DETAILED ACTION
This is Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1, 5-9, and 11-14 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on August 27th, 2025 has been considered and entered. Accordingly claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claims 12-14 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
The previous conditional limitations of claims 1 and 11 have been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5-9, and 11-14 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments, however, at least one pertinent argument remains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites, “wherein the processor determines a traveling reference line from the first starting point in which the first switch is switched to the second position and switched to the third position … before the first switch is switched to the first position and switched to the third position … after the first switch is switched to the first position and switched to the third position where the vehicle body is at the second starting point, before the first switch is switched to the second position and switched to the fourth position where the vehicle body is at the second terminating point. It is unclear as to how the first switch can be switched to two different positions at once. The claims omit essential steps with such omission amounting to a gap between the steps See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are as to how the first switch can be switched to two positions at once.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazumasa (JP 2017123803 A) (“Kazumasa”) (Translation Attached) in view of Masahiro (JPH 09151414 A) (“Masahiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Goto (US 20090153362 A1) (“Goto”) in view of Kazuhiro (JP 2016189791 A) (“Kazuhiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Fujiyoshi (US 20160304124 A1) (“Fujiyoshi”).
With respect to claim 1, Kazumasa teaches a working vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle body travelable by selectively using either manual steering including manual operation of a steering wheel or automatic steering including automatic operation of the steering wheel based on a traveling reference line (See at least Kazumasa Paragraph 67 “[About Control Configuration] As shown in FIG. 5, the traveling aircraft C is equipped with a control device 75 that controls automatic steering of the steering unit U. The control device 75 includes an information storage unit (corresponding to a recording unit) 76, a teaching storage unit 77, an information correction unit 80, a starting point setting unit 81 that generates a set travel line SL on which the traveling body C travels, and a setting Steering is performed so that the traveling aircraft C travels along the set traveling line SL based on the line displacement unit 82 that displaces and sets the traveling line SL in parallel, the state detection unit 83, position information, and inertia information. A control section 84 that controls the unit U is provided.”);
a first switch to, after determination of the traveling reference line extending from a first starting point to a first terminating point, be operated to selectively start the automatic steering during a non-operation state of the automatic steering and by being operated to terminate the automatic steering during an operation state of the automatic steering, to thereby determine at least one line parallel to the traveling reference line (See at least Kazumasa Paragraphs 35-37 “Hereinafter, an example of an embodiment of the present invention will be described based on the drawings … Further, after setting the set travel line SL, the traveling aircraft C is configured to automatically travel (corresponding to automatic travel by automatic steering) along the set travel line SL. Note that it is also possible to switch to manual travel (corresponding to manual travel using manual steering) in which the driver operates the steering handle 43 to travel … In addition, at the end point of the set travel line SL, planting is temporarily stopped, the automatic travel is switched to manual steering, the steering is turned, and the next set travel line SL is generated and the planting automatic travel is resumed. The cycle of transition is repeated.” | Paragraph 49 “Further, a grip portion 44A provided at the upper end of the main shift lever 44 is provided with a push-operated automatic steering switch (an example of a changeover switch) 50 (an example of a changeover switch) for switching on and off automatic steering of the steering unit U. 5) is provided. The automatic steering switch 50 is arranged at a position where it can be pressed, for example, with the thumb of the left hand while the grip portion 44A is held with the left hand, and each time the automatic steering switch 50 is pressed, manual steering and automatic steering are alternately switched. It is configured to switch.”);
and a processor to calculate a number of works1 defined as a number of ground works completed by a working device coupled to the vehicle body while the vehicle body travel; wherein the processor controls the working vehicle to perform a ground work (See at least Kazumasa Paragraphs 19-20 “Therefore, during automated driving, the driver can monitor the field conditions (for example, the ups and downs of the field, the planting status of seedlings on the adjacent planting completion route, etc.) By displacing the set travel line in parallel to the side (or to the side separated from the vehicle), the settings can be changed so that the vehicle can automatically travel on a more preferable course … In the present invention, it is preferable that the displacement switch also serves as an instruction switch that can freely input the planar position of the traveling aircraft into the recording section during the manual traveling when setting the reference traveling line” | Paragraph 76 “This manual traveling can be started by swinging the main shift lever 44 forward from the neutral position, and the vehicle travels on a straight line course along the ridge from the outer peripheral part of the field near the ridge. By pressing the right direction button 52A while traveling, the positional information of the traveling aircraft C at that time is acquired by the positioning system, and is recorded in the information storage unit 76 as positional information of the starting point K1 of the reference traveling line KL. Furthermore, by pressing the left instruction button 52B after continuing manual travel, the position information of the traveling aircraft C at that time is acquired by the positioning system and stored in the information storage unit 76 as the position information of the end point K2 of the reference travel line KL. recorded. As a result, the teaching recording section 77 sets the reference travel line KL as a straight line connecting the starting point K1 and the ending point K2”).
