DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18-28 and 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Ron et al (US 2003/0092776 A1 hereafter Ron) in view of Appel et al (WO 2016/049360 A1 hereafter Appel) in view of USGC-NWHC Environmental Assessment: Field and Captive Studies to Assess the Safety and Efficacy of Treatment Delivery Methods in Bats. Published November 2019. https://www.usgs.gov/media/files/environmemtal-assessment-field-studies-wns-vaccine-nov-2019).
Ron discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising viscosifying polymers and methods for their application, and in particular, topical and/or musical applications [0002]. The hydrogels comprising polymers in an aqueous medium are well known in the art wherein the polymer networks are formed and stabilized by covalent bonding or physical bonding such as hydrogen, ionic, hydrophobic or van de Waals forces [0007. The formulation can be used to delivery active agents, including vaccines [0018, 0111-0113]. The active agents can specifically be useful in veterinary applications including topical applications of antibacterials, antifungals [0092, 0126]. The treatments can be used to treat and prevents disease in animals, including mammals such as cats, dogs, livestock [0109]. The active agents can be vaccines, including sub and full length antigen [0111-0113]. The formulation comprises a 2% wt poloxamer polyacrylic acid (1:1) aqueous composition [0047]. This ratio is the ratio of the aqueous carrier formulation to the particles, which is within the claims below 5%. The pH of the gel formulation is 3-9 [0049]. The formulation has viscosity between 10-100 pa*s at low shear [Figure 6].
While the formulation comprises a low viscosity gel material comprising particles bound together in a carrier where a vaccine is delivered topically, the viscosity at zero shear is not expressly disclose. Figure 6 shows a shear thinning effect with the viscosity dropping the higher the shear rate. However a low viscosity formulation for drug delivery at zero shear is known in the art as seen in the Appel patent.
Appel discloses a method comprising providing a viscosifying construct and a medicament and an aqueous carrier fluid, where the construct comprises a plurality of particles bonded through hydrogen or ionic bonds with a polymer [abstract, pg. 14, lin.3-10; pg. 22, lin. 14-25; pg. 25, lin. 20-25]. The viscofluid has a viscosity of about 10-100 pa*s at zero shear [Fig.2A, pg. 16, lin. 28-25]. The gel is formed by shear thinning the composition decrease the viscosity [pg. 8, lin. 14-16]. The formulation is useful for delivery of active agent such as vaccine [pg. 25, lin. 20-25]. The gel comprises cellulose polymers comprising amine containing carbohydrates such as chitosan [pg. 15, lin. 1-20; pg. 18, lin. 5]. The formulation further comprises an aqueous carrier [pg. 14, lin. 3-10]. It would have been obvious to include the gel components of Appel into the method of treatment and formulation of Ron as they have similar components, and deliver low viscosity dosage form.
While the combination would provide a low viscosity, vaccine formulation useful in topical vaccine delivery, it does not provide a specific application to bats. The use of topical aqueous carrier formulation for the delivery of vaccine is known for the treatment of bats as seen in the USGC study.
The USGS document teaches treatment delivery methods in wild bats against white-nose syndrome (pg. 5, para. 1), a fungal disease caused by the fungus Pseudogymnoascus destructans (Pd) (pg. 8, para. 1). The USGS specifically teaches an oral vaccine for bats against Pd comprising a viral vector based on a raccoon poxvirus that is modified to express highly-conserved fungal and Pd specific antigens (pg. 9, para. 3). In order to control the delivery of this vaccine for Pd, the USGS methods rely on viscous mediums through a high-quality spray via filament extension atomization (FEA) which generates narrowly-dispersed micron-sized droplets from fluids with this range of viscosities (from 1mPa-s to 600 Pa-s) (pg. 10, para. 2). USGS teaches that the small aerosol droplets can then be inhaled or ingested by the bats (mucosal uptake in the mouth or nose) as well as absorbed through their skin (transdermal uptake) with the viscosity contributing significantly to bioretention in both cases (pg. 10, para. 2). The USGS teaches a variety of mass scalable delivery methods, including spray devices being mounted at cave entrances to allow for delivery as bats fly through (pg. 11, para. 1; see also Fig. 6). In summation, the USGS-NWHC teaches methods for treating white-nose syndrome in a population of bats relying on the topical administration of a vaccine vector in a viscous medium applied through a high-quality spray (pg. 10, para. 12), wherein the small aerosol droplets can then be inhaled or ingested by the bats (i.e., during social grooming) (pg. 9, para. 4).
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art to combine the prior art in order to form a stable method for treating animals topically. It would have been obvious to combine the components of Appel into the treatment method of Ron to produce a low viscosity, topical vaccine as they comprise the same components and solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to apply the low viscosity gel formulation to bats as seen in the USGS study. RON et al., USGS-NWHC and APPEL et al. are all directed to pharmaceutical compositions and methods comprising gel polymer viscosifying constructs. Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the methods of RON and USGS-NWHC with the specific polymer nano-particle gel (PNP) networks to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a viscous pharmaceutical composition suitable for topical application to multiply animals by spraying via the formation of a shear-thinned fluid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because APPEL teaches that the shear-thinning and self-healing gel is an advantageous and cost effective method for the controlled application and release of bioactive or therapeutic agents (1007-0012), owing to characteristics such as a biodegradable polymer and the ability to form homogenous size distribution for a controlled application (10045-0048). Therefore claims 15 and 22-26 are obvious over RON et al., USGS-NWHC and APPEL et al.
Double Patenting
Claim 15, 18-21, 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7, 13-16, 18 and 19 of copending Application No. 17/819,152 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a method comprising topically applying a viscofluid comprising a medicament onto at least animal using a delivery device. The instant claims are silent to a specific delivery device for the formulation, however delivered the same formulation. The formulations both comprise a viscosity construct with low viscosity at zero shear as determined though steady shear rheometry. The instant claims are a species of the genus method of claims 7 and would act as obviating art over each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/23/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15, 18-28, 31-34 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above recited rejection.
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618