DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on August 29, 2025, claims 1-9 and 18-28 are pending. Claims, 1, 4-5, 7, 18, 20 and 27 are amended, and claims 10-17 were previously cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The applicant has amended claim 1 to recite “the first and second surfaces being non-planar” (lines 2-3). This is discussed in the specification as being shown in FIGS. 1A-B and 7A (see ¶69). The general meaning of “non-planar” is a surface having three dimensions. A housing surface, by nature, is non-planar as there is a height, width and thickness. However, from FIG. 7A it appears that “non-planar” is a curved surface. This interpretation, however, does not work with claims 2 and 3. If the surface is a curved surface, and the coils are arranged on side, or plane, of the surface, the coils cannot be parallel or perpendicular to each other as the surfaces appear to be connected at an angle.
Further, claim 1 recites “a first receive coil extending in a first plane and along each edge of the first perimeter in alignment with the first surface” (lines 6-7) and “the second receive coil extending in a second plane different from the first plane and aligned with the second surface” (lines 8-9). There is no differentiation between “surface” and “plane”. Thus, each of these are interpreted to be the same making the terms redundant throughout the claims.
Claim 18 recites similar claim language and is thus rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claims 2-9 and 19-28 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the amended claim language of the surfaces being “non-planar” is not taught by the references of Fujii and Chang.
However, as detailed in the rejection below and referencing Fujii, a first surface may be defined as the combination of 21/22 and the second surface may be defined as the combination of 23/24. Each of these surfaces are not confined to a single, flat plane and it has a three-dimensional quality, thus, the surfaces are non-planar. Additionally, it should be noted that each surface inherently is a three-dimensional space as there is a thickness, length and width to each of the surfaces 21-24.
Further, it should be noted that the reference of Volta, as cited in the rejection of claims 9, 21-26 and 28 discloses in FIG. 4D a housing with non-planar surfaces.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 in view of Chang et al. US20160072337A1.
Regarding claim 1, Fujii discloses a wireless device (FIG. 3-4) comprising:
a device housing (FIG. 3, housing 20) including a first surface (21/22 in combination) and a second surface (23/24 in combination) (FIG. 3), the first and second surfaces being non-planar (each of the surfaces are not confined to a single, flat plane and has a three-dimensional quality- however, it should be noted that each surface inherently is a three-dimensional space as there is a thickness, length and width to each of the surfaces 21-24) and being distinct from one another (each of the surfaces are different from each other; page 2 – first paragraph of embodiment 1) each of the first and second surfaces further defining respective first and second perimeters (each surface has its own boundaries/perimeter);
a first receive coil (power receiving coil 31/32) extending in a first plane in alignment with the first surface (side 21/22); and
a second receive coil (power receiving coil 33/34) spaced apart from the first receive coil, the second receive coil (power receiving coil 33/34) extending in a second plane different from the first plane and aligned with the second surface (side 23/24), the first and second receive coils being configured to inductively receive wireless power signals (page 2 – paragraph 1 and 2 of embodiment 1).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the receive coils extend along each edge of the perimeters.
Chang discloses a receiving coil 111 is formed along the edge of the surface 131 (¶45; FIG. 2; ¶10-11 – the coil may be configured to substantially surround an edge of the apparatus).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the coils on each of the surfaces of Fujii around the perimeter of the surface as taught by Chang in order to employ the largest surface area to facilitate charging.
Regarding claim 2, Fujii discloses the second plane (23) is perpendicular to the first plane (22) (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Fujii discloses the second plane (23) is oriented in parallel with the first plane (21) (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Fujii discloses the first (31/32) and second receive coils (33/34) are electrically coupled in series (FIG. 2 – the coils are shown to be coupled in series) such that currents induced in the first and second receive coils add constructively (because the wireless power coils are arranged in series, it is known that currents will be summed).