Kazumasa fails to explicitly disclose that the processor calculates, when the ground work is performed by the working device while the vehicle body travels along any of the at least one line using the automatic steering, the number of works corresponding to a number of lines along which the vehicle body traveled, and causes a display to display the number of works; the processor calculates the number of works as a number of turns of the vehicle body using manual steering toward a next line from the traveling reference line or the any of the at least one line, the at least one line includes a first line extending from a second starting point to a second terminating point, the second starting point being different from the first starting point and the second terminating point being different from the first terminating point; and the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering.
Masahiro teaches that the processor calculates, when the ground work is performed by the working device while the vehicle body travels along any of the at least one line using the automatic steering, the number of works corresponding to a number of lines along which the vehicle body traveled, and causes a display to display the number of works (See at least Masahiro FIG. 6 and 10 and Paragraph 10 “The compacting machine side system 27 of the compacting machines 25 and 34 is provided with a display computer 35a for displaying compaction work information required by the driver described later” | Paragraphs 22-23 “In FIG. 6, there are the following various regions in the right part of the display computer 35a. 35b is a display of the current time and the number of running times, and 35c is a touch panel for lane change command output. By touching the touch panel, the monitoring room system 24 is notified that the driver changes the lane. 35d is a work interruption touch panel. By touching this, the monitoring room system 24 side is notified that the compaction work is interrupted. A communication touch panel 35e is used when communicating with the monitoring room system 24 side. 35f is a compaction information requesting touch panel. By touching the touch panel, the driver requests the compaction status up to the present time from the monitoring room system 24 side, and the compaction unevenness F is provided from the monitoring room system 24 side. The display around the compacting machine 25 can be displayed, or as shown in FIG. 9, the compaction status of the entire image of the compacting area 2 including the drum pattern 1a of the compacting machine 25 and the other compacting machine 34 can be displayed. Reference numeral 35g denotes a lamp for displaying system operation. FIG. 10 shows a specific example of display contents of information to be given to the driver. 51 is summary information, including compaction machine detailed information, unconsolidated information, compaction information, messages, etc. 52 is compaction. Specific contents of machine detailed information, including model, compaction method, current location, speed, number of courses, travel time, etc. 53 is specific contents of the message, for example, insufficient compaction, once round trip to this lane Including wrong lane, check, return to office, etc. Further, the display device 33a is not limited to displaying the vicinity of the compacting machine of the own machine as shown in FIG. 6, but can display the pattern 2m of the entire compacting area 2 as shown in FIG. Accordingly, the compaction machine 34 of the other machine is displayed together with the compaction machine 25 of the own machine, so that the work status of the compaction machine 34 of the other machine can be grasped”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa to include that the processor calculates, when the ground work is performed by the working device while the vehicle body travels along any of the at least one line using the automatic steering, the number of works corresponding to a number of lines along which the vehicle body traveled, and causes a display to display the number of works, as taught by Masahiro as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate information of vehicle work is provided (Masahiro Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates to compaction for monitoring so that a complete compaction operation can be carried out over the entire compaction region when the surface of the formation is filled and compacted by a compaction machine. It relates to a monitoring device”).
Kazumasa in view of Masahiro fails to explicitly disclose that the processor calculates the number of works as a number of turns of the vehicle body using manual steering toward a next line from the traveling reference line or the any of the at least one line, the at least one line includes a first line extending from a second starting point to a second terminating point, the second starting point being different from the first starting point and the second terminating point being different from the first terminating point; and the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering.
