Detailed Action
This office action is final and is in response to claims filed on 045/26/2026 via amendment. Claims 1-20 are pending examination. Claims 1, 12, 15, and 18 are currently amended. Claims 2-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are as previously filed.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant has amended the claims at issue, and, therefore, the previous objections have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112
Applicant has amended the claims at issue, and, therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues “the claims recite a specific (i.e., not at a high level of granularity) structural arrangement of FMA blocks that is neither an abstract idea nor found in a generic computer”. See Remarks 6 filed 05/26/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. The recitation of the FMA blocks is at a high level of generality and is clearly generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. see MPEP 2106.05(h). The recitation is not an improvement to circuit but to the abstract ideas (e.g. applying the convolution kernels to the data, generating the convolution kernels, etc.).
“It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection Il, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception... However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology....” See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Examiner encourages applicant to recite specific improvements to the hardware to help overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant argues “However, it is respectfully submitted that adding this limitation from Yoon-2 is improper at least because the claim requires both the claimed vertical coupling and the claimed diagonal coupling, and there is nothing in Yoon-2 or any of the other cited reference to suggest or motivate one to add the diagonal coupling to a structure already including the required vertical coupling. Yoon-2 may describe diagonal coupling instead of the required vertical coupling, but not in addition to the required vertical coupling.” See Remarks 7-8.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Yoon-2 is only used to read on the diagonal couplings with the motivation for combining the references coming from Yoon-2 Column 7 Lines 12-16. Yoon-1 is used to read on the vertical couplings in paragraph [0036]. Further, nothing in Yoon-1 or Yoon-2 recite that the array cannot have vertical and diagonal couplings, Yoon-2 recites “The systolic array 110 can be implemented in a variety of different ways, and in general can include one or more data buses or interconnects connecting different processing elements to neighboring processing elements. For example, the systolic array can include data buses along each row and/or column of the systolic array 110, whose processing elements 110A-P can be configured in a square or rectangular arrangement (although the processing elements 110A-P can be configured in other geometric arrangements in some examples, such as a hexagonal arrangement). In some examples, the systolic array 110 can include one or more data buses along processing elements positioned diagonally up or down relative to one another in the array”, Yoon-2 Column 6, Lines 21-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
With regards to claim 1, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention.
At Step 2A Prong 1, the examiner notes that the claim is directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The claim language has been reproduced below:
An apparatus comprising:
logic circuitry to generate a first convolution kernel and a second convolution kernel based on a two-dimensional convolution kernel; (mathematical calculation)
a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks, (mental process, evaluation) wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array (mental process, evaluation) and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array, (mental process, evaluation) to apply the first convolution kernel to input data during a first pass to generate an intermediate data; (mathematical calculation)
the matrix processing array to apply the second convolution kernel to the intermediate data to generate output data (Mathematical calculation).
Each of the non-bolded limitations are mental processes and/or mathematical calculations. The “to generate a first convolution kernel” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by generating the two kernels by hand using pen and paper. The “a matrix processing array comprising” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what comprises the matrix processing array. The “wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing how the blocks are connected. The “and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing how the blocks are connected. The “to apply the first convolution kernel” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by convolving the input and the first kernel by hand using pen and paper. The “to apply the second convolution kernel” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by convolving the intermediate data and the second kernel by hand using pen and paper.
At Step 2A prong 2, The additional elements are bolded above. The “matrix processing array:, “Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks”, and “FMA block” are generally linking a computer component to a mathematical calculation. The remaining bolded limitations are generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under step 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 12, it recites similar language to claim 1, and is rejected for, at least, the same reasons therein. Herein claim 12 is directed towards the statutory category of a machine, thus also satisfying step 1. Under step 2A prong 1, the “decode an instruction” limitation is a mathematical calculation and evaluation mental process that can be performed by decoding the instruction by hand using pen and paper and choosing the instruction to have a field for an operand value. The “to execute the decoded instruction to perform” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by performing the instruction by hand.
