Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
06/26/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7,9,11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamzeh et al. (US 2021/0389474 A1; hereinafter “Hamzeh”), in view of Speidel et al. (US 2022/0052753 A1; hereinafter “Speidel”), and further in view of Abdelmonem (US 2019/0052294 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hamzeh teaches a method for coordinating shared spectrum usage ([0467] coordinate spectrum sharing) between fixed communication systems and flexible communication systems, the method comprising ([0466] FIG. 42 process 4200):
detecting, by a network interference management system (FIG. 4 central server 412), a signal interference event at a satellite receiver ([0020] a satellite receiver in a central server, [0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference); wherein the satellite receiver comprises a plurality of antenna feeds (FIG. 20 showing multiple feed components (2002, 2006, 2010, 2012)) and is configured to receive data from a satellite utilizing a predefined frequency band ([0006] Satellite receivers operate below the thermal noise level of the actual band, often using high gain antennas to amplify weak satellite signals before detection, [0167] limited capability to filter out emissions in adjacent bands, [0459] equipped with a beacon detector to detect LTE signals);
determining, by the network interference management system (FIG. 4 central server 412, FIG. 5 central server 510), a plurality of characteristics of the satellite receiver, wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise:
a geographic location where the satellite receiver is located ([0092] central server 412 further utilizes known locations of both FSS site 402); and
an alignment for the satellite receiver, wherein the alignment is indicative of a field of view of the satellite receiver, and the satellite is within the field of view ([0131] central server 510 configured to query a management system/processor of an FSS site to update information in central database 512 regarding antenna azimuth, elevation angle receiving schedule, [0175] FIG. 5 discloses FSS earth station 504 in the surrounding area and satellite 506);
identifying, by the network interference management system ([0090] central server 412), from a plurality of interference sources ([0090] AP 408 as a source of potential interference, [0094] each transmitting AP across wide-scale deployments involving thousands of transmitting APs) that emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band ([0006];[0167];[0090] direct beacon signal constitutes an in-band beacon RF signal transmitted by AP or beacon transmitter), a subset of interference sources that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0094] establishing a plurality of transmitting AP interference sources across wide-scale deployments, [0092] central server 412 utilizing known locations of Aps and FSS sites to evaluate relative positioning, [0090] beacon detector 418 receiving signals only from APs within reception range, FIG. 20 showing multiple directional feed components (2002, 2006, 2010, 2012) defining respective sub-fields of view that filter the plurality of Aps into a subset), wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises at least one interference source that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0090] explicitly identifying AP 408 as a source of potential interference, [0094] establishing a plurality of such interference sources by describing each transmitting AP across wide-scale deployments involving thousands of APs, [0095] identifying APs not within the signal path to the FSS receiver; FIG. 20 showing the limited directional acceptance region of feed horns, implying sources outside those regions do not fall within the field of view);
transmitting, by the network interference management system, an indication of the signal interference event to the interference source ([0140] the central server transmits a potential and actual interference to FSS satellite receivers) wherein the transmitted indication of the signal interference event causes the interference source to modify an operation of the interference source ([0140] transmit but also remedy potential and actual interference caused by UE in close to the FSS site).
However, Hamzeh does not teach identifying, by the network interference management system, from a plurality of interference sources that emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band, a subset of interference sources that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of interference sources with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver, wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises at least one interference source that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver; identifying, by the network interference management system, an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches identifying, by the network interference management system, from a plurality of interference sources that emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band ([0294] discloses spectrum analysis of RF bands to detect interference across frequencies, thereby identifying multiple interference sources, as illustrated in FIG. 17),
a subset of interference sources that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of interference sources with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0259] discloses that mesh points representing entities are defined by position vectors and categorized as falling inside, on the edge of, or outside coverage polygons based on relative spatial positions, [0346] determining resources within the field of view of the satellite, thereby defining a subset of sources based on their relative locations with respect to the satellite field of view, and FIG. 17 shows such spatial distribution of sources within a satellite beam footprint), wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises at least one interference source that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0259] discloses that some mesh points fall outside of existing polygons, thereby indicating that at least one interference source is located outside the region corresponding to the satellite field of view).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drag coefficient of the satellite as taught by Speidel within the parameter of Hamzeh. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support increased coverage of communication at satellite to improve user experience (Speidel [0452]).
However, the combination of Hamzeh and Speidel does not teach identifying, by the network interference management system, an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds.
