Detailed Action
This office action is final and is in response to claims filed on 04/13/2026 via Amendment. Claims 1, 4-10, 14, and 16 are pending examination. Claims are 1 and 16 are currently amended. Claims 4-10 and 14 are as previously filed.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretations
Applicant has amended the claims under interpretation, and therefore, the previous interpretations have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Applicant has amended the claims at issue, and, therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Applicant has amended the claims at issue, and, therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-10, 14, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20230244442 A1) hereinafter Lee in view of Langhammer et al. (US 20190018673 A1) hereinafter Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi et al (Machine Translation of JP 2018097438 A, as filed with the final rejection filed 09/11/2025) hereinafter Okutomi further in view of Langhammer et al. (US 8645449 B1) hereinafter Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer et al. (US 20190079728 A1) hereinafter Langhammer 3.
With regards to claim 1, Lee teaches A multi-input multi-output adder for performing a multi-input multi-output floating-point operation, comprising: a fixed-point adder circuity configured to perform an intermediate calculation process of the floating-point operation, wherein the intermediate calculation process comprises: (Lee [0212]: FIG. 31 illustrates a MAC operator 1000 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The MAC operator 1000 according to the present embodiment may be applied to the PIM devices 10, 100, and 400, described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, and 20. Referring to FIG. 31, the MAC operator 1000 of the present embodiment may include a multiplying circuit 1100, a floating-point-to-fixed-point converting circuit 1200, an adder tree 1300, an accumulator 1400, and a fixed-point-to-floating-point converter; Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7. Because the multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX have fixed-point formats in which the position of a binary point is fixed, the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree)
adding a first source operand and a second source operand to generate a first summed operand; (Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7. Because the multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX have fixed-point formats in which the position of a binary point is fixed, the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree)
an absolute value converter circuit, coupled to an output of the fixed-point adder circuity, configured to convert an output result from the fixed-point adder circuity into an unsigned number result and to output a symbol thereof; (Lee [0337]: FIG. 55 illustrates an embodiment of the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 in the MAC operator 3000 of FIG. 50. As described with reference to FIG. 50, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may convert the fixed-point format first multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) into floating-point format to output floating-point format MAC result data; Lee [0339]: The 2′s complement circuit 3510 may receive the remaining 31-bit data M_ACC_FIX[30:0] of the fixed-point format multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) except for the MSB, which is the sign bit, and generate and output 2′s complement of the 31-bit data M_ACC_FIX[30:0])
a leading 1 detector circuit, coupled to an output of the absolute value converter circuit, configured to detect a starting bit position of a first 1 of the unsigned number result; (Lee [0341]: The MSB 1 detector 3530 may detect a position of the MSB 1 in the output data OUT[30:0] transmitted from the multiplexer 3520. Here, “MSB 1” may be defined as a most significant bit among the bits with a binary value of “1” in the output data OUT[30:0])
an exponent updater circuit configured to determine an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position, [a rounding result from the rounding circuit,] and an exponent value (Lee [0337]: FIG. 55 illustrates an embodiment of the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 in the MAC operator 3000 of FIG. 50. As described with reference to FIG. 50, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may convert the fixed-point format first multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) into floating-point format to output floating-point format MAC result data MAC_RST_FLT[31:0]. To this end, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may include a 2′s complement circuit 3510, a multiplexer 3520, an MSB 1 detector 3530, and an adder 3540)
wherein a final floating-point result comprises the final mantissa [from the rounding circuit,] the symbol from the absolute value converter circuit, and the exponent from the exponent updater circuit (Lee [0343]: the floating-point format MAC result data MAC_RST_FLT[31:0]; Lee Fig. 55: shows the sign, exponent from the exponent updater, and mantissa being combined)
whereby the intermediate calculation process is performed by the fixed-point adder circuity without requiring normalization and rounding at each addition stage, thereby improving a hardware speed of the multi-input multi-output floating-point operation (Lee [0219]: the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree. Accordingly, overhead of energy and latency due to alignment, normalization, and rounding in the floating-point adder tree may be reduced, and circuit area may also be reduced).