Goto teaches a determination of a number of turns a vehicle makes with manual steering (See at least Goto Paragraph 121 “The number of turns made by the vehicle within the parking lot may be measured by the various sensors 416”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa in view of Masahiro to include a determination of a number of turns a vehicle makes with manual steering, as taught by Goto as disclosed above, such that the number of works could be defined as a number of turns of the vehicle body using manual steering toward a next line from the traveling reference line or the any of the at least one line, in order to ensure accurate travel of a vehicle when completing tasks (Goto Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates to a position registering apparatus, a route retrieval apparatus, a position registering method, a position registering program, and a recording medium capable of automatically registering an entrance point to and an exit point from a parking lot based on an identified current position of mobile object.”).
Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto fail to explicitly disclose the at least one line includes a first line extending from a second starting point to a second terminating point, the second starting point being different from the first starting point and the second terminating point being different from the first terminating point; and the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering.
Kazuhiro teaches that the at least one line includes a first line extending from a second starting point to a second terminating point, the second starting point being different from the first starting point and the second terminating point being different from the first terminating point (See at least Kazuhiro FIGS. 6, 11, 14 and Paragraph 60 “ (27) The present invention, in order to solve the above problems, in the field, to display the guidance lines including a working line of the tractor to perform the work in the field, a field guidance system for performing navigation of the tractor, the a field data definition part for defining the field data is a field of data, based on the field data previously defined, and a guidance part to be displayed to the operator to create a guidance line, the field data definition part, includes a means for the operator to input the desired shape by free curve as the shape of the deformation field, and the field shape creating means for creating the input freedom shape as the deformation field shape, the, field data, including the field shape define the said guidance part, based on the field data of the deformation field, the outer peripheral portion of the deformation field generates a work line in the combined curve to the deformation field shape, sequentially, of the deformation field toward the peripheral portion, so as to asymptotically parallel straight lines, means for generating a working line, a field guidance system characterized in that it comprises” | Paragraph 66 “It is a block diagram of a guidance system. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. State of registration of the attribute information, and is an explanatory view showing a state in which a plurality of field is displayed. Is a flowchart showing an operation example of such guidance system to the present embodiment. Line (work line) is an explanatory diagram of a screen showing a state that was created. Is an explanatory view showing an operation of the initialization of the GNSS receiver. Is an explanatory view showing a state on the screen of the linear approach can be so configured headland path to the next work line (connection path).” |Paragraph 93 “(3d) as shown in FIG. 6 (1), it is moved by dragging the selected (displayed in blue) side, and sets the headland. During the procedure is similar to that described heretofore. As a result, it is possible to define the headland in two directions relative to the field. Display of the final results are shown in FIG. 6 (2). 6 (2), the portion surrounded by the dotted line and a solid line represents a headland, an internal is field. In the field, the work line is drawn. Tractor 20a, after traveling on the respective work line, perform change of direction, the turning in headland, to enter the work line, for example, adjacent to each other.” | Paragraph 112 “In addition, guidance software 20e is, not only to display the pre-defined field data, to create the data of the working line on the basis of the work direction, also displayed on the screen the work line. Creation of the data of this line is to generate a line in the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor around the guidance line to perform the work. Creation of the data of this line is based on the first work line by the start point and the working direction that is specified in the manager software by definition part, generated by the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor. Data of this work line, thus to the working direction of the determined guidance line, is created by the expansion by the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor. Such display example of a screen how the work line is created in the is shown in Figure 9, is displayed here also crops names, such as "genius".” | Paragraphs 161 “In FIG. 14 (1), the first to jump in front of the line the line in the field to skip two of the line, make traveling on the (work) back to the one skipping was behind the line. Then, jump in front of the line to skip the three-line, make traveling on the (work) back to two skip was behind the line. Then, jump in front of the line to skip the three-line, make traveling on the (work) back to the one skipping was behind the line. Later, continue this repeatedly until the last.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto to include that the at least one line includes a first line extending from a second starting point to a second terminating point, the second starting point being different from the first starting point and the second terminating point being different from the first terminating point, as taught by Kazuhiro as disclosed above, such the number of works calculated are based on different lines that the work vehicle has travelled, in order to ensure accurate vehicle travel (Kazuhiro Paragraph 1 “The present invention, in agricultural work in the field, on the guidance system to navigate efficiently work route such as a tractor. In particular, on the guidance system and the technology associated with it has a feature to create a guidance line that shows the progress route of the tractor”).
Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro fail to explicitly disclose that the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering.