In an analogous art, Abdelmonem teaches identifying, by the network interference management system, an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0278] discloses a plurality of antenna elements each providing respective I/Q data for RF signals, [0294] discloses comparing RSSI levels and correlating the RSSI increases to determine the offending transmission causing the interference, [0295] discloses correlating measurement matrices across sectors to determine the interference source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSSI as taught by Abdelmonem within the system of Hamzeh and Speidel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the offending transmission to improve an RF link's performance (Abdelmonem [0186]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein the plurality of interference sources comprise a plurality of cellular network base stations configured to transmit cellular network data ([0086] defines AP 408 as including a wireless AP, an eNodeB, a base station, a CBSD or a transceiver, thereby establishing that a cellular network base station, [0129] FIG. 5 showing multiple Aps 508 and 514 operating in the vicinity of the FSS earth station; FIG. 6 at 614 illustrating AP transmission of network data, [0094] corroborates that such cellular network transmitting APs are deployed on a wide scale in large numbers, thereby confirming that the plurality of interference sources indeed comprises a plurality of cellular network base stations configured to transmit cellular network data).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein the interference source is an interfering base station of the plurality of cellular network base stations ([0086] expressly defines AP 408 as including, without limitation, a wireless AP, an eNodeB, a base station, a CBSD, or a transceiver, thereby establishing that AP 408 is a cellular network base station, FIG. 5 and [0129] show that multiple APs (FIG. 5 508 and 514) are deployed around an FSS earth station, thereby teaching a plurality of cellular network base stations, [0090] explicitly that the central server associates detected interference with AP 408, thereby establishing that AP 408 is an interfering base station, [0094] corroborates that many such transmitting APs are deployed and monitored across the network), and the method further comprising:
receiving network activity data for the interfering base station, wherein the network activity data is indicative of times and frequencies ([0063] network events provide high-resolution, near real-time information regarding the operation of targeted network base stations and are collected for interference detection, thereby teaching the receipt of network activity data for a base station, [0260] wireless information transport systems using time and frequency dynamic effects, [0459] cellular devices 3904 transmits and receives LTE signals 3912, thereby establishing that the time and frequency based activity corresponds to actual cellular transmissions); at which the interfering base station (FIG. 39 AP 3902) transmitted the cellular network data (FIG. 39 3912) to devices connected to a cellular network ([0459] cellular devices 3904 are configured to transmit and receive LTE signals 3912); and
determining that the network activity data coincides with the signal interference event ([0135] the individual interference contribution may be determined using formats for narrow band beacons).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches further comprising:
detecting a plurality of signal interference events at a plurality of satellite receivers ([0114] FIG. 5 a plurality of earth stations 504, [0287] potential sources of interference may be more optimally detected), wherein:
the plurality of signal interference events comprises the signal interference event ([0276] each potential source of interference); and
the plurality of satellite receivers comprises the satellite receiver ([0114] each of the plurality of earth stations 504); and
determining, for each of the plurality of satellite receivers (FIG. 5 504), the plurality of characteristics ([0020] a satellite receiver in a central server, [0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference, [0092] central server 412 further utilizes known locations of both FSS site 402 and AP 408); and
wherein identifying the interference source comprises determining that the interference source is located within the fields of view of at least two other satellite receivers of the plurality of satellite receivers (FIG. 13; [0013], [0268]-[0270] and [0098], which discloses a shared-use system including a plurality of FSS sites 1304(A)-1304(D), each equipped with a beacon receiver 1308, whose protection regions and terrain regions 1306 explicitly overlap, and in which a single transmitting AP 1312 is located within an overlapping region (1314) that simultaneously affects multiple FSS sites (1304(A)-1304(C)), such that the same interference source is simultaneously detected by multiple satellite receivers and centrally identified and controlled by the central server (1302/412)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein each of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0372]; FIG. 20) has respective fields of view within the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0372] and FIG. 20 disclose a plurality of feed horns and corresponding feed components arranged within the satellite receiver, each feed receiving signals from a respective angular region within the overall reception region of the satellite receiver, thereby defining respective fields of view within the field of view of the satellite receiver), and identifying the interference source comprises ([0090] identify the source of potential interference (FIG. 4 AP 408 in this example)):
determining an amount of signal interference detected by each antenna feed of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0373] FIG. 20 potential interference level approximate to a level at a reference point 2008 between an RRF 2010 and an LNB 2012, [0374] operation of beacon detection system 2000, the power level P.sub.ref (in dB) may be calculated at reference point 2008) based on respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by each antenna feed of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0093] In an embodiment, the actual path loss is determined by central server 412 using an in-band measurement of a beacon received signal strength indicator (RSSI), and/or antenna gain at one or both of AP 408 and earth station 404); and
