Continued Examination
In response to the Pre-Brief Appeal Conference (AP.PRE.DEC) mailed 10/16/2025, a determination was made that the previous rejection was not fully supported. Prosecution is hereby reopened, and this Non-Final Office Action is being issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikita et al. (US 20200359507 A1), and further in view of Osone et al. (US 20070176298 A1), Chen et al. (US 20210066252 A1), and Reisner et al. (US 20150303971 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Chikita teaches a radio-frequency module comprising:
a module substrate (Fig. 5; examiner is interpreting mounting substrate 62 to be a module substrate. See [0117]);
a semiconductor device (Fig. 5; examiner is interpreting a portion of RF module 1A not in the second resin 72 to be a semiconductor device) mounted on or in the module substrate (Fig. 5; see the semiconductor device on the module substrate 62), the semiconductor device including a radio-frequency amplifier circuit (Chikita teaches in [0087] – [0088] a low noise amplifier 42, interpreted to be a radio-frequency amplifier circuit, mounted on the second mounting surface 160B. As Chikita does not address the low noise amplifier 42 in the second embodiment, it is understood from [0115] that the low noise amplifier 42 is instead mounted on an analogous surface 162B in Fig. 5) and a band selection switch (Fig. 1; examiner is interpreting switch 11, included in switch IC 10 as disclosed in [0049], and filters 21 and 22 to be a band selection switch as they direct signals to different paths and filter signals based on the filters’ selected frequency band. See [0051], [0054], and [0113]); and
an output matching circuit (Fig. 1; inductors 32b and 32c) disposed on or in the module substrate (Figs. 1 and 5. Chikita’s output matching circuit are in second resin 72 and mounted to mounting substrate 62. See [0080]), the output matching circuit being coupled between the radio-frequency amplifier circuit and the band selection switch (Fig. 1; wherein inductors 32b and 32c couple low noise amplifier 42 to the band selection switch), wherein
the band selection switch is configured to output an inputted radio-frequency signal from a contact (Fig. 1; one selection terminal from the plurality of selection terminals 111 to 115) selected from a plurality of contacts (plurality of selection terminals 111 to 115),
the semiconductor device includes
a first member (Fig. 5; third resin 73 includes switch IC 10 ([0131]), and switch IC 10 is taught in [0049] to include switch 11) including the band selection switch (switch IC 10 includes switch 11) …
However, Chikita remains silent on a first member including a semiconductor element made of an elemental semiconductor; and a second member joined to the first member in surface contact with the first member, the second member including the radio-frequency amplifier circuit including a semiconductor element made of a compound semiconductor.
Regarding the relative position of the band selection switch and the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, Chikita discloses in [0087] – [0089] a configuration wherein the band selection switch is over the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, as is being claimed by the applicant, albeit with absence of a second member as intended by the applicant. Chikita teaches the low noise amplifier 42, i.e., the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, being mounted on the second mounting face 162B; further, Chikita teaches in [0089] that low noise amplifiers 41 and 42 may be mounted on a substrate different from the mounting substrate disclosed.
In the same field of endeavor, Osone teaches forming a radio-frequency (RF) – IC in a separate module than the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, taught as a power amp ([0012]). In Fig. 32 ([0122]), the power amp is in a second semiconductor element 702, and RF-IC is formed from first semiconductor element 701. Osone’s radio-frequency (RF) – IC may be representative of Chikita’s switch IC 10 ([0012] – [0013]). The examiner is interpreting a second semiconductor element 702 to be a second member; such that Osone teaches the second member including the radio-frequency amplifier circuit.
Further, Chen teaches a top die TD and a base die BD (Fig. 2L) that include silicon, wherein the top die TD and the base die BD may include devices formed therein ([0019] and [0027]). The top die TD and the base die BD may be considered a first and a second member. Chen also teaches in [0032] bonding the top die TD and the base die BD together through hybrid bonding, where Chen teaches hybrid bonding in [0025] to be fusion bonding with the result of “face-to-face connection of layers”.