Fujiyoshi teaches that the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering (See at least Fujiyoshi FIG. 2 and Paragraphs 47-50 “By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is operated under the autonomous mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the routine advances to step S2 to determine whether or not the manual mode is demanded. As described, the vehicle control system according to the preferred embodiment is configured to switch the operating mode automatically from the autonomous mode to the manual mode when the autonomous operation of the vehicle Ve is interrupted by an operation of the driver. At step S2, therefore, it is determined whether or not the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal is depressed by the driver, or whether or not the steering wheel is turned manually by the driver … By contrast, if the manual mode is demanded during propulsion under the autonomous mode so that the answer of step S2 is YES, the routine advances to step S3 to determine whether or not the driver grips the steering wheel to operate the steering wheel … If the driver grips the steering wheel to operate the steering wheel so that the answer of step S3 is YES, the routine advances to step S4 to switch the operating mode from the autonomous mode to the manual mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro to include that the vehicle body travels along each of the at least one line using the automatic steering and the vehicle body turns using the manual steering, as taught by Fujiyoshi as disclosed above, in order to increase vehicle safety during specific dynamic maneuvers (Fujiyoshi Paragraph 8 “it is therefore an object of the present application is to provide a vehicle control system configured to stabilize vehicle behavior when switching the operating mode from the autonomous mode to the manual mode even if the steering wheel cannot be operated by the driver”).
With respect to claim 11, Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi teaches that the traveling reference line is determined when, after the first switch is operated, the vehicle body travels using the manual steering and the first switch is operated again (See at least Kazumasa Paragraphs 35-37 “Hereinafter, an example of an embodiment of the present invention will be described based on the drawings … Further, after setting the set travel line SL, the traveling aircraft C is configured to automatically travel (corresponding to automatic travel by automatic steering) along the set travel line SL. Note that it is also possible to switch to manual travel (corresponding to manual travel using manual steering) in which the driver operates the steering handle 43 to travel … In addition, at the end point of the set travel line SL, planting is temporarily stopped, the automatic travel is switched to manual steering, the steering is turned, and the next set travel line SL is generated and the planting automatic travel is resumed. The cycle of transition is repeated.” | Paragraph 49 “Further, a grip portion 44A provided at the upper end of the main shift lever 44 is provided with a push-operated automatic steering switch (an example of a changeover switch) 50 (an example of a changeover switch) for switching on and off automatic steering of the steering unit U. 5) is provided. The automatic steering switch 50 is arranged at a position where it can be pressed, for example, with the thumb of the left hand while the grip portion 44A is held with the left hand, and each time the automatic steering switch 50 is pressed, manual steering and automatic steering are alternately switched. It is configured to switch.”); and
the processor is configured or programmed to calculate, as the number of works, a total of: the traveling reference line; and the number of lines along which the ground work is performed by the working device while the vehicle body travels using the automatic steering, and the ground work is performed by the working device (See at least Masahiro FIG. 6 and 10 and Paragraph 10 “The compacting machine side system 27 of the compacting machines 25 and 34 is provided with a display computer 35a for displaying compaction work information required by the driver described later” | Paragraphs 22-23 “In FIG. 6, there are the following various regions in the right part of the display computer 35a. 35b is a display of the current time and the number of running times, and 35c is a touch panel for lane change command output. By touching the touch panel, the monitoring room system 24 is notified that the driver changes the lane. 35d is a work interruption touch panel. By touching this, the monitoring room system 24 side is notified that the compaction work is interrupted. A communication touch panel 35e is used when communicating with the monitoring room system 24 side. 35f is a compaction information requesting touch panel. By touching the touch panel, the driver requests the compaction status up to the present time from the monitoring room system 24 side, and the compaction unevenness F is provided from the monitoring room system 24 side. The display around the compacting machine 25 can be displayed, or as shown in FIG. 9, the compaction status of the entire image of the compacting area 2 including the drum pattern 1a of the compacting machine 25 and the other compacting machine 34 can be displayed. Reference numeral 35g denotes a lamp for displaying system operation. FIG. 10 shows a specific example of display contents of information to be given to the driver. 51 is summary information, including compaction machine detailed information, unconsolidated information, compaction information, messages, etc. 52 is compaction. Specific contents of machine detailed information, including model, compaction method, current location, speed, number of courses, travel time, etc. 53 is specific contents of the message, for example, insufficient compaction, once round trip to this lane Including wrong lane, check, return to office, etc. Further, the display device 33a is not limited to displaying the vicinity of the compacting machine of the own machine as shown in FIG. 6, but can display the pattern 2m of the entire compacting area 2 as shown in FIG. Accordingly, the compaction machine 34 of the other machine is displayed together with the compaction machine 25 of the own machine, so that the work status of the compaction machine 34 of the other machine can be grasped”) (See at least Goto Paragraph 121 “The number of turns made by the vehicle within the parking lot may be measured by the various sensors 416”).
