DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on October 15, 2026 that has been entered into file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 9 and 18.
Claims 1, 9 and 18 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 18 have amended to include the phrases “a first lens area and a second lens area, wherein the first lens area has a static optical power on an upper portion of the respective lens and a stronger switchable optical power on a lower portion of the respective lens”, and the amended phrase “the second lens area is smaller than the first lens area is configured to increase its optical power to enable more comfortable viewing”, that are not explicitly supported the specification of originally filed. As explicitly disclosed in the Figure 8F, which the applicant specifically referred to as the base for the amendment, the first and second lens does not have a first lens and second lens areas that the first lens area has both static upper portion and switchable power lower portion and a separate second lens area.
The claims are not fully supported by the specification of originally filed. The rejection was set forth in the previous Office Action dated.
Claims 1, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 9 and 18 have been newly amended to include the phrase “wherein a power of switchable lower portion is dynamically set as a function of an object detected in the real-world image”. The specification of originally filed does not provide positive support for such feature. Specifically, the specification of originally filed does not disclose any means for detection an object in the real-world. The dynamically set of a power of the switchable lower portion will not be based on function of an object of real world.
Claims 1, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In light of the amendment to Claims 1, 9 and 18, the phrase “both first lens and the second lens have a first lens area and a second lens area wherein the first lens area has a static optical power on an upper portion of the respective lens and a stronger switchable optical power on a lower portion … wherein the second lens area is smaller that the first lens area” recited in claims 1, 9 and 18 is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear what considered to be the “second lens area”? It is not clear if the second lens area is the same or different of the lower portion of the first lens area?
The scopes of the claims are completely confusing and indefinite. For the purpose of examination, these phrases are being interpreted as the “first lens has a first lens area and a second lens area” wherein the first lens has a static optical power and the second lens area being smaller than the first lens area and has a stronger switchable optical power wherein the second lens area comprises a switchable Fresnel lens immersed in a switchable liquid crystal”. The lower portion being identified as the second lens area.
However proper clarifications and corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Yan et al (US 2021/0048673 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Taylor (US 2020/0374504 A1), US patent issued to Tabata (PN. 6,614,927), US patent application publication by Clarke et al (US 2009/0096981 A1) and US Patent issued to Pattikonda et al (PN. 11,385,481).
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs for the reasons set forth above. The claims therefore can only be examined in the broadest interpretation.
Yan et al teaches, with regard to claims 1 and 9, an eyewear (please see Figure 2) and a method of operating the eyewear display (with regard to claim 9), that is comprised of a frame, (please see Figure 2), an image processor (8, Figure 1) configured to process images and a first optical assembly and a second optical assembly (i.e. for right eye and left eye respectively), each coupled to the frame, (please see Figure 2) and configured to receive and pass a real world image (104) wherein each of the first and second optical assembly includes a first lens (100, Figure 3A, including 106) configured to direct the real world image toward a respective display configured to display image and a second lens (102, including 120) configured to compensated for the first lens and direct the real world image, (please see Figure 3A). Yan et al teaches that the optical power of the lenes (106) and (120) may be complementary to each other, (please see [0033]) which means the first lens and the second lens may be compensating to each other.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. Claims 1 and 9 further include the phrases “wherein the first and second optical assembly are configured to address vergence accommodation conflict (VAC)”. Yan et al does not teach such feature explicitly.
Claims 1 and 9 also include the phrase “first and second optical assembly have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergent range of approximately 0.9 diopters to 2.0 diopters such that they are configured to address vergence-accommodation conflict (VAC)”.
Yan et al teaches that the optical power of the lenes (106) and (120) may be complementary to each other, (please see [0033]) which means the first lens and the second lens may be compensating to each other. These references however do not teach explicitly that the first optical assembly and the second optical assembly have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergence range of approximately 0.9 diopters to 2.0 diopters”.