Regarding claim 5, Fujii discloses wherein the device housing further includes a third surface (20b) with a third perimeter (each surface has its own boundaries/perimeter); and
further comprising a third receive coil (35) spaced apart from the first receive coil (21/22) and in alignment with the third surface (20b) of the device housing (10), the third receive coil (35) extending in a third plane (along surface 20b) different from the first (21/22) and second planes (23/24) and configured to inductively receive wireless power signals (from transmission coil 81).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the third receive coil extending along each edge of the third perimeter.
Chang discloses a receiving coil 111 is formed along the edge of the surface 131 (¶45; FIG. 2; ¶10-11 – the coil may be configured to substantially surround an edge of the apparatus).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the coils on each of the surfaces of Fujii around the perimeter of the surface as taught by Chang in order to employ the largest surface area to facilitate charging.
Regarding claim 6, Fujii discloses the device housing (10) encloses the first (power receiving coil 31/32), second (power receiving coil 33/34), and third (35) receive coils, and wherein:
the first surface is substantially parallel with the first plane (FIG. 3, the surface that the coil is arranged on is on a plane and the coil is parallel to the plane);
the second surface is mechanically coupled to the first surface (FIG. 3 is arranged adjacent to each other), and is substantially parallel with the second plane (FIG. 3, the surface that the coil is arranged on is on a plane and the coil is parallel to the plane); and
the third surface is mechanically coupled to the first surface (the surfaces are adjacent to each other and thus mechanically coupled), and is opposite the first surface from the second surface (in a case where the first and second surfaces are perpendicular the third surface may be the surface opposite the first surface), and wherein the third surface is substantially parallel with the third plane (FIG. 3, the surface that the coil is arranged on is on a plane and the coil is parallel to the plane).
Regarding claim 7, Fujii discloses the second (33/34) and third receive coils (35) are electrically coupled in series (FIG. 2 – the coils are shown to be coupled in series) such that the currents induced in the second and third receive coils add constructively (because the wireless power coils are arranged in series, it is known that currents will be summed).
Regarding claim 8, Fujii discloses that the first (31) and second (23) receive coils are configured to receive the wireless power signal from a wireless charging device (70) having a flat surface (the surface 70a is shown as a flat surface) on which either of the first or second surfaces of the wireless device are placed (FIG. 3-4 the device is rotated so that a different surface is placed on the charger), the wireless charging device including a transmit inductor (transmitting coil 71) having a dimension greater or equal than a dimension of the first receive coil (FIGS. 3-4 illustrate the transmitting coil being larger than the reception coil).
Claims 9, 21-23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 in view of Chang et al. US20160072337A1 and Volta et al. US20180293412A1.
Regarding claim 9, although Fujii discloses a wireless device with a plurality of receive coils, Fujii does not explicitly teach that the wireless device is a barcode scanner wherein the coils are positioned in a head of the barcode scanner.
Volta discloses a wireless device that is a barcode scanner (100) wherein the coils (143) are positioned in a head of the barcode scanner (103) (FIG. 4E).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the wireless charging device that is the barcode scanner to the arrangement of the wireless charging device of Fujii in order to provide wireless charging to a device that requires increased flexibility as needed (Volta; ¶7).
Regarding claim 21, Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the wireless device is a handheld barcode reader, and wherein the device housing includes a head and a handle.
Volta discloses a wireless device that is a handheld barcode reader (100), and wherein the device housing includes a head (103) and a handle (FIG. 4E – opposite side of 100).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the wireless charging device that is the barcode scanner to the arrangement of the wireless charging device of Fujii in order to provide wireless charging to a device that requires increased flexibility as needed (Volta; ¶7).
Regarding claim 22, although Fujii discloses opposing surfaces, Fujii does not explicitly disclose that they are opposing lateral surfaces of the head.
Volta discloses that the first surface (surface of 143) and the second surface (surface of 143) are opposing lateral surfaces of the head (see partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 4E below).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the wireless charging device that is the barcode scanner to the arrangement of the wireless charging device of Fujii in order to provide wireless charging to a device that requires increased flexibility as needed (Volta; ¶7).