Thus, through combination, Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, teach a second member joined to the first member in surface contact with the first member, the second member including the radio-frequency amplifier circuit including a semiconductor element made of a compound semiconductor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the radio-frequency module of Chikita to include a second member including the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, as disclosed by Osone, wherein the second member has a direct bond to the first member, as disclosed by Chen; because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chikita’s radio-frequency module as modified by the second member of Osone and bonding techniques of Chen can yield a predictable result of forming the radio-frequency amplifier circuit in a body separate from the band selection switch, but still have the radio-frequency amplifier circuit and the band selection switch in close proximity since the first member and the second member are directly bonded to each other. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, Osone teaches the materials for a first member and a second member in at least claim 3 of their disclosure, which teaches a first member, i.e., first semiconductor element 701, including a semiconductor element made of an elemental semiconductor (silicon), and a second member, i.e., a second semiconductor element 702, including a semiconductor element made of a compound semiconductor (silicon germanium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, to include Osone’s material of their disclosed first and second members; wherein the material includes an elemental semiconductor and a compound semiconductor for the first and second members, respectively, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, as modified by Osone’s first and second members can yield a predictable result of reducing potential damage of the semiconductor components that may incur when the semiconductor components are in the same body, e.g., due to heat (Osone: [0123]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, the ability to space apart components that introduce a lot of thermal energy into the system, as disclosed by Osone. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, teach:
… and a plurality of conductive protrusions (Chikita: Fig. 5; connection electrodes 102h, 102j, 102k, 102m, 102n, 102p, and 102q taught in [0116]) arranged at positions included in the first member or the second member in plan view (Chikita: Fig. 5; connection electrodes in a first or second member of the semiconductor device, as interpreted above),
the semiconductor device is mounted on or in the module substrate with the plurality of conductive protrusions interposed between the semiconductor device and the module substrate such that the second member faces the module substrate (Chikita: Fig. 5 shows the plurality of conductive protrusions included in the first member or the second member. Examiner asserts that the instant claims do not necessitate that a gap, or the like, be formed between the semiconductor device and the module substrate due to the conductive protrusion), [[and]]
the semiconductor device is disposed in a proximity to the output matching circuit in plan view (the semiconductor device claimed by the applicant does not necessitate the semiconductor device and the output matching circuit being formed in separate bodies. The radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, including the semiconductor device and output matching circuit are formed in such a way that it may be interpreted that they are included in a same body, e.g., RF module 1A; thus, the semiconductor device and the output matching circuit will always be disposed in a proximity), or the semiconductor device overlaps at least one passive element constituting the output matching circuit in plan view, …
However, Chikita remains silent regarding the feature of amended claim 1 regarding a radio-frequency module, wherein:
… an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit is connected to an input of the output matching circuit, and an output of the output matching circuit is connected to an input of the band selection switch.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Reisner teaches radio-frequency modules including the connectivity wherein an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit is connected to an input of the output matching circuit, and an output of the output matching circuit is connected to an input of the band selection switch (Fig. 7 and [0066]). Reisner shows in Fig. 7 the output of a power amplifier (PA) 310, i.e., an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit, connected to an input of an output matching network (OMN) 306, i.e., an input of the output matching circuit; and the output of the OMN 306 connected to the input of a band selection switch 308, i.e., an input of the band selection switch. Examiner asserts that the connectivity disclosed by Reisner may be applied to the radio-frequency module of Chikita, Osone, and Chen to yield the radio-frequency module wherein an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit is connected to an input of the output matching circuit, and an output of the output matching circuit is connected to an input of the band selection switch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, to include an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit is connected to an input of the output matching circuit, and an output of the output matching circuit is connected to an input of the band selection switch, as disclosed by Reisner, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Reisner’s radio frequency components, e.g., power amplifier, output matching network, and band selection switch, is comparable to Chikita’s radio frequency components, e.g., power amplifier, output matching network, and band selection switch, because they have similar functions and are connected in a circuit to form a radio-frequency module. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen, to include an output of the radio-frequency amplifier circuit is connected to an input of the output matching circuit, and an output of the output matching circuit is connected to an input of the band selection switch, as disclosed by Reisner, with the predictable result of forming shorter radio-frequency signal paths and thereby reducing losses to signal (Reisner: [0065]).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Chikita, further in view of Osone, Chen, and Reisner, teach the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein:
the output matching circuit includes a passive element (Chikita: inductors 32b and 32c discussed in [0056]) mounted on or in the module substrate (Chikita: Figs. 1 and 5), and
the passive element included in the output matching circuit is mounted on a surface of the module substrate (Chikita: Fig. 1), and
the surface is opposite to another surface having the semiconductor device.
