DETAILED ACTION
A summary of this action:
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
This action is Final.
Response to Arguments
Following Applicants amendments to the Claims, the objections of the Claims are Withdrawn.
Following Applicants arguments and amendments, and in light of the 2019 Patent Eligibility guidance, the 101 rejection of the Claims is Maintained.
Following Applicants arguments and amendments, the 102 rejection of the claims is Maintained.
Applicant’s Argument 1: Applicant argues that BOWEN fails to disclose data defining how a product was viewed (e.g., in a graphics viewer) at a time a text or image was added to an item. Applicant further argues that BOWEN fails to describe associating viewer state data (defining a view of rendered object) with annotations, and rendering the object based on the viewer state data associated with a displayed annotation. Applicant argues that the amended claims 1, 2, and 13 embodiments are directed to “retrieving annotations” each of which is associated with viewer state data that defines a view of a rendered objects in a 3D graphics viewer at a time the corresponding annotation was created. Applicant’s arguments, which directed the 102 rejection, are based on newly amended subject matter.
Examiner’s Response 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees because BOWEN describes and anticipates Applicant’s proposed amended claim limitations in specification paragraphs BOWEN ([0229] discloses “optionally, tutorial or other help user interfaces may be presented for a product provider and/or for an end user to assist in the use of user interfaces and processes described herein. For example, a system may determine what user interface the user is viewing and/or what feature of a user interface a user is accessing (e.g., by detecting what control or design element the user is touching, pointing at, or otherwise focusing on), and based at least in part on such determination, infer what operation the user is attempting to perform. The system may then adaptively provide help (visually and/or audibly) to guide the user in performing the operation. For example, if the system detects that a user is touching a color in a color menu, the system may cause a "set as default" control and an "add to palette" control to be highlighted (e.g., by changing the control color, by drawing a boarder around the control, by flashing the control, by causing an arrow to point at the control, or otherwise) to indicate that the user may want to set the selected color as a default color or add the selected color to the color palette as a non-default color.”) User detection of the screen being touched at a time a text or image was added to an item is confirmed in the system when it sets a default control and adds a color palette by flashing the control to notify and display to the user that viewer state data associated with a rendered object with annotations and based on the viewer state data associated with a displayed annotation because it allows the user to visually see the annotations (defining how a product was viewed) based on touching the display and then deciding whether to use a default color or not. Accordingly, all arguments are addressed in the 102 rejection of the claims below. Furthermore, BOWEN specification paragraph ([0008] and [0076-0077] describes associating viewer state data (defining a view of rendered object) with annotations, and rendering the object based on the viewer state data associated with a displayed annotation when “the CAD computing device configured to (CAD file includes rendering instructions): receive a user selection of an item of manufacture; access from the data media an image (object) corresponding to the selected item of manufacture; cause the image corresponding to the selected item of manufacture to be rendered in a customization user interface (graphics viewer).”) See also BOWEN ([0076-0077] “The image (rendered objects) may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (in a three-dimensional 3D graphics viewer) (where the surface of a depicted item (an object) is rendered in three dimensions (to render an object in a three-dimensional (3D)). For example, a three-dimensional model (system) of an item may utilize points in three-dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping (rendering instructions) may be utilized to define surfaces (readable by the system) of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([0012].) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”) Accordingly, all arguments are addressed in the 102 rejection of the claims below.
Applicant’s Argument 2: Applicant argues that BOWEN fails to disclose data defining how a product was viewed (e.g., in a graphics viewer) at a time a text or image was added to an item. Applicant further argues that BOWEN fails to describe associating viewer state data (defining a view of rendered object) with annotations, and rendering the object based on the viewer state data associated with a displayed annotation. Applicant’s arguments directed the 102 rejection are based on newly amended subject matter.