With respect to claim 12, Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi teaches to determine the traveling reference line by the vehicle body being steered in the manual steering and the vehicle body traveling from the first starting point to the first terminating point; the processor is configured or programmed to enable the vehicle body to be steered in the manual steering for a driver to manually turn and move the vehicle body from the first terminating point to the second starting point, the first terminating point being different from the second starting point; the processor is configured or programmed to control the vehicle body to travel in the automatic steering along at least one planned traveling line extending from the second starting point to second terminating point in a direction parallel to the traveling reference line, and to control the working vehicle to perform the ground work from the second starting point to the second terminating point (See at least Kazumasa Paragraph 67 “[About Control Configuration] As shown in FIG. 5, the traveling aircraft C is equipped with a control device 75 that controls automatic steering of the steering unit U. The control device 75 includes an information storage unit (corresponding to a recording unit) 76, a teaching storage unit 77, an information correction unit 80, a starting point setting unit 81 that generates a set travel line SL on which the traveling body C travels, and a setting Steering is performed so that the traveling aircraft C travels along the set traveling line SL based on the line displacement unit 82 that displaces and sets the traveling line SL in parallel, the state detection unit 83, position information, and inertia information. A control section 84 that controls the unit U is provided.”) (See at least Kazumasa Paragraphs 35-37 “Hereinafter, an example of an embodiment of the present invention will be described based on the drawings … Further, after setting the set travel line SL, the traveling aircraft C is configured to automatically travel (corresponding to automatic travel by automatic steering) along the set travel line SL. Note that it is also possible to switch to manual travel (corresponding to manual travel using manual steering) in which the driver operates the steering handle 43 to travel … In addition, at the end point of the set travel line SL, planting is temporarily stopped, the automatic travel is switched to manual steering, the steering is turned, and the next set travel line SL is generated and the planting automatic travel is resumed. The cycle of transition is repeated.” | Paragraph 49 “Further, a grip portion 44A provided at the upper end of the main shift lever 44 is provided with a push-operated automatic steering switch (an example of a changeover switch) 50 (an example of a changeover switch) for switching on and off automatic steering of the steering unit U. 5) is provided. The automatic steering switch 50 is arranged at a position where it can be pressed, for example, with the thumb of the left hand while the grip portion 44A is held with the left hand, and each time the automatic steering switch 50 is pressed, manual steering and automatic steering are alternately switched. It is configured to switch.”); and
the processor is configured or programmed to calculate and to display, on the display, a number of turns which the driver manually has turned the vehicle body as a number of lines in which the ground work has been performed along the travelling reference line and the at least one planned traveling line (See at least Masahiro FIG. 6 and 10 and Paragraph 10 “The compacting machine side system 27 of the compacting machines 25 and 34 is provided with a display computer 35a for displaying compaction work information required by the driver described later” | Paragraphs 22-23 “In FIG. 6, there are the following various regions in the right part of the display computer 35a. 35b is a display of the current time and the number of running times, and 35c is a touch panel for lane change command output. By touching the touch panel, the monitoring room system 24 is notified that the driver changes the lane. 35d is a work interruption touch panel. By touching this, the monitoring room system 24 side is notified that the compaction work is interrupted. A communication touch panel 35e is used when communicating with the monitoring room system 24 side. 35f is a compaction information requesting touch panel. By touching the touch panel, the driver requests the compaction status up to the present time from the monitoring room system 24 side, and the compaction unevenness F is provided from the monitoring room system 24 side. The display around the compacting machine 25 can be displayed, or as shown in FIG. 9, the compaction status of the entire image of the compacting area 2 including the drum pattern 1a of the compacting machine 25 and the other compacting machine 34 can be displayed. Reference numeral 35g denotes a lamp for displaying system operation. FIG. 10 shows a specific example of display contents of information to be given to the driver. 51 is summary information, including compaction machine detailed information, unconsolidated information, compaction information, messages, etc. 52 is compaction. Specific contents of machine detailed information, including model, compaction method, current location, speed, number of courses, travel time, etc. 53 is specific contents of the message, for example, insufficient compaction, once round trip to this lane Including wrong lane, check, return to office, etc. Further, the display device 33a is not limited to displaying the vicinity of the compacting machine of the own machine as shown in FIG. 6, but can display the pattern 2m of the entire compacting area 2 as shown in FIG. Accordingly, the compaction machine 34 of the other machine is displayed together with the compaction machine 25 of the own machine, so that the work status of the compaction machine 34 of the other machine can be grasped”) (See at least Kazuhiro Paragraph 45 “(12) Further, the present invention provides (1) In the field guidance systems according to any one of (4), wherein the guidance part is a GNSS receiver that detects the current position of the tractor, the definition part from the field data but defined, and searching means for searching the field within a predetermined range from the current position of the tractor which is detected by the GNSS receiver, one or more field of field data found by said search means display means for displaying, from the field displayed on the display means, comprising means for inputting the field to be operator selected working, and the display means, the field that the input, work start position a field guidance system and displaying the working direction, the number of working lines, the the operator.”).