Fig. 5 of Chikita shows, for example, inductor 32c mounted on an interface of second resin 72 and mounting substrate 62 such that the inductor 32c is distal from the mounting substrate 62, and the passive element is mounted on the side of the mounting substrate opposite to the side that the semiconductor device is mounted to.
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Chikita, further in view of Osone, Chen, and Reisner, teach radio-frequency module according to Claim 3, wherein
the semiconductor device overlaps the passive element included in the output matching circuit in plan view (Chikita: Fig. 1 and Fig. 5).
Claims 2 and 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikita et al. (US 20200359507 A1), and further in view of Osone et al. (US 20070176298 A1), Chen et al. (US 20210066252 A1), Reisner et al. (US 20150303971 A1), and Noori et al. (US 20210313284 A1).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Chikita, further in view of Osone, Chen, and Reisner, teach the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein:
the output matching circuit includes a passive element (Chikita: inductors 32b and 32c discussed in [0056] as passive elements) …
However, Chikita, Osone, and Chen remain silent on the passive element configured by a metal pattern. Chikita shows a circuit layout with the passive elements of the output matching circuit, but Chikita does not attribute them as a metal pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Noori teaches a radio frequency module in Fig. 1D, wherein a matching circuit ([0072]) of output impedance matching network 110o is disclosed. Circuit inductor Ls is configured into the matching circuit via series transmission lines 110r, i.e., the matching circuit includes a passive element configured by a metal pattern (Fig. 1D; via series transmission lines 110r) disposed on or in the module substrate (Noori: Fig. 1D), …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Chikita’s output matching circuit to include a metal pattern that configures the connectivity of the passive elements, as disclosed by Noori, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Chikita’s inductors as modified by Noori’s teaching of series transmission lines 110r, which connect Noori’s inductors, can yield a predictable result of the output matching circuit including a passive element configured by a metal pattern, as the metal pattern of Noori may be used in the radio-frequency module of Chikita, further in view of Osone and Chen. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Through the combination of Chikita, Osone, Chen, and Noori, a radio-frequency module is yielded that further includes:
… and the semiconductor device overlaps at least a portion of the metal pattern configuring the passive element of the output matching circuit in plan view (Chikita: Figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Chikita, further in view of Osone, Chen, Reisner, and Noori, teach the radio-frequency module according to Claim 2, wherein:
the output matching circuit includes a passive element (Chikita: inductors 32b and 32c discussed in [0056]) mounted on or in the module substrate (Chikita: Fig. 1), and
the passive element included in the output matching circuit is mounted on a surface of the module substrate (Chikita: Fig. 1), and
the surface is opposite to another surface having the semiconductor device.
Fig. 5 of Chikita shows, for example, inductor 32c mounted on an interface of second resin 72 and mounting substrate 62 such that the inductor 32c is distal from the mounting substrate 62, and the passive element is mounted on the side of the mounting substrate opposite to the side that the semiconductor device is mounted to.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Chikita, further in view of Osone, Chen, Reisner, and Reisner, teach the radio-frequency module according to Claim 5, wherein:
the semiconductor device overlaps the passive element included in the output matching circuit in plan view (Chikita: Fig. 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20070210866 A1 was previously relied upon.
US 11799503 B2 and US 20190341381 A1 pose a potential non-statutory obviousness double patenting concern of the present disclosure in view of the combination as discussed in applicant interview on 07/18/2024.
US 7514774 B2 teaches mounting chips on opposite surfaces of a mounting substrate.
US 20120280755 A1 teaches a similar device with similar features.
US 20170026071 A1 and US 20200176416 A1 teach radio frequency modules with flip chip devices mounted with bumps on module substrates.
US 20150054038 A1 teaches devices, such as CMOS, for a radio frequency module formed in a module substrate.
US 6864585 B2 teaches similar features of the present application.
US 8546927 B2 teaches similar device features, particularly regarding components overlapping in plan view.
US 11539138 B2 teaches similar device features.
US 20180233604 A1 teaches similar device features.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897