Under step 2A prong 2, the remaining additional elements (the decode circuitry, the execution circuitry, etc.) are no more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under step 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 15, it recites similar language to claim 12, and is rejected for, at least, the same reasons therein. Herein claim 15 is directed towards the statutory category of an article of manufacture, thus also satisfying step 1. Moreover under step 2A prong 2 the additional elements are one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium and a processor. These are no more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under step 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 18, it recites similar language to claim 12, and is rejected for, at least, the same reasons therein. Herein claim 18 is directed towards the statutory category of an article of manufacture, thus also satisfying step 1. Moreover under step 2A prong 2 the additional elements are one or more non-transitory computer-readable medium and a processor. These are no more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under step 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 2, it is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing the input to be image data. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 3 and 16, they are directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing the first and second kernels to me one-dimensional vectors. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 4 and 17, they are directed to a mathematical calculation that can be performed by calculating the Nx1 and 1xN kernels by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 5, it is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing to couple memory to the FMA blocks. Under steps 2A prong 2 the “store” limitation, as claimed under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, the ‘store’ in the context of the claim is encompasses mere data gathering used for the claimed convolution step. None of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. the memory, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim recites “memory to store one or more kernel values” and, per MPEP 2106.05(d) (Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well- understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
With regards to claim 6, it is directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein the matrix processing array comprises” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the matrix processing array comprises. The “with each column element coupled vertically to its neighboring” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what how to couple the FMA blocks. The “where data is to be” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing when to store the data. Under steps 2A prong 2 the “stored” limitation, as claimed under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, the ‘stored’ in the context of the claim is encompasses mere data gathering. Under Step 2B, the claim recites “where data is to be stored after a last FMA element operation” and, per MPEP 2106.05(d) (Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well- understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
With regards to claim 7, it is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the logic circuitry comprises. None of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. processor, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 8, it is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor comprises. None of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. graphics processing unit, general-purpose processor, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 9, is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the instructions do. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 10, is directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the kernels are applied to. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 11, 14, and 20, they are directed to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what comprises the matrix processing array. Under steps 2A prong 2, the systolic array is merely generally linking the mathematical calculations of claim 1 with general systolic DPAS computing. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Under step 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 13 and 19, they are to an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing the operations to perform. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor does it amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichani et al. (“SAP: Design of a Systolic Array Processor for Computations in Vision”) hereinafter Nichani in view Yoon et al. (US 20230015148 A1) hereinafter Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon et al. (US 11507452 B1) hereinafter Yoon-2.
With regards to claim 1, Nichani teaches An apparatus comprising: logic circuitry to generate a first convolution kernel and a second convolution kernel based on a two-dimensional convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction);
to apply the first convolution kernel to input data during a first pass to generate an intermediate data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image, by convolving at first with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each row);
and the matrix processing array to apply the second convolution kernel to the intermediate data to generate output data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: and then convolving the result again with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each column).
Nichani fails to teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks, wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-1 does teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: FIG. 4A depicts an example systolic array 400 that is used to multiply the matrices A 410 and B 420 to produce an output matrix C 430. In particular, systolic array 400 may be a 2D array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) units...The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array)
wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array (Yoon-1 [0036]: The fused multiplier and adder may be used in computing, at least partially, the dot products of each row in matrix A 410 and each column in matrix B 420. CPA 445 may operate similar to the several parallel segmented adders implemented as a CPA described above. The outputs of the fused multiplier and adder in MAC units at the bottom of the systolic array 400 may be output to bottom CPA 445 to be added to produce the values of the matrix C 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the Wallace multiplier and accumulator of Nichani with the FMA units of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this replacement due to the increase in speed and efficiency of FMAs compared to separate multipliers, adders, and accumulators, allowing for more data throughput, as well as because FMA units reduce the rounding error.
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 fails to teach and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-2 teaches and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array (Yoon-2 Column 6 Lines 31-33: the systolic array 110 can include one or more data buses along processing elements positioned diagonally up or down relative to one another in the array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 with coupling the blocks diagonally as taught by Yoon-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the data could be sent more quickly to where it is needed than if the array was not connected diagonally. Also, data can travel across each data bus or interconnect of the systolic array 110 independent of one another. In other words, different processing elements may receive and transmit different data to a neighboring processing element at different points in time as taught by Yoon-2 (Yoon-2 Column 7 Lines 12-16).
With regards to claim 2, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the input data comprises image data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image).
