DETAILED ACTION
Claims and Previous Objections/Rejections Status
Claims 1,26,27,29,30,32-34,36 and 43 are pending in the application. Claims 2-25,28,31,35 and 37-42 are cancelled and claim 43 is added in the amendment filed 5/22/26.
Any objections and/or rejections from previous office actions that have not been reiterated in this office action are obviated.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-34 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortes-
Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10) in view of Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1) and in further view of Toyokuni et al. (WO03/089013).
Cortes-Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10) discloses the COX-2 inhibitor compound
(p6, scheme 1).
The
encompasses the
moiety of the of the instant claims when
R1 is hydrogen.
The
encompasses the
moiety of the of the instant claims.
The
encompasses the
moiety of the instant claims .
Cortes-Salva et al. does not disclose the Me moiety of the
is 11CH3.
Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1) discloses COX-2 compounds
wherein A is 3- to 7-membered heterocycle, etc.; R1 is 11C-labeled C1-C6- alkyl group, etc.; R2 is -aryl, etc.; and R3 is -halo, such as -F, -Cl, etc. (p2, [0011-0015]; p4, [0046]).
The 3- to 7-membered heterocycle comprises pyrimidinyl, etc. that may be substituted with one or more halo groups, such as -F, -Cl, etc. (p4, [0046],[0048]).
The 11C-labeled C1-C6- alkyl group comprises 11CH3, etc. (p2, [0037]) and encompasses the 11CH3
of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the Me of the
of Cortes-Salva et al. for 11CH3 as Mann et al. teaches of the advantage of
from a finite list of radiolabeled groups for the advantage of in vivo monitoring of COX-2 via PET (p1, [0009]) via monitor the progress or regression of an inflammatory disease (p1, [0009]).
With regards to the instant claim 33, Cortes-Salva et al. does not disclose the substitution of the -F substituted on the pyrimidinyl moiety
for -Cl.
Cortes-Salva et al. further discloses
(Scheme 1).
Mann et al. further discloses that the 3- to 7-membered heterocycle comprises pyrimidinyl, etc. that may be substituted with one or more halo groups, such as -F, -Cl, etc. (p4, [0046],[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the -F substituted on the pyrimidinyl moiety
of Cortes-Salva et al. with a -Cl as Cortes-Salva et al. discloses -Cl substitution on the pyrimidinyl moiety and Mann et al. teaches that the halo substituents, such as -F and -Cl are analogously substituted on the 3- to 7-
membered heterocycle group.
With regards to the instant claim 34, Cortes-Salva et al. does not disclose the substitution of the -F substituted on the pyrimidinyl moiety
for -CF3.
Toyokuni et al. (WO03/089013) discloses the COX-2 inhibitor imaging probes
(abstract; p3, lines 4+; p5, lines 25+).
The A moiety comprises a 6-membered ring selected from heteroaryl, such as pyrimidinyl (p3, lines 4+; p6, lines 3-4; p8, lines 26+).
The R1 moiety comprises a methylsulfone (p3, line 12; p6, line 5).
The R2 moiety comprises a heteroaryl group (p3, lines 13-14; p6, lines 6-7).
The R3 moiety comprises a linear or branched alkyl halide, such as trifluoromethyl or a radioactive isotope, such as 18F (p3, lines 15-16; p4, line 28; p6, line 8; p11, lines 24+).
The R4 comprises hydrogen (p3, line 17; p6, line 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the -F substituted on the pyrimidinyl moiety
of Cortes-Salva et al. with a -CF3 as Toyokuni et al. teaches that a halo substituent is analogously substituted for an alkyl halide, such as trifluoromethyl on the 6-membered heterocycle group.
Claim(s) 1,26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortes-Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10).
Cortes-Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10) discloses the COX-2 inhibitor compound
(p6, scheme 1).
Cortes-Salva et al. does not explicitly disclose the compound
of the instant claims comprising a benzylamine moiety.
Cortes-Salva et al. further discloses
wherein R2 comprises 2-Thi or Ph (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the thiophene moiety for a phenyl moiety as Cortes-Salva et al. teaches of the analogous examination of R2 phenyl and thiophene substituents, from a finite list of substituents, for the advantage of imaging COX-2 via PET (p16, 4. Conclusions).
Cortes-Salva et al. does not explicitly disclose R1 is 18F.
Cortes-Salva et al. further discloses that the compounds are amenable for labeling with fluorine-18 (p4, 2.1. Target Inhibitor Selection for Radioligand Development).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the -F substituted on the pyrimidinyl moiety
of Cortes-Salva et al. with 18F as Cortes-Salva et al. teaches that the COX-2 compounds are amenable for labeling with fluorine-18 for the advantage of imaging COX-2 via PET.
Cortes-Salva et al. does not explicitly disclose the compound
of the instant claims wherein the benzylamine moiety is bound at the 2-position of the pyrimidinyl moiety.
Cortes-Salva et al. further discloses the compound
wherein the benzylamine moiety is bound at the 2-position of the pyrimidinyl moiety (Chart 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to bind the benzylamine moiety at the 2-position of the pyrimidinyl moiety, as taught by Cortes-Salva et al. for the examination of various COX-2 compounds for PET imaging of COX-2.
Claim(s) 1,27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortes-Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10) in view of Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1).
Cortes-Salva et al. (Molecules 2018, 23, 2850, p1-10) discloses the COX-2 inhibitor compounds
or the compound
wherein the benzylamine moiety is bound at the 2-position of the pyrimidinyl moiety (Chart 1;
(p6, scheme 1) as well as that stated above.
Cortes-Salva et al. does not explicitly disclose the compounds
or
of the instant claims.
Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1) discloses COX-2 compounds
wherein heterocycles comprise a thiazolyl or thiophene, etc. as well as that stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the thiophene moiety for a thiazolyl moiety for the examination of COX-2 compounds for PET imaging of COX-2 and monitoring the progress or regression of an inflammatory disease.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to bind a thiazolyl moiety at the 2-position of the pyrimidinyl moiety, as taught by
Cortes-Salva et al. of for the examination of various COX-2 compounds for PET imaging of COX-2.
Claim(s) 1 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1).
Mann et al. (US 2008/0138282A1) discloses COX-2 compounds
wherein A is 3- to 7-membered heterocycle, etc.; R1 is 18F-labeled C1-C6- alkyl group, etc.; R2 is -aryl, etc.; and R3 is -CF3, etc. (p2, [0011-0015]; p4, [0046]).
The 3- to 7-membered heterocycle comprises isoxazoyl, etc. (p4, [0046],[0048]).
The 18F-labeled C1-C6-alkyl group comprises -CH2CH218F, etc. (p2, [0037]).
The aryl comprises phenyl, etc. (p3, [0042]).
Mann et al. does not explicitly disclose the
compound of the instant claims.
Mann et al. further discloses the compound
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to substitute the -CH218F moiety for the -CH2CH218F as Mann et al. teaches of the
substitution of -CH218F for -CH2CH218F from a finite list of representative 18F-labeled C1-C6- alkyl groups.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618