Regarding claim 23, Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the first (power receiving coil 31/32) and second receive coils (power receiving coil 33/34) are electrically coupled with each other to generate a rectified current through a rectifier (50) responsive to summing current signals through each of the first and second receive coils (FIG. 2 – because the wireless power coils are arranged in series, it is known that currents will be summed).
Regarding claim 28, Fujii does not explicitly teach that the wireless device is a radio-frequency identification reader.
Volta discloses that the wireless device is a radio-frequency identification reader (¶48).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the wireless charging device that is the barcode scanner to the arrangement of the wireless charging device of Fujii in order to provide wireless charging to a device that requires increased flexibility as needed (Volta; ¶7).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 in view of Chang et al. US20160072337A1 and Ahn et al. US20190131823A1.
Regarding claim 18, Fujii discloses a wireless device (FIG. 3-4) comprising:
a first receive coil (power receiving coil 31/32) configured to inductively receive wireless power signals (page 2 – paragraph 1 and 2 of embodiment 1) arranged on a first surface (21/22 in combination) that is non-planar within a housing (10) of the wireless device (each of the surfaces are not confined to a single, flat plane and has a three-dimensional quality- however, it should be noted that each surface inherently is a three-dimensional space as there is a thickness, length and width to each of the surfaces 21-24)
a second receive coil (power receiving coil 33/34) configured to inductively receive wireless power signals (page 2 – paragraph 1 and 2 of embodiment 1), arranged on a second surface that is non-planar (23/24 in combination) within a housing (10) of the wireless device (each of the surfaces are not confined to a single, flat plane and has a three-dimensional quality- however, it should be noted that each surface inherently is a three-dimensional space as there is a thickness, length and width to each of the surfaces 21-24)
a first rectifier circuit (41/42) electrically coupled with the first receive coil (power receiving coil 31/32) (FIG. 2); and
a second rectifier circuit (43/44) electrically coupled with the second receive coil (power receiving coil 33/34) (FIG. 2).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose the first receive coil extending along edges defined by a first surface within a housing of the wireless device; the second receive coil extending along edges deigned by a second surface within the housing of the wireless device; the first and second receive coils configured to operate at a resonant frequency and the second rectifier in parallel with the first rectifier.
Chang discloses a receiving coil 111 is formed along the edge of the surface 131 (¶45; FIG. 2; ¶10-11 – the coil may be configured to substantially surround an edge of the apparatus).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the coils on each of the surfaces of Fujii around the perimeter of the surface as taught by Chang in order to employ the largest surface area to facilitate charging.
Ahn discloses that the receive coils are configured to operate at a resonant frequency (¶56).
Ahn discloses a first coil 211 connected to a first rectifier 110, which includes first switch 213 and diodes 214-216 (FIG. 2 and ¶51) and a second coil 221 connected to a second rectifier 120 which includes the second switch 223, third switch 225, diodes 224 and 226 (FIG. 2 and ¶52). The second rectifier in parallel with the first rectifier (¶52).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the circuit arrangement of Ahn to the coil arrangement of Fujii in order to control to the output voltage and provide sufficient voltage to a load.
Regarding claim 19, Fujii discloses a third receive coil (35) electrically extending along a third surface area (20b), and coupled in series with the second receive coil (FIG. 2 – the coils are shown to be coupled in series) such that the signals received by the second and third receive coils are added together (because the wireless power coils are arranged in series, it is known that currents will be summed).
Fujii discloses the third receive coil (35) is electrically coupled to the second rectifier along with the second receive coil (because the third receive coil is shown to be connected to the second receive coil – see FIG. 2, it follows that the third receive coil is coupled to the second rectifier).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the third receive coil extending along each edge of the third perimeter.
