DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/04/25 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 5-12, 15-16, and 18-20 are in the original/ previously presented form. Claims 4 and 14 are cancelled. Claims 21-22 are newly presented. Thus, claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 09/08/25. However, new objections and 112b rejections pertaining to the amended limitations have been applied (see below).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the axis of rotation of the first spool structure as in at least claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Applicant could amend FIG. 24/25 or FIG. 27 (depending on the pertinent embodiment, see 112b rejection below) to include a dotted line to indicate an “axis of rotation” in order to remedy this drawing objection and give clarity to the language “wherein the second channel extends substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the first spool structure” in claim 21 (see 112b rejection below) in view of the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, lines 1-2 recite “wherein the second channel extends substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the first spool structure”. However, in view of Applicant disclosure, it is unclear to the examiner what direction “perpendicular” would be relative to “an axis of rotation of the first spool structure”. Applicant, on page 7 of the Remarks filed 12/04/25, indicated that Figs. 24-25 and [0134-0137] support the new claims 21-22. However, claim 1 requires the second channel “is defined within the second spool structure” and seems to align with the embodiment shown in FIG. 27. Regardless, upon review of the disclosures for FIGs 24-25 and FIG. 27, it is unclear to the examiner how the second channel extends “substantially perpendicular” to an axis of rotation of the first spool structure (see Modified Figures below).
Both FIG. 24 (see [0136]: first engagement structure 1157A-- likely the closest structure to a “first spool structure” as claimed--is disclosed as rotating counterclockwise in the direction of arrow OO) and FIG. 27 (see [0150] first spool structure 1354A rotates counterclockwise in direction of arrow QQ) describe the rotation of the first spool structures relative to clockwise/ counterclockwise directions. Therefore, the “center” of the rotation would be as shown in the modified figures above. An “axis” of rotation would likely be through the rotational center and thus would be similar to a “z” axis coming straight out/ extending straight back from that center. Therefore, it seems that any “channel” extending on the xy plane would be “substantially perpendicular” to an axis of rotation defined by the z-axis.
Therefore, for purposes of examination, the examiner interprets that any “second channel” in an xy plane defined by the housing would meet the limitation as claimed. Applicant could potentially remedy this 112b rejection by properly identifying the axis of rotation on the figures such that one of ordinary skill in the art could determine the meaning of a second channel “substantially perpendicular” to that rotational axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartmann et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,226,595), hereinafter Hartmann.
Regarding claim 13, Hartmann discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (device 400 with housing 406, see [0099]: device 400 is another example of a tube management device 36 as in [0042-0043] and FIG. 1)
having a first port (416a, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above and ‘Modified FIG. 22’ below with [0100]: diametrically opposed tubing slots 416)
and a second port (416b), the second port (416b) being coupleable to an indwelling vascular access device (30, see FIG. 1 and [0042-0043]: coupleable by way of tubing extending to device 30);
a catheter (28, see [0042]: tube management devices 36 have medication flowing through flexible tubing 28 that is delivered to cannula 24 and therefore tubing 28 reasonably a catheter) having a proximal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through spool and through first port toward reservoir 22, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) and a distal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through second port toward vascular device 30, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above), the catheter (28) at least partially disposed in the housing (406, see [0104]) such that the proximal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through spool and through first port toward reservoir 22, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) is received by the first port (416a, see [0104]: tubing inserted into slots 416);
an internal structure (404) disposed within a cavity of the housing (406), wherein the internal structure (404) comprises a conical structure (see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above and [0101]: fillets on spindle 404 to form slot 422. A fillet has a roughly triangular cross-section and therefore is reasonably a conical structure) configured to support at least a portion of the catheter (tubing 28) between the conical structure (see [0101]: conical structure forms entrance to slot 422 that retains tubing. Therefore, conical structure also has tubing inserted therethrough and is “configured to support” catheter between the conical surface and internal surface of cavity) and an internal surface (inside face of 406, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above) of the cavity (see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above); and
an actuator (402, see [0104]: turning 402 also rotates spindle 404) separate from the internal structure (404, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above. 404 and 402 are distinct elements), the actuator (402) configured to be rotated relative to the housing (see [0100]: 402 rotated relative to 406 and [0104]) to move the distal end portion of the catheter (portion of tubing 28 leading through second port toward vascular device 30, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) a linear distance from a first position in which the distal end portion of the catheter is disposed in the housing, to a second position in which the catheter extends through the second port such that the distal end portion of the catheter is distal to the indwelling vascular access device when the second port is coupled thereto (configured to is functional language. Because Hartmann discloses the actuator 402 rotating relative to the housing such that the tubing length is extended or retracted outside of the housing, the device is capable of moving the distal end portion of the catheter a linear distance “from a first position in which the distal end portion of the catheter is disposed in the housing, to a second position in which the catheter extends through the second port such that the distal end portion of the catheter is distal to the indwelling vascular access device when the second port is coupled thereto”).