With regards to claim 3, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the first convolution kernel and the second convolution kernel each comprise a one-dimensional vector (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one-dimensional Gaussians).
With regards to claim 4, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein, for an NxN two-dimensional convolution kernel, the logic circuitry is to generate an Nx1 convolution kernel and a 1xN convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one-dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction).
With regards to claim 5, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches is coupled to memory to store one or more kernel values (Nichani Section 4 Weight FIFO Buffer Section Page 316: WFIFO is a circular buffer consisting of 18 registers with a data with of 8 bits).
Nichani fails to teach wherein a subset of the plurality of FMA blocks.
However, Yoon-1 does teach wherein a subset of the plurality of FMA blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the Wallace multiplier and accumulator of Nichani with the FMA units of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this replacement due to the increase in speed and efficiency of FMAs compared to separate multipliers, adders, and accumulators, allowing for more data throughput, as well as because FMA units reduce the rounding error.
With regards to claim 6, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani fails to teach wherein the matrix processing array comprises a two- dimensional matrix of the plurality of FMA blocks with each column element coupled vertically to its neighboring downstream FMA element, where data is to be stored after a last FMA element operation.
However, Yoon-1 does teach wherein the matrix processing array comprises a two- dimensional matrix of the plurality of FMA blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: FIG. 4A depicts an example systolic array 400 that is used to multiply the matrices A 410 and B 420 to produce an output matrix C 430. In particular, systolic array 400 may be a 2D array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) units...The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array)
with each column element coupled vertically to its neighboring downstream FMA element (Yoon-1 [0036]: The fused multiplier and adder may be used in computing, at least partially, the dot products of each row in matrix A 410 and each column in matrix B 420. CPA 445 may operate similar to the several parallel segmented adders implemented as a CPA described above. The outputs of the fused multiplier and adder in MAC units at the bottom of the systolic array 400 may be output to bottom CPA 445 to be added to produce the values of the matrix C 430.),
where data is to be stored after a last FMA element operation (Yoon-1 [0069]: FIG. 8 depicts a block diagram of an example electronic device 800. The electronic device 800 may include one or more processor 810, such as one or more xPUs, system memory 820, a bus 830, the networking interface(s) 840, and other components (not shown), such as storage(s), output device interface(s), input device interface(s). A bus 830 may be used for communicating between the processor 810, the system memory 820; Yoon-1 [0070]: The processor 810 may include a systolic array, such as the systolic array described in connection with FIGS. 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani with the 2D array of FMA units of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for parallel operation of the array allowing for more throughput of calculations.
With regards to claim 7, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein a processor, having one or more processor cores, comprises the logic circuitry (Nichani Section 6 page 317: The PE architecture has been designed, verified and fabricated on a 4.6 x 6.8 mm MOSIS standard frame. The testing of the fabricated chip).
With regards to claim 10, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the matrix processing array is to apply the first and second convolution kernels to execute operations in one or more of: image processing, data filtering, and data encoding or decoding (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one-dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction. Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image, by convolving at first with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each row and then convolving the result again with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each column).
With regards to claim 11, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the matrix processing array comprises a systolic array (Nichani Section 4 Page 316: The systolic array processor (SAP)).
With regards to claim 15, Nichani teaches logic circuitry to generate a first convolution kernel and a second convolution kernel based on a two-dimensional convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction);
to apply the first convolution kernel to input data during a first pass to generate an intermediate data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image, by convolving at first with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each row);
and the matrix processing array to apply the second convolution kernel to the intermediate data to generate output data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: and then convolving the result again with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each column).
Nichani fails to teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks, wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array and One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions that when executed on a processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause.
However, Yoon-1 does teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: FIG. 4A depicts an example systolic array 400 that is used to multiply the matrices A 410 and B 420 to produce an output matrix C 430. In particular, systolic array 400 may be a 2D array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) units...The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array).
