DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 03/02/2026, in which claims 1, 19 were amended, claims 2, 4, 7-8, 14-15, 20, 23-24 were cancelled, claims 22, 30-32 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794) and Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630) and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20200212116)
Regarding claims 1, 3, 33, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B a display device comprising:
a substrate [110] provided with a display area for displaying an image by a plurality of subpixels [P];
a first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] provided in each of the plurality of subpixels [P] and including a plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] and a bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] connecting the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128];
a connection portion [122 and 124 on 122] having one end connected to the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region];
an organic light emitting layer [130] provided over the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region]; and
a second electrode [126] provided over the organic light emitting layer [130];
wherein the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] includes a first electrode layer [128] made of a first material and a second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] provided over the first electrode layer [128] and made of a second material [paragraph [0048], [0050], [0053]],
wherein the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] is formed of a same material as the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] and is directly connected to the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of each of the two adjacent divided electrodes [128] of the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region],
wherein each of the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] includes the first electrode layer [128],
wherein two of the first electrode layer [128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and wherein two of the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and in contact with the two adjacent divided electrodes,
wherein, in a plan view, the two adjacent divided electrodes and the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween are arranged along a second direction, and
wherein, in the plan view, the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] has a first width along a first direction, the two adjacent divided electrodes have a second width along the first direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction;
wherein the connection portion includes a first connection portion connected with one of the plurality of divided electrodes and a second connection portion connected with another one of the plurality of divided electrodes, wherein the first and second connection portions are connected [Fig. 1, Fig. 8A, Fig. 9A];
wherein the first connection portion is connected to one of the plurality of divided electrodes, which is disposed at an outermost portion on a first side, and the second connection portion is connected to another one of the plurality of divided electrodes, which is disposed at an outermost portion on a second side [Fig. 1, Fig. 8A, Fig. 9A];
wherein the connection portion includes a first layer [122] and a second layer [124 on 122], and wherein the first layer [122] is a same layer as the first electrode layer [128] and the second layer [124 formed on 122] is a same layer as the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128].
Song et al. fails to disclose
color filters provided over the second electrode and overlapped with the bridge electrode,
a black matrix provided between the color filters.
Kim506 discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, paragraph [0171]-[0181], [0220]-[0231]
color filters [361-364] provided over the second electrode [438] and overlapped with the bridge electrode [portion of 231 between subpixel 121 and 123],
a black matrix [370] provided between the color filters [361-364].
In addition, Kim506 discloses color filters [361-364] overlapped with an entire first electrode [231]. Song et al. discloses the first electrode includes the bridge electrode. Thus, the combination of Kim506 and Song et al. would result to “color filters overlapped with the bridge electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim506 into the method of Song et al. to include color filters provided over the second electrode and overlapped with the bridge electrode, a black matrix provided between the color filters. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing display apparatus that can selectively transmit, filter and/or convert wavelengths of the organic light emitting diode overlapping with the color filter. In addition, it is advantageous for reducing the level of color mixture as the color filter is capable of selectively absorbing light entering from the adjacent organic light emitting diode. Further, it is advantageous for improving the degree of color purity (e.g., the narrower emitting wavelength spectrum) by the color filter when the emitting wavelength spectrum of the organic light emitting diode is broader than the band-pass wavelength spectrum of the overlapping color filter. Accordingly, a wider color gamut can be achieved. Furthermore, the color filter can absorb a portion of ambient light. Thus, it is advantageous for increasing an ambient contrast ratio. Moreover, it is advantageous for filtering an undesired emitting wavelength spectrum from among the various emitting wavelength spectra of the organic light emitting diode [paragraph [0179] of Kim506].
Song et al. fails to disclose
a driving transistor provided over the substrate;
the first electrode provided in each of the plurality of subpixels over the driving transistor;
the connection portion having one end connected to the driving transistor through a contact hole and another end connected to the first electrode.
Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 12, paragraph [0095]-[0097]
a driving transistor [620] provided over the substrate [610];
the first electrode [EP and 641 within EA region] provided in each of the plurality of subpixels over the driving transistor [620];
the connection portion [portion of 641 outside of EA region] having one end connected to the driving transistor [620] through a contact hole and another end connected to the first electrode [EP and 641 within EA region].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the method of Song et al. to include a driving transistor provided over the substrate; the first electrode provided in each of the plurality of subpixels over the driving transistor; the connection portion having one end connected to the driving transistor through a contact hole and another end connected to the first electrode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing driving TFT to drive the light emitting device [paragraph [0097] of Choi et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Song et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first and second connection portions are connected through the contact hole.