Lee fails to teach performing a direct truncation on at least one last bit of the first summed operand and subsequently performing a right shift on the first truncated-summed operand.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches performing a direct truncation on at least one last bit of the first summed operand (Langhammer 1 [0036]: Therefore, in some embodiments, to control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation, and therefore packing, the operands 201 at each stage (e.g., 208A-208C) or a subset of the stages 208 may be truncated)
[and subsequently] performing a right shift on the first truncated-summed operand (Langhammer 1 [0036]: For example, soft logic circuitry (e.g., logic within the LAB) may right-shift the operands 201 by a bit to truncate the LSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee with the truncation and shifting of Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]).
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 fails to teach That the right shift is performed subsequently to the truncation.
However, Okutomi does teach that the right shift of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 is performed subsequently to the truncation (Okutomi Page 11 Paragraph 6: the right shift of s bits of X. At this time, the lower s bits of X are truncated. That is, before X is divided by M (before X is shifted to the right by s bits)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 with performing the right shift subsequently to the truncation as taught by Okutomi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would make sure the results are aligned properly, making calculations more accurate.
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi fails to teach a left shifter, coupled to the leading 1 detector circuit, configured to shift the unsigned number result based on the starting bit position to generate a normalized mantissa; a rounding circuit, coupled to an output of the left shifter, configured to round the normalized mantissa to generate a final mantissa conforming to a target floating-point format and to output a rounding result [the final mantissa] from the rounding circuit.
However, Langhammer 2 teaches a left shifter, coupled to the leading 1 detector circuit, configured to shift the unsigned number result based on the starting bit position to generate a normalized mantissa; (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 16-18: (if signed numbers are used, leading 1's may be counted as well), and using the leading 0 count 217 to left-shift mantissa 213 at 227)
a rounding circuit, coupled to an output of the left shifter, configured to round the normalized mantissa to generate a final mantissa conforming to a target floating-point format and to output a rounding result; (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 19-21: Normalized mantissa 223 is then rounded, in a manner which may be well-known, by examining one or more rounding bits)
[the final mantissa] from the rounding circuit, (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 19-21: Normalized mantissa 223 is then rounded, in a manner which may be well-known, by examining one or more rounding bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi with the left shifter and rounding circuit as taught by Langhammer 2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the mantissas to be normalized and rounded, increasing the flexibility of the system as the result could then be used with other conventional components.
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 fails to teach [an exponent updater circuit configured to determine an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position,] a rounding result from the rounding circuit, [and an exponent value].
However, Langhammer 3 teaches [an exponent updater circuit configured to determine an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position,] a rounding result from the rounding circuit, [and an exponent value] (Langhammer [0067]: If the intermediate exponent value post mantissa rounding is less than −25 (i.e., when the intermediate result is less than the smallest subnormal number), an underflow condition is detected and the result is flushed to zero).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 with the rounding result from the rounding circuit as taught by Langhammer 3. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the system could continue processing instead of outputting an error due to underflow. Also, In contrast with normal numbers, subnormal numbers are numbers that are specially encoded, with a predetermined minimum exponent and a mantissa component with an implied leading zero. Due to this special encoding, floating-point adders must handle subnormal numbers differently as taught by Langhammer 3 (Langhammer 3 [0004]).
With regards to claim 4, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Lee further teaches wherein the fixed-point adder circuity is an adder tree (Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7).
Lee fails to teach that further comprises a plurality of shifters.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches that further comprises a plurality of shifters (Langhammer 1 [0036]: For example, soft logic circuitry (e.g., logic within the LAB) may right-shift the operands 201 by a bit to truncate the LSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the shifters as taught by Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]).
With regards to claim 5, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 above. Lee further teaches wherein each of the plurality of adders comprises a first adder, (Lee [0220]: The adder tree 1300 may be configured in a tree structure with a plurality of stages. Each of the plurality of stages may include at least one or more adders)
wherein the first adder [direct truncates a last bit of the first summed operand to generate the first truncated-summed operand,] (Lee [0220]: The adder tree 1300 may be configured in a tree structure with a plurality of stages. Each of the plurality of stages may include at least one or more adders).
