DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-14, 16, and 18-19 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-8 and 11-22 remain pending in the application.
Duplicate Claims, Warning
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-7 and 21 be found allowable, claims 12-18 and 22, respectively, will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US5613968A), hereinafter "Lin".
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches an articulating-tension arrangement (see Fig 2) for tensioning against and articulation (see Fig 2, Col 1, lines 52-54, Examiner notes universal pad fixation device for an orthopedic surgery, which can be adjusted angularly as for tensioning against and articulation) relative to an anchor point (Fig 2, portion 110) that has a planar bearing surface (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an upper surface of ring 112 of portion 110 as has a planar bearing surface), the arrangement (see Fig 2) including:
an elongate member (Fig 1a, screw 300) for extension (see Fig 2) through an aperture (Fig 1b, hole 113) defined by the anchor point (110) and having an elongation (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) in a direction (see Fig 2) generally transverse (see Fig 2) to a first plane (see Fig 2) within which the anchor point (110) lies (see Fig 2);
a tightening member (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes member 410 of nut 400 as a tightening member) operable for providing a tension force to pull (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as operable for providing a tension force to pull) the elongate member (300) through the aperture (113); and
an articulating-tension washer (Fig 2, pad 200), to be retained (see Fig 2) at the aperture (113) to transmit a force (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51) between the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the anchor point (110), including an arcuate surface (Fig 1b, surface 210) for location away (see Fig 2) from the aperture (113), the arcuate surface (210) extending (see Fig 1b) in an arc (see Fig 1b) symmetrically (see Fig 1b) across the direction (see Fig 2) of elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300);
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a first side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a side of pad 200 adjacent surface 210 as a first side) and a second side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as a second side), and defines a through aperture (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a through aperture of pad 200 as defines a through aperture) extending (see Fig 1b) between the first side (see Fig 1b) and the second side (see Fig 1b) and having an axis (see Fig 1b), the arcuate surface (210) is located (see Fig 1b) at the first side (see Fig 1b), the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a flat surface (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes the underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as includes a flat surface) located (see Fig 1b) at the second side (see Fig 1b), the flat surface (see Fig 1b) for engaging (see Fig 2) the planar bearing surface (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), and the flat surface (see Fig 1b) extending (see Fig 1b) in a second plane (see Fig 1b) that is generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300) and generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the axis (see Fig 1b) of the through aperture (see Fig 1b),
wherein the tightening member (see Fig 1b) is constructed and adapted to provide the tension force to pull (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as is constructed and adapted to provide the tension force to pull) the elongate member (300) through the articulating-tension washer (200) along the axis (see Fig 1b) in a direction (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) from the second side (see Fig 1b) toward the first side (see Fig 1b), and
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a protruding boss (Fig 1b, body 230) located (see Fig 1b) on the second side (see Fig 1b), protruding (see Fig 1b) from the flat surface (see Fig 1b), and encircling (see Fig 1b) the through aperture (see Fig 1b), the boss (230) being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder) and being [constructed and adapted to be located (see Fig 2) within the aperture (113) of the anchor point (110) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) engages (see Fig 2) the planar bearing surface (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), the boss (230) having a cylindrical outer surface (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as having a cylindrical outer surface) that extends (see Fig 1b) perpendicular (see Fig 1b) to the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) and being constructed and adapted to permit (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200) to be rotatable to orient (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200), and the arcuate surface (210) thereof, at any rotational position (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) relative to the axis (see Fig 1b) while the flat surface (see Fig 2) remains engaged (see Fig 2) with the anchor point (110) and with the boss (230) located (see Fig 2) within the anchor point (110)].
Claim language set in brackets set forth above and below in this office action are considered by the examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of an articulating-tension arrangement, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the examiner maintains that the universal pad fixation device for orthopedic surgery disclosed by Lin, is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting (see Fig 2, Col 1, lines 52-54, Examiner notes which can be adjusted angularly as is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting) of the elongate member (300) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200).
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the elongate member (300) extends (see Fig 2) through the through aperture (see Fig 1b), the through aperture (see Fig 1b) and the elongate member (300) are constructed and adapted (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) such that the elongate member (300) is permitted to pivot (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) within the through aperture (see Fig 1b).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 3 and further teaches wherein the through aperture (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a conical segment (see Fig 1b, Col 2, lines 35-37, Lin indicates conical).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is constructed and adapted to permit rocking (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the tightening member (see Fig 1b) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 1 and further teaches including a flat washer (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a flange of nut 400 as including a flat washer) interposed (see Fig 2) between the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the articulating-tension washer (210).
Regarding claim 7, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 6 and further teaches wherein the flat washer (see Fig 1b) is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the elongate member (300) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 6 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is constructed and adapted to permit rocking (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the flat washer (see Fig 1b) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200).
