DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed on 05/15/2026 has been entered. Claim 26 has been amended and thus claims 26-41 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 26-27 and 30-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Langston (Langston, J. A. et al. Patent application publication number US2012/0302477A1; cited in Office Action 03/29/2024).
Regarding claim 26, Langston teaches alkyl methacrylate composition (L125MA) comprising linear and branched residues with 2-methyl and 2-ethyl branching ([0010]-[0117]):
It is noted that the limitation “produced as a product of a process comprising…” in claim 26 is a product by process claim language as a result of the product ester composition. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the product ester composition, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the ester composition. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final composition, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
In this instance, the limitations given weight are the composition comprising C10-C36 on the alcohol side of the ester composition, and wherein the alcohol side of the ester composition is a mixture with linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl alkoxy group. However, the weight percent of each in the alcohol starting material composition does not necessarily obtain the same exact weight percent in the ester product composition. There is no disclosure in the specification that such alcohol starting composition with the specific weight percent of each linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl obtains the corresponding ester mixture with the same exact weight percent. As such, the composition of Langson anticipates the claimed composition.
Accordingly, claims 30-32 that further limit the product by process limitation are also not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 27, the alkyl methacrylates of Langston are mono-esters.
Regarding claim 33, Langston teaches that L125MA comprising alkyl methacrylates is used as lubricant oil composition ([0134]).
Regarding claims 34-41, the reference is silent about the ester composition being a plasticizer component, solvent component, coating component, ink component, cleaner component, binder component, paint stripper component or oilfield component. However, the aforementioned limitations are functional limitations reciting the purpose or intended use of the ester composition and do not impart a structural difference between the claimed composition and that of prior art. Accordingly, the intended use of the of claims 34-41 is of no significance to the structure of the ester composition and thus the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed ester composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed ester composition from that of prior art Langston.
In an alternative, if the alcohol composition recited in the product by process limitation produces esters with C10-C36 alcohols having less than 60 wt% linear, greater than 25 wt% 2-methyl and greater than 8 wt.% of 2-ethyl on the alkoxide group of the ester product composition, the claimed wt% of 2-methyl, greater than 25 wt%, is merely close to the 2-methyl branching of Langston, 14 wt% ([0117]). In view of MPEP § 2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In this instance, the claimed product composition with a higher wt% of 2-methyl does not appear to be critical over than of Langston. The instant specification ([63], page 21) describes the claimed product composition, carboxylation products, as having the same utility as the alkyl methacrylate composition of Langston ([134]), i.e. as lubricant.
The same rationale applies to the claimed 2-ethyl wt% recited in claims 30-32.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective to obtain a composition comprising carboxyl ester as instantly claimed in view of the teachings of Langston.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues
While it is understood that the same linear and branching can be maintained in the ester product composition as the alcohol composition, there is no evidence either in the claim or in the specification that the same weight percent of the linear and branched products as the alcohol composition are obtained in the product composition. Langston’s alkyl methacrylate composition has the linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl branching as instantly claimed.
In the alternative, even if the same weight percent of 2-methyl and 2-ethyl branching as the alcohol composition is maintained in the product composition, the wt% is deemed prima facie obvious for reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 28-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2014015527A (JP’527; original and machine translation cited in PTO-892 04/22/2025).
Regarding claims 26 and 28-29, JP’527 teaches a composition comprising phthalic diester of formula (1)
wherein R1 and R2 may be the same or different and each represents a linear or branched alkyl group having 4 to 12 alkyl groups ([0029]).
Examples of the alkyl group include linear alkyl groups such as n-butyl, n-pentyl, n-hexyl, n-heptyl, n-octyl, n-nonyl, n-decyl, n-undecyl, and n-dodedecyl groups; branched alkyl groups having 4 carbon atoms such as 2-methyl-1-propyl, 2-butatyl, and 2-methyl-2-propyl groups; branched alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms such as 3-methyl-1-butyl, 2-pentanol, 3-pentyl, 2-methyl-1-butyl, 2-methyl-2-butyl, 3-methyl-2-butyl, and 2,2-dimethyl-1-propyl groups; and 4-methyl- Branched chain alkyl groups having 6 carbon atoms, such as 1-pentyl, 2-hexyl, 3-hexyl, 2-methyl-1-pentyl, and 2-ethyl-1-butyl groups; branched chain alkyl groups having 7 carbon atoms, such as 5-methyl-1-hexyl, 2-heptyl, 3-heptyl, 4-heptyl, 2-methyl-1-hexyl, 2-methyl-3-hexyl, and 2-ethyl-1-pentyl groups; branched chain alkyl groups having 8 carbon atoms, such as 6-methyl-1-heptyl, 2-octyl, 3-octyl, 2-methyl-1-heptyl, and 2-ethyl-1-hexyl groups; and 7-methyl-1-octyl groups. branched alkyl groups having 9 carbon atoms, such as 2-nonyl, 3-nonyl, 2-methyl-1-octyl, 3-methyl-1-octyl, 4-methyl-1-octyl, 5-methyl-1-octyl, 6-methyl-1-octyl, 2-ethyl-1-heptyl, 2,4-dimethyl-1-heptyl, 2,5-dimethyl-1-heptyl, 4,6-dimethyl-1-heptyl, 2,6-dimethyl-4-heptyl, 3,5,5-trimethyl-1-hexyl, and 2,5,5-trimethyl-1-hexyl; 8-methyl-1-nonyl, 2-decyl, and 3-decyl groups ([0030]).
The reference further teaches that examples of branched alkyl groups having 10 carbon atoms include 2-methyl-1-nonyl group, 2-ethyl-1-octyl group, 2-propyl-1-heptyl group, 2,7-dimethyl-1-octyl group, 2,6-dimethyl-2-octyl group, 2,4-dimethyl-1-octyl group, 3,7-dimethyl-1-octyl group, 3,6-dimethyl-3-octyl group, 4-methyl-2-propyl-1-hexyl group, 5-methyl-2-propyl-1-hexyl group, 2-(1-methylethyl)-4-methyl-1-hexyl group, and 2-(1-methylethyl)-5-methyl-1-hexyl group ([0030]).
The difference between JP’527 and the instant claim is that the instant claim is drawn to a composition comprising carboxyl esters with C10-C36 linear, C10-C36 2-methyl and C10-C36 2-ethyl on the alcohol side of the carboxyl esters whereas JP’527 teaches a composition comprising phthalic esters with a number of linear and branched alkyl groups on the alcohol side, including C10-C11 that are linear, 2-methyl branched and 2-ethyl branched as claimed. However, a skilled artisan would have had reason to try the limited number of linear and branched alkyl groups of JP’527 with a reasonable expectation of success that at least one would work.
MPEP § 2143 states that the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, is likely to be obvious when it does no more than predictable results and with a reasonable expectation of success.
JP’527 teaches that the composition comprising the phthalic diester of formula (1) is used as a lubricant. As such, blending any linear and branched diester, including the alkyls with C10-C11 linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl, a skilled artisan has a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at a composition having a lubricant characteristic.
Even if the alcohol composition recited in the product by process limitation produces esters with C10-C36 alcohols having less than 60 wt% linear, greater than 25 wt% 2-methyl and greater than 8 wt.% of 2-ethyl on the alkoxide side of the ester product composition, the claimed wt% of each does not appear to be critical over than of JP’527. The instant specification ([63], page 21) describes the claimed product composition, carboxylation products, as having the same utility as the phthalic diester composition of JP’527 ([134]), i.e. as lubricant.
It is noted that the limitation “produced as a product of a process comprising the steps of…” in claim 26 is a product by process claim language as a result of the product ester composition. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the product ester composition, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the ester composition. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final composition, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
Accordingly, claims 30-32 that further limit the product by process limitation are also not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 33, as already indicated above, JP’527 teaches use of the diester composition in as lubricant.
Regarding claims 34-41, the reference is silent about the ester composition being a plasticizer component, a solvent component, a coating component, and ink component, a cleaner component, binder component, paint stripper component or oilfield component. However, the aforementioned limitations are functional limitations reciting the purpose or intended use of the ester composition and do not impart a structural difference between the claimed composition and that of prior art. Accordingly, the intended use of the of claims 34-41 is of no significance to the structure of the ester composition and thus the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed ester composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed ester composition from that of JP’527.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective to obtain a composition comprising carboxyl ester as instantly claimed in view of the teachings of JP’527.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the same arguments as indicated above.
The examiner maintains as above that the reaction steps recited in claim 26 is product by process claim language that is not given patentable weight. Furthermore, the examiner reiterates herein that there is no evidence that by following the reaction steps as claimed using reactants with the specific weight percent of each linear and branched, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl-, alcohols produces esters having the same weight percent of each linear and branched as the alcohol reactants. Neither the claims nor the specification indicates that the ester composition produced comprise the same wt% of the linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl as the claimed alcohols. Hence, any composition, as long as it comprises carboxyl esters of C10-C36 alcohols with linear esters, 2-methyl branched esters and 2-ethyl branched esters, such as the composition of JP’527, would read on the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-41 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/266,039 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims at issue are drawn to a composition comprising linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl on the alcohol side of the esters.
The difference between the instant composition and copending claims is that the instant composition recites that the esters are obtained from C10-C36 alcohols and carboxylic acids, whereas the copending claims recite that the esters are obtained from C8-C36 alcohols and carboxylic acids. The instant carbon numbers lie inside that of the copending claims, and in view of MPEP § 2144.04, where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It is noted that the limitation “produced as a product of a process comprising the steps of…” in claim 26 is a product by process claim language as a result of the product ester composition. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the product ester composition, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the ester composition. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final composition, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
Accordingly, claims 30-32 that further limit the product by process limitation are also not given patentable weight.
Regarding claims 33-41, the copending claims are silent about the ester composition being a lubricant component, a plasticizer component, a solvent component, a coating component, and ink component, a cleaner component, binder component, paint stripper component or oilfield component. However, the aforementioned limitations are functional limitations reciting the purpose or intended use of the ester composition and do not impart a structural difference between the claimed composition and that of prior art. Accordingly, the intended use of the of claims 34-41 is of no significance to the structure of the ester composition and thus the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed ester composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed ester composition from that of the copending claims.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective to obtain a composition comprising carboxyl ester as instantly claimed in view of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 26-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/562,959 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims at issue are drawn to a composition comprising linear, 2-methyl and 2-ethyl on the alcohol side of the esters.
The difference between the instant composition and copending claims is that the instant composition recites that the esters are obtained from C10-C36 alcohols and carboxylic acids, whereas the copending claims recite that the esters are obtained from C8-C36 alcohols and carboxylic acids. The instant carbon numbers lie inside that of the copending claims, and in view of MPEP § 2144.04, where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It is noted that the limitation “produced as a product of a process comprising the steps of…” in claim 26 is a product by process claim language as a result of the product ester composition. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the product ester composition, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the ester composition. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final composition, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
Accordingly, claims 30-32 that further limit the product by process limitation are also not given patentable weight.
Regarding claims 33-41, the copending claims are silent about the ester composition being a lubricant component, a plasticizer component, a solvent component, a coating component, and ink component, a cleaner component, binder component, paint stripper component or oilfield component. However, the aforementioned limitations are functional limitations reciting the purpose or intended use of the ester composition and do not impart a structural difference between the claimed composition and that of prior art. Accordingly, the intended use of the of claims 34-41 is of no significance to the structure of the ester composition and thus the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed ester composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed ester composition from that of the copending claims.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective to obtain a composition comprising carboxyl ester as instantly claimed in view of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 26-41 stand rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692