Regarding claim 15, Hartmann discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and Hartmann further discloses wherein at least a portion of the catheter (tubing 28) is configured to be wound around (See [0104]: tubing winds around spindle) the internal structure (404, see FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 16, Hartmann discloses the apparatus of claim 13, and Hartmann further discloses wherein the actuator (402, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above) is coupled to (see [0103]: rim 442 of actuator 402 mates with rim 410 of housing 406. See numeral 442 in FIG. 23) the housing (406) at a position proximate (rims are coupled together and second port 416b is on rim 410. Therefore the coupling is “proximate” the second port) the second port (416b) of the housing (406).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spataro et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,226,595), hereinafter Spataro, in view of Toyoda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,038,362), hereinafter Toyoda.
Regarding claim 1, Spataro discloses an apparatus comprising:
a housing (26) having a first port (51, see col. 7 lines 53-63 and FIG. 2H or ‘Modified FIG. 2I’ below)
and a second port (48, see FIG. 2F and col. 6 lines 26-28 or ‘Modified FIG. 2I’ above), the second port (48) being coupleable to an indwelling vascular access device (24, see col. 3 line 60- col. 4 line 2: device 22 delivers instrument through 24 and therefore 22 including housing 26 must be coupleable to 24. And 24 disclosed as a tubing, such as a catheter);
a catheter (42, see col. 7 lines 44-52: blood draw tubing) having a proximal end portion (see col. 8 line 10) and a distal end portion (40, see FIG. 2F), the catheter (42) at least partially disposed in (see FIG. 2F) the housing (26) such that the proximal end portion (see col. 8 line 10) is received by the first port (see col. 7 line 53- col. 8 line 16: proximal end of 42 coupled to tubing 50 and tubing 50 connected to port 51 and therefore the proximal end of 42 is received by port 51); and
an actuator (49, see FIG. 2D), wherein the actuator (49) comprises an engagement portion (45, see FIG. 2D and col. 5 lines 36-38, col. 5 lines 62-63, and col. 5 line 64- col. 6 line 2: user grabs protrusion 45 to rotate the rotary element 28) disposed outside of (see ‘Modified FIG. 2I’ above) the housing (26) and a shaft portion (28) disposed within (see col. 4 lines 11-12: rotary element 28 disposed within housing 26) the housing (26), wherein the shaft portion (28) is configured to engage a portion of the catheter (42, see col. 5 lines 25-38: 42 disposed in groove 44 of shaft 28 and is thus configured to engage the tubing 42 as shown in FIG. 2F) in the housing (26), the actuator (49) configured to be rotated relative to the housing (26, see col. 6 lines 33-35: 28 rotates with respect to housing 26) to move the distal end portion (40) of the catheter (42) a linear distance from a first position (see col. 6 lines 33-38: rotation moves instrument 42 outside housing such as via port 48. Therefore, before rotation moves instrument 42, 42 is within the housing at a first position) in which the distal end portion (40) of the catheter (42) is disposed in the housing (26), to a second position (position in FIG. 2C) in which the catheter (42) extends through the second port (48, see ‘Modified FIG. 2I’ above) such that the distal end portion (40) of the catheter (42) is distal to (as seen in FIG. 2C) the indwelling vascular access device (24) when the second port (48) is coupled thereto (such as shown in FIG. 2C),
wherein the shaft portion (28) comprises a first spool structure (spool structure definition is a “reel” or a cylindrical structure for winding tubular structures, see ‘Modified FIG. 2G’ below with cylindrical structure of interior of 28)
and
wherein a first channel (44, see col. 5 lines 25-38: 42 disposed in groove 44) is defined between (44 extends “between” the surfaces as shown in “Modified FIG. 2G’ above) an outer surface (see ‘Modified FIG. 2G’ above) of the first spool structure and an inner surface (see ‘Modified FIG. 2G’ above) of the housing (26).
