6 except for the specific combination of well dimensions as recited in claim 6. Fan teaches a microarray of at least 100 microwells and also various dimensions of the wells including aspect ratio and volume in Paragraphs 0148-0167, but does not specifically recite the combination of features recited in claim 6. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to determine the optimal combination of well dimensions including the number of wells, average diameter, volume and aspect ratio through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05, Section II, A - Routine Optimization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10-16, 19 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urdea et al (US 2010/0075436). This rejection was applied to claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 10-16 and 19-24 in Paragraphs 8-14 of the Final Rejection mailed 10/24/26. The rejection has been removed for claim 5, but remains in effect for the other listed claims and also applies to new claim 25. Claim 5 has been added to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below. Please also see Response to Arguments below for a discussion of rejected claims 1 and 19.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urdea et al. (US 2010/075436) in view of Fan et al. (2017/0138942). Urdea, as described in Paragraphs 4-10 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 03/28/25, teaches every element of claims 5 and 6 except for the microplate having well dimensions as recited in claims 5 and 6 and the oligonucleotide barcodes recited in claims 17 and 18. Urdea shows containers for contacting the cell, synthetic particles and reagents, but does not specify a microplate.
Regarding claims 5 and 6 – Urdea teaches use of partitions in Figures 1-5 but does not recite a microplate. Fan teaches an array for detecting at least one target in a sample, and in particular a plurality of targets in a sample is disclosed. The array comprises, at least one capture agent or component thereof attached to a substrate, the at least one capture agent capable of specifically binding the at least one target to form a capture agent target binding complex. In Paragraphs 0240-0265, Fan teaches a microplate which may be used for their high throughput method. Fan teaches a microwell array of at least 10-1,000,000 wells in Paragraph 0153. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective date of the invention to combine the microplate from Fan with the method of Urdea. One of ordinary skill in the art would add the microplate to Urdea in order to have a have an array of containers for performing the method as taught by Fan.
Regarding claim 6 – Fan teaches every element of claim 6 except for the specific combination of well dimensions as recited in claim 6. Fan teaches a microarray of at least 100 microwells and also various dimensions of the wells including aspect ratio and volume in Paragraphs 0148-0167, but does not specifically recite the combination of features recited in claim 6. The Examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to determine the optimal combination of well dimensions including the number of wells, average diameter, volume and aspect ratio through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05, Section II, A - Routine Optimization.
Regarding claims 17 and 18 - Fan teaches an array for detecting at least one target in a sample, and in particular a plurality of targets in a sample is disclosed. The array comprises, at least one capture agent or component thereof attached to a substrate, the at least one capture agent capable of specifically binding the at least one target to form a capture agent target binding complex. In the array, the at least one capture agent or component thereof arranged on the array so that capture agent target
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/26/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urdea et al (US 2010/0075436) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Urdea does not teach “partitioning the one or more single cells and the first plurality of first synthetic particles to a plurality of partitions, wherein a partition of the plurality of partitions comprises a single cell of the one or more single cells and a single first synthetic particle of the first plurality of first synthetic particles” as recited in claim 1 because Urdea does not teach compartmentalizing a cell with the first synthetic particle and instead teaches binding compounds such as proteins, acides, carbohydrates and lipids. Applicant has also argued that Urdea does not teach “wherein the first synthetic particle further comprises a plurality of anchor probes, and wherein each of the plurality of anchor probes is capable of specifically binding to a surface cellular target of a cell” as recited in claim 19. See pages 12-13 of Applicant’s Remarks.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant with respect to both claims and directs Applicant to Paragraphs 0039-0045 of Urdea which teach a synthetic particle having a reporter molecule for binding with a cell. See esp. Paras 0043 and 0045. The Examiner submits Urdea teaches a synthetic particle that binds with a cell in addition to the other possible analytes cited by Applicant from Paragraph 0034 of Urdea.
Conclusion
/DWAYNE K HANDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1798 June 27, 2026
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798