Choi et al. discloses wherein the connection portion is connected to the contact hole.
Sumita et al. discloses in Fig. 13, Fig. 14
wherein the first and second connection portions are connected through the contact hole [CH].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sumita et al. into the method of Song et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the first and second connection portions are connected through the contact hole. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. and Choi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for connecting the first and second connection portions of the connection portion to allow a uniform voltage to be applied to multiple pixels. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Song fails to disclose
the first width is narrower than the second width.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 4B, paragraph [0058]
the first width [width of AR] is narrower than the second width [widths of 410 and 440].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the method of Song et al. to include the first width is narrower than the second width. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of proving suitable width of the bridge electrode with respect to widths of the divided electrodes; providing suitable alternative configuration of an electrode having plurality of divided electrodes. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the first width with respect to the second width: the first width is narrower than/wider than or same as the second width. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the first width is narrower than the second width to achieve desired device performance. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 2 wherein the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] are spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] further the second electrode layer [124].
In addition, Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 12 wherein the plurality of divided electrodes [B and portion of 641 on B] are spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of divided electrodes [B and portion of 641 on B] further the second electrode layer [641].
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B
wherein the bridge electrode [124 between 128] is disposed between two adjacent divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128], and has one end connected to the second electrode layer [124] of one of the two adjacent divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] and another end connected to the second electrode layer [124] of another one of the two adjacent divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128];
wherein the bridge electrode [124 between 128] has a first width, which is in contact with the divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128], narrower than a second width of the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128].
Regarding claim 9, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 8B, paragraph [0050], [0053], [0067]
wherein the first material [material of 128] includes a reflective material [Al, Au, Cu, Ti, W and Mo], and the second material [material of 124] includes a transparent material.
Regarding claim 10, Song et al. discloses in paragraph [0122], [0128], [0129] wherein the second material [transparent conductive material] has a higher resistance than the first material [transparent metallic oxide].
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “is disconnected by Joule heating when unintended particles are located at the one of the plurality of divided electrodes” of claim 11 directing to a manner of operation of the bridge electrode or properties of the bridge electrode. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART. MPEP 2114 II. WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT. MPEP 2112.01 I
Regarding claim 12, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 8A, Fig. 9A
wherein the plurality of subpixels [P] include a first subpixel emitting light of a first color and a second subpixel emitting light of a second color, the first electrode provided in the first subpixel includes a plurality of first divided electrodes and a first bridge electrode connecting the plurality of first divided electrodes, and the first electrode provided in the second subpixel includes a plurality of second divided electrodes and a second bridge electrode connecting the plurality of second divided electrodes.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794) and Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Kim et al. (US Pub. 20200212116) and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 20170045788).
Regarding claim 13, Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode have lengths different from each other.
Li et al. discloses in Fig. 3A
wherein the first bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branch 1166 in S(R) or S(G)] and the second bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branch 1166 in S(B)] have lengths different from each other [the pitch P(1) is different from pitch P(2)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the method of Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode have lengths different from each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of optimizing chromatic coordiates of while light to reduce the shift of white light [paragraph [0034]-[0035] of Li et al.].
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode: same or different. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode to provide desired lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode suitable for their intended performance.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794) and Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Kim et al. (US Pub. 20200212116) and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506 as applied to claim 1 and claim 12 above and further in view of Chang (US Pub 20080143897).
Regarding claims 16-17, Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first and second divided electrodes are different from each other in a width of a side perpendicular to the side that is in contact with the bridge electrode;
wherein the first bridge electrode has a length shorter than the second bridge electrode, and the first divided electrode has a width greater than the second divided electrode.
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 8, Fig. 9A
wherein the first and second divided electrodes [divided electrodes 420b in Blue and white subpixels] are different from each other in a width of a side perpendicular to the side that is in contact with the bridge electrode [420a];
wherein the first bridge electrode [420a in blue subpixel] has a length shorter than the second bridge electrode [420a in white subpixel], and the first divided electrode [420b in blue subpixel] has a width greater than the second divided electrode [420b in white subpixel].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang et al. into the method of Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the first and second divided electrodes are different from each other in a width of a side perpendicular to the side that is in contact with the bridge electrode; wherein the first bridge electrode has a length shorter than the second bridge electrode, and the first divided electrode has a width greater than the second divided electrode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of compensating the non-uniform transmittance versus voltage characteristics resulting the different cell gap size or achieving uniform transmittance-voltage curves [paragraph [0039]-[0042] of Chang et al.].