Spataro is silent to “and a second spool structure at least partially disposed within the first spool structure, wherein the first spool structure is rotatable with respect to the second spool structure,” and “a second channel is defined within the second spool structure, and a third channel is defined between the first spool structure and the second spool structure.”
However, Toyoda teaches an apparatus (see FIG. 12) comprising a housing (500) and a shaft portion (see col. 14 lines 56-67: unillustrated support shaft has reels 300/400 easily rotatable about the center of shaft), wherein the shaft portion (not shown in FIG. 12) is configured to engage a portion (see best visual of the shaft in FIG. 6 and described again in col. 13 lines 19-25. Shaft not shown again in embodiment of FIG. 12 and thus FIG. is referred to only for visual clarity. Shaft portion “configured to” engage tubing within the housing because shaft located within housing and the reels upon which tubing is wrapped is wrapped around shaft) of a tubing (10,20) within the housing (500), wherein the shaft portion comprises a first spool structure (300) and a second spool structure (400) at least partially disposed within (see col. 14 lines 32-36: 400 accommodated within recess of 300) the first spool structure (300), wherein the first spool structure (300) is rotatable with respect to (see col. 15 line 38- col. 16 line 50: 300/400 mutually independently rotatable and windings of tubing with “winding direction-reversing means” would enable independent rotation) the second spool structure (400), and wherein a first channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 12 & 13C’ below and col. 15 lines 37-43)
is defined between an outer surface (circumferential wall 306) of the first spool structure (300) and an inner surface (see ‘Modified FIG. 12 & 13C’ above) of the housing (500), a second channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 12 & 13C’ above and see col. 15 lines 51-63: cables wound into winding space 412 from coupler 22) is defined within the second spool structure (400), and a third channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 12 & 13C’ above and see col. 15 lines 43-50: fiber wound along winding-reversing means via guide strips 314/316) is defined between (400 overlays 300, see col. 14 lines 32-36: 400 accommodated within recess of 300 and therefore the third channel as shown is “between” 300/400) the first spool structure (300) and the second spool structure (400).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft portion disclosed in Spataro to include a first and second spool comprising the three channels as taught by Toyoda for the purpose of forming a reel system for housing an extended length of tubing in a compact form (see col. 1 lines 4-11. Such a modification which would be advantageous to Spataro for using the rotary element to house additional/ extended lengths of catheter such that the device could be used for many different procedures requiring different lengths of catheter), that has a winding direction-reversing section between the spool structures (see col. 11 line 60-67: note FIG. 12 also comprises the winding direction reversing section, see col 13 lines 53-59. Such a modification is advantageous to Spataro as the winding direction-reversing section allows for the tubing to enter/exit the reel from any position and thus would minimize stress at the ports and expand the placement options of the ports), thus achieving “and a second spool structure at least partially disposed within the first spool structure, wherein the first spool structure is rotatable with respect to the second spool structure,” and “a second channel is defined within the second spool structure, and a third channel is defined between the first spool structure and the second spool structure.”
Regarding claim 2, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein a portion (the interior housing rotary element 28) of the housing (26, see FIG. 2F) has a circular cross- sectional shape (such as shown in at least FIG. 2F and see col 4 lines 12-15: housing 26 has generally cylindrical inner and outer surface and therefore any cross section on the height of those cylinders would be circular).
Regarding claim 3, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein the engagement portion (45, see FIG. 2D) of the actuator is one of a rotary switch, a rotary button, a tab, a knob, or a dial (see col. 5 line 67 – col. 6 line 2: user “takes hold” of 45 to rotate==turn the rotary. Therefore, the engagement portion 45 meets the definition of at least a knob).