Lee fails to teach and each of the plurality of shifters comprises a first shifter, [wherein the first adder] direct truncates a last bit of the first summed operand to generate the first truncated-summed operand.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches and each of the plurality of shifters comprises a first shifter, (Langhammer 1 [0036]: Therefore, in some embodiments, to control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation, and therefore packing, the operands 201 at each stage (e.g., 208A-208C) or a subset of the stages 208 may be truncated.. For example, soft logic circuitry (e.g., logic within the LAB) may right-shift the operands 201 by a bit to truncate the LSBs)
[wherein the first adder] direct truncates a last bit of the first summed operand to generate the first truncated-summed operand, (Langhammer 1 [0036]: Therefore, in some embodiments, to control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation, and therefore packing, the operands 201 at each stage (e.g., 208A-208C) or a subset of the stages 208 may be truncated.. For example, soft logic circuitry (e.g., logic within the LAB) may right-shift the operands 201 by a bit to truncate the LSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the shifters as taught by Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]).
With regards to claim 6, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Lee further teaches further comprising: N multipliers, wherein an output end of each of the multipliers is connected to the fixed- point adder circuity, (Lee [0213]: Specifically, the multiplying circuit 1100 may include a plurality of multipliers, for example, first to eighth multipliers MUL0-MUL7 arranged in parallel with each other; Lee Fig. 31: Fig. 31 shows the multipliers connected to the adder tree)
and wherein the fixed-point adder circuity is an adder tree (Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7).
With regards to claim 7, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Lee further teaches [and calculate] the first source operand and the second source operand [according to the maximum exponent extraction mantissas] (Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7. Because the multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX have fixed-point formats in which the position of a binary point is fixed, the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree)
Lee fails to teach at least one maximum exponent extractor circuit configured to: receive a plurality of floating-point operands determine a first floating-point operand with a largest exponent from the floating-point operands align an exponent of each of remaining floating-point operands of the floating-point operands with the largest exponent of the first floating-point operand such that a mantissa of each of the remaining floating-point operands is right shifted to generate a plurality of maximum exponent extraction mantissas and calculate [the first source operand and the second source operand] according to the maximum exponent extraction mantissas.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches at least one maximum exponent extractor circuit configured to: receive a plurality of floating-point operands (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The block floating point exponents from each block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-C) may be sorted by a circuit 902, which may select and output the maximum block floating point exponent received from the block floating point trees 800A-C);
determine a first floating-point operand with a largest exponent from the floating-point operands (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The block floating point exponents from each block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-C) may be sorted by a circuit 902, which may select and output the maximum block floating point exponent received from the block floating point trees 800A-C.);
align an exponent of each of remaining floating-point operands of the floating-point operands with the largest exponent of the first floating-point operand (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The outputs from the subtractors 904 may then feed into a set of shifters 906A-906C to normalize the block floating point mantissas. As such, each of the shifters 906A-906C may right shift a respective block floating point mantissa of a corresponding block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-800C) a number of bits corresponding to the respective output of the subtractor 904),
such that a mantissa of each of the remaining floating-point operands is right shifted to generate a plurality of maximum exponent extraction mantissas (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The outputs from the subtractors 904 may then feed into a set of shifters 906A-906C to normalize the block floating point mantissas. As such, each of the shifters 906A-906C may right shift a respective block floating point mantissa of a corresponding block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-800C) a number of bits corresponding to the respective output of the subtractor 904);
and calculate the [first source operand and the second source operand] according to the maximum exponent extraction mantissas (Langhammer 1 [0081]: embodiment of a block floating point combination tree 900 that may implement the summation of multiple block floating point trees 800).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the maximum exponent extractors and alignment as taught by Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]). Also, it would make sure that the operands are aligned, making calculations more efficient.
With regards to claim 8, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Lee fails to teach wherein a bit number of the right shift of the mantissa of the each of the remaining floating-point operands is a difference value between the exponent of each of the remaining floating-point operands and the maximum exponent, respectively.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches wherein a bit number of the right shift of the mantissa of the each of the remaining floating-point operands is a difference value between the exponent of each of the remaining floating-point operands and the maximum exponent, respectively (Langhammer 1 [0081]: A set of subtractors 904 may couple to the circuit 902 and may then subtract each block floating point exponent from this maximum block floating point exponent. The outputs from the subtractors 904 may then feed into a set of shifters 906A-906C to normalize the block floating point mantissas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the alignment as taught by Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]). Also, it would make sure that the operands are aligned, making calculations more efficient.
With regards to claim 10, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Lee further teaches further comprising: a signed number converter circuit configured to: perform signed number conversion according to a symbol of each of the floating-point operands to generate signed number conversion mantissas, respectively, wherein the first source operand and the second source operand are two of the signed number conversion mantissas (Lee [0238]: Referring to FIG. 35, the first floating-point-to-fixed-point converter FFCO may receive the floating-point format first multiplication result data M0_FLT that is output from the first multiplier MUL0, and output the fixed-point format first multiplication result data M0_FIX; Lee [0240]: The 2′s complement circuit 1230 may receive the fixed-point format shifted and rounded first multiplication result data M0_FIX_SHIF_RD that is output from the round circuit 1220. The 2′s complement circuit 1230 may output the 2′s complement for the shifted and rounded first multiplication result data M0_FIX_SHIF_RD).
With regards to claim 14, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Lee further teaches wherein inputs and outputs of the adder circuity are in floating-point format (Lee [0212]: the MAC operator 1000 of the present embodiment may include a multiplying circuit 1100, a floating-point-to-fixed-point converting circuit 1200, an adder tree 1300, an accumulator 1400, and a fixed-point-to-floating-point converter; Lee Fig. 31: shows the inputs being floating point and the output being floating point).
With regards to claim 16, Lee teaches A method operated by a multi-input multi-output adder for performing a multi-input multi-output floating-point operation, comprising: performing, by a fixed-point adder circuity of the multi-input multi-output adder, an intermediate calculation process of the floating-point operation, wherein the intermediate calculation process comprises: (Lee [0212]: FIG. 31 illustrates a MAC operator 1000 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The MAC operator 1000 according to the present embodiment may be applied to the PIM devices 10, 100, and 400, described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, and 20. Referring to FIG. 31, the MAC operator 1000 of the present embodiment may include a multiplying circuit 1100, a floating-point-to-fixed-point converting circuit 1200, an adder tree 1300, an accumulator 1400, and a fixed-point-to-floating-point converter; Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7. Because the multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX have fixed-point formats in which the position of a binary point is fixed, the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree)
adding, by the fixed-point adder circuity of the multi-input multi-output adder, a first source operand and a second source operand to generate a first summed operand; (Lee [0219]: The adder tree 1300 may perform adding operations on the floating-point format multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX that is output from the floating-point-to-fixed-point converters FFCO-FFC7. Because the multiplication result data M0_FIX-M7_FIX have fixed-point formats in which the position of a binary point is fixed, the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree)
converting, by an absolute value converter circuit coupled to an output of the fixed-point adder circuity, an output result from the fixed-point adder circuity into an unsigned number result and outputting a symbol thereof; (Lee [0337]: FIG. 55 illustrates an embodiment of the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 in the MAC operator 3000 of FIG. 50. As described with reference to FIG. 50, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may convert the fixed-point format first multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) into floating-point format to output floating-point format MAC result data; Lee [0339]: The 2′s complement circuit 3510 may receive the remaining 31-bit data M_ACC_FIX[30:0] of the fixed-point format multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) except for the MSB, which is the sign bit, and generate and output 2′s complement of the 31-bit data M_ACC_FIX[30:0])