selecting the interference source ([0092] central server utilizes coordinate-based location information of both FSS site 402 and AP 408 to determine its interference relationship to the receiver, [0175] selection based on real-time usage information of the C-band by surrounding FSS earth stations) based on a relative location of the interference source within the respective fields of view of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0090] central server 412 associates detected interference with the specific AP 408 through its unique ID, [0094] central server 412 traces back to the source of actual interference, [0372] FIG. 20 shows multiple feed components (2002,2006) defining respective sub-fields of view for spatial discrimination).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches further comprising:
receiving, at an active detector coupled with the satellite receiver (FIG. 5 a single beacon detector 528), the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the interference source ([0091] beacon detector measuring the signal of the interference, [0316] ZC sequences are assigned to each LTE eNodeB, [0317] A ZC sequence gives rise to an electromagnetic signal);
generating, by the active detector and based on the electromagnetic radiation received at the active detector ([0091] beacon detector measuring the signal of the interference, [0317] A ZC sequence gives rise to an electromagnetic signal), the signal interference event, wherein the signal interference event comprises at least one of an identification of the interference source ([0090] identify the source of potential interference, [0181] FIG. 10 operation of FSS site 1002 within the vicinity of first FS transceiver 1006 generates potential interference), [0317] A generated ZC sequence), a frequency at which the electromagnetic radiation was received ([0461] the PSS is based on a frequency-domain Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence); or an angle of arrival of the electromagnetic radiation at the active detector ([0386] angles of earth station 1902(3) or 1902(4)); and
transmitting the signal interference event to a satellite communication system coupled with the satellite ([0114] FIG. 5 central server 510 is rendered capable of determining the effect of the interference on a specific earth station 504, [0115] system 500 is rendered capable of significantly increasing amount of real-time information that can be used to measure, manage, and remedy interference for a particular FSS site).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Speidel teaches wherein the signal interference event is transmitted to the satellite communication system from the satellite receiver via the satellite ([0294] the satellite listens to RF interference from the receiver and records the raw data. The network determines interference-prone channels based on that data, [0295] the interference information is stored and utilized in the communication system database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drag coefficient of the satellite as taught by Speidel within the parameter of Hamzeh. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support increased coverage of communication at satellite to improve user experience (Speidel [0452]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Speidel teaches wherein determining the alignment for the satellite receiver comprises: determining an orbital location of the satellite ([0164] The satellite base stations are assumed with 45-degree minimum elevation angle, [0165] GEO orbits could be equatorial or inclined, depending on desired coverage dynamics of the Earth, [0429] In orbital relays, the ground station locations could be selected in very close proximity, or at the same location); and
determining, based on the geographic location where the satellite receiver is located and the orbital location of the satellite, an elevation and an azimuth that positions the satellite within the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0164] The satellite base stations are assumed with 45-degree minimum elevation angle, [0233] The drag coefficient of the satellite may vary as a function of its angle of attack, or orientation, with respect to the satellite velocity vector including elevation and azimuth from velocity, [0429] In orbital relays, the ground station locations could be selected in very close proximity, or at the same location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drag coefficient of the satellite as taught by Speidel within the parameter of Hamzeh. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support increased coverage of communication at satellite to improve user experience (Speidel [0452]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches determining, based on the geographic location for the satellite receiver and a location of the interference source, an emission angle from the interference source at which the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the interference source causes interference at the satellite receiver ([0087] FIG. 4 an FSS reporting link 415 communicates the operating parameters of FSS site 402, including, coordinate, elevation, azimuth angle, elevation angle, satellite arc(s), frequency range, antenna gain, operation status of the FSS earth station, [0317] gives rise to an electromagnetic signal at the receiver of the signal); and spatially filtering emission of the electromagnetic radiation at the emission angle ([0317] gives rise to an electromagnetic signal at the receiver of the signal, [0411] FIG. 23 first beam pattern 2310 from the multi-antenna transceiver of first antenna system 2306 radiates one or more spatial radio beams (also referred to herein as beamforming, FIG. 33 3310 radio beams and SAS 3314 including angles).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein:
the satellite is controlled by a satellite communication system ([0004] The C-band used for satellite communications, [0005] satellites utilizing the C-band); and
the satellite communication system comprises the network interference management system ([0361] mobile communication systems presently coexist with satellite communication systems in the same CBRS band, [0364] a coexistence mechanism is advantageously utilizes coordination through a central server/SAS).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein the satellite is controlled by a satellite communication system communicatively coupled with the network interference management system and the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the satellite communication system (FIG. 5 system 500), the signal interference event and the plurality of characteristics of the satellite receiver to the network interference management system ([0114] FIG. 5 central server 510 is rendered capable of determining the effect of the interference on a specific earth station 504, [0115] system 500 is rendered capable of significantly increasing amount of real-time information that can be used to measure, manage, and remedy interference for a particular FSS site).