Regarding claim 5, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein at least a portion of the catheter (42, see FIG. 2F) is configured to be wound around (see col. 5 lines 25-38: 42 disposed in groove 44 of shaft 28 and is thus configured to “wound around” the shaft portion) the shaft portion (28) of the actuator (49).
Regarding claim 6, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 5, but Spataro is silent to “wherein one or more 360° turns of the catheter are wound around the shaft portion of the actuator.”
However, Toyoda teaches an apparatus (see FIG. 12) comprising a housing (500) and a shaft portion (see col. 14 lines 56-67: unillustrated support shaft has reels 300/400 easily rotatable about the center of shaft) engaging a tubing (10,20), wherein one or more 360° turns of the tubing are wound around the shaft portion (see col. 15 lines 22-63: winding of tubing around reels 300/400 which are disposed on the shaft portion and therefore the tubing is wound around the shaft portion as well. See also col 1 lines 1-11 a predetermined number of turns).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft portion disclosed in Spataro to include one or more 360° turns of the tubing wound around the shaft portion as taught by Toyoda for the purpose of forming a reel system for housing an extended length of tubing in a compact form (see col. 1 lines 4-11), which would be advantageous to Spataro for using the rotary element to house additional lengths of catheter such that the catheter could be used in different procedures needing different lengths of catheter, thus achieving “wherein one or more 360° turns of the catheter are wound around the shaft portion of the actuator.”
Regarding claim 7, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein the housing (26, see FIG. 2G) comprises one or more internal structures (housing wall as seen in FIG. 2G, see col 7 lines 25-35: housing blocks 42 from exiting device and is therefore “configured to” support the catheter 42) configured to support the catheter (42).
Regarding claim 8, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 7, and Spataro further discloses wherein the one or more internal structures (housing wall as seen in FIG. 2G) comprise one or more walls (housing wall as seen in FIG. 2G, see col 7 lines 25-35: housing blocks 42 from exiting device), partitions, protrusions, ridges, ribs, channels, or rollers.
Regarding claim 9, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein the proximal end portion of the catheter (42, see FIG. 2H) is coupled to the first port (51, see col. 7 line 53- col. 8 line 16: proximal end of 42 coupled to tubing 50 and tubing 50 connected to port 51 and therefore the proximal end of 42 is coupled to the port 51 by way of the tubing) and maintained in a fixed position when the catheter is moved from the first position to the second position (see col. 7 lines 60-67: devices coupled to tubing at connector may remain stationary in response to rotation of rotary element 28).
Regarding claim 10, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses wherein the catheter (42, see FIG. 2H) comprises a first section (proximal half of 42 with proximal end coupled to port 51, see col. 7 line 53- col. 8 line 16) and a second section (distal half of 42 including distal end 40 as shown in FIG. 2F).
Regarding claim 11, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and Spataro further discloses wherein the first section (proximal half including proximal end) of the catheter (42) is fixedly coupled (see col. 7 line 53- col. 8 line 16: proximal end of 42 coupled to tubing 50 and tubing 50 connected to port 51 and therefore the proximal end of 42 is coupled to the port 51 by way of the tubing and see col. 7 lines 60-67: devices coupled to tubing at connector may remain stationary in response to rotation of rotary element 28) to the first port (51) of the housing (26) and coupled to a port (see FIG. 2D and col 5 lines 25-38: groove extends to center of rotary element 28 of actuator 49 and see col 7 lines 11-25: groove leads to port, such as through central axis of rotation 29, to exit rotary element 28) of the actuator (49).
Regarding claim 12, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and Spataro further discloses wherein the second section (distal half including distal end 40) of the catheter (42) extends from the shaft portion (28) of the actuator (49) to the second port (48, see FIG. 2F) of the housing (26).
Regarding claim 21, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Modified Spataro further teaches wherein the second channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 12 & 13C’ above) extends substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation (z-axis shown by dashed exploded lines in Modified FIG. 12 above) of the first spool structure (under 112b: any “channel” extending on the xy plane would be “substantially perpendicular” to an axis of rotation defined by the z-axis. Therefore, the second channel taught by Spataro in view of Toyoda meets the limitation as claimed).
