DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the amendment and / or remarks filed on July 28, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22 & 23.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Canadian Patent Number CA 2 575 128 A1) to Lepage in view of (AU 2021203269 A1) to Cartwright, and (U.S. Patent Number 2,304,705) to Pate.
Regarding claim 14, Lepage discloses the lift belt (See Figure 10) for supporting loads carried by the user, the lift belt (See Figure 10) comprising:
the tray (1) having vertical and horizontal attachment points (i.e. Left & Right (10)) & (i.e. Left & Right (7) in Figure 10) for securing the tray (1) to the user, the tray (1) comprising:
the body (3) including an upper end and the lower end (See Figures 1, 3, 5 & 10); and
the shelf (2) attached to the body (3), wherein the body (3) and the shelf (2) meet to define an angle between 60 and 120 degrees (See Figures 1, 3, 5 & 10):
the removable container (11) having opposing features (i.e. Left & Right Recess Vertical Sides Walls of (13) in Figure 12) configured to matingly engage the complimentary mating feature of the tray (1) upon insertion of the tray (1) into the opposing features (i.e. Left & Right Recess Vertical Sides of (13) in Figure 12) (See Figure 12).
However, Lepage lacks and does not explicitly disclose the shelf attached to the body at the upper end of the body; and the gripping surface.
Cartwright teaches the shelf (101) attached to the body (106) at the upper end (105) of the body (106); and the shelf (101) having an upper surface (104) that includes the gripping surface (i.e. Friction Enhancing Surface) (See Page 5, lines 26 & 27) (See Figures 1 & 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make attaching to the body at the upper end of the body; and the shelf having an upper surface that includes the gripping surface as taught by Cartwright with the lift belt of Lepage in order to prevent slippage and excess movement.
However, Lepage does not explicitly disclose a lock configured to selectively secure the removable container to the top surface of the shelf, wherein the lock is a spring latch disposed on a bottom surface of the shelf.
Pate teaches a lock (45 & 46) configured to selectively secure the removable container to the top surface of the shelf, wherein the lock (45 & 46) is a spring latch (See Figure 4) disposed on a bottom surface (11) of the shelf (10) (See Figures 3 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make a lock configured to selectively secure the removable container to the top surface of the shelf, wherein the lock is a spring latch disposed on a bottom surface of the shelf as taught by Pate with the lift belt of Lepage in order to secure and hold and prevent excess movement.
Regarding claim 15, Lepage discloses the harness (10 & 7) connectable to the tray (1) in two locations (i.e. Left & Right Strap Locations of (10) at Top Portion of (1) in Figure 10) configured to vertically support loads disposed on the shelf (2) and two locations (i.e. Left & Right Side Strap Locations of (7) at Sides of (1) in Figure 10) configured to horizontally secure the tray (1) to the user (See Figure 10).
Furthermore, Lepage as modified by Cartwright discloses the harness (202, 203 & 205) connectable to the tray (100) in two locations (i.e. Left & Right (112) in Figure 2) configured to vertically support loads disposed on the shelf (101) and two locations (i.e. Left & Right (108 & 109) in Figure 7) configured to horizontally secure the tray (100) to the user (See Figure 7).
Regarding claim 16, Lepage discloses the body (3) extends from the shelf (2) the length greater than the length that the shelf (2) extends from the body (3).
Regarding claim 23, Lepage as modified by Pate discloses wherein the spring latch (i.e. via (46) in Figure 4) rotates to engage the mating or complimentary feature (i.e. via Sockets (49) in Figure 4) in one of the container or tray (10) (See Figures 1 & 4).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Canadian Patent Number CA 2 575 128 A1) to Lepage, (AU 2021203269 A1) to Cartwright and (U.S. Patent Number 2,304,705) to Pate as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Number 4,319,704) to Rosen.
Regarding claim 19, Lepage discloses wherein the body and the shelf (2) meet to define an angle.
However, Lepage as modified by above lacks and does not explicitly disclose an angle greater than 90 degrees.
Rosen teaches wherein the body (23) and the shelf (20) meet to define an angle greater than 90 degrees (See Column 2, lines 26 – 28) (See Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to make an angle greater than 90 degrees as taught by Rosen with the lift belt of Lepage because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known, equivalent lift belt shelf configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Canadian Patent Number CA 2 575 128 A1) to Lepage, (AU 2021203269 A1) to Cartwright and (U.S. Patent Number 2,304,705) to Pate as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2009 / 0179055 A1) to Estrellado.
Regarding claim 20, Lepage as modified by Cartwright discloses wherein the body (106) has an inner surface (i.e. Inner Surface of (106) in Figure 1) on an opposing side of the body (106) as an outer surface (i.e. Outer Surface of (106) in Figure 5) of the body (106).
However, Lepage as modified by above does not explicitly disclose the inner surface is concave.
Estrellado teaches wherein the body (110) has an inner surface (i.e. Inner Surface of (110) in Figures 1 & 2) on an opposing side of the body (110) as an outer surface of the body (110), and the inner surface (i.e. Inner Surface of (110) in Figures 1 & 2) is concave (See Figures 1 & 2) for the purpose of matching the curve shape of the hip area of the user (See Paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the inner surface concave as taught by Estrellado with the lift belt of Lepage in order to match the shape of the hip area of the user (See Paragraph 0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22 & 23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734