DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This action is in response to the election of restriction filed on May 5, 2025. Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group 1 corresponding to claims 1-10 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 11-20 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 19, 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the second sentence is not grammatically proper. The sentence is not a complete sentence because the sentence has no verb or action and merely includes a list of items as clauses. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein the second ball comprises: a third color disposed on a portion of the surface of the first ball.” Because this clause describes the second ball, it is believed the reference to the first ball is a typographical error and this should read --wherein the second ball comprises: a third color disposed on a portion of the surface of the second ball--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “wherein at least the first ball is disposed in a framework with at least a portion of the ball exposed.” However, as the claim recites a first ball and a second ball; therefore, reference to “the ball” could be confusing. Therefore, clarifying language, such as -- wherein at least the first ball is disposed in a framework with at least a portion of the first ball exposed. -- is suggested to provide clear antecedent for this term.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. In this instance claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 9 recite a generic place holder “apparatus” with recited functions such as, configured to suspend the first ball in a first orientation associated with the first therapy, configured to suspend the second ball in a second orientation associated with the second therapy, to rotate at least the first ball about the first axis of rotation and the second ball about the second axis of rotation, and select the first ball that includes the first pattern correlated to the first user condition; and a generic place holder “device” with recited functions, such as configured to: receive a user input from a user associated with a first user condition; correlate the first user condition to the first pattern, without any corresponding structure.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The device is a processor (¶9) and apparatus is a wire (¶20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over JP Publication No. JP 3159434 by Liangdong (“Liangdong”) in view of US Publication No. 2008/0015058 by Noble et al. (“Noble”).
In re claim 1, Liangdong discloses a system of patterned balls configured for use in therapies [Fig. 1, ¶¶1, 27, 30], the system comprising: a first ball [Figs. 1, 2-5 show multiple balls #24 (e.g., a first ball of the plurality of balls)], wherein the first ball comprises: a first color disposed on a portion of the surface of the first ball and a second color disposed on a portion of the surface of the first ball; a first pattern comprising the first color and the second color disposed on the first ball associated with a first therapy [¶¶27-30 describes each ball (e.g., a first of the plurality of balls) has colors with pattern (roulette, which is a two color pattern) and therapist specifies the color to patient for the desired therapy. In addition, the current recitation of colors and a pattern are directed to non-function descriptive material or indicia that does not further limit the structure of the claimed system (i.e., there is no function relation between the ball and the colors other than a medium of support for the indicia) and therefore doesn’t not further limit the claim with respect to the prior art1. Moreover, the language “associated with a therapy” recites an intended use of the system which does not further limit the structure of the claim with regard to prior art2]; a second ball, wherein the second ball comprises: a third color disposed on a portion of the surface of the first ball and a fourth color disposed on a portion of the surface of the second ball; a second pattern comprising the third color and the fourth color disposed on the second ball associated with a second therapy [¶¶27-30 describes each ball (e.g., a second of the plurality of balls) has color with pattern (roulette, which is a two color pattern) and therapist specifies the color to patient for the desired therapy. In addition, the current recitation of colors and a pattern are directed to non-function descriptive material or indicia that does not further limit the structure of the claimed system (i.e., there is no function relation between the ball and the colors other than a medium of support for the indicia) and therefore doesn’t not further limit the claim with respect to the prior art3. Moreover, the language “associated with a therapy” recites an intended use of the system which does not further limit the structure of the claim with regard to prior art4]; a suspension assembly, wherein the suspension assembly comprises: a first suspension apparatus configured to suspend the first ball in a first orientation associated with the first therapy; a second suspension apparatus configured to suspend the second ball in a second orientation associated with the second therapy; and a rotation apparatus configured to rotate at least the first ball and the second ball [Fig. 1 shows a suspension assembly, the assembly includes a suspension apparatus for suspending each ball associated with a therapy in an orientation (e.g., cord 23a) and rotation mechanism ¶¶22-28 describe therapies and ¶¶33-35 describe an assembly. Moreover, the language “associated with a therapy” recites an intended use of the system which does not further limit the structure of the claim with regard to prior art5].
While Liangdong teaches the use of multiple balls, Liangdong doesn’t explicitly disclose an axis of rotation about which each of the balls rotate.
However, Noble teaches a system of a suspended ball configured for use in therapies including suspension apparatus and rotation apparatus for multiple balls [Figs. 1-7, ¶¶60-70 the ball spins around an axis of rotation tether 500 may include a coupler 218 with swivel mount allowing rotation around an axis].
Liangdong and Noble are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of therapy using suspended balls. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liangdong and include the coupler to providing spin and rotation of the balls around an axis from a suspension apparatus, as taught by Noble, in order to provide predictable movement of the ball in response to user touching the ball, for example, allowing a ball to spin smoothly without kinking or twisting the cord after touching and in order to provide an improved user experience, for example, by providing additional types a exercises.
