18-28,31-36DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 6/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18-28 and 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Tamarkin et al (CA 2 769 625 C hereafter Tamarkin) in view of Appel et al (WO 2016/049360 A1 hereafter Appel) and USGC-NWHC Environmental Assessment: Field and Captive Studies to Assess the Safety and Efficacy of Treatment Delivery Methods in Bats. Published November 2019 https://www.usgs.gov/media/files/environmemtal-asssssment-fel-studies-wns-vaccine-nov 2019).
Tamarkin discloses a method comprising providing a viscous fluid comprising a medicament, with an aqueous phase in a viscosity construct comprising a polymer and a plurality of particles where the fluid is sheared and thinned and applied topically [abstract, 0024, 0078, 0142]. The viscosity of the sheared formulation after shearing is from can be up to 20 Pa.s [0093]. The formulation is surfactant free [abstract]. The formulation is a spray comprising a propellant and is applied to the skin of a mammal [0048, claims]. The formulation can comprise antivirals and vaccines [0017]. The polymer comprises an amine-containing carbohydrate like chitosan [0078]. The medicament is present as a liposome encapsulated medicament form [0147].
While the formulation comprises a low viscosity gel material comprising particles bound together in a carrier where a vaccine is delivered topically, the viscosity at zero shear is not expressly disclose. Figure 6 shows a shear thinning effect with the viscosity dropping the higher the shear rate. However, a low viscosity formulation for drug delivery at zero shear is known in the art as seen in the Appel patent.
Appel discloses a method comprising providing a viscosifying construct and a medicament and an aqueous carrier fluid, where the construct comprises a plurality of particles bonded through hydrogen or ionic bonds with a polymer [abstract, pg. 14, lin.3-10; pg. 22, lin. 14-25; pg. 25, lin. 20-25]. The viscofluid has a viscosity of about 10-100 pa*s at zero shear [Fig. 2A, pg. 16, lin. 28-25]. The gel is formed by shear-thinning the composition decreases the viscosity [pg. 8, lin. 14-16]. The formulation is useful for delivery of active agent such as vaccine [pg. 25, lin. 20-25]. The gel comprises cellulose polymers comprising amine containing carbohydrates such as chitosan [pg. 15, lin. 1-20; pg. 18, lin. 5]. The formulation further comprises an aqueous carrier [pg. 14, lin. 3-10]. It would been obvious to include these compounds into the formulation of Tamarkin as they solve the same problem.
It would have been obvious to include the gel components of Appel into the method of treatment and formulation of Ron as they have similar components and deliver low viscosity dosage form. While the combination would provide a low viscosity, vaccine formulation useful in topical vaccine delivery, it does not provide a specific application to bats. The use of topical aqueous carrier formulation for the delivery of vaccine is known for the treatment of bats as seen in the USGC study.
The USGS document teaches treatment delivery methods in wild bats against white-nose syndrome (pg. 5, para. 1), a fungal disease caused by the fungus Pseudogymnoascus destructans (Pd) (pg. 8, para. 1). The USGS specifically teaches an oral vaccine for bats against Pd comprising a viral vector based on a raccoon poxvirus that is modified to express highly-conserved fungal and Pd specific antigens (pg. 9, para. 3). In order to control the delivery of this vaccine for Pd, the USGS methods rely on viscous mediums through a high-quality spray via filament extension atomization (FEA) which generates narrowly-dispersed micron-sized droplets from fluids with this range of viscosities (from 1mPa-s to 600 Pa-s) (pg. 10, para. 2). USGS teaches that the small aerosol droplets can then be inhaled or ingested by the bats (mucosal uptake in the mouth or nose) as well as absorbed through their skin (transdermal uptake) with the viscosity contributing significantly to bioretention in both cases (pg. 10, para. 2). The USGS teaches a variety of mass scalable delivery methods, including spray devices being mounted at cave entrances to allow for delivery as bats fly through (pg. 11, para. 1; see also Fig. 6). In summation, the USGS-NWHC teaches methods for treating white-nose syndrome in a population of bats relying on the topical administration of a vaccine vector in a viscous medium applied through a high-quality spray (pg. 10, para. 12), wherein the small aerosol droplets can then be inhaled or ingested by the bats (i.e., during social grooming) (pg. 9, para. 4). It would have been obvious to include this vaccine formulation into the formulation of Tamarkin as it solves the same problem of topical delivery of antiviral formulations to mammals.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art to combine the prior art in order to form a stable method for treating animals topically. It would have been obvious to combine the components of Appel into the treatment method of Ron to produce a low viscosity, topical vaccine as they comprise the same components and solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to apply the low viscosity gel formulation to bats as seen in the USGS study. Tamarkin et al., USGS-NWHC and APPEL et al. are all directed to pharmaceutical compositions and methods comprising gel polymer viscosifying constructs. Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the methods of Tamarkin and USGS- NWHC with the specific polymer nano-particle gel (PNP) networks to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a viscous pharmaceutical composition suitable for topical application to multiply animals by spraying via the formation of a shear-thinned fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because APPEL teaches that the shear-thinning and self-healing gel is an advantageous and cost-effective method for the controlled application and release of bioactive or therapeutic agents (1007-0012), owing to characteristics such as a biodegradable polymer and the ability to form homogenous size distribution for a controlled application (10045-0048). Therefore claims 15 and 22-26 are obvious over Tamarkin et al., USGS-NWHC and APPEL et al.
Double Patenting
Claim 15, 18-21 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7, 13-16, 18 and 19 of copending Application No. 17/819,152 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a method comprising topically applying a viscofluid comprising a medicament onto at least animal using a delivery device. The instant claims are silent to a specific delivery device for the formulation, however delivered the same formulation. The formulations both comprise a viscosity construct with low viscosity at zero shear as determined though steady shear rheometry. The instant claims are a species of the genus method of claims 7 and would act as obviating art over each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/23/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15, 18-28 and 31-36 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above recited rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618