DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/19/2026 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15, and 17- 23 are presented for examination. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15, and 17- 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (US Pub. 20210081853 A1) in view of Spikes et al. (US Pub. 20130311212 A1) in further view of Eicher et al. (US Pub. 20120221474 A1).
For claims 1, 8, and 15, Parker discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to:
store a pass within an application operating on the first electronic device, the application configured to store at least one or more passes (Fig. 6; step 5606-5610) [0037-39];
present first information indicative of the pass to a second electronic device (inspector’s scanner/device) via wireless communication, the first information indicative of the pass to be utilized by the second electronic device to redeem the pass (Figs. 42, presenting the ticket’s information to an inspector’s device/scanner to use the ticket wirelessly, to be used by the inspector device/scanner’s mobile application) [0134, 0136, 0175]; and
second information from the second electronic device, the second information comprising data indicative of the pass being redeemed for access to a location (Figs. 28-32, receiving the ticket(s) are scanned/used information in a particular zone or location for enforcement analytics) [0069, 0190].
But Parker doesn’t explicitly teach receive, via contactless proximity-based communication, second information from the second electronic device, the second information comprising data indicative of the pass being redeemed for access to a location;
determining a current movement state of the first electronic device based at least in part on the data indicative of the pass being redeemed for access to the location.
However, Spikes discloses receive, via contactless proximity-based communication, second information from the second electronic device, the second information comprising data indicative of the pass being redeemed for access to a location (Fig. 4, 408-420) [0016, 0038, 0045-48];
determining a current movement state of the first electronic device based at least in part on the data indicative of the pass being redeemed for access to the location (Fig. 4, 408-420) [0016, 0038, 0045-48].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing wireless/contactless transactions used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Parker with Spikes to ensure critical information can be directly exchange among peer devices, thus, improving transaction time and speed.
But Parker and Spikes don’t explicitly teach updating, by the first electronic device, the pass stored within the application operating on the first electronic device with a redemption time of the pass based at least in part on the second information received from the second electronic device.
However, Eicher discloses updating, by the first electronic device, the pass stored within the application operating on the first electronic device with a redemption time of the pass based at least in part on the second information received from the second electronic device (Figs. 11- 12, step 342) [0064-66, 0070, 0008].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing wireless/contactless transactions used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Parker and Spikes with Eicher to ensure real-time updates when exchanging critical information between devices, thus, improving transaction efficiency.
Claim 1 differs from claim 8 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior arts. The cited prior art Parker further discloses a method (Fig. 6).
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
Claim 15 differs from claim 8 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior arts. The cited prior art Parker further discloses a first electronic device, comprising: memory to store an application [0213]; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to [0213]. All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 3, 10, and 17, Parker discloses the application comprises a digital wallet application, and wherein the digital wallet application is further configured to store one or more mobile payment cards (stored credit card information on an application for checkout) [0039, 0131, 0208].
For claims 4, and 11, Parker discloses to store the pass includes to store the pass encrypted within a secure element (e.g. QR code) [0136, 0140, 0162].
For claims 5, 12, and 18, Parker discloses the wireless communication comprises the contactless proximity-based communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device [0175, 0194, 0200].
For claims 6, 13, and 19, Parker discloses detect a selection of an icon presented on a display of the first electronic device, the icon associated with the pass (Figs. 6-8) [0077, 0134]; and
present the application for interaction with the pass in response in detection of the selection of the icon (Figs. 40-44) [0077, 0134].
For claim 14, and 20, Parker discloses wherein the location comprises an event space (Figs. 44 and 46, zone or geographical area) [0069, 0190].
For claims 21-23, Parker, as modified by Spikes and Eicher, Eicher further discloses the second information includes the redemption time of the pass (Fig. 12, step 342) [0070, 0008]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of amendment, a new reference has been used for new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409