DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 2/18/2026. The instant application has claims 11-17, 19 pending. The system, method and medium for having an client based access to file. There a total of 8 claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that key store maintain a list of files and permissions is integrated into centralized architecture.
Vainstein discloses an keystore having key pairs that is accessible by central server for allowing access to internal users based on permission found in the header of each file see Par. 0033 & Par. 0037-0039. That is, the key store is accessed by the central server to allow authenticated users with permissions for retrieve the key pair for decrypting the file, in that way it integrated into an centralized architecture within the same network/organization.
The applicant argues that identifier is based on combination of username and password is not taught by cited prior art.
Vainstein discloses user identifier being used for referencing the user. And mentions all multiple possibilities, including what is mentioned in the claims, i.e combination and username see Par. 0068. Further, the applicant has not provide any advantage of this particular method thus it is merely an design choice thus not given patentable weight see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2004/0064710 to Vainstein in view of ShadowCrypt: Encrypted Web Applications for Everyone to He and further in view US Patent Pub 2016/0277374 to Reid.
Regarding claim 11, 17, 19, Vainstein discloses A method for encrypting and storing a computer file, the method being implemented by a device, known as a "key store", for securing accesses to said computer file, the key store being embedded in a home network gateway(Abstract, internal user of organization & Fig. 1 item 104 key store) within the keystore: - establishing a list of n pairs of keys, each pair of keys comprising respectively a private key and a th client among a plurality of clients authorised to access said computer file, wherein the unique identifier of the i" client comprises a combination of:- a user name and/or a password and/or a derivative of these elements, and- a unique identifier of a device (Fig. 2 item 202-206, key pair for partner is created and stored in key store & par. 0038, key store of public-private key pair & Par. 0068, multiple client identifier is possible including what is mentioned like combination of username and password & Par. 0033 & Par. 0037-0039, the key store in part of internal network), - receiving said computer file and encrypting it as an encrypted version of said computer file, by using a key for encrypting said computer file(Par. 0043, the document is encrypted & Par. 0030-0031 & Par. 0047-0048), - recording an encrypted version of said computer file, encrypted by using said key for encrypting said computer file, in a file storage space accessible from the key store, the encrypted version of the computer file being associated with the encrypted versions of the encryption key(Fig. 3 item 304, 310 & Par. 0017-0018, the internal user and external users are stored in key store & Par. 0043 & Par. 0047-0048), - associating the file, in a list of files encrypted and stored under the control of said key store, with one or more unique identifiers of pairs of keys, associated with the unique identifiers of the clients authorized to access said computer file, as well as with a pointer to an encrypted version of said computer file recorded in the file storage space(Par. 0047 & Par. 0043, the key store for each partner and user being stored).
Vaistein does not disclose encrypting the encryption key in as many encrypted versions as there are public keys, each of the encrypted versions of the encryption key being encrypted with one of the public keys in the pairs of keys of the clients authorised to access the file.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, He discloses encrypting the encryption key in as many encrypted versions as there are public keys and related clients authorized to access said computer file to obtain a plurality of encrypted versions of the encryption key, each of the encrypted versions of the encryption key being encrypted with one of the public keys in the pairs of keys of the clients authorised to access the file(5 User Interface & Fig. 6 & 2.2 ShadowCrypt, an number of keys are used for each users with encrypted version of the files & 4.2 Encrypting Text & see 5. User Interface, different color key representing different versions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Vainstein invention to incorporate encrypting the encryption key in as many encrypted versions as there are public keys, each of the encrypted versions of the encryption key being encrypted with one of the public keys in the pairs of keys of the clients authorised to access the file for the advantage of selective access to files according to the user as taught in He see 4.2 Encrypting Text.
He nor Vainstein disclose
Reid discloses
see Fig. 1 item Key Master & Fig. 4 item Key Manager and File Broker & Fig. 20 & Fig. 22 item New Key Master and Old Key Master & Registry & Par. 0071 & Par. 00172 & Par. 0174 & Par. 0207, updates the files access rights and keys for user/patients/doctors in registry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Vainstein invention to incorporate updating the registries for user and files for the advantage of accommodate the changes for permissions as taught in Reid see Par. 0208 & Par. 0219.
Regarding claim 12. The combined method of Vainstein, He and Reid, mutatis mutandis, Vainstein discloses the method for encrypting and storing a computer file according to claim 11, wherein: - establishing the list of n pairs of keys comprises an addition of an nth pair of keys associated with a unique identifier of an nth client authorised to access the computer file in the list of pairs of keys, and/or wherein - an identifier of an itfi pair of keys is inserted in the list of encrypted files and stored by said key store, in association with said computer file for purposes of granting to an ithclient newly authorised to access the computer file a right of access to the computer file(Par. 0047-0048, key store that is updated).
Regarding claim 13. the combined method of Vainstein, He and Reid , mutatis mutandis, Vainstein discloses the method for encrypting and storing a computer file according to claim 11, wherein: - establishing the list of n pairs of keys comprises a removing of an ith pair of keys associated with a unique identifier of an ith client authorised to access the computer file in the list of pairs of keys, and/or wherein - an identifier of an itfi pair of keys is removed from the list of files encrypted and stored by said key store, in association with said computer file for the purpose of preventing the ith client, previously authorised, having access to the computer file(Par. 0047-0048, key store that is updated).
Regarding claim 14. The combined method of Vainstein, He and Reid , mutatis mutandis, Vainstein discloses the method for encrypting and storing a computer file according to claim 11, wherein a unique identifier of a client comprises a user name and/or a password and/or a derivative of these elements(Par. 0063-0064, the user certificate and password is checked).
Regarding claim 15. The combined method of Vainstein, He and Reid , mutatis mutandis, Vainstein discloses the method for encrypting and storing a computer file according to claim 14, wherein one or more unique identifiers of a client comprise a unique identifier of a device used by a user of the key store(Par. 0047-0048, key store with each user & Par. 0058).
Regarding claim 16. the combined method of Vainstein, He and Reid , mutatis mutandis, Vainstein discloses the method for encrypting and storing a computer file according to claim 11, comprising a step of authenticating a client authorised to access said key store verifying that said client is connected to said key store device by using alocal area network of the LAN type, by usinga cable connection or an encrypted wireless connection(Fig. 8 item Network A, B & Fig. 1 item 102, 104 & Fig 4 item 402, user access allowed)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov