DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Remarks
The remarks filed 6 March 2026 have been fully considered.
The applicant argued with regard to the drawing objection that fig. 2, 4 “clearly show the lever extending through the center of the lid.” However, fig. 2-4 show other features of the adjustment mechanism extending through the center of the lid, not the lever. Note that fig. 3 clearly shows the lever does not extend through the lid.
The amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the most recent Office Action. Accordingly, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, the amendments to claims 1 and 3 introduce new matter into the disclosure and are, thus, rejected under § 112(a); and, upon further consideration, new grounds are set forth for claim 5 in view of Beber et al. (US 2011/0139017 A1). See the current rejections below.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Although the rotatable lever 26 is shown (see, e.g., fig. 3), it is not shown to extend “through a center of said lid”, as required in claims 1, 3 and 5. Matter of fact, it does not even extend to a top of the lid. Instead, the adjustment mechanism 28 is illustrated as extending through a center of the lid. Therefore, a rotatable lever that extends through a center of said lid must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: the second instance of “disk body” in the third to last line of the claim should be deleted since it is redundant.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement; any claims not directly addressed are only rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for being dependent on a rejected base claim. The claim(s) contain(s) subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
In re claim 1: no support could be found in the specification or drawings for “said adjustment mechanism includes a plurality of axial lugs configured to interface with a sleeve in said lid through which said adjustment mechanism extends, said lugs corresponding to said plurality of markings in the form of numbers”. In the remarks filed 6 March 2026, the applicant contends that support is to be found in at least fig. 4 and ¶ 18. However, the specification does not discuss any lugs or any feature that could reasonably be interpreted as the claimed lugs, and none of the figures are sufficient in and of themselves to provide the necessary support for the claimed lugs. Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary defines a lug as “something that projects”, but the features shown in fig. 4 that the applicant is referring to as the lugs can just as well be interpreted as grooves. Further, the specification does not discuss any feature interfacing with the sleeve or that the alleged lugs correspond to the markings/numbers on the lid, and these claimed features also cannot be ascertained strictly from the drawings. For at least these reasons, the newly added limitation of claim 1 enters new matter into the disclosure.
In re claim 3: no support could be found in the specification or drawings for “said adjustment mechanism includes a plurality of axial lugs configured to interface with a sleeve in said lid through which said adjustment mechanism extends”. In the remarks filed 6 March 2026, the applicant contends that support is to be found in at least fig. 4 and ¶ 18. However, the specification does not discuss any lugs or any feature that could reasonably be interpreted as the claimed lugs, and none of the figures are sufficient in and of themselves to provide the necessary support for the claimed lugs. Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary defines a lug as “something that projects”, but the features shown in fig. 4 that the applicant is referring to as the lugs can just as well be interpreted as grooves. Further, the specification does not discuss any feature interfacing with the sleeve or that the alleged lugs correspond to the markings/numbers on the lid, and these claimed features also cannot be ascertained strictly from the drawings. For at least these reasons, this newly added limitation of claim 3 enters new matter into the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gushwa (US 2013/ 0134245 A1), in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0144723 A1), Blouse et al. (US 6,929,201 B1), Wilson et al. (US 2012/0006922 A1), and Beber et al. (US 2011/0139017 A1).