Regarding claim 11, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the arcuate surface (210) is symmetrical (see Fig 1b) across the axis (see Fig 1b).
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches an articulating-tension arrangement (see Fig 2) for tensioning against and articulation (see Fig 2, Col 1, lines 52-54, Examiner notes universal pad fixation device for an orthopedic surgery, which can be adjusted angularly as for tensioning against and articulation) relative to an anchor point (Fig 2, portion 110) having a bearing face (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an upper surface of ring 112 of portion 110 as having a bearing face) extending (see Fig 1b) in a plane (see Fig 2) and an aperture (Fig 1b, hole 113) therethrough, the arrangement (see Fig 2) including:
an elongate member (Fig 1a, screw 300) for extension (see Fig 2) through the aperture (113), the elongate member (300) having an elongation (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) in a direction (see Fig 2) generally transverse (see Fig 2) to the plane (see Fig 2);
a tightening member (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes member 410 of nut 400 as a tightening member) operable for providing a tension force to pull (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as operable for providing a tension force to pull) the elongate member (300) through the aperture (113); and
an articulating-tension washer (Fig 2, pad 200), to be retained (see Fig 2) relative to the bearing face (see Fig 1b) to transmit a force (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51) between the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the anchor point (110), including an arcuate surface (Fig 1b, surface 210) for location away (see Fig 2) from the bearing face (see Fig 1b), the arcuate surface (210) extending (see Fig 1b) in an arc (see Fig 1b) symmetrically (see Fig 1b) across the direction (see Fig 2) of elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300);
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a first side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a side of pad 200 adjacent surface 210 as a first side) and a second side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as a second side), and defines a through aperture (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a through aperture of pad 200 as defines a through aperture) extending (see Fig 1b) between the first side (see Fig 1b) and the second side (see Fig 1b) and having an axis (see Fig 1b), the arcuate surface (210) is located (see Fig 1b) at the first side (see Fig 1b), the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a flat surface (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes the underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as includes a flat surface) located (see Fig 1b) at the second side (see Fig 1b), the flat surface (see Fig 1b) for engaging (see Fig 2) the bearing face (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), and the flat surface (see Fig 1b) extending (see Fig 1b) in a second plane (see Fig 1b) that is generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300) and generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the axis (see Fig 1b) of the through aperture (see Fig 1b),
wherein the tightening member (see Fig 1b) is constructed and adapted to provide the tension force to pull (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as is constructed and adapted to provide the tension force to pull) the elongate member (300) through the articulating-tension washer (200) along the axis (see Fig 1b) in a direction (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) from the second side (see Fig 1b) toward the first side (see Fig 1b), and
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a protruding boss (Fig 1b, body 230) located (see Fig 1b) on the second side (see Fig 1b), protruding (see Fig 1b) from the flat surface (see Fig 1b), and encircling (see Fig 1b) the through aperture (see Fig 1b), the boss (230) being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder) and being [constructed and adapted to be located (see Fig 2) within the aperture (113) of the anchor point (110) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) engages (see Fig 2) the bearing face (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), the boss (230) having a cylindrical outer surface (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as having a cylindrical outer surface) that extends (see Fig 1b) perpendicular (see Fig 1b) to the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) and being constructed and adapted to permit (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200) to be rotatable to orient (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200), and the arcuate surface (210) thereof, at any rotational position (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) relative to the axis (see Fig 1b) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) remains engaged (see Fig 2) with the anchor point (110) and with the boss (230) located (see Fig 2) within the anchor point (110)].
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 12 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting (see Fig 2, Col 1, lines 52-54, Examiner notes which can be adjusted angularly as is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting) of the elongate member (300) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200).
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 12 and further teaches wherein the through aperture (see Fig 1b) and the elongate member (300) are constructed and adapted (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) such that the elongate member (300) is permitted to pivot (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) within the through aperture (see Fig 1b).
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 14 and further teaches wherein the through aperture (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a conical segment (see Fig 1b, Col 2, lines 35-37, Lin indicates conical).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 12 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is constructed and adapted to permit rocking (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the tightening member (see Fig 1b) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200) at a location (see Fig 2) away from the bearing face (see Fig 1b).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 12 and further teaches including a flat washer (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a flange of nut 400 as including a flat washer) interposed (see Fig 2) between the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the articulating-tension washer (210).