In re claim 3, Liangdong disclose the first suspension apparatus is mechanically coupled to the first ball at the first axis of rotation [¶¶32,35 describe attaching ball 24 to cord 23a with a mechanical member 25].
In re claim 4, Liangdong disclose the rotation apparatus is configured to rotate the first ball for a first amount of time [¶34 describes rotation mechanism for rotating the balls. The rotation mechanism is mechanical and not instantaneous and therefore rotates the ball for some amount of time].
In re claim 5, Liangdong discloses the first suspension apparatus includes a first wire with a first length associated with the first therapy [¶¶24,27 describe different length cords for the balls associated with different therapies. In addition, the language “associated with a therapy” recites an intended use of the system which does not further limit the structure of the claim with regard to prior art].
In re claim 6, Liangdong discloses the first suspension apparatus is mechanically coupled to the rotation apparatus at a first end, and mechanically coupled to the first ball at a second end [¶¶32 describes both ends of the hanging string 23 are attached to the distal end of the linear elastic body 21 and the engaging member 25 of the spherical body 24].
In re claim 9, Liangdong discloses the suspension assembly is configurable to have a second length associated with the second therapy [¶¶24,27 describe different lengths of cord 23a with different therapies (e.g., difficulties). In addition, the language “associated with a therapy” recites an intended use of the system which does not further limit the structure of the claim with regard to prior art].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liangdong in view of Noble and further in view of US Publication No. 2014/0007009 by Kulusky et al. (“Kulusky”).
In re claim 2, Liangdong teaches providing therapies for conditions. In particular, a therapist is able to correlate a user’s condition and direct them to an associated ball for therapy, see, e.g., ¶30. However, Liangdong lacks any teaching of a computer device for selecting the ball corresponding to therapy.
However, Kulusky teaches, a computing device Fig. 3, the computing device configured to: receive a user input from a user associated with a first user condition; correlate the first user condition to a therapy; and select therapy correlated to the first user condition [Figs. 3 and 4,¶¶68-78 describe receiving a user input (e.g., from a camera) and a therapy application may also be automatically selected based on a determined medical condition of the user (correlation) determined from the input].
Liangdong and Kulusky are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of physical therapy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liangdong to replace selection by the therapist with the computer, as taught by Kulusky, in order to improve user experience, for example, providing care/therapy to the patient when a therapist isn’t available to assist.
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liangdong in view of Noble and further in view of Chinese Publication No. CN 208049330 by Ma (“Ma”).
In re claim 7, Liangdong lacks, but Ma teaches, a suspension assembly includes a framework in which the first ball and the second ball are disposed within [Figs. 1 and 3 show framework for holding two different balls 13 within the framework].
Liangdong and Ma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of training devices using balls. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liangdong to substitute one holding mechanism to suspend a ball (e.g., 23a, 25) with another, e.g., the framework, as taught by Noble, in order to provide predictable result of securing a ball in a training apparatus and/or to provide flexibility of training by arranged in the balls in different manners, see, e.g., Beneficial effects 1 and 2(p. 3 of translation).
In re claim 8, Liangdong lacks, but Ma teaches, at least the first ball is disposed within a recess in the suspension assembly [Fig. 3 shows framework 3 with ball in recess with suspension assembly 5/4 for holding a first ball 13 within the recess of the framework].
Liangdong and Ma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of training devices using balls. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liangdong and substitute one holding mechanism to suspend a ball (e.g., 23a, 25) with another, e.g., the framework with recess, as taught by Noble, in order to provide predictable result of securing a ball in a training apparatus and/or to provide flexibility of training by arranged in the balls in different manners, see, e.g., Beneficial effects 1 and 2 (p. 3 of translation).
In re claim 10, Liangdong lacks, but Ma teaches, at least the first ball is disposed in a framework with at least a portion of the ball exposed [Fig. 3 shows framework 3 with ball in recess with suspension assembly 5/4 for holding a first ball 13 within the recess of the framework where a portion of the ball is exposed].
Liangdong and Ma are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of training devices using balls. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Liangdong and substitute one holding mechanism to suspend a ball (e.g., 23a, 25) with another, e.g., the framework with ball exposed, as taught by Noble, in order to provide predictable result of securing a ball in a training apparatus and/or to provide flexibility of training by arranged in the balls in different manners, see, e.g., Beneficial effects 1 and 2 (p. 3 of translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
US 2007/0084095 provides different colored patterns to help users identify spin and train with balls.
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 See, MPEP 2111.05.
2 . A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
3 See, MPEP 2111.05.
4 . A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
5 . A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).