Again, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft portion disclosed in Spataro to include a first and second spool comprising the three channels as taught by Toyoda for the purpose of forming a reel system for housing an extended length of tubing in a compact form (see col. 1 lines 4-11. Such a modification which would be advantageous to Spataro for using the rotary element to house additional/ extended lengths of catheter such that the device could be used for many different procedures requiring different lengths of catheter), that has a winding direction-reversing section between the spool structures (see col. 11 line 60-67: note FIG. 12 also comprises the winding direction reversing section, see col 13 lines 53-59. Such a modification is advantageous to Spataro as the winding direction-reversing section allows for the tubing to enter/exit the reel from any position and thus would minimize stress at the ports and expand the placement options of the ports), thus achieving the “second channel” relevant to claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, the modified system of Spataro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Spataro further discloses the first spool structure (spool structure definition is a “reel” or a cylindrical structure for winding tubular structures, see ‘Modified FIG. 2G’ above with internal cylindrical structure of 28) rotating in a first direction (see col. 6 lines 33-35: 28 rotates with respect to housing 26), but Spataro is silent to “wherein rotation of the first spool structure in a first direction causes rotation of the second spool structure in a second direction opposite the first direction.”
However, Toyoda teaches an apparatus (see FIG. 12) comprising a housing (500) and a shaft portion (see col. 14 lines 56-67: unillustrated support shaft has reels 300/400 easily rotatable about the center of shaft), wherein the shaft portion comprises a first spool structure (300) and a second spool structure (400), wherein rotation of the first spool structure (300) in a first direction causes rotation of the second spool structure (400) in a second direction opposite the first direction (see col 13 lines 53-59 and col 15 lines 22-50: winding direction reversing section would change the rotation directions from one spool structure to the other).
Therefore, again, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft portion disclosed in Spataro to include a first and second spool comprising the three channels as taught by Toyoda for the purpose of forming a reel system for housing an extended length of tubing in a compact form (see col. 1 lines 4-11. Such a modification which would be advantageous to Spataro for using the rotary element to house additional/ extended lengths of catheter such that the device could be used for many different procedures requiring different lengths of catheter), that has a winding direction-reversing section between the spool structures (see col. 11 line 60-67: note FIG. 12 also comprises the winding direction reversing section, see col 13 lines 53-59. Such a modification is advantageous to Spataro as the winding direction-reversing section allows for the tubing to enter/exit the reel from any position and thus would minimize stress at the ports and expand the placement options of the ports), thus achieving “wherein rotation of the first spool structure in a first direction causes rotation of the second spool structure in a second direction opposite the first direction.”
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0276383) in view of Harrison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,533,841), hereinafter Harrison.
Regarding claim 17, Hartmann discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (device 400 with housing 406, see [0099]: device 400 is another example of a tube management device 36 as in [0042-0043] and FIG. 1)
having a first port (416a, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above and ‘Modified FIG. 22’ below with [0100]: diametrically opposed tubing slots 416)
and a second port (416b), the first port (416a) being disposed in a central portion (406, see [0099-0100]) of the housing (406) and the second port (416b) being coupleable to an indwelling vascular access device (30, see FIG. 1 and [0042-0043]: coupleable by way of tubing extending to device 30);
a catheter (28, see [0042]: tube management devices 36 have medication flowing through flexible tubing 28 that is delivered to cannula 24 and therefore tubing 28 reasonably a catheter) having a proximal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through spool and through first port toward reservoir 22, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) and a distal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through second port toward vascular device 30, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above), the catheter (28) at least partially disposed in the housing (406, see [0104]) such that the proximal end portion (portion of tubing 28 leading through spool and through first port toward reservoir 22, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above) is received by the first port (416a, see [0104]: tubing inserted into slots 416); and
an actuator (402, see [0104]: turning 402 also rotates spindle 404) comprising a first engagement structure (420a, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above and [0101]) and a second engagement structure (420a, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above) disposed in the housing (406, see [0099]), wherein the actuator (402) defines an inner channel (422, see [0102] & [0104]: channel 444 aligned with 416 and tubing inserted therein) extending between (see ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ below) the first engagement structure (420a) and the second engagement structure (420b),
and an outer channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ above—the outer channel is the volume above the area filled in black. See [0104]: tubing winds around spindle and therefore the volume above the filled plate would be where the tubing rests after winding, forming a channel) extending between the actuator (402) and the housing (406, see [0104]: tubing winds around spindle), wherein the outer channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ above—the outer channel is the volume above the area filled in black.) has (i) a first portion defined between (the first portion would be the volume above the area filled in black and surrounding the outer surface of 420a) an outer surface (see ‘outer surface of 420a’ in ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ above) of the first engagement structure (420a) and the housing (406), and (ii) a second portion defined between (the second portion would be the volume above the area filled in black and surrounding the outer surface of 420b) an outer surface (see ‘outer surface 420b’ in ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ above) of the second engagement structure (420b) and the housing (406), and wherein the inner (422) and outer channels (first and second portions of channels as explained above) are each configured to receive at least a portion of the catheter (see [0102] & [0104]: tubing inserted into inner channel and see [0104]: tubing winds around spindle and thus the outer channels receive a portion of the catheter).