Chang discloses a receiving coil 111 is formed along the edge of the surface 131 (¶45; FIG. 2; ¶10-11 – the coil may be configured to substantially surround an edge of the apparatus).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the coils on each of the surfaces of Fujii around the perimeter of the surface as taught by Chang in order to employ the largest surface area to facilitate charging.
Regarding claim 20, Fujii discloses the third receive coil (35) extends in a third plane (along 20b) of the third surface (20b) that is perpendicular to first (21/22) and second planes (23/24) of the respective first and second surface that are in parallel with one another (there are parallel portions at 22 and 24 and again at 21 and 23) (FIG. 3).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 in view of Chang et al. US20160072337A1 and Volta et al. US20180293412A1 and further in view of Ahn et al. US20190131823A1.
Regarding claim 24, Fujii discloses a first sub-receiver including the first and second receive coils electrically coupled with each other (the first and second receive coils may be grouped together).
Fujii discloses a second sub-receiver including a third receive coil (the third coil is grouped within a second group).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose a first sub-receiver to charge a first capacitor to generate a first voltage across the first capacitor and a second sub-receiver to charge a second capacitor to generate a second voltage across the second capacitor.
Ahn discloses a first sub-receiver (coil 211 and 221) to charge a first capacitor (232) to generate a first voltage across the first capacitor (¶51).
Although not the second sub-receiver is not explicitly taught by Ahn, it would be obvious to provide the same arrangement of the first sub-receiver of Ahn to the second sub-receiver of Fujii to charge a second capacitor to generate a second voltage across the second capacitor.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the circuit arrangement of Ahn to the coil arrangement of Fujii in order to control to the output voltage and provide sufficient voltage to a load.
Regarding claim 25, Fujii discloses a load voltage provided to a load of the wireless device is a sum of at least the first voltage and the second voltage (because the first and second sub-receivers are connected in series, it is well-known in by one skilled in the art that the total voltage is the sum of the voltages).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 in view of Chang et al. US20160072337A1, Volta et al. US20180293412A1 and Ahn et al. US20190131823A1 and in further view of Partovi US20130249479A1.
Regarding claim 26, Fujii discloses that the third receive coil (35) extending in a third plane (24).
However, Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the third surface is aligned with a frontal surface of the head.
Partovi discloses that a receiver coil may be attached to any surface of the device such as the front, bottom, side, or back (¶78).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charging receiver of Fujii to with a coil receiver arranged such that the location does not place undesirable restrictions on a user (Partovi; ¶5).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii WO2014102883A1 and Chang et al. US20160072337A1 in view of Volta et al. US20180293412A1 and further in view of Partovi US20130249479A1.
Regarding claim 27, Fujii discloses the first surface is a lateral surface (side 21/22), and the second surface (side 23).
Fujii does not explicitly disclose that the lateral surface is a head of the wireless device; the second surface is on a frontal surface of the head that includes a window for enabling the wireless device to capture images therethrough.
Volta discloses a wireless device that is a handheld barcode reader (100), includes a head (103) of the wireless device where the coils (143) are arranged in the head of the reader.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the wireless charging device that is the barcode scanner to the arrangement of the wireless charging device of Fujii in order to provide wireless charging to a device that requires increased flexibility as needed (Volta; ¶7).
Volta does not explicitly teach that the second surface is on a frontal surface of the head that includes a window for enabling the wireless device to capture images therethrough.
Partovi discloses that a receiver coil may be attached to any surface of the device such as the front, bottom, side, or back (¶78). Arrangement on the front of the device shows that a device may include charging coils on the same surface of a “window” such as that found on a phone.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the charging receiver of Fujii to with a coil receiver arranged such that the location does not place undesirable restrictions on a user (Partovi; ¶5).
Related Prior Art
Faraone et al. US20170237293A1 discloses a coil that is arranged on the perimeter of a surface – see FIG. 3.
Stone et al. US20130043734A1 – arrangement on a non-planar surface – see FIG. 6A-D.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859