Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s response dated 12/22/25, the Applicant amended Claim 1, 22, 23, 25, canceled Claim 5, 6 and argued claims rejected in the Office Action dated 9/25/25. Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 22-25 are pending examination.
In light of the Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the 35 USC 103 rejections have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 22-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2)as being anticipated by Madsen et al., “Ex Vivo Human Placenta Perfusion, Metabolic and Functional Imaging for Obstetric Research—A Feasibility Study” (hereinafter “Madsen”).
Claim 1:
Madsen discloses:
A system for perfusing an ex vivo placenta to be imaged using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device (see abstract and page 2, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging), the system comprising:
a chamber configured to house the ex vivo placenta therein, wherein the chamber comprises a first portion and a second portion, and a first partition separating the chamber into the first portion and a second portion, wherein the ex vivo placenta is housed at least partially in the first portion (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches a chamber configured to house the ex vivo placenta in the portion and another part of the system; and
at least one radio frequency (RF) coil disposed in the second portion of the chamber and configured to detect MR signals generated, at least in part, by the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber during imaging performed by the MRI device (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches Imaging was performed on a 3 T Signa HDx MRI scanner (GE Healthcare, Milwaukee, WI) equipped with a 2 element 1 H array coil (GE Healthcare) and Clamshell 13C transmit coil (Rapid Biomedical GmbH, Rimpar, Germany). The perfusion chamber with the placenta was placed in the scanner isocenter such that the middle of the organ coincided with the radiofrequency center of both coils; and
at least one first inlet disposed in the second portion for receiving at least one first tube, the at least one first tube being configured to pass through at least part of the second portion to couple at least one first pump to a compartment of the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches an inlet in a portion connected to the chamber for receiving a tube pumps fluid to a portion of the placenta.
Claim 2:
Madsen discloses:
at least one second inlet disposed in the first portion for receiving at least one second tube, the at least one second tube being configured to couple at least one second pump to a maternal compartment of the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches an inlet disposed in the first portion for the placenta receiving fluid.
Claim 3:
Madsen discloses:
further comprising the at least one first tube and the at least one first pump (see figure 1). Madsen teaches a tube and a pump.
Claim 4:
Madsen discloses:
further comprising the at least one second tube and the at least one second pump (see figure 1). Madsen teaches multiple tubes and multiple pumps.
Claim 7:
Madsen discloses:
the at least one first pump is configured to pump a first solution to the fetal compartment of the ex vivo placenta through the at least one first tube; and the at least one second pump is configured to pump a second solution to the maternal compartment of the ex vivo placenta through the at least one second tube (see figure 1 and description). Madsen teaches 2 pumps to pump two solutions.
Claim 8:
Madsen discloses:
at least one third tube coupled to an injector at a first end and to the at least one first tube and/or the at least one second tube at least one second end (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches a tube used for injecting at the first end.
Claim 9:
Madsen discloses:
wherein the injector comprises an oxygenator for oxygenating the first and/or second solutions (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches an oxygenator for the solutions.
Claim 22:
Madsen discloses:
A system for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) compatible perfusion apparatus comprising (see abstract and page 2, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging):
a chamber configured to house the ex vivo placenta therein, wherein the chamber comprises a first portion, a second portion, and a first partition separating the chamber into the first portion and a second portion, wherein the ex vivo placenta, when present in the chamber, is housed at least partially in the first portion of the chamber (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches a chamber configured to house the ex vivo placenta in the portion and another part of the system; and
at least one first inlet arranged to receive at least one first tube configure to couple to a fetal compartment of the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches an inlet in a portion connected to the chamber for receiving to the fetal compartment;
at least one second inlet configured to receive at least one second tube configured to couple to a maternal compartment of the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches an inlet in a portion connected to the chamber for receiving to a maternal department;
at least one radio frequency (RF) coil disposed in the second portion of the chamber and configured to detect MR signals generated, at least in part, by the ex vivo placenta when present in the chamber during MR imaging (see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches Imaging was performed on a 3 T Signa HDx MRI scanner (GE Healthcare, Milwaukee, WI) equipped with a 2 element 1 H array coil (GE Healthcare) and Clamshell 13C transmit coil (Rapid Biomedical GmbH, Rimpar, Germany). The perfusion chamber with the placenta was placed in the scanner isocenter such that the middle of the organ coincided with the radiofrequency center of both coils.
Claim 23:
Madsen discloses:
wherein the at least one RF coil is coupled to the chamber below the first partition see page 2, figure 1, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging” Section). Madsen teaches Imaging was performed on a 3 T Signa HDx MRI scanner (GE Healthcare, Milwaukee, WI) equipped with a 2 element 1 H array coil (GE Healthcare) and Clamshell 13C transmit coil (Rapid Biomedical GmbH, Rimpar, Germany). The perfusion chamber with the placenta was placed in the scanner isocenter such that the middle of the organ coincided with the radiofrequency center of both coils.
Claim 24:
Madsen discloses:
further comprising: a first solution coupled to at least one first pump, the at least one first pump being coupled to the first tube; and a second solution coupled to at least one second pump, the at least one second pump being coupled to the at least one second tube, wherein the second solution is different than the first solution (see figure 1 and description). Madsen teaches 2 pumps to pump two solutions.
Claim 25:
Madsen discloses:
wherein the chamber further comprises a second partition separating the second portion from the third portion, the first portion comprises the at least one second inlet, and the third portion comprises the at least one first inlet (see figure 1 and description). Madsen multiple portions of a chamber with different inlets. This is a design choice; the same functions are being performed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 1/24/26