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between lengths and/or widths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode: same or different; the first bridge electrode has a length shorter than or longer than or same as the second bridge electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between widths of the first divided electrode and the second divided electrode: the first divided electrode has a width greater than or less than or same as the second divided electrode. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths or widths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode and/or different widths of the first divided electrode and the second divided electrode suitable for their intended performance.
Regarding claim 18, Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. fails to disclose
wherein the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel and a blue subpixel, and a bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel.
Chang discloses in Fig. 7, Fig. 8, Fig. 9A
wherein the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel and a blue subpixel, and a bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length different than a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel [paragraph [0033], [0034]].
Chang further discloses in paragraph [0030]-[0035] that a length of a bridge electrode of a subpixel can be adjusted to achieve desired operating voltage and/or transmittance of the device.
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between lengths of a bridge electrode of the red subpixel and a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel: a bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than or longer than or same as a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths of a bridge electrode of the red subpixel and a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel suitable for their intended performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang et al. into the method of Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the plurality of subpixels include a red subpixel and a blue subpixel, and a bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al., Sumita et al. and Choi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable subpixels of color display device and providing suitable lengths of a bridge electrode of the red subpixel and a bridge electrode of the blue subpixel to achieve desired operating voltage and/or transmittance of the device.
Claims 19, 21, 25, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794), Kim et al. (US Pub. 20200212131), hereafter Kim131, and Kim et al. (US Pub. 20200212116), hereafter Kim116.
Regarding claims 19 and 34, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 8A, Fig. 9A a display device comprising:
a substrate [110] provided and a plurality of subpixels [P];
a first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] provided in each of the plurality of subpixels [P] over the substrate and including a plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] and a bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] disposed between two adjacent divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] to connect the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128];
a organic light emitting layer [130] provided over the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region]; and
a second electrode [126] provided over the organic light emitting layer [130];
wherein the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] includes a first electrode layer [128] made of a reflective material, and a second electrode layer [124 on 128] provided over the first electrode layer [128] and made of a transparent material [paragraph [0048], [0050], [0053]],
wherein the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] are spaced apart from one another, each of the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] including the first electrode layer [128] and the second electrode layer [124],
wherein the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] is formed of a same material as the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region] and is directly connected to the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of each of the two adjacent divided electrodes [128] of the first electrode [128 and 124 in P region],
wherein each of the plurality of divided electrodes [128 and 124 on 128] includes the first electrode layer [128],
wherein two of the first electrode layer [128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and wherein two of the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and in contact with the two adjacent divided electrodes,
a first connection portion of which one end is connected to one of the plurality of divided electrodes; and
a second connection portion of which one end is connected to another one of the plurality of divided electrodes,
wherein, in a plan view, the two adjacent divided electrodes and the bridge electrode interposed therebetween are arranged along a second direction, and wherein, in the plan view, the bridge electrode has a first width along a first direction, the two adjacent divided electrodes have a second width along the first direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction;
wherein the first connection portion and the second connection portion include a first layer [122] and a second layer [124 on 122], wherein the first layer [122] is a same layer as the first electrode layer [128] and the second layer [124 on 122] is same layer as the second electrode layer [124 on 128].
Song et al. fails to disclose
color filters provided over the second electrode and overlapped with the bridge electrode,
a black matrix provided between the color filters.
Kim506 discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, paragraph [0171]-[0181], [0220]-[0231]
color filters [361-364] provided over the second electrode [438] and overlapped with the bridge electrode [portion of 231 between subpixel 121 and 123],
a black matrix [370] provided between the color filters [361-364].
In addition, Kim506 discloses color filters [361-364] overlapped with an entire first electrode [231]. Song et al. discloses the first electrode includes the bridge electrode. Thus, the combination of Kim506 and Song et al. would result to “color filters overlapped with the bridge electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim506 into the method of Song et al. to include color filters provided over the second electrode and overlapped with the bridge electrode, a black matrix provided between the color filters. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing display apparatus that can selectively transmit, filter and/or convert wavelengths of the organic light emitting diode overlapping with the color filter. In addition, it is advantageous for reducing the level of color mixture as the color filter is capable of selectively absorbing light entering from the adjacent organic light emitting diode. Further, it is advantageous for improving the degree of color purity (e.g., the narrower emitting wavelength spectrum) by the color filter when the emitting wavelength spectrum of the organic light emitting diode is broader than the band-pass wavelength spectrum of the overlapping color filter. Accordingly, a wider color gamut can be achieved. Furthermore, the color filter can absorb a portion of ambient light. Thus, it is advantageous for increasing an ambient contrast ratio. Moreover, it is advantageous for filtering an undesired emitting wavelength spectrum from among the various emitting wavelength spectra of the organic light emitting diode [paragraph [0179] of Kim506].
