DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 5, 7-9, 12-15, 17-18, 20-22, 25-26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volos et al. (hereinafter Volos)(US 2019/0238436) in view of Saleh et al. (hereinafter Saleh)(US 2021/0049906) and Jaya et al. (hereinafter Jaya)(US 2023/0337269).
Regarding claim 1, Volos teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, signaling comprising information associated with a surrounding in which the UE is located and one or more environmental parameters comprising at least one of UE position information, a quantity of connected UEs at the network entity, or both, wherein the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located is determined via a sensor coupled with the network entity(P[0056], vehicle location, number of devices connected to a node; (abstract)latency characterization and prediction; Fig. 29, collection, monitoring and reporting system; system may include vehicles, mobile devices, network devices, also P[0110]); predicting based at least in part on the one or more environmental parameters(abstract, latency prediction; latency estimate; traffic jam and additional loads in a local network,P[0056]).
Volos did not teach specifically predicting a potential physical object blockage of the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located and on one or more objects associated with a trajectory of the UE; and performing a communication procedure with the network entity based at least in part on predicting the potential physical object blockage. However, Saleh teaches in an analogous art predicting a potential physical object blockage of the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located and on one or more objects associated with a trajectory of the UE; and performing a communication procedure with the network entity based at least in part on predicting the potential physical object blockage(P[0031], there is an obstruction (foreign object on roadway) present; sensors detected physical object at the location of the obstruction; transmit notification of the potential obstruction to obstruction detection system). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to predict a potential physical object blockage of the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located and on one or more objects associated with a trajectory of the UE; and performing a communication procedure with the network entity based at least in part on predicting the potential physical object blockage in order to have improved latency characterization.
Volos in view of Saleh did not teach specifically predicting, by the UE,a potential physical object blockage of a communication link between the network entity and performing, by the UE, a communication procedure with the network entity. However, Jaya teaches in an analogous art predicting, by the UE,a potential physical object blockage of a communication link between the network entity and the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located and on one or more objects associated with a trajectory of the UE; and performing, by the UE, a communication procedure with the network entity based at least in part on predicting the potential physical object blockage and based at least in part on the one or more environmental parameters(items 702-703 in Fig. 7; P[0321-0324]; P[0114-0115], prediction of the WTRU positioning trajectory; P[0115], visual information sent by WTRU may also contain visual objects related to potential blockage in the communication path between the WTRU and the network device; P[0169], current location and trajectory and expected future location; P[0205], potential link blockages). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention t opredict, by the UE,a potential physical object blockage of a communication link between the network entity and the UE based at least in part on the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located and on one or more objects associated with a trajectory of the UE; and performing, by the UE, a communication procedure with the network entity based at least in part on predicting the potential physical object blockage and based at least in part on the one or more environmental parameters in order to have improved radio coverage.
Regarding claim 2, Volos teaches the method, wherein receiving one or more environmental parameters receiving further comprises: a time of day(P[0056], time of day).
Regarding claim 4, Volos teaches the method, further comprising: identifying a deployment information associated with the UE based at least in part on receiving the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located, wherein the communication procedure is based at least in part on the deployment information(P[0044], monitoring the latency of the signals transmitted to or from the RSD and share to other nodes information indicative of the state of the environment).
Regarding claim 5, Volos teaches the method, wherein the deployment information comprises at least one of an urban microcell deployment, an urban macrocell deployment, an inhouse deployment, or a combination thereof(Fig. 20; cloud based network).
Regarding claim 7, Volos teaches determining a crowd level at the surrounding based at least in part on receiving the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located, wherein the communication procedure comprises transmitting an adjusted measurement report based at least in part on the crowd level at the surrounding(P[0045], traffic data; P[0056], traffic jam which may cause additional loads in a local traffic; P[0110], unusual traffic; report may be shared and thus preventing).
Regarding claim 8, Saleh teaches detecting an object within the surrounding based at least in part on receiving the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located, wherein the communication procedure is based at least in part on the detected object(P[0031], transmits a notification of the potential obstruction and can be implemented in servers with which connected vehicles can communicate; P[0038], user as operator; P[0002], vehicles or mobile devices).
Regarding claim 9, Volos in view of Saleh teaches wherein receiving the information further comprises: receiving, via a control signal, the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located(Volos: P[0048], share latency information; receiving latency estimates; Saleh: P[0029], vehicles (UE) receive rerouting information to avoid the identified obstruction).
Regarding claim 13, Volos in view of Saleh teaches receiving, via a camera included within the network entity, an image of the surrounding in which the UE is located; and processing the image to identify the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located, wherein transmitting the indication is based at least in part on processing the image)P[0013, 0020, 0035], image sensors).
Regarding claim 15, Volos in view of Saleh teaches determining historical data associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located; and identifying the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located based at least in part on the historical data(Volos: P[0042-0043], historical latency data).
Claim 12, 14, 17-18, 20-21, 22 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9 respectively.
Claim 25-26, 28 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-2, 4 respectively.
Claim 29-30 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, 13 respectively.
Claim(s) 10, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volos et al. (hereinafter Volos)(US 2019/0238436) in view of Saleh et al. (hereinafter Saleh)(US 2021/0049906), Jaya et al. (hereinafter Jaya)(US 2023/0337269) and Gomes (hereinafter Gomes)(2019/0205115).
Regarding claim 11, Volos in view of Saleh and Jaya teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the control signal comprises at least one of a downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof.
However, Gomes teaches in an analogous art the method, wherein the control signal comprises at least one of a downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof (P[0143, 0151], MAC interfaces). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the control signal comprises at least one of a downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof in order to have improved capability.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Claim(s) 6, 11, 19, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volos et al. (hereinafter Volos)(US 2019/0238436) in view of Saleh et al. (hereinafter Saleh)(US 2021/0049906), Jaya et al. (hereinafter jaya)(US 2023/0337269)and Lin (hereinafter Lin)(CN 113099529).
Regarding claim 6, Volos in view of Saleh and Jaya teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, further comprising: predicting that the trajectory of UE to transition into based at least in part on receiving the information associated with the surrounding in which the UE is located, wherein the communication procedure is based at least in part on predicting that the trajectory of UE(as in claim 1).
Volos in view of Saleh and Jaya teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, further comprising: indoor setting. However, Lin teaches in an analogous art the method, further comprising: indoor setting(title; abstract; Page 19, parking area). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include indoor setting in order to have wider applicability.
Regarding claim 11, Volos in view of Saleh and Jaya teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, further comprising: wherein the information indicates whether the UE is located indoors, outdoors, or indeterminate. However, Lin teaches in an analogous art the method, further comprising: wherein the information indicates whether the UE is located indoors, outdoors, or indeterminate (page 11; realizing indoor and outdoor locating full coverage). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the information indicates whether the UE is located indoors, outdoors, or indeterminate in order to have improved capability.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments file 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647