Examiner’s Response 2: Examiner respectfully disagrees because similar to Applicant Argument1 BOWEN specification paragraph ([0231] discloses “FIGS. 5A-5B illustrate example operations that may be performed with respect to an item provider that is specifying an item and that is specifying end user customization permissions/restrictions. At block 502, an item specification interface is rendered on a user device (e.g., an item provider device), optionally in response to a user input (defining how a product was viewed). At block 504, a new item specification is received (at a time a text or image was added to an item) and stored. For example, the item specification may include item name, item category, description, sizes, item color, and the like. At block 506, an item view identification user interface is rendered (defining how a product was viewed). At block 508, an item view is selected by the user from a gallery of generic items view or the user may upload an image of a side of the actual item. The item view selection or upload is received. At block 510, a color selection user interface is rendered, optionally in response (at a time a text or image was added to an item) to a user input.”) An item view identification user interface defines how a product is viewed because as BOWER discloses the item or product is selected by the user from a gallery of generic items view where the user may upload an image of a side of the actual item. See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”) Accordingly, all arguments are addressed in the 102 rejection of the claims below.
Therefore, the 102 rejection is Maintained.
Following Applicants arguments and amendments, the 103 rejection of the claims is Maintained.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that dependent claims 4-6, 10, 11, 17, and 20 depend from independent claims 2 or 13, and incorporate the features in those claims. Furthermore, Applicant argues that BOWEN cannot support a proper 102 rejection of amended independent claims 2 and 14 and cannot support a 103 rejection of dependent claims. Applicant’s arguments directed to the 103 rejection are based on newly amended subject matter.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees based on the cited specifications in BOWEN under the 102 analysis above because BOWEN does disclose the amended claim limitations Applicant is proposing. Accordingly, all arguments are addressed in the 103 rejection of the claims below.
Therefore, the 103 rejection is Maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 12-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BOWEN (US 20190108292 A1), herein, BOWEN.
Claim 1
Claim 1 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions BOWEN ([0005] “An aspect of the disclosure relates to a computer system (e.g., a computer aided design system) comprising: a computing device; a network interface; a non-transitory data media configured to store instructions.”) See also BOWEN ([0008] “An aspect of the disclosure relates to a system comprising: a non-transitory data media configured to store design area specifications for one or more items of manufacture, customization permissions, and design rules; a computer- aided design (CAD) computing device in communication with the data media.”)
BOWEN also anticipates when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: retrieve a set of annotations associated with a computer-aided design (CAD) file BOWEN ([0035] “Optionally, palettes (e.g., color, font, effect, etc.) associated with one design element item (e.g., a default asset, text, image, etc.) may be automatically associated with other design element items added to a design element palette.”) See also BOWEN ([0068] “The CAD system 102 may include one or more processing units 120 (e.g., a general purpose process and/or a high speed graphics processor with integrated transform, lighting, triangle setup/clipping, and/or rendering engines), one or more network interfaces 122, a non-transitory computer- readable medium drive 124, and an input/output device interface 126, all of which may communicate with one another by way of one or more communication buses.”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 11].)
Figure 11: BOWEN Process Flow of Retrieving Annotations Label 1108
BOWEN also anticipates wherein the CAD file includes rendering instructions readable by the system to render an object in a three-dimensional (3D) graphics viewer BOWEN ([0008] “the CAD computing device configured to (CAD file includes rendering instructions): receive a user selection of an item of manufacture; access from the data media an image (object) corresponding to the selected item of manufacture; cause the image corresponding to the selected item of manufacture to be rendered in a customization user interface (graphics viewer).”) See also BOWEN ([0076-0077] “The image (rendered objects) may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (in a three-dimensional 3D graphics viewer) (where the surface of a depicted item (an object) is rendered in three dimensions (to render an object in a three-dimensional (3D)). For example, a three-dimensional model (system) of an item may utilize points in three-dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping (rendering instructions) may be utilized to define surfaces (readable by the system) of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([0008] and [0012].) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates wherein each annotation in the set has associated annotation data directed to a modification to at least one parameter of the object and associated viewer state data that defines a view of the rendered object in the 3D graphics viewer at a time the corresponding annotation data was created BOWEN ([0091] “FIG. 2I illustrates a products user interface via which a user can view a listing of items (object) that the user has authorization to edit, remove, publish, or unpublish. For example, the listing may be products to be offered by an online store associated with the user. The user interface may include data accessed from a database record associated with the user/user store. A given product listing entry (one parameter) may include a product name (associated viewer state data) and date/time last published (time the corresponding annotation data was created).” See BOWEN ([0258] “At block 1104, a next or previous design element (at least one parameter of the object) command (directed to a modification) may be received and detected. For example, if the user interface (a 3D graphics viewer) is displayed via a touch screen (associated viewer), the next or previous design element command may be received (defines a view of the rendered object) via a left or a right swipe gesture using one or more fingers or a stylus (corresponding annotation data created). Optionally, visible next (a view) and previous (a view) controls (viewer state data that defines a view) may be provided that may be clicked on or otherwise selected. Optionally, a suggestion control (viewer state data that defines a view) may be provided which may be used to instruct the process to suggest a template (rendered object) (rather than provide the last or next template).”) See also BOWEN ([0078] “Optionally, the model may be provided using WebGL (Web Graphics Library) which utilizes a JavaScript API (which may be used with HTML5) (3D graphics viewer) to render an interactive 3D or 2D graphic (render object). The interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics to the model, and/or animate the model (at a time the corresponding annotation data was created). For example, a user interface may enable the user to manipulate the model via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls.”) See also BOWEN ([0054], [0107 -109] , [0124] , [0126] , and [0128].”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates display a first annotation from the set of annotations in the 3D graphics viewer by displaying the annotation data associated with the first annotation BOWEN ([0004] “that when executed by the computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations (display a first annotation) comprising: provide for display on a first user terminal an interface (3D graphics viewer) enabling a first user to select one or more design elements (a first annotation from the set of annotations); provide for display on the first user terminal an interface enabling the first user to specify a plurality of types of proscribed content (display annotation data associated with the first annotation).”) See also BOWEN [0114] “For example, as similarly discussed above, a three dimensional model of an item (set of annotations) may utilize points (first annotation from the set of annotations) in three dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping may be utilized to define surfaces of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 4WWW] and [FIG. 4YYY].) See also BOWEN ([0160] “FIGS. 3V-3X illustrates additional example user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) that may be used to customize an item. Referring to FIG. 3V, in this example, the user has selected a hoodie sport jacket. In this example, an image corresponding to the front side of the jacket (annotation data associated with first annotation) is accessed from memory and displayed (display first annotation) as a default side, optionally in an item provider specified default color or a color specified by the user. The image may be a two dimensional or three-dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions (3D graphics viewer).”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
Figure YYY: BOWEN Completed Shirt
Figure WWW: BOWEN Color and Text Annotations
BOWEN also anticipates display a first annotation from the set of annotations in the graphics viewer by rendering the object in the 3D graphics viewer according to viewer state data associated with the first annotation BOWEN ([0160] “FIGS. 3V-3X illustrates additional example user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) that may be used to customize an item. Referring to FIG. 3V, in this example, the user has selected a hoodie sport jacket (first annotation). In this example, an image corresponding to the front side (viewer state data) of the jacket (associated with the first annotation) is accessed from memory and displayed (display first annotation) as a default side, optionally in an item provider specified default color or a color specified by the user. The image may be a two dimensional or three-dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions (rendering the object in the 3D graphics viewer).”) See also BOWEN ([0293] “At block 1378, the content is displayed on the product image. Optionally, the content is incrementally displayed as the user types or draws the content.”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 4S].) See also BOWEN ([0076] “The image may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions).”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
Figure 13B: BOWEN Process Flow of Displaying First Annotation from a Set of Annotations
BOWEN also anticipates in response to a user input to display a second annotation from the set of annotations, display the second annotation by displaying the annotation data associated with the second annotation BOWEN ([0005] “enable a second user to access, via a second user terminal, the first design element; access the specification of proscribed content associated with the first design element; provide, for display on the second user terminal, a design customization user interface enabling the second user to combine digital content with the first design element.”; [0018] “enable the first user to select from the design element gallery or provide a second design element to be associated with the first template; cause the second design element to be displayed on the image of the first item in place of the first design element; enable the first user to add the first design element and the second design element to a design element palette; enable the first user to select from a text gallery or provide a first text to be associated with the first template; cause the first text to be displayed on the image of the first item; enable the first user to resize or move the first text displayed on the image of the first item; enable the first user to select from the text gallery or provide a second text to be associated with the first template; cause the second text to be displayed on the image of the first item in place of the first text;”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 11].)
