DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 21 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uematsu et al. [JP 2000-040626 A].
Regarding claim 12, Uematsu et al. discloses an apparatus [figure 94], comprising:
a magnetic core, comprising:
A) a center post [part of hole 11] defining a central axis and having at least one first notch [figure 94], radially disposed therein, that defines a first angular location about the central axis;
B) an outer rim [31] having at least one second notch [figure 94], radially disposed therein, that defines a second angular location about the central axis; and
C) a backplate [bottom part of core 10, figure 94] having at least one third notch, radially disposed therein, that defines a third angular location about the central axis; wherein the first angular location differs from at least one of the second angular location and the third angular location [figure 94].
Uematsu et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the notches.
Uematsu et al. disclose, in other embodiments of figures 41, 47, 50-53, 93-94, 100, 119, 123-125, 128, 130, discloses the notches can be arranged “radially” relative to the central axis.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the notch radially relative to the central axis in Uematsu, for the purpose of facilitating different magnetic flux/field and manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claim 21, Uematsu et al. further discloses a winding [42a, 42b] magnetically coupled to the magnetic core.
Regarding claim 44, Uematsu et al. discloses an apparatus [figure 94], comprising:
a magnetic core [10], comprising:
a center post [part of hole 11];
an outer rim [31];
a backplate [bottom part of core 10]; and
at least two notches selected from the group consisting of: a first notch in the center post [figure 94], a second notch in the outer rim [figure 94], and a third notch in the backplate [figure 94], wherein the at least two notches occupy distinct angular locations [figure 94], and wherein a combination of the at least two notches reduces or eliminates dimensional resonance.
Uematsu et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the notches.
Uematsu et al. disclose, in other embodiments of figures 41, 47, 50-53, 93-94, 100, 119, 123-125, 128, 130, discloses the notches can be arranged “radially” relative to the central axis.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the notch radially relative to the central axis in Uematsu, for the purpose of facilitating different magnetic flux/field and manufacturing and/or assembling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, 21 and 44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837