detecting, by a leading 1 detector circuit coupled to an output of the absolute value converter circuit, a starting bit position of a first 1 of the unsigned number result; (Lee [0341]: The MSB 1 detector 3530 may detect a position of the MSB 1 in the output data OUT[30:0] transmitted from the multiplexer 3520. Here, “MSB 1” may be defined as a most significant bit among the bits with a binary value of “1” in the output data OUT[30:0])
determining, by an exponent updater circuit, an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position, [a rounding result from the rounding circuit,] and an exponent value (Lee [0337]: FIG. 55 illustrates an embodiment of the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 in the MAC operator 3000 of FIG. 50. As described with reference to FIG. 50, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may convert the fixed-point format first multiplication-accumulation data M_ACC_FIX[31:0] transmitted from the accumulator (3400 of FIG. 50) into floating-point format to output floating-point format MAC result data MAC_RST_FLT[31:0]. To this end, the fixed-point-to-floating-point converter 3500 may include a 2′s complement circuit 3510, a multiplexer 3520, an MSB 1 detector 3530, and an adder 3540)
wherein a final floating-point result comprises the final mantissa [from the rounding circuit,] the symbol from the absolute value converter circuit, and the exponent from the exponent updater circuit, (Lee [0343]: the floating-point format MAC result data MAC_RST_FLT[31:0]; Lee Fig. 55: shows the sign, exponent, and mantissa being combined)
whereby the intermediate calculation process is performed by the fixed-point adder circuity without requiring normalization and rounding at each addition stage, thereby improving a hardware speed of the multi-input multi-output floating-point operation (Lee [0219]: the adder tree 1300 may be configured as a fixed-point adder tree. Accordingly, overhead of energy and latency due to alignment, normalization, and rounding in the floating-point adder tree may be reduced, and circuit area may also be reduced).
Lee fails to teach performing, by the fixed-point adder circuity, a direct truncation on at least one last bit of the first summed operand and subsequently performing, by the fixed-point adder circuity, a right shift on the first truncated-summed operand to generate a first shifted-summed operand.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches performing, by the fixed-point adder circuity, a direct truncation on at least one last bit of the first summed operand (Langhammer 1 [0036]: Therefore, in some embodiments, to control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation, and therefore packing, the operands 201 at each stage (e.g., 208A-208C) or a subset of the stages 208 may be truncated)
[subsequently performing,] by the fixed-point adder circuity, a right shift on the first truncated-summed operand to generate a first shifted-summed operand (Langhammer 1 [0036]: For example, soft logic circuitry (e.g., logic within the LAB) may right-shift the operands 201 by a bit to truncate the LSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee with the truncation and shifting of Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]).
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 fails to teach That the right shift is performed subsequently to the truncation.
However, Okutomi does teach that the right shift of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 is performed subsequently to the truncation (Okutomi Page 11 Paragraph 6: the right shift of s bits of X. At this time, the lower s bits of X are truncated. That is, before X is divided by M (before X is shifted to the right by s bits)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 with performing the right shift subsequently to the truncation as taught by Okutomi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would make sure the results are aligned properly, making calculations more accurate.
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi fails to teach shifting, by a left shifter coupled to the leading 1 detector circuit, the unsigned number result based on the starting bit position to generate a normalized mantissa; rounding, by a rounding circuit coupled to an output of the left shifter, the normalized mantissa to generate a final mantissa conforming to a target floating-point format and outputting a rounding result [the final mantissa] from the rounding circuit,.
However, Langhammer 2 teaches shifting, by a left shifter coupled to the leading 1 detector circuit, the unsigned number result based on the starting bit position to generate a normalized mantissa; (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 16-18: (if signed numbers are used, leading 1's may be counted as well), and using the leading 0 count 217 to left-shift mantissa 213 at 227)
rounding, by a rounding circuit coupled to an output of the left shifter, the normalized mantissa to generate a final mantissa conforming to a target floating-point format and outputting a rounding result; (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 19-21: Normalized mantissa 223 is then rounded, in a manner which may be well-known, by examining one or more rounding bits)
[the final mantissa] from the rounding circuit, (Langhammer 2 Column 5 Lines 19-21: Normalized mantissa 223 is then rounded, in a manner which may be well-known, by examining one or more rounding bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi with the left shifter and rounder as taught by Langhammer 2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the mantissas to be normalized and rounded, increasing the flexibility of the system as the result could then be used with other conventional components.