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions that when executed on a processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause (Yoon-1 [0078]: Aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented as a computer implemented process, a system, or as an article of manufacture such as a memory device or non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer readable storage medium may be readable by an electronic device and may comprise instructions for causing an electronic device or other device to perform processes and techniques described in the present disclosure)
wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array (Yoon-1 [0036]: The fused multiplier and adder may be used in computing, at least partially, the dot products of each row in matrix A 410 and each column in matrix B 420. CPA 445 may operate similar to the several parallel segmented adders implemented as a CPA described above. The outputs of the fused multiplier and adder in MAC units at the bottom of the systolic array 400 may be output to bottom CPA 445 to be added to produce the values of the matrix C 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the Wallace multiplier and accumulator of Nichani with the FMA units of Yoon-1 and combine the teachings of Nichani with the non-transitory computer readable medium of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this replacement due to the increase in speed and efficiency of FMAs compared to separate multipliers, adders, and accumulators, allowing for more data throughput, as well as because FMA units reduce the rounding error.
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 fails to teach and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-2 teaches and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in row p+1 and column q-1 of the matrix processing array (Yoon-2 Column 6 Lines 31-33: the systolic array 110 can include one or more data buses along processing elements positioned diagonally up or down relative to one another in the array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 with coupling the blocks diagonally as taught by Yoon-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the data could be sent more quickly to where it is needed than if the array was not connected diagonally. Also, data can travel across each data bus or interconnect of the systolic array 110 independent of one another. In other words, different processing elements may receive and transmit different data to a neighboring processing element at different points in time as taught by Yoon-2 (Yoon-2 Column 7 Lines 12-16).
With regards to claim 16, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above. Nichani further teaches the first convolution kernel and the second convolution kernel to each comprise a one-dimensional vector (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one-dimensional Gaussians).
Nichani fails to teach further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to perform one or more operations to cause the.
However, Yoon-1 does teach further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to perform one or more operations to cause the (Yoon-1 [0078]: Aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented as a computer implemented process, a system, or as an article of manufacture such as a memory device or non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer readable storage medium may be readable by an electronic device and may comprise instructions for causing an electronic device or other device to perform processes and techniques described in the present disclosure)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the non-transitory computer readable medium of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the wider manufacture of the circuitry, allowing for it to be distributed more quickly.
With regards to claim 17, Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above. Nichani further teaches generate an Nx1 convulsion kernel and a 1xN convolution kernel for an NxN two-dimensional convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one-dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction).
Nichani fails to teach further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to perform one or more operations to cause the logic circuitry to.
However, Yoon-1 does teach further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to perform one or more operations to cause the logic circuitry to (Yoon-1 [0078]: Aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented as a computer implemented process, a system, or as an article of manufacture such as a memory device or non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer readable storage medium may be readable by an electronic device and may comprise instructions for causing an electronic device or other device to perform processes and techniques described in the present disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the non-transitory computer readable medium of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the wider manufacture of the circuitry, allowing for it to be distributed more quickly.
Claims 8-9, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichani in view Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani et al. (US 20190303743 A1) hereinafter Venkataramani.
With regards to claim 8, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. While Nichani teaches of a processor, Nichani fails to teach wherein the processor comprises a graphics processing unit and/or a general-purpose processor.
However, Venkataramani does teach wherein the processor comprises a graphics processing unit and/or a general-purpose processor (Venkataramani [0155]: the processor 2500 may be a general-purpose processor, coprocessor or special-purpose processor, such as, for example, a network or communication processor, compression engine, graphics processor, GPGPU (general purpose graphics processing unit)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the graphics processor or general-purpose processor of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for more flexibility in manufacturing and using the circuits.
With regards to claim 9, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nichani fails to teach wherein one or more instructions are to be executed to configure, load, execute, and/or store the first and second convolution kernels on the matrix processing array.
However, Venkataramani does teach wherein one or more instructions are to be executed to configure, load, execute, and/or store the first and second convolution kernels on the matrix processing array (Venkataramani [0077]: FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate instructions 1000-1001 according to embodiments of the disclosure… Coarse-grained Data Instructions 1004: e.g., compute dominant instructions such as convolutions (nD-convolutions); Venkataramani Fig. 10A: shows the NDCONV instruction which convolves the input with the kernel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the convolution instruction of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the circuitry to perform the instructions needed to convolve the matrix with the kernels.