Song et al. fails to disclose
a driving transistor provided between the substrate and the first electrode;
a first connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through a contact hole; and
a second connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through the contact hole.
Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 12, paragraph [0095]-[0097]
a driving transistor [620] provided over the substrate [610];
a connection portion [portion of 641 outside of EA region] having one end connected to the driving transistor [620] through a contact hole and another end connected to one of the plurality of divided electrodes [EP and 641 within EA region].
Sumita et al. discloses in Fig. 12, Fig. 14
a driving transistor [SW] provided between the substrate and the first electrode;
a first connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through a contact hole [CH]; and
a second connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through the contact hole [CH].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. and Sumita et al. into the method of Song et al. to include a driving transistor provided over the substrate; a first connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through a contact hole; and a second connection portion of which another end is connected to the driving transistor through the contact hole. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing driving TFT and allowing a uniform voltage to be applied to the first electrode of the entire substrate to drive the light emitting device [paragraph [0097] of Choi et al., paragraph [0038], [0042] of Sumita et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Song et al. fails to disclose
the substrate provided with transmissive areas and the plurality of subpixels disposed between the transmissive areas.
Kim131 discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, paragraph [0050]
the substrate provided with transmissive areas [TA] and the plurality of subpixels disposed between the transmissive areas [TA].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the method of Song et al. to include the substrate provided with transmissive areas and the plurality of subpixels disposed between the transmissive areas. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing transparent organic light emitting display apparatus [paragraph [0050] of Kim131].
Song fails to disclose
the first width is narrower than the second width.
Kim116 discloses in Fig. 4B, paragraph [0058]
the first width [width of AR] is narrower than the second width [widths of 410 and 440].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim116 into the method of Song et al. to include the first width is narrower than the second width. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of proving suitable width of the bridge electrode with respect to widths of the divided electrodes; providing suitable alternative configuration of an electrode having plurality of divided electrodes. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the first width with respect to the second width: the first width is narrower than/wider than or same as the second width. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the first width is narrower than the second width to achieve desired device performance. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 21, Song et al. fails to disclose
a bank provided over the first connection portion, the second connection portion and the contact hole.
Sumita et al. discloses in Fig. 12 and Fig. 14
a bank [CV] provided over the first connection portion, the second connection portion and the contact hole.
Choi et al. also suggests in Fig. 2, Fig. 12
a bank [136 or 636] provided over the connection portion and the contact hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sumita et al. and Choi et al. into the method of Song et al. to include a bank provided over the first connection portion, the second connection portion and the contact hole. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of separating neighboring pixels (or sub-pixels) regions [paragraph [0109] of Choi et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 25, Song et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 9A and Sumita et al. discloses in Fig. 14
wherein the plurality of subpixels include a first subpixel emitting light of a first color and a second subpixel emitting light of a second color, wherein the first electrode provided in the first subpixel includes a plurality of first divided electrodes and a first bridge electrode connecting the plurality of first divided electrodes, and wherein the first electrode provided in the second subpixel includes a plurality of second divided electrodes and a second bridge electrode connecting the plurality of second divided electrodes.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794), Kim131 (US Pub. 20200212131), and Kim116 (US Pub. 20200212116) as applied to claim 25 above and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. 20170045788).
Regarding claim 26, Song et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode have lengths different from each other.
Li et al. discloses in Fig. 3A
wherein the first bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branch 1166 in S(R) or S(G)] and the second bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branch 1166 in S(B)] have lengths different from each other [the pitch P(1) is different from pitch P(2)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. into the method of Song et al. to include wherein the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode have lengths different from each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of optimizing chromatic coordiates of while light to reduce the shift of white light [paragraph [0034]-[0035] of Li et al.].
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode: same or different. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode to provide desired lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode suitable for their intended performance.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794), Kim131 (US Pub. 20200212131), and Kim116 (US Pub. 20200212116) and Li et al. (US Pub. 20170045788) as applied to claim 26 above and further in view of Jeong et al. (US Pub. 20180061914).
Regarding claim 27, Sumita et al. discloses in Fig. 12, Fig. 14
a first driving transistor connected with the first electrode provided in the first subpixel and a second driving transistor connected to the first electrode provided in the second subpixel.
Song et al., Choi et al. and Sumita et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first driving transistor has a size larger than the second driving transistor, and the first bridge electrode has a length shorter than the second bridge electrode.
Li et al. discloses in Fig. 3A
the first bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branches 1166 in S(B)] is shorter than the second bridge electrode [portion of 1164 connecting 2 adjacent branch 1166 in S(R)][the pitch P(2) is smaller than pitch P(1)].
Jeong et al. discloses in Fig. 5A, Fig. 5B, paragraph [0134]-[0138]
wherein the first driving transistor [T3] is larger than the second driving transistor [T1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Li et al. and Jeong et al. into the method of Song et al., Choi et al. and Sumita et al. to include wherein the first driving transistor is larger than the second driving transistor, and the first bridge electrode is shorter than the second bridge electrode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al., Choi et al. and Sumita et al. in the above manner for the purpose of adjusting chromatic coordiates of while light [paragraph [0034]-[0035] of Li et al.] and providing suitable sizes of the driving transistors in different subpixels to obtain desired device performance while prevent degradation and cracking of an element when bending [paragraph [0134]-[0138] of Jeong et al.].
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between sizes of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode: the first bridge electrode is shorter than/longer than or same length as the second bridge electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between sizes of the first driving transistor and the second driving transistor: the first driving transistor is larger than or smaller than or same size as the second driving transistor. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths of the first bridge electrode and the second bridge electrode and/or different sizes of the first driving transistor and the second driving transistor suitable for their intended performance.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US Pub. 20190019980) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20170125506), hereafter Kim506, Sumita et al. (US Pub. 20110198630), Choi et al. (US Pub. 20180261794), Kim131 (US Pub. 20200212131) and Kim116 (US Pub. 20200212116) as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of Chang (US Pub 20080143897).
Regarding claims 28-29, Song et al. fails to disclose
wherein the plurality of subpixels include a red subpixel, a green subpixel, a blue subpixel, and a white subpixel,
wherein the bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than the bridge electrode of each of the green subpixel, the blue subpixel and the white subpixel, and wherein the bridge electrode of the blue subpixel has a length longer than the bridge electrode of each of the red subpixel, the green subpixel and the white subpixel;
wherein the bridge electrode of the green subpixel has a length shorter than the bridge electrode of the white subpixel.
Kim discloses in Fig. 3-Fig. 4
wherein the plurality of subpixels include a red subpixel, a green subpixel, a blue subpixel, and a white subpixel,
Chang discloses in Fig. 7, Fig. 8, Fig. 9A
wherein the plurality of subpixels include a red subpixel, a green subpixel, a blue subpixel, and a white subpixel, and
the bridge electrode of each of the red subpixel, the green subpixel, the blue subpixel and the white subpixel has a length independent from each other [paragraph [0033], [0034]];
wherein the bridge electrode of the green subpixel [G] has a length shorter than the bridge electrode of the white subpixel [W].
Chang further discloses in paragraph [0030]-[0035] that a length of a bridge electrode of a subpixel can be adjusted to achieve desired operating voltage and/or transmittance of the device.
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between a length of the bridge electrode of the red subpixel with respect to the bridge electrode of each of the green subpixel, the blue subpixel and the white subpixel: the bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than or longer than or same as the bridge electrode of each of the green subpixel, the blue subpixel and the white subpixel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for relationship between a length of the bridge electrode of the green subpixel with respect to the bridge electrode of the white subpixel: the bridge electrode of the green subpixel has a length shorter than or longer than or same as the bridge electrode of the white subpixel. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try different lengths of a bridge electrode of the red subpixel and a bridge electrode of the green subpixel suitable for their intended performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim and Chang et al. into the method of Song et al. to include wherein the plurality of subpixels include a red subpixel, a green subpixel, a blue subpixel, and a white subpixel, wherein the bridge electrode of the red subpixel has a length shorter than the bridge electrode of each of the green subpixel, the blue subpixel and the white subpixel, and wherein the bridge electrode of the blue subpixel has a length longer than the bridge electrode of each of the red subpixel, the green subpixel and the white subpixel; wherein the bridge electrode of the green subpixel has a length shorter than the bridge electrode of the white subpixel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable subpixels of color display device and providing suitable lengths of the bridge electrode of each of the red subpixel, the white subpixel and the green subpixel to achieve desired operating voltage and/or transmittance of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-13,16-19, 21, 25-29, 33-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In addition, Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As explained in the rejection above, Song et al. discloses the limitation wherein two of the first electrode layer [128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and wherein two of the second electrode layer [124 formed on 128] of the two adjacent divided electrodes are physically completely spaced apart from each other with the bridge electrode [a portion of 124 formed between 128] interposed therebetween and in contact with the two adjacent divided electrodes.
Per MPEP 2131: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893