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in claim 17 and further teaches wherein the flat washer (see Fig 1b) is constructed and adapted to permit pivoting (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the elongate member (300) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200) at a location away (see Fig 2) from the bearing face (see Fig 1b).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches an articulating-tension washer (Fig 2, pad 200) [for an articulating-tension arrangement (see Fig 2) to be tensioned against and to permit articulation (see Fig 2, Col 1, lines 52-54, Examiner notes universal pad fixation device for an orthopedic surgery, which can be adjusted angularly as for an articulating-tension arrangement to be tensioned against and to permit articulation) relative to an anchor point (Fig 2, portion 110) having a bearing face (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an upper surface of ring 112 of portion 110 as having a bearing face) extending (see Fig 1b) in a plane (see Fig 2) and an aperture (Fig 1b, hole 113) therethrough, the arrangement (see Fig 2) including an elongate member (Fig 1a, screw 300) for extending (see Fig 2) through the aperture (113), the elongate member (300) having an elongation (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) in a direction (see Fig 2) generally transverse (see Fig 2) to the plane (see Fig 2), and the arrangement (see Fig 2) including a tightening member (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes member 410 of nut 400 as a tightening member) operable for providing a tension force to pull (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as operable for providing a tension force to pull) the elongate member (300) through the aperture (113), wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is to be retained (see Fig 2) relative to the bearing face (see Fig 1b) to transmit a force (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51) between the tightening member (see Fig 1b) and the anchor point (110)], and the articulating-tension washer (200) includes an arcuate surface (Fig 1b, surface 210) for location away (see Fig 2) from the bearing face (see Fig 1b), the arcuate surface (210) extending (see Fig 1b) in an arc (see Fig 1b) symmetrically (see Fig 1b) across the direction (see Fig 2) of elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300);
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a first side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a side of pad 200 adjacent surface 210 as a first side) and a second side (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes an underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as a second side), and defines a through aperture (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes a through aperture of pad 200 as defines a through aperture) extending (see Fig 1b) between the first side (see Fig 1b) and the second side (see Fig 1b) and having an axis (see Fig 1b), the arcuate surface (210) is located (see Fig 1b) at the first side (see Fig 1b), the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a flat surface (see Fig 1b, Examiner notes the underside of edge 220 of pad 200 as includes a flat surface) located (see Fig 1b) at the second side (see Fig 1b), the flat surface (see Fig 1b) for engaging (see Fig 1) the bearing face (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), and the flat surface (see Fig 1b) extending (see Fig 1b) in a second plane (see Fig 1b) that is generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the elongation (see Fig 2) of the elongate member (300) and generally transverse (see Fig 1b) to the axis (see Fig 1b) of the through aperture (see Fig 1b),
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is [constructed and adapted to permit the elongate member (300) to be pulled (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes fastening nut 400 is fastened with the second threaded portion 330 as is constructed and adapted to permit the elongate member to be pulled) through the articulating-tension washer (200) along the axis (see Fig 1b) in a direction (see Fig 2) extending (see Fig 2) from the second side (see Fig 1b) toward the first side (see Fig 1b) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) engages (see Fig 2) the bearing face (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110)], and
wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) includes a protruding boss (Fig 1b, body 230) located (see Fig 1b) on the second side (see Fig 1b), protruding (see Fig 1b) from the flat surface (see Fig 1b), and encircling (see Fig 1b) the through aperture (see Fig 1b), the boss (230) being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as being shaped as a non-threaded, straight-sided hollow cylinder) and being [constructed and adapted to be located (see Fig 2) within the anchor point (110) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) engages (see Fig 2) the bearing face (see Fig 1b) of the anchor point (110), the boss (230) having a cylindrical outer surface (see Fig 1b, Col 4, lines 34-51, Examiner notes circular body 230 as having a cylindrical outer surface) that extends (see Fig 1b) perpendicular (see Fig 1b) to the flat surface (see Fig 1b) of the articulating-tension washer (200) and being constructed and adapted to permit (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200) to be rotatable to orient (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) the articulating-tension washer (200), and the arcuate surface (210) thereof, at any rotational position (see Fig 2, Col 3, lines 7-18) relative to the axis (see Fig 1b) while the flat surface (see Fig 1b) remains engaged (see Fig 2) with the anchor point (110) and with the boss (230) located (see Fig 2) within the anchor point (110)].
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches the articulating-tension washer (200) as set forth in claim 19 and further teaches wherein the articulating-tension washer (200) is [configured to permit rocking (see Figs 1b-2, Col 4, lines 34-51) of the tightening member (see Fig 1b) relative to the arcuate surface (210) of the articulating-tension washer (200) at a location away (see Fig 2) from the bearing face (see Fig 1b)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin.
Regarding claims 21-22, Lin teaches the arrangement (see Fig 2) as set forth in [claim 21: claim 1; claim 22: claim 12] but fails to teach wherein an axial length of the boss being less than an axial length of the arcuate surface.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified an axial length of the boss as disclosed by Lin to be less than an axial length of the arcuate surface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate use of the device with different requirements, e.g. fixation rings having varying thicknesses, increasing/decreasing compensation for relative movement to accommodate different angularly adjustments, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675