With respect to claim 13, Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi teach that the at least one line includes a second line extending from a third starting point to a third terminating point, the third starting point is different from the first starting point and the second starting point, and the third terminating point is different form the first terminating point and the second terminating point (See at least Kazuhiro FIGS. 6, 11, 14 and Paragraph 60 “ (27) The present invention, in order to solve the above problems, in the field, to display the guidance lines including a working line of the tractor to perform the work in the field, a field guidance system for performing navigation of the tractor, the a field data definition part for defining the field data is a field of data, based on the field data previously defined, and a guidance part to be displayed to the operator to create a guidance line, the field data definition part, includes a means for the operator to input the desired shape by free curve as the shape of the deformation field, and the field shape creating means for creating the input freedom shape as the deformation field shape, the, field data, including the field shape define the said guidance part, based on the field data of the deformation field, the outer peripheral portion of the deformation field generates a work line in the combined curve to the deformation field shape, sequentially, of the deformation field toward the peripheral portion, so as to asymptotically parallel straight lines, means for generating a working line, a field guidance system characterized in that it comprises” | Paragraph 66 “It is a block diagram of a guidance system. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. Is an explanatory view showing how to define the headland with respect to the polygon of the field. State of registration of the attribute information, and is an explanatory view showing a state in which a plurality of field is displayed. Is a flowchart showing an operation example of such guidance system to the present embodiment. Line (work line) is an explanatory diagram of a screen showing a state that was created. Is an explanatory view showing an operation of the initialization of the GNSS receiver. Is an explanatory view showing a state on the screen of the linear approach can be so configured headland path to the next work line (connection path).” |Paragraph 93 “(3d) as shown in FIG. 6 (1), it is moved by dragging the selected (displayed in blue) side, and sets the headland. During the procedure is similar to that described heretofore. As a result, it is possible to define the headland in two directions relative to the field. Display of the final results are shown in FIG. 6 (2). 6 (2), the portion surrounded by the dotted line and a solid line represents a headland, an internal is field. In the field, the work line is drawn. Tractor 20a, after traveling on the respective work line, perform change of direction, the turning in headland, to enter the work line, for example, adjacent to each other.” | Paragraph 112 “ In addition, guidance software 20e is, not only to display the pre-defined field data, to create the data of the working line on the basis of the work direction, also displayed on the screen the work line. Creation of the data of this line is to generate a line in the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor around the guidance line to perform the work. Creation of the data of this line is based on the first work line by the start point and the working direction that is specified in the manager software by definition part, generated by the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor. Data of this work line, thus to the working direction of the determined guidance line, is created by the expansion by the width of the working machine to be towed to the tractor. Such display example of a screen how the work line is created in the is shown in Figure 9, is displayed here also crops names, such as "genius".” | Paragraphs 161 “In FIG. 14 (1), the first to jump in front of the line the line in the field to skip two of the line, make traveling on the (work) back to the one skipping was behind the line. Then, jump in front of the line to skip the three-line, make traveling on the (work) back to two skip was behind the line. Then, jump in front of the line to skip the three-line, make traveling on the (work) back to the one skipping was behind the line. Later, continue this repeatedly until the last.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazumasa (JP 2017123803 A) (“Kazumasa”) (Translation Attached) in view of Masahiro (JPH 09151414 A) (“Masahiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Goto (US 20090153362 A1) (“Goto”) in view of Kazuhiro (JP 2016189791 A) (“Kazuhiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Fujiyoshi (US 20160304124 A1) (“Fujiyoshi”) further in view of Paul (US 20160264132 A1) (“Paul”).
