DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2006/0278546 to State et al. (State).
Regarding claim 1, State discloses a package (10) for a medical device, the package comprising an elongate carrier tube (11) having a single lumen (12, 14, €0028) formed therein capable of having a medical device (40) disposed therein, wherein the carrier tube has a first end, wherein the carrier tube (11) includes an elastomeric material (¶0033), wherein the carrier tube includes a tube wall (17) and wherein a slit (32) is formed in the tube wall, the slit (32) configured to shift between a first width configuration and a temporarily widened width configuration that allows a medical device to be removed directly from lumen of the carrier tube through the slit since it has the structure as recited, the elastomeric material of the carrier tube biases the slit toward the first width configuration (€0033). In particular, since prior art has the structure as recited, then it would be capable of functioning with a medical device as recited.
Regarding claim 5, State further discloses slit (32) extends axially along the tube wall (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, State further discloses carrier tube (11) capable of being arranged in spiral configuration (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, State further discloses carrier tube (11) capable of being arranged in helical configuration since it has the structure as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over State in view of US 2015/0246202 to Menamara.
Regarding claim 2, State teaches the package of claim 1 but does not teach the tube wall substantially transparent. However, Menamara discloses a tube packaging (Fig 7) and in particular discloses the tubing (20) being transparent (¶0084). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to manufacture the State tubing out of transparent material as suggested by Menamara in order to view the item through the wall of the tubing (Menamara, ¶0084).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over State in view of US 2012/0037525 to Peck et al. (Peck).
Regarding claim 3, State teaches the package of claim 1 but does not teach the recited material. Peck discloses a package (Fig 6) for a medical device, the package comprising an elongate carrier tube (12) capable of having a medical device (10) disposed therein, wherein the carrier tube (12) includes an elastomeric material (¶0035), wherein the carrier tube includes a tube wall (23a) and wherein a slit (22’, Fig 4, ¶0034) is formed in the tube wall. Peck further discloses the elastomeric material includes silicone (¶0035). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the elastomeric material of the State tube to be silicone as suggested by Peck in order to facilitate packaging since it has been held that selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 4, State teaches the package of claim 1 but does not teach the recited material. Peck discloses a package (Fig 6) for a medical device, the package comprising an elongate carrier tube (12) capable of having a medical device (10) disposed therein, wherein the carrier tube (12) includes an elastomeric material (¶0035), wherein the carrier tube includes a tube wall (23a) and wherein a slit (22’, Fig 4, ¶0034) is formed in the tube wall. Peck further discloses elastomeric material includes PTFE (¶0035). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the elastomeric material of the State tube to be PTFE as suggested by Peck in order to facilitate packaging since it has been held that selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over State in view of US 2004/0045999 to Babij, JR (Babij).
Regarding claim 6, State teaches the package of claim 1 except for the slit including undulations. However, Babij discloses a sleeve (Fig 7) wherein a slit (14a) including undulations extends along the sleeve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape of the State slit to include undulations as suggested by Babij in order to facilitate opening of the sleeve to access the medical device.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over State in view of US 2018/0214665 to Cicalis.
Regarding claims 8-9, State discloses the package of claim 7 but does not teach adjacent loops secured by discrete bonding members including adhesive. However, Cicalis discloses tubular packaging (Fig 1) and in particular discloses the carrier tube in spiral configuration (Fig 1) and a plurality of adjacent loops secured together by discrete bonding members including adhesive (22) (¶0030). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate adhesive to the carrier tube of State as suggested by Cicalis in order to keep the loops secured to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach a single lumen and a medical device can be removed directly from the single lumen. This is not persuasive because State discloses the body (10) comprises portions (12, 14) are unitary or monolithic (€0028) and thus the overall body forms a single lumen that can hold a medical device that can be removed directly from the single lumen since applicant does not explicitly recite the medical device.
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735