In re claim 5: Gushwa discloses a food processor, comprising:
a work bowl 20 having a lid 28 received on top of the work bowl 20 (fig. 1);
a circular slicing assembly 16, said slicing assembly having a blade element 32 and a disk body 34 having a planar separation from one another (fig. 4), said slicing assembly 16 being driven by a motor 14 to slice food pieces off a food item (fig. 3-4), said slicing assembly 16 being positionable between a plurality of slicing positions to produce slices of food pieces of varying thicknesses D (fig. 3-4);
an adjustment mechanism 106 operatively connected to said lid 28, and said adjustment mechanism 106 being operable to move said slicing assembly 16 between said plurality of slicing positions (fig. 3-4), said adjustment mechanism 106 including a rotatable knob 112, 120 accessible from a top of said lid 28 (fig. 3-4);
wherein said rotatable knob 112, 120 is rotatable for selecting one of said plurality of slicing positions (fig. 3-4), such that a user can adjust a thickness of cut food pieces during the operation of said food processor (see D, fig. 3-4);
wherein a portion 120 of said rotatable lever 112, 120 extends through a center of said lid 28 (fig. 3-4); and
wherein said rotatable lever 112, 120 is fully engaged with said adjustment mechanism 106 during operation of said slicing assembly 16 regardless of position of said rotatable lever 112, 120 (fig. 3-4); and
wherein said adjustment mechanism 106 is attached to said disk body 34 (fig. 3-4).
Gushwa is silent regarding the rotatable knob being a lever having a portion that extends toward a peripheral edge of the lid.
However, Wang teaches a food processor comprising an adjustment mechanism including a rotatable lever 222, 224 having a portion 224 extending toward a peripheral edge of a lid 200 (fig. 14, 10, 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gushwa’s knob such that it is a lever, as taught by Wang, because selecting from known types of rotatable grips allowing for sufficient functionality would be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
Modified Gushwa is silent regarding said lid including a plurality of markings corresponding to said plurality of slice thicknesses; wherein said rotatable lever is rotatable between said plurality of markings for selecting one of said plurality of slice thicknesses.
However, Blouse teaches the concept of providing a food grinder/processor having an adjustment mechanism (31, fig. 1) moving axially to adjust the gap between inner and outer grinding members (18, 11). The adjustment mechanism protrudes out of the top/lid of the grinder/processor and includes a plurality of markings/indicia (36) around the adjustment mechanism to indicate a selected position of the grinding members which, in turn, indicates the gap size of the grinding assembly and the coarseness/thickness of the material (col. 2, ln. 59-61; fig. 3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lid of Gushwa with the plurality of markings viewable from outside of the enclosure, as taught by Blouse, in order to indicate a selected position of the cutter and therefore the gap size of the cutting assembly as desired by the end user, thereby obtaining the benefit of more accurately adjusting the depth position of the cutter to allow for more accuracy and ease of adjustment.
Modified Gushwa does not explicitly teach the plurality of markings are in the form of numbers.
However, Wilson teaches a food processor comprising an adjustment mechanism that can be adjusted to different settings to change the size of product (¶ 38), and the settings can be indicated by numbers (¶ 69). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gushwa such that the markings are numbers, as taught by Wilson, because selecting from known types of markings allowing for sufficient functionality would be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
Modified Gushwa does not teach said adjustment mechanism is attached to said blade element to move said blade element relative to said disk body.
Beber teaches a food processor (fig. 1) comprising an adjustment mechanism 44 attached to a blade element 32 to move the blade element 32 relative to a disk body 34 (fig. 2-3 and ¶ 42). Beber further teaches an alternative embodiment wherein the disk body 34 is moved relative to the blade element 32 instead (fig. 6-8 and ¶ 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gushwa in the claimed manner, as taught by Beber, because selecting from known configurations of adjusting mechanisms, blade elements, and disk bodies allowing for sufficient thickness adjusting functionality would be obvious to the ordinary artisan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) set forth in this Office Action. However, note that if said rejections are overcome by deleting the new matter from the claims, then the previous prior art rejections will apply.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In re claim 1, the cited prior art does not teach “said adjustment mechanism includes a plurality of axial lugs configured to interface with a sleeve in said lid through which said adjustment mechanism extends, said lugs corresponding to said plurality of markings in the form of numbers” when these features are combined with all the other limitations of claim 1. And it would not be obvious to modify Gushwa to include these features.
In re claim 3, the cited prior art does not teach “said adjustment mechanism includes a plurality of axial lugs configured to interface with a sleeve in said lid through which said adjustment mechanism extends” when these features are combined with all the other limitations of claim 1. And it would not be obvious to modify Gushwa to include these features.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725