Regarding claim 14, Hamzeh teaches a shared spectrum communication system ([0467] coordinate spectrum sharing), comprising:
a satellite configured to transmit data utilizing a predefined frequency band ([0008] receiving and decoding video/data streams from satellite (e.g., GEO C-band satellite), [0006] The C-band downlink spectrum includes 500 MHz adjacent to the CBRS band, [0167] that harmful interference occurs even when the two respective systems operate in non-overlapping bands);
a satellite receiver comprises a plurality of antenna feeds (FIG. 20 showing multiple feed components (2002, 2006, 2010, 2012)) and configured to receive the data from the satellite ([0086] earth station 404 for receiving data streams from a satellite 406 (e.g., GEO C-band satellite);
a cellular network system comprising a plurality of base stations ([0418] FIG. 27 system 2700, the base station location may be significantly closer than conventionally seen, thus enabling better coverage and capacity within the cellular network), wherein each base station of the plurality of base stations is configured to emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band (FIG. 6 step 614; [0090] direct beacon signal 426 constitutes an in-band beacon RF signal transmitted from AP 408 or its associated beacon transmitter operating within the same frequency region, [0092] central server 412 utilizes known locations and transmitted power of AP 408 to calculate interference protection within the specific band); and
a network interference management system configured to (FIG. 4 central server 412, [0003] FIG. 1 112 use of this spectrum is authorized and managed by a Spectrum Access System (SAS)):
detect a signal interference event at the satellite receiver ([0087] Authorization and resource allocation of FSS site 402 is governed by a central server 412, [0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference);
determine a plurality of characteristics for the satellite receiver, wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise:
a geographic location where the satellite receiver is located ([0092] central server 412 further utilizes known locations of both FSS site 402); and
an alignment for the satellite receiver, wherein the alignment is indicative of a field of view of the satellite receiver, and the satellite is within the field of view ([0131] central server 510 configured to query a management system/processor of an FSS site to update information in central database 512 regarding antenna azimuth, elevation angle receiving schedule, [0175] FIG. 5 discloses FSS earth station 504 in the surrounding area and satellite 506);
transmit an indication of the signal interference event to the cellular network system wherein the transmitted indication of the signal interference event ([0140] the central server transmits a potential and actual interference to FSS satellite receivers and transmit but also remedy potential and actual interference caused by UE in close to the FSS site)) causes the interfering base station to modify an operation of the interfering base station ([0140] transmit but also remedy potential and actual interference caused by UE in close to the FSS site).
However, Hamzeh does not teach identify a subset of the plurality of base stations that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of base stations with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver, wherein the plurality of base stations comprises at least one base station that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver; select an interfering base station from the subset of base stations as the cause of the signal interference event.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches identify a subset of the plurality of base stations that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of base stations with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0294] discloses spectrum analysis of RF bands to detect interference across frequencies, [0259] discloses that mesh points representing entities are defined by position vectors and categorized as falling inside, on the edge of, or outside coverage polygons based on relative spatial positions, [0346] determining resources within the field of view of the satellite, thereby defining a subset of sources based on their relative locations with respect to the satellite field of view, and FIG. 17 shows such spatial distribution of sources within a satellite beam footprint), wherein the plurality of base stations comprises at least one base station that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0259] discloses that some mesh points fall outside of existing polygons, thereby indicating that at least one interference source is located outside the region corresponding to the satellite field of view).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drag coefficient of the satellite as taught by Speidel within the parameter of Hamzeh. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support increased coverage of communication at satellite to improve user experience (Speidel [0452]).
However, the combination of Hamzeh and Speidel does not teach select an interfering base station from the subset of base stations as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds.
In an analogous art, Abdelmonem teaches select an interfering base station from the subset of base stations as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0278] discloses a plurality of antenna elements each providing respective I/Q data for RF signals, [0294] discloses comparing RSSI levels and correlating the RSSI increases to determine the offending transmission causing the interference, [0295] discloses correlating measurement matrices across sectors to determine the interference source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSSI as taught by Abdelmonem within the system of Hamzeh and Speidel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the offending transmission to improve an RF link's performance (Abdelmonem [0186]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches further comprising a plurality of satellite receivers comprising the satellite receiver (FIG. 5 504), wherein the network interference management system ([0116] FIG. 5 interference management by central server 510) is further configured to:
detect a plurality of signal interference events at the plurality of satellite receivers, the plurality of signal interference events comprising the signal interference event ([0087] Authorization and resource allocation of FSS site 402 is governed by a central server 412, [0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference);
determine, for each of the plurality of satellite receivers, the plurality of characteristics ([0020] a satellite receiver in a central server, [0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference, [0092] central server 412 further utilizes known locations of both FSS site 402 and AP 408);
wherein the interfering base station is selected from the subset of base stations based on a determination that the interfering base station is located within the fields of view of at least two other satellite receivers of the plurality of satellite receivers (FIG. 13; [0013], [0268]-[0270] and [0098], which discloses a shared-use system including a plurality of FSS sites 1304(A)-1304(D), each equipped with a beacon receiver 1308, with overlapping protection and terrain regions 1306, and in which a single transmitting AP 1312 is located within an overlapping region (1314) that simultaneously affects multiple FSS sites (1304(A)-1304(C)), such that the same interference source is simultaneously detected by multiple satellite receivers and centrally identified and controlled by the central server (1302/412).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches further comprising: a satellite communication system (FIG. 5 500) comprising the satellite (FIG. 5 506), the satellite receiver (FIG. 5 504), and the network interference management system ([0361] mobile communication systems presently coexist with satellite communication systems in the same CBRS band, [0364] a coexistence mechanism is advantageously utilizes coordination through a central server/SAS).
Regarding claim 18, Hamzeh teaches a network interference management system (FIG. 4 central server 412) configured to perform operations including:
detecting a signal interference event at a satellite receiver ([0090] central server 412 is capable of detecting the interference); wherein the satellite receiver comprises a plurality of antenna feeds (FIG. 20 showing multiple feed components (2002, 2006, 2010, 2012)) and is configured to receive data from a satellite utilizing a predefined frequency band ([0006] Satellite receivers operate below the thermal noise level of the actual band, often using high gain antennas to amplify weak satellite signals before detection, [0167] limited capability to filter out emissions in adjacent bands, [0459] equipped with a beacon detector to detect LTE signals);
determining a plurality of characteristics of the satellite receiver (FIG 4 FSS site 402, FIG. 5 FSS site 502), wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise
a geographic location where the satellite receiver is located ([0092] central server 412 further utilizes known locations of both FSS site 402); and an alignment for the satellite receiver, wherein the alignment is indicative of a field of view of the satellite receiver, and the satellite is within the field of view ([0131] central server 510 configured to query a management system/processor of an FSS site to update information in central database 512 regarding antenna azimuth, elevation angle receiving schedule, [0175] FIG. 5 discloses FSS earth station 504 in the surrounding area and satellite 506);
transmitting an indication of the signal interference event to the interference source ([0469] the central server transmits operational instructions to the eNodeB) wherein the transmitted indication of the signal interference event (FIG. 42 interference detection process 4200) causes the interference source to modify an operation of the interference source ([0469] instructions for the eNodeB to (i) fully operate, (ii) operate at a lower power, or (iii) cease operation (e.g., complete denial)).
However, Hamzeh does not teach identifying, from a plurality of interference sources that emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band, a subset of interference sources that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of interference sources with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver, wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises at least one interference source that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver; identifying an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches identifying, from a plurality of interference sources that emit electromagnetic radiation within the predefined frequency band ([0294] discloses spectrum analysis of RF bands to detect interference across frequencies, thereby identifying multiple interference sources, as illustrated in FIG. 17), a subset of interference sources that are located within the field of view of the satellite receiver based on relative locations of the plurality of interference sources with respect to the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0259] discloses that mesh points representing entities are defined by position vectors and categorized as falling inside, on the edge of, or outside coverage polygons based on relative spatial positions, [0346] determining resources within the field of view of the satellite, thereby defining a subset of sources based on their relative locations with respect to the satellite field of view, and FIG. 17 shows such spatial distribution of sources within a satellite beam footprint), wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises at least one interference source that is located outside the field of view of the satellite receiver ([0259] discloses that some mesh points fall outside of existing polygons, thereby indicating that at least one interference source is located outside the region corresponding to the satellite field of view).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drag coefficient of the satellite as taught by Speidel within the parameter of Hamzeh. One would have been motivated to do so in order to support increased coverage of communication at satellite to improve user experience (Speidel [0452]).