With respect to claim 5, Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi fails to explicitly disclose a second switch; wherein the processor detects when the second switch is operated; and the processor is configured or programmed to reset the number of works when the second switch is operated.
Paul teaches a second switch; wherein the processor detects when the second switch is operated; and the processor is configured or programmed to reset the number of works when the second switch is operated (See at least Paul Paragraph 35 “A feature that may be used to alter the driving path prior to reaching the final destination is the “reset” function. The reset function restarts the recording process as if the vehicle is passing by the starting position for the first time. The reset function can be initiated by the vehicle owner via a reset pushbutton 34 b located in the vehicle cockpit; by pressing a reset button on a touch screen on the instrument panel of the visual display 38; or by using a voice command through microphone 32. In addition, the reset function may be initiated automatically when the vehicle 12 passes the starting position prior to reaching the final destination. In other words, if the vehicle owner is driving around a parking lot looking for a parking spot and passes the starting position where the learn function was initiated (e.g. the store front), the reset function can be manually or automatically triggered such that all of the previous data regarding the path driven up to that point is discarded and the learn mode starts over recording new data from the starting position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi to include a second switch; wherein the processor detects when the second switch is operated; and the processor is configured or programmed to reset the number of works when the second switch is operated, as taught by Paul as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate tracking of the number of works performed (Paul Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates to remote vehicle communications, and in particular, to autonomously retrieving a vehicle using a wireless device.”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazumasa (JP 2017123803 A) (“Kazumasa”) (Translation Attached) in view of Masahiro (JPH 09151414 A) (“Masahiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Goto (US 20090153362 A1) (“Goto”) in view of Kazuhiro (JP 2016189791 A) (“Kazuhiro”) (Translation Attached) in view of Fujiyoshi (US 20160304124 A1) (“Fujiyoshi”) further in view of Markov (US 20160041803 A1) (“Markov”).
With respect to claim 9, Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi teaches determining a number of works (See at least Kazumasa Paragraphs 19-20 “Therefore, during automated driving, the driver can monitor the field conditions (for example, the ups and downs of the field, the planting status of seedlings on the adjacent planting completion route, etc.) By displacing the set travel line in parallel to the side (or to the side separated from the vehicle), the settings can be changed so that the vehicle can automatically travel on a more preferable course … In the present invention, it is preferable that the displacement switch also serves as an instruction switch that can freely input the planar position of the traveling aircraft into the recording section during the manual traveling when setting the reference traveling line” | Paragraph 76 “This manual traveling can be started by swinging the main shift lever 44 forward from the neutral position, and the vehicle travels on a straight line course along the ridge from the outer peripheral part of the field near the ridge. By pressing the right direction button 52A while traveling, the positional information of the traveling aircraft C at that time is acquired by the positioning system, and is recorded in the information storage unit 76 as positional information of the starting point K1 of the reference traveling line KL. Furthermore, by pressing the left instruction button 52B after continuing manual travel, the position information of the traveling aircraft C at that time is acquired by the positioning system and stored in the information storage unit 76 as the position information of the end point K2 of the reference travel line KL. recorded. As a result, the teaching recording section 77 sets the reference travel line KL as a straight line connecting the starting point K1 and the ending point K2”).
Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi fails to explicitly disclose to display the number of works at least after the automatic steering.
Markov teaches a display to display various parameters of a work vehicle (See at least Markov FIG. 1B and Paragraph 55 “FIG. 1B illustrates the display with full open mini views and toolbars, according to a non-limiting embodiment. For example, FIG. 1B shows the screen 64 for a vehicle, such as tractor 10, according to this non-limiting embodiment”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus of Kazumasa in view of Masahiro in view of Goto in view of Kazuhiro in view of Fujiyoshi to include a display to display various parameters of a work vehicle, as taught by Markov as disclosed above, such that the display is configured to display the number of works at least after the automatic steering, in order to provide an accurate representation of the amount of work done (Markov Paragraph 3 “One or more non-limiting embodiments relate to a system and method for the simplified and personalized display and control of complex machinery.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).