With regards to claim 12, Nichani teaches An apparatus comprising: logic circuitry to generate a first convolution kernel and a second convolution kernel based on a two-dimensional convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction);
to apply the first convolution kernel to input data during a first pass to generate an intermediate data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image, by convolving at first with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each row);
and the matrix processing array to apply the second convolution kernel to the intermediate data to generate output data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: and then convolving the result again with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each column).
Nichani fails to teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks, wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-1 does teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: FIG. 4A depicts an example systolic array 400 that is used to multiply the matrices A 410 and B 420 to produce an output matrix C 430. In particular, systolic array 400 may be a 2D array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) units...The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array)
wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array (Yoon-1 [0036]: The fused multiplier and adder may be used in computing, at least partially, the dot products of each row in matrix A 410 and each column in matrix B 420. CPA 445 may operate similar to the several parallel segmented adders implemented as a CPA described above. The outputs of the fused multiplier and adder in MAC units at the bottom of the systolic array 400 may be output to bottom CPA 445 to be added to produce the values of the matrix C 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the Wallace multiplier and accumulator of Nichani with the FMA units of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this replacement due to the increase in speed and efficiency of FMAs compared to separate multipliers, adders, and accumulators, allowing for more data throughput, as well as because FMA units reduce the rounding error.
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 fails to teach and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-2 teaches and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array (Yoon-2 Column 6 Lines 31-33: the systolic array 110 can include one or more data buses along processing elements positioned diagonally up or down relative to one another in the array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 with coupling the blocks diagonally as taught by Yoon-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the data could be sent more quickly to where it is needed than if the array was not connected diagonally. Also, data can travel across each data bus or interconnect of the systolic array 110 independent of one another. In other words, different processing elements may receive and transmit different data to a neighboring processing element at different points in time as taught by Yoon-2 (Yoon-2 Column 7 Lines 12-16).
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 fails to teach decode circuitry to decode an instruction having a field for an operand value; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to perform one or more operations on a matrix processing array.
However, Venkataramani does teach decode circuitry to decode an instruction having a field for an operand value (Venkataramani [0143]: The decode unit 2340 (or decoder or decoder unit) may decode instructions (e.g., macro-instructions), and generate as an output one or more micro-operations, micro-code entry points, micro-instructions, other instructions, or other control signals, which are decoded from, or which otherwise reflect, or are derived from, the original instructions);
and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to perform one or more operations on a matrix processing array (Venkataramani [0142]: shows processor core 2390 including a front end unit 2330 coupled to an execution engine unit),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the decode and execution circuitry of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to allow for more flexibility in the circuit by allowing for different instructions to be performed by the circuit and allow for the execution of instructions from the decode circuitry to perform the needed operations.
With regards to claim 13, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 above. Nichani fails to teach wherein the one or more operations comprise: a load array configuration operation, a matrix load operation, a filter load operation, an array filter operation, and/or a matrix store operation.
However, Venkataramani does teach wherein the one or more operations comprise: a load array configuration operation, a matrix load operation, a filter load operation, an array filter operation, and/or a matrix store operation (Venkataramani [0077]: FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate instructions 1000-1001 according to embodiments of the disclosure… Coarse-grained Data Instructions 1004: e.g., compute dominant instructions such as convolutions (nD-convolutions); Venkataramani Fig. 10A: shows the NDCONV instruction which convolves the input with the kernel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani with the convolution instruction of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the circuitry to perform the instructions needed to convolve the matrix with the kernels.
With regards to claim 14, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Liu further in view of Venkataramani teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the matrix processing array comprises a systolic array (Nichani Section 4 Page 316: The systolic array processor (SAP)).
With regards to claim 18, Nichani teaches logic circuitry to generate a first convolution kernel and a second convolution kernel based on a two-dimensional convolution kernel (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: A two-dimensional Gaussian filter can be separated into two one dimensional Gaussians, one along the x direction and the other along the y direction);
to apply the first convolution kernel to input data during a first pass to generate an intermediate data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: Therefore, the Gaussian filter can be applied to an image, by convolving at first with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each row);
and the matrix processing array to apply the second convolution kernel to the intermediate data to generate output data (Nichani Section 2 Separability Section page 316: and then convolving the result again with a one-dimensional Gaussian along each column).
Nichani fails to teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks, wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array and One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions that when executed on a processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause.
However, Yoon-1 does teach a matrix processing array comprising a plurality of Fused Multiply-Add (FMA) blocks (Yoon-1 [0036]: FIG. 4A depicts an example systolic array 400 that is used to multiply the matrices A 410 and B 420 to produce an output matrix C 430. In particular, systolic array 400 may be a 2D array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) units...The output b values of the Booth encoder 440, and the scalar values of the matrix A 410 may be used as input to a fused multiplier and adder in each MAC unit in the systolic array)
wherein a first FMA block in a row p and a column q of the matrix processing array is coupled vertically to a second FMA block in a row p+1 and the column q of the matrix processing array (Yoon-1 [0036]: The fused multiplier and adder may be used in computing, at least partially, the dot products of each row in matrix A 410 and each column in matrix B 420. CPA 445 may operate similar to the several parallel segmented adders implemented as a CPA described above. The outputs of the fused multiplier and adder in MAC units at the bottom of the systolic array 400 may be output to bottom CPA 445 to be added to produce the values of the matrix C 430).
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions that when executed on a processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause (Yoon-1 [0078]: Aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented as a computer implemented process, a system, or as an article of manufacture such as a memory device or non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer readable storage medium may be readable by an electronic device and may comprise instructions for causing an electronic device or other device to perform processes and techniques described in the present disclosure):
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the Wallace multiplier and accumulator of Nichani with the FMA units of Yoon-1. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this replacement due to the increase in speed and efficiency of FMAs compared to separate multipliers, adders, and accumulators, allowing for more data throughput, as well as because FMA units reduce the rounding error.
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 fails to teach and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array.
However, Yoon-2 teaches and coupled diagonally to a third FMA block in the row p+1 and a column q-1 of the matrix processing array (Yoon-2 Column 6 Lines 31-33: the systolic array 110 can include one or more data buses along processing elements positioned diagonally up or down relative to one another in the array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 with coupling the blocks diagonally as taught by Yoon-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the data could be sent more quickly to where it is needed than if the array was not connected diagonally. Also, data can travel across each data bus or interconnect of the systolic array 110 independent of one another. In other words, different processing elements may receive and transmit different data to a neighboring processing element at different points in time as taught by Yoon-2 (Yoon-2 Column 7 Lines 12-16).
Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 fails to teach decode circuitry to decode an instruction having a field for an operand value; and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to perform one or more operations on a matrix processing array.
However, Venkataramani does teach decode circuitry to decode an instruction having a field for an operand value (Venkataramani [0143]: The decode unit 2340 (or decoder or decoder unit) may decode instructions (e.g., macro-instructions), and generate as an output one or more micro-operations, micro-code entry points, micro-instructions, other instructions, or other control signals, which are decoded from, or which otherwise reflect, or are derived from, the original instructions);
and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction to perform one or more operations on a matrix processing array (Venkataramani [0142]: shows processor core 2390 including a front end unit 2330 coupled to an execution engine unit),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani in view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 with the decode and execution circuitry of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to allow for more flexibility in the circuit by allowing for different instructions to be performed by the circuit and allow for the execution of instructions from the decode circuitry to perform the needed operations.
With regards to claim 19, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani teaches all of the limitations of claim 18 above. Nichani fails to teach wherein the one or more operations comprise: a load array configuration operation, a matrix load operation, a filter load operation, an array filter operation, and/or a matrix store operation.
However, Venkataramani does teach wherein the one or more operations comprise: a load array configuration operation, a matrix load operation, a filter load operation, an array filter operation, and/or a matrix store operation (Venkataramani [0077]: FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate instructions 1000-1001 according to embodiments of the disclosure… Coarse-grained Data Instructions 1004: e.g., compute dominant instructions such as convolutions (nD-convolutions); Venkataramani Fig. 10A: shows the NDCONV instruction which convolves the input with the kernel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani with the convolution instruction of Venkataramani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow for the circuitry to perform the instructions needed to convolve the matrix with the kernels.
With regards to claim 20, Nichani on view of Yoon-1 further in view of Yoon-2 further in view of Venkataramani teaches all of the limitations of claim 18 above. Nichani further teaches wherein the matrix processing array comprises a systolic array (Nichani Section 4 Page 316: The systolic array processor (SAP)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.O.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151