DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/12/2025 has been considered and entered.
The rejections under 35 USC 112 set forth in the office action mailed 08/12/2025 is withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-16, and 18-20, the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 set forth in the office action received 08/12/2025 are withdrawn in view of the applicants’ arguments.
With regards to the rejections of claims 21-24, the applicant’s arguments (pages 4-5 of the remarks received 12/12/2025) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With regards to independent claim 21, applicant has argued that “…Koumans’ “Reflector cover 17” does not function as an interface that an optical connector “plugs into,” nor does it provide a pluggable connection as claimed…”. However, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner has considered the phrase “…by plugging into…” as it appears in amended claim 21 at face value and has interpreted the amended limitation as requiring that a portion of the optical connector be inserted within the optical connector interface. Figure 2 of Koumans presents at least elements 61, 62, and 63 as positive physical features. Figure 1 of Koumans presents element 17 as wholly encompassing elements 61, 62, and 63. Since elements 61, 62, and 63 are part of the optical connector of Koumans and are presented as interfacing with element 17 via insertion, Koumans discloses the limitation “…wherein the optical connector is to mate with an optical connector interface by plugging into the optical connector interface”.
Furthermore, examiner notes that even if the content of Koumans referenced above did not disclose the aforementioned limitation (which is not conceded), the practice of connecting an optical connector to an interface by inserting a portion of the connector structure into the interface structure is common knowledge in the art (See US 11067763 B2, US 20180364426 A1, US 20180059330 A1, and/or WO 2020086777 A1 for examples). As such, whether or not the optical connector is to mate with an optical connector interface by plugging into the optical connector interface would not establish the device of claim 21 as allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koumans (US 20190079253 A1).
With regards to claim 21, Koumans discloses an optical connector (Koumans/Figs1&2) comprising one or more optical fibers positioned inside the optical connector (Fig2/100 [Optical fibers]) one or more optical focusing elements (Fig6/Optical focusing elements 41 [Ellipsoidal shaped reflecting surface]/Paragraph 34/Lines 5-10) defined in a surface of the optical connector (Fig6), the one or more optical focusing elements to focus a collimated beam entering the optical connector to the one or more optical fibers (Fig12), wherein the one or more focusing elements comprise: one or more focusing mirrors to collimate light from the one or more optical fibers, wherein individual focusing mirrors of the one or more focusing mirrors are total internal reflection (TIR) mirrors defined in a surface of the optical connector (Figs6&12/Light paths depicted by labels 71, 73, and 76; Focusing mirrors 41[Ellipsoidal shaped reflecting surface]/Paragraph 34/Lines 5-10), wherein the optical connector is to mate with an optical connector interface by plugging into the optical connector interface (Figs1&2/Optical connector interface 17 [Reflector cover]).
With regards to claim 24, Koumans discloses the optical connector of claim 21, wherein the one or more optical focusing elements are defined in a reflective surface of the optical connector (Fig6/Optical focusing elements 41 [Ellipsoidal shaped reflecting surface]/Paragraph 34/Lines 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koumans (US 20190079253 A1) in view of Nagarajan (US 20170090132 A1).
With regards to claim 22, Koumans teaches the optical connector of claim 21, but does not teach an optical isolator positioned between the one or more second optical focusing elements and the one or more optical fibers. However, the positioning of an isolator between focusing elements and optical fibers within a connector is well known in the art as exemplified by Nagarajan. Koumans and Nagarajan are considered to be analogous in the field of optical fiber connectors.
Nagarajan teaches an optical isolator positioned between one or more second optical focusing elements and the one or more optical fibers (Nagarajan/Fig9/Isolator 3153 [Isolator], positioned between optical focusing element 3512 [Lens] and one or more optical fibers 31543 [Light coupling channel]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position an isolator within the apparatus taught by Koumans between the one or more second optical focusing elements and the one or more optical fibers as exemplified by Nagarajan since doing so would further improve the apparatus ability to selectively filter coupled light by wavelength.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koumans (US 20190079253 A1) in view of Akito (US 9377588 B2).
With regards to claim 23, Koumans discloses the optical connector of claim 21, wherein the optical connector comprises one or more alignment rods (Fig2/Alignment rods as circled below) but is silent regarding the alignment rods mating with alignment holes defined in an optical connector interface.
However, the practice of configuring alignment rods to align with alignment holes of an optical connector interface exists in the art as exemplified by Akito. Koumans and Akito are considered to be analogous in the field of optical connections.
Akito discloses an optical connector comprising one or more alignment rods mated with one or more alignment holes defined in an optical connector interface (Akito/Fig4/Alignment rods 15a&b; Alignment holes 34a&b, Optical connector interface 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the alignment rods disclosed by Koumans such that they mated with one or more alignment holes defined by an optical connector interface as suggested by Akito since doing so would provide an avenue by which the optical connector could form a sturdy connection with an associated optical device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-2, 4-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are allowed.
With regards to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest an apparatus comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die, wherein one or more waveguides are defined in the PIC die; an optical connector interface to mate with an optical connector, wherein the optical connector interface is mounted on a surface of the PIC die; and one or more optical focusing elements configured to focus light from the one or more waveguides into one or more collimated beams, wherein the one or more optical focusing elements are fixed in place relative to the PIC die, wherein the one or more focusing elements comprise: one or more focusing mirrors to collimate light from the one or more waveguides, wherein individual focusing mirrors of the one or more focusing mirrors are total internal reflection (TIR) mirrors defined in a surface of the optical connector interface; and one or more flat mirrors to reflect light from the one or more focusing mirrors to one or more optical fibers of an optical connector mated with the optical connector interface, wherein individual flat mirrors of the one or more flat mirrors are TIR mirrors defined in a surface of the optical connector interface. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth 08/12/2025.
Claims 2, 4-12, 14-16, and 18 inherit the allowability of claim 1 on which they depend.
With regards to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest an apparatus comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die comprising one or more waveguides; an optical connector interface, wherein the optical connector interface is mounted on a surface of the PIC die; an optical connector mated with the optical connector interface, wherein the optical connector comprises one or more optical fibers; wherein the optical connector interface comprises one or more optical focusing elements configured to focus light emitted from the one or more waveguides to the one or more optical fibers of the optical connector, wherein the one or more focusing elements comprise: one or more focusing mirrors to collimate light from the one or more waveguides, wherein individual focusing mirrors of the one or more focusing mirrors are total internal reflection (TIR) mirrors defined in a surface of the optical connector interface; and one or more flat mirrors to reflect light from the one or more focusing mirrors to the one or more optical fibers, wherein individual flat mirrors of the one or more flat mirrors are TIR mirrors defined in a surface of the optical connector interface. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth 08/12/2025.
Claim 20 inherits the allowability of claim 19 on which it depends.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874