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 fails to teach [determining, by an exponent updater circuit, an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position,] a rounding result from the rounding circuit, [and an exponent value].
However, Langhammer 3 teaches [determining, by an exponent updater circuit, an exponent of an output result according to the starting bit position,] a rounding result from the rounding circuit, [and an exponent value] (Langhammer [0067]: If the intermediate exponent value post mantissa rounding is less than −25 (i.e., when the intermediate result is less than the smallest subnormal number), an underflow condition is detected and the result is flushed to zero).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 with the rounding result from the rounding circuit as taught by Langhammer 3. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the system could continue processing instead of outputting an error due to underflow. Also, In contrast with normal numbers, subnormal numbers are numbers that are specially encoded, with a predetermined minimum exponent and a mantissa component with an implied leading zero. Due to this special encoding, floating-point adders must handle subnormal numbers differently as taught by Langhammer 3 (Langhammer 3 [0004]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 further in view of Lo et al. (US 20190347072 A1) hereinafter Lo.
With regards to claim 9, Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Lee fails to teach wherein when a number of the maximum exponent extractor circuit is multiple, the floating- point operands received by each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits are a plurality of floating-point operands that have been divided into a plurality of groups and wherein each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits is configured to receive a respective one of the plurality of groups.
However, Langhammer 1 teaches wherein when a number of the maximum exponent extractor circuit is [multiple,] (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The block floating point exponents from each block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-C) may be sorted by a circuit 902, which may select and output the maximum block floating point exponent received from the block floating point trees 800A-C).
the floating- point operands received by each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits are a plurality of floating-point operands [that have been divided into a plurality of groups] (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The block floating point exponents from each block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-C) may be sorted by a circuit 902, which may select and output the maximum block floating point exponent received from the block floating point trees 800A-C)
and wherein each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits is configured to receive a respective one [of the plurality of groups] (that have been divided into a plurality of groups] (Langhammer 1 [0081]: The block floating point exponents from each block floating point tree (e.g., 800A-C) may be sorted by a circuit 902, which may select and output the maximum block floating point exponent received from the block floating point trees 800A-C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the alignment as taught by Langhammer 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would control the growth of the results of an arithmetic operation as taught by Langhammer 1 reducing storage costs (Langhammer 1 [0036]). Also, as a result, arithmetic operations may pack more efficiently onto an integrated circuit with increased precision and performance as taught by Langhammer 1 (Langhammer 1 [0025]). Also, it would make sure that the operands are aligned, making calculations more efficient.
Lee in view of Langhammer 1 fails to teach that there are multiple maximum exponent extractor circuits, [the floating- point operands received by each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits are a plurality of floating-point operands] that have been divided into a plurality of groups, [and wherein each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits is configured to receive a respective one] of the plurality of groups.
However, Lo teaches that there are multiple maximum exponent extractor circuits (Lo [0106]: selecting the shared exponent value by determining one of a maximum exponent value or a minimum exponent value based at least on the identified exponent values to define a global shared exponent and a finer granularity shared exponent for each of the grouped mantissas).
[the floating- point operands received by each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits are a plurality of floating-point operands] that have been divided into a plurality of groups (Lo [0106]: selecting the shared exponent value by determining one of a maximum exponent value or a minimum exponent value based at least on the identified exponent values to define a global shared exponent and a finer granularity shared exponent for each of the grouped mantissas)
[and wherein each of the maximum exponent extractor circuits is configured to receive a respective one] of the plurality of groups (Lo [0106]: selecting the shared exponent value by determining one of a maximum exponent value or a minimum exponent value based at least on the identified exponent values to define a global shared exponent and a finer granularity shared exponent for each of the grouped mantissas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee in view of Langhammer 1 further in view of Okutomi further in view of Langhammer 2 further in view of Langhammer 3 with the multiple exponent extractors as taught by Lo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because as such, finer-grained shared exponents can be realized efficiently on, for example, a block floating point accelerator that can improve accuracy as taught by Lo (Lo [0050]). Also, This would allow for multiple conversions to happen in parallel speeding up operations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.O.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/NICHOLAS KLICOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118