BOWEN also anticipates modifying the rendering of the object in the 3D graphics viewer in order to render the object according to viewer state data associated with the second annotation BOWEN ([0076-0077] “The image may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions). For example, a three-dimensional model of an item may utilize points in three-dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping may be utilized to define surfaces of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([0005] “receive, via the network interface, from the first user terminal, a specification of proscribed content (rendered object) ; store the specification of proscribed content (rendered object) in association with at least the first design element (annotation); enable a second user to access, via a second user terminal, the first design element (annotation); access the specification of proscribed content (rendered object) associated with the first design element (annotation); provide, for display on the second user terminal, a design customization user interface enabling the second user to combine digital content (second annotation) with the first design element (annotation), wherein the digital content comprises image, text, and/or audio content; determine, using an analysis engine, whether content combined by the second user with the first design element (annotation) includes content included in the specification of proscribed content (rendered object).”) See also BOWEN ([0263] “At block 1112, the edits that are determined to be apply-able to the second design element are applied. At block 1114, the second template is rendered on the first design area of the model of the item.”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 11] and [0018].) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates in response receiving approval of one or more of the annotations in the set of annotations, generate manufacturing instructions for manufacture of the object based on the CAD file and the one or more approved annotations BOWEN ([0058] “The CAD system 102 may optionally generate, based on an end-user design or design modification, corresponding order forms and/or manufacturing instructions.”) See also BOWEN ([0060] “The CAD system 102 may optionally generate directives in the form of manufacturing machine instructions for applying (e.g., printing or embroidering). For example, design files may be provided that include an image file ( e.g., in raster graphics file format, such as a portable network graphics file) and screenshots of the user customized item.”) See also BOWEN ([0063] “The inventory/ordering system 104 may receive and process an order for a customized item, generate prices for a customized item (e.g., based on a base item price, the number of customizations, and/or the type of customizations), maintain a user shopping cart, and generally interact with a user ordering an item and managing the ordering process. The inventory/ordering system 104, when receiving an order for a customized item customized using the CAD system 102, may determine if the item being designed/ modified is in stock, and order items that are below a specified threshold ( e.g., zero or some number greater than zero).” See also BOWEN ([0008] “receive a design element edit instruction (receiving approval of one or more of the annotations) via an edit tool in the first set of edit tools (set of annotations); cause the design element to be rendered (generate manufacturing instructions) in accordance with the edit instruction (approved annotations) in real time in the selected design area.”) See also BOWEN ([0060] “The CAD system 102 may optionally generate directives in the form of manufacturing machine instructions (for applying (e.g., printing or embroidering). For example, design files (CAD file) may be provided that include an image file (e.g., in raster graphics file format, such as a portable network graphics file) and screenshots of the user customized item (set of annotation).”)
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates at least one computer-readable storage medium, excluding transitory signals and carrying instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a system, cause the system to access a set of annotations associated with a computer-aided design (CAD) file BOWEN ([0007] “An aspect of the disclosure relates to computer system comprising: a computing device; a network interface; a non-transitory data media configured to store instructions that when executed by the computing device (carrying instructions), cause the computing device to perform operations comprising…access the specification of proscribed content (set of annotations) associated with the first design element (CAD file) in response to a first event.”) See also BOWEN ([0014] “cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: provide a design area user interface that includes a depiction of a side of a first product and that provides a tool enabling a first user to specify one or more design areas on the depiction of the side of the first product; receive a design area specification for a first design area via the design area user specification and cause a first design area perimeter to be rendered on the depiction of the side of the first product.”) See also BOWEN ([0008-0013] , and [0016].”)