Hartmann is silent to “the first engagement structure being larger than the second engagement structure”.
However, Harrison teaches an apparatus for retaining tubular elements therein (see col. 1 line 60- col. 2 line 16), the apparatus comprising a first engagement structure (see ‘Modified FIG. 2’ below. the first engagement structure formed by base 114 extending to s-shaped channel, see col. 3 lines 18-29) and a second engagement structure (see ‘Modified FIG. 2’ below, the second engagement structure follows circumferential surface 307 extending to s-shaped channel, see col. 4 lines 10-16. FIG. 4 shows circumferential surface 307),
the first engagement structure (see ‘Modified FIG. 2’ above. the first engagement structure formed by base 114 extending to s-shaped channel) being larger than (see ‘ Modified FIG. 2’ above) the second engagement structure (see ‘Modified FIG. 2’ above, the second engagement structure follows circumferential surface 307 extending to s-shaped channel).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator comprising the spool structure with first engagement and second engagement structures disclosed in Hartmann to include a spool structure with the first engagement structure being larger than the second engagement structure as taught by Harrison for the purpose of reducing the possibility of kinks in the tubing (see col. 4 line 65- col. 5 line 12: additional circumferential pathways—such as by circumferential path 307 provided on the second engagement structure—reduce kinking), thus achieving “the first engagement structure being larger than the second engagement structure”.
Regarding claim 18, the modified system of Hartmann teaches the apparatus of claim 17, and Hartmann further discloses wherein the outer channel (see ‘Modified FIG. 22i’ above—the outer channel is the volume above the area filled in black) is circular (circular area filled in is a cross-section of the channel—which is the cylindrical volume formed above the filled in area. Thus, the channel is circular in cross-section).
Regarding claim 19, the modified system of Hartmann teaches the apparatus of claim 17, and Hartmann further discloses wherein the actuator (402, see FIG. 22) is movably coupled to (see [0100]: 402 turns relative to housing 406 and is therefore movable coupled and [0104]: coupling of components 402/404/406) the housing (406).
Regarding claim 20, the modified system of Hartmann teaches the apparatus of claim 19, and Hartmann further discloses wherein the first (420a, see ‘Modified FIG. 22’ above) and second engagement structures (420b) are coupled to the proximal end portion of the catheter (proximal end portion of catheter 28 leads through spool and through first port toward reservoir 22, see ‘Modified FIG. 1’ above. Thus, the spool including first and second engagement structures as shown in ‘Modified FIG. 22’ is coupled to the proximal end portion of the catheter tubing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pons (U.S. PGPUB No. 2004/0170369) teaches a retractable reel system for managing tubular elements that are wound around several spool structures (41,44, see FIG. 3)
Simmons et al. (U.S. PGUB No. 2018/0028785) teaches a tubular device wound about several spool structures (see FIG. 5A/B for internal spool and FIG. 6A/B for outer spool)
Zhuang et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0028785) teaches spool structures for managing lengths of optical fiber ribbon (see FIG. 4)
/KATHLEEN PAIGE FARRELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783