However, the combination of Hamzeh and Speidel does not teach identifying an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds.
In an analogous art, Abdelmonem teaches identifying an interference source from the subset of interference sources as the cause of the signal interference event based on a comparison of respective signal strengths of data transmissions received by two or more antenna feeds of the plurality of antenna feeds ([0278] discloses a plurality of antenna elements each providing respective I/Q data for RF signals, [0294] discloses comparing RSSI levels and correlating the RSSI increases to determine the offending transmission causing the interference, [0295] discloses correlating measurement matrices across sectors to determine the interference source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RSSI as taught by Abdelmonem within the system of Hamzeh and Speidel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the offending transmission to improve an RF link's performance (Abdelmonem [0186]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein the plurality of interference sources comprises a plurality of cellular network base stations configured to transmit cellular network data ([0086] AP 408 includes, without limitation one or more of a wireless AP, an eNodeB, a base station, a CBSD or a transceiver thereby forming a plurality of cellular network transmission sources; [0129] FIG. 5 showing multiple Aps 508 and 514 operating in the vicinity of the FSS earth station; FIG. 6 at 614 illustrating AP transmission of network data, [0094] a large-scale deployment in which thousands of APs and transmitters are present and monitored by the system).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches wherein: the satellite is controlled by a satellite communication system ([0004] The C-band used for satellite communications, [0005] satellites utilizing the C-band); and
the satellite communication system comprises the network interference management system ([0361] mobile communication systems presently coexist with satellite communication systems in the same CBRS band, [0364] a coexistence mechanism advantageously utilizes coordination through a central server/SAS).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamzeh, in view of Speidel, in view of Abdelmonem, and further in view of Miller et al. (US 9260335 B1; hereinafter “Miller”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem does not teach wherein the signal interference event is transmitted to the satellite communication system from the active detector via the interference source.
In an analogous art, Miller teaches wherein the signal interference event is transmitted to the satellite communication system from the active detector via the interference source ([0026] FIG. 1B 170 discloses the interference is transmitted to the communication between friendly active users and triad COMSATs 120 in a contested environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a communication with active user as taught by Miller within the parameter of the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a protected wideband communications system to improve system efficiency (Miller [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem, specifically Hamzeh teaches determining, based on the signal interference event ([0006] Interference over distances of tens of kilometers or greater), ([0026] the interference of the electromagnetic wave emitted by COMSATs 120 in FIG. 4, [0035] 12GHz for satellite 610 and receiver 623 in FIG. 6, [0009] FIG.1 SAS 112 uses a frequency planning algorithm to determine the allocation of both the channel frequency and power); and disabling emissions by the interference source at the sub-band of the predefined frequency band ([0009] FIG.1 the resource allocation to citizens broadband radio service device (CBSD) 108 can be provided using a propagation model to avoid interference, and SAS 112 may use a frequency planning algorithm to determine the allocation of both the channel frequency and power).
However, the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem does not teach a sub-band of the predefined frequency band at which the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the interference source causes interference at the satellite receiver.
In an analogous art, Miller teaches a sub-band of the predefined frequency band at which the electromagnetic radiation emitted by the interference source causes interference at the satellite receiver ([0026] the interference of the electromagnetic wave emitted by COMSATs 120 in FIG. 4, [0035] 12 GHz for satellite 610 and receiver 623 in FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interference of the electromagnetic wave as taught by Miller within the parameter of the combination of Hamzeh, Speidel and Abdelmonem. One would have been motivated to do so in order to collect low power friendly emitters among co-channel interferers are desired to improve a satellite communication efficiency (Miller [0005]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0353932 A1 (Sorrentino et al.) discloses D2D communication in a wireless communication network.
US 2019/0200363 A1 (Rajendran) discloses methods are described for optimizing transmission power levels for wireless communications.
US 2020/0177340 A1 (GUPTA et al.) discloses methods for device location tracking with antenna switching.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413