Taylor in the same field of endeavor teaches a three dimensional display system that is capable of a blended mode display that synthetic light field generated from a combination of at least two discrete depth planes, (0 and 1, please see Figures 10A, 11 and 12). Taylor teaches that the optical assembly of the display system have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters for covering an entire 3D field of view from approximately a cut-off minimum distance of a viewer’s vision to approximately infinity as shown in Figure 10A. Furthermore, as taught by Tabata the corresponding part of convergence and accommodation is shown in Figure 3, specifically for an accommodation of 1.5 diopter the corresponding convergence is between 0.9 diopter and 2.0 diopter. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Taylor and Tabata to make the first optical assembly and the second optical assembly to have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergence range of approximately 0.9 diopter and 2.0 diopters for the benefit of covering an entire 3D view field between a depth plane near minimum distance of a viewer’s vision to a depth plane at infinity. These accommodation plane value and the convergence range would allow the VAC to be addressed.
Claims 1 and 9 further have been amended to include the phrase “both the first lens and the second lens have a first lens area and a second lens area wherein the first lens area has a static optical power on an upper portion of the respective lens and a stronger switchable optical power on a lower portion of the respective lens” and the phrase “the second lens area is smaller than the first lens area and is configured to increase its optical power … wherein the switchable lower portion comprises a Fresnel lens immersed in a switchable liquid crystal”.
Yan et al teaches that the first and second optical assemblies may comprise electrical adjustable optical components, (please see paragraph [0032]). But it does not teach explicitly that the electrical adjustable optical components are in the lower portion or the second lens area of the lens.
Clarke et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a lens element (109, Figure 1) that is comprised of a first lens area having a static optical power on an upper portion and a second lens area that is in a lower portion of the first lens area comprises an electro-active element (104, Figure 1) that has electrically switchable optical power. Clarke et al teaches that the electro-active element has a progressive power (103, please see paragraph [0051]) which means that the optical power is switchable and it is increased from no optical power to definite optical power. Clarke et al further teaches that the electro-active element comprises switchable Fresnel lens that is immersed in switchable liquid crystal, (please see paragraph [0053] and Figure 16). The second lens area or the switchable lower portion (104) is smaller than the first lens area, (106, please see Figure 1). The lower portion may be made to have a stronger power.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Clarke et al to modify the first and second optical assembly to include a second lens area or lower portion of electro-active element with switchable optical power for the benefit of allowing optical power may be electrically adjusted.
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended to include the phrase “wherein a power of the switchable lower portion is dynamically set as a function of an object detected in the real-world”. This phrase is rejected under 35 USC 112, first paragraph, for the reasons set forth above.
Clarke et al teaches that the electro-active element has a progressive power (103, please see paragraph [0051]) which means that the optical power is dynamically switchable and it is increased from no optical power to definite optical power. This means the progressive power of the electro-active or the switchable lower portion allow is capable for the user to see object in the real-world at a corresponding distance. Pattikonda et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a lens that is provided with dynamic focus wherein the lens focus is dynamically changed corresponding to an object detected, (please see the abstract). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the Pattikonda et al to modify the electro-active lens of Clarke et al to dynamically set the optical power as a function of detected object.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Yan et al (US 2021/0048673 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Taylor (US 2020/0374504 A1), US patent issued to Tabata (PN. 6,614,927), US patent application publication by Clarke et al (US 2009/0096981 A1) and US patent issued to Pattikonda et al (PN. 11,385,481).
Claim 18 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraphs for the reasons set forth above. The claims therefore can only be examined in the broadest interpretation.
Yan et al teaches a computer software code that serves as the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program code (please see paragraph [0017]) that when executed is to run a processing circuitry (12, Figure 1) of a circuitry component device (10, Figure 1) of an image processor of an eyewear. The eyewear has a frame (please see Figure 2), an image processor (8, Figure 1) configured to process images, a first optical assembly (for right eye) and a second optical assembly (for left eye), each coupled to the frame and configured to receive and pass a real-world image (104, Figures 3A and 3B), wherein each of the first and second optical assembly includes a first lens (106, Figure 2) configured to direct real world image toward a respective display (14) configured to display image and a second lens (120) configured to compensate for the first lens and direct the real world image. Yan et al teaches that the optical power of the lenes (106) and (120) may be complementary to each other, (please see [0033]) which means the first lens and the second lens may be compensating to each other.