BOWEN also anticipates wherein the CAD file includes rendering instructions readable by the system to render an object in a three-dimensional (3D) graphics viewer BOWEN ([0007] “enable the specification of proscribed content (rendering instructions) to be utilized (to render an object) to determine, by an analysis engine (graphics viewer), whether digital content that a second user is combining with the first design element includes content included in the specification of proscribed content.”) See also BOWEN ([FIG. 4s] , [0005-0007] , [0009] , and [0012].”) See also BOWEN ([0076-0077] “The image may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions). For example, a three-dimensional model of an item may utilize points in three-dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping may be utilized to define surfaces of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates wherein each annotation in the set has associated annotation data directed to a modification to at least one parameter of the object and associated viewer state data that defines a view of the rendered object in the 3D graphics viewer at a time the corresponding annotation data was created BOWEN ([0091] “FIG. 2I illustrates a products user interface via which a user can view a listing (defines a view) of items (rendered object) that the user has authorization to edit, remove, publish, or unpublish. For example, the listing may be products to be offered by an online store associated with the user. The user interface may include data accessed from a database record associated with the user/user store. A given product listing entry (one parameter) may include a product name (associated viewer state data) and date/time last published (time the corresponding annotation data was created).” See also BOWEN ([0054] , [0107 -109] , [0124] , [0126] , and [0128].”) See also BOWEN ([0076-0077] “The image may be a two dimensional or three dimensional model (where the surface of a depicted item is rendered in three dimensions). For example, a three-dimensional model of an item may utilize points in three-dimensional space, connected by triangles, lines, curved surfaces, or the like. Texture mapping may be utilized to define surfaces of the 3D model. The 3D model may be a solid model or a boundary model (which may be constructed using a mesh).”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates display a first annotation from the set of annotations in the 3D graphics viewer by: displaying the annotation data associated with the first annotation BOWEN ([0183] “If the user selects the "set as default" control, the example user interface (graphics viewer) illustrated in FIG. 4K is displayed, with the default color added (first annotation data) to a color palette field towards the top of the user interface, with a corresponding notation (annotation data associated with first annotation) (e.g., "main color (this is the default color for this sticker).”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates rendering the object in the 3D graphics viewer according to the viewer state data associated with the first annotation BOWEN ([0240] “At block 622, the image (object) is rendered in real time in the selected design area (graphics viewer). In addition, the permitted editing tools (viewer state data associated with first annotation) are determined and displayed.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates in response to a user input to display a second annotation from the set of annotations, display the second annotation by displaying the annotation data associated with the second annotation BOWEN ([0239] “At block 606, customization interface may be rendered. The customization interface (set of annotations) may display an image (second annotation) corresponding to a default side of the user selected item, optionally in an item provider specified default color (annotation data associated with the second annotation).” See also BOWEN ([0209] “If the user selects the paint can color palette user icon, the example user interface illustrated in FIG. 4VV may be displayed. The user interface includes horizontal, scrollable menus of colors from which to choose. A first row of colors may be utilized to set the fill color of the text, while the second row of colors (second annotation from the set of annotations) may be utilized to set the outline/ border color (second annotation) of the text.”) See also [0018]
BOWEN also anticipates modifying the rendering of the object in the 3D graphics viewer in order to render the object according to the viewer state associated with the second annotation BOWEN ([0239] “A side selection control (graphics viewer) may be provided via which the user can view and select an image (second annotation) of a different side. The design areas (object) specified by the item provider may be highlighted on the item image. The user may select (e.g., by clicking on) a design area (object) to add to or modify the design area.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates the limitations in claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates wherein the rendering instructions when executed further cause the system to manipulate the object within the 3D graphics viewer to a specified viewer state in response to a manipulation input received from a user BOWEN ([0078] “Optionally, the model may be provided using WebGL (Web Graphics Library) which utilizes a JavaScript (wherein the rendering instructions) API (within the 3D graphics viewer) (which may be used with HTML5) to render an interactive 3D or 2D graphic. The interactive 3D model may enable the user to spin the model, rotate the model in any direction, scale the model in or out, add text or graphics to the model, and/or animate the model. For example, a user interface (within the 3D graphics viewer) may enable (when executed further cause the system) the user to manipulate the model (to manipulate the object) via touch or via discrete spin, rotate, scale controls.”) See also BOWEN ([0239] “An item color selection interface (graphics viewer) may be provided (e.g., including a palette of colors) via which the user can select (manipulate) an item color (manipulation input). At block 608, a user color selection (manipulation input) for the item (object) is received.”)