Yan et al has met all the limitations of the claims.
Claim 18 includes the phrases “wherein the first and second optical assembly are configured to address vergence accommodation conflict (VAC)”. Yan et al however does not teach such feature explicitly. Claim 18 further includes the phrase “the first assembly and the second assembly each receiving and passing the real-world image and the displayed images and the first lens and the second lens applying nonuniform optical power to the real-world image and the displayed image to address VAC”.
Claim 18 further includes the phrase “first and second optical assembly have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergent range of approximately 0.9 diopters to 2.0 diopters such that they are configured to address vergence-accommodation conflict (VAC)”.
Yan et al teaches that the optical power of the lenes (106) and (120) may be complementary to each other, (please see [0033]) which means the first lens and the second lens may be compensating to each other. These references however do not teach explicitly that the first optical assembly and the second optical assembly have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergence range of approximately 0.9 diopters to 2.0 diopters”.
Taylor in the same field of endeavor teaches a three dimensional display system that is capable of a blended mode display that synthetic light field generated from a combination of at least two discrete depth planes, (0 and 1, please see Figures 10A, 11 and 12). Taylor teaches that the optical assembly of the display system have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters for covering an entire 3D field of view from approximately a cut-off minimum distance of a viewer’s vision to approximately infinity as shown in Figure 10A. Furthermore, as taught by Tabata the corresponding part of convergence and accommodation is shown in Figure 3, specifically for an accommodation of 1.5 diopter the corresponding convergence is between 0.9 diopter and 2.0 diopter. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Taylor and Tabata to make the first optical assembly and the second optical assembly to have an accommodation plane at approximately 1.5 diopters and a convergence range of approximately 0.9 diopter and 2.0 diopters for the benefit of covering an entire 3D view field between a depth plane near minimum distance of a viewer’s vision to a depth plane at infinity. These accommodation plane value and the convergence range would allow the VAC to be addressed.
Claim 18 has been amended to include the phrase “both the first lens and the second lens have a first lens area and a second lens area wherein the first lens area has a static optical power on an upper portion of the respective lens and a stronger switchable optical power on a lower portion of the respective lens” and the phrase “the second lens area is smaller than the first lens area ad is configured to increase its optical power … wherein the switchable lower portion comprises a Fresnel lens immersed in a switchable liquid crystal”.
Yan et al teaches that the first and second optical assemblies may comprise electrical adjustable optical components, (please see paragraph [0032]). But it does not teach explicitly that the electrical adjustable optical components are in the lower portion or the second lens area of the lens.
Clarke et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a lens element (109, Figure 1) that is comprised of a first lens area and a second lens area that is in a lower portion of the lens that is comprised of an electro-active element (104, Figure 1) that has electrically switchable optical power. Clarke et al teaches that the electro-active element has a progressive power (103, please see paragraph [0051]) which means that the optical power is switchable and it is increased from no optical power to definite optical power. Clarke et al further teaches that the electro-active element comprises switchable Fresnel lens that is immersed in switchable liquid crystal, (please see paragraph [0053] and Figure 16). The second lens area or the switchable lower portion (104) is smaller than the first lens area, (106, please see Figure 1). The lower portion may be made to have a stronger power.
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Clarke et al to modify the first and second optical assembly to include a second lens area of electro-active element with switchable optical power for the benefit of allowing optical power may be electrically adjusted.
Claim 18 has been amended to include the phrase “wherein a power of the switchable lower portion is dynamically set as a function of an object detected in the real-world”. This phrase is rejected under 35 USC 112, first paragraph, for the reasons set forth above.
Clarke et al teaches that the electro-active element has a progressive power (103, please see paragraph [0051]) which means that the optical power is dynamically switchable and it is increased from no optical power to definite optical power. This means the progressive power of the electro-active or the switchable lower portion allow is capable for the user to see object in the real-world at a corresponding distance. Pattikonda et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a lens that is provided with dynamic focus wherein the lens focus is dynamically changed corresponding to an object detected, (please see the abstract). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the Pattikonda et al to modify the electro-active lens of Clarke et al to dynamically set the optical power as a function of detected object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended feature that have been addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872