BOWEN also anticipates in response to an annotation input received from the user within the 3D graphics viewer, define a new annotation directed to the rendered object, the new annotation including new annotation data specifying a corresponding modification to at least one parameter of the object BOWEN ([0240] “At block 616, a user selection of an add image control is received. At block 618, an interface is presented that includes a gallery of images (new annotation directed to the rendered object) that item (object) the provider indicated may be used to customize the item and/or selected design area (parameter of the object). The interface may include controls (new annotation data) via which the user can select and upload/link to an image to be added to the selected design area. At block 620, a user image selection or upload is received. At block 622, the image is rendered in real time in the selected design area. In addition, the permitted editing tools are determined and displayed. For example, depending on the restrictions/permissions specified by the item provider for the item or the design area, one or more of the following tools may be presented and enabled: resize, drag, rotate, change font, change color, delete, or the like.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates store the new annotation data in association with an identifier of the specified viewer state BOWEN ([0093] “In the illustrated example, the user interface indicates via respective borders, shading/coloring, and identifiers, that the jacket has four design areas that had been specified by the item provider (design area 1-chest, design area 2-muff, design area 3-right sleeve, design area 4-left sleeve). The user interface provides various tools ( e.g., an add image control, an add text control). A preview control is provided which when activated, will cause the item to be realistically rendered with any customizations.”) See also BOWEN ([0097] , [0118] , and [FIG. 5A].)
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates the limitations in claim 2.
BOWEN anticipates wherein annotations in the set of annotations were created by a first user during a first user session BOWEN ([0062] “The system 102 may transmit over a network respective collaboration invitations to respective invitee collaborator destination addresses (e.g., by email address, mobile phone number, other communication address, etc.). A given invitation may provide a link (second user session asynchronous from the first user session) to the corresponding project hosted by the system 102, where the link may also uniquely identify the invitee (second user). Activation of the link may further cause a CAD item customization interface to be presented displaying the corresponding item (first annotation) that is the subject of the project, with the design element(s) that the invitee (second user) is permitted to customized emphasized (e.g., via balding, line width, text, and/or otherwise).”)
BOWEN also teaches wherein displaying the first annotation comprises displaying the first annotation to a second user during a second user session that is asynchronous from the first user session BOWEN ([0062] “Optionally, in addition to or instead of a link, a unique code may be generated and provided in the invitation, wherein a user interface is provided to receive the code from the invitee. The system 102 may then permit a given invitee to design the item in accordance with the invitee's respective permissions and prohibitions.”)
Claim 8
Claim 8 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates the limitations in claim 2.
BOWEN anticipates wherein the annotation data associated with the first annotation includes a shape displayed at a position relative to the object when rendered according to the viewer state data associated with the first annotation BOWEN ([0042] “The CAD system may provide tools that enable a user (e.g., an item/product provider) to specify one or more design element areas (position relative to the object) in which a respective design element (first annotation) may be applied. For example, a tool may be provided which enables a user to draw a bounding shape (shape displayed) on a product, such as a hoodie jacket, which designates an area (position relative to the object when rendered) of the product as an area to which a design element may be added (according to the viewer state data associated with the first annotation).”) See also BOWEN ([0086] “A design area specification tool (e.g., an "add printable area" tool) may be provided that enables a user to draw (first annotation) or otherwise specify a design area perimeter (shape). By way of illustration (displayed), a user may select the tool, specify a first corner (position) via a pointer (e.g., mouse, stylus, finger), drag the pointer to indicate a diagonally opposite corner, and a corresponding perimeter will be drawn ( e.g., using dashed lines or other indicator), which may be in the form of a rectangle or square (although other shapes may be used) (relative to object rendered according to the viewer state data).”)
Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates the limitations in claim 8.
BOWEN anticipates wherein the instructions when executed further cause the system to: in response to a user input to manipulate a view of the object, maintain the position of the shape relative to the object during the manipulation BOWEN ([0087] “Referring again to FIG. 2E, a ratio control may be provided via which the user can specify (instructions when executed) a height to width ratio for the design area. Controls may be provided enabling (response to user input) the user to grab a corner or side (maintain the position of the shape) of the perimeter and drag the grabbed portion to change (manipulate) the size of the design area perimeter (e.g., make the perimeter larger or smaller), rotate the perimeter, move the perimeter to a different portion of the item, and delete the perimeter. Fields are provided via which the user can assign an identifier (e.g., an alphanumeric name) for each design area.”)
Claim 12
Claim 12 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates the limitations in claim 2. BOWEN anticipates wherein the instructions when executed further cause the system to generate manufacturing instructions for manufacturing the object based on the CAD file and the set of annotations BOWEN ([0060] “The CAD system 102 may optionally generate directives in the form of manufacturing machine instructions (for applying (e.g., printing or embroidering). For example, design files (CAD file) may be provided that include an image file (e.g., in raster graphics file format, such as a portable network graphics file) and screenshots of the user customized item (set of annotation).”)
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected because BOWEN anticipates receive a computer-aided design (CAD) file that includes rendering instructions readable by the system to render an object in a three-dimensional (3D) graphics viewer BOWEN ([0008] “receive a user selection of an item of manufacture; access from the data media an image corresponding to the selected item of manufacture; cause the image corresponding to the selected item of manufacture to be rendered in a customization user interface.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates capture an annotation directed to the rendered object based on a user input received at the 3D graphics viewer, the annotation specifying a modification to at least one parameter of the object BOWEN ([0294] “At block 1382, in response to the user activation of the default control (user input received), the corresponding selected content (annotated parameter) is displayed (captured) in a content palette field (graphics viewer). The content palette field is configured to display content (annotation) designated by the user as to be made available to end users (or licensees) in customizing the template. The content designated as the default content may be highlighted (via position as the first content in the palette, via an icon, via a text notation, and/or via other technique) to distinguish (specifying a modification) the default content from other content in the content palette field.”) See also BOWEN ([0008] “An aspect of the disclosure relates to a system comprising: a non-transitory data media configured to store design area specifications for one or more items of manufacture, customization permissions, and design rules; a computer- aided design (CAD) computing device in communication with the data media.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates and a view of the rendered object in the 3D graphics viewer at a time the annotation was created BOWEN ([0185] “The illustrated user interface provides separate lock controls for resizing, rotating, and layers (a view of the rendered object). Thus, for example, a user can selectively lock or unlock resizing, rotating, and/or adding layers to the asset. On or adjacent to the paint can symbol, a number indicating the number of colors (e.g., solid colors, patterns, etc.) in the palette is presented. The user can activate a save sticker command to save the sticker, modifications thereto, the defined palettes, and the various specified permissions. Once the user activates the save sticker control, the example user interface illustrated in FIG. 4Q is presented (a view of the rendered object), indicating what modifications an end user may or may not make (at a time the annotation was created). The user can activate the done control to save the various lock and unlock instructions.”) See also BOWEN ([0069] “The CAD application module components may include a GUI component that generates graphical user interfaces (3D graphics viewer) and processes user inputs, a design enforcement component to ensure that user designs do not violate respective permissions/restrictions, a CAD file generator that generates data files for an inputted user design, and/or an image generator that generates image data files for printing and/or sewing/embroidering machines.”)
BOWEN also anticipates generate manufacturing instructions for manufacturing of the object based on the CAD file and the annotation BOWEN ([Abstract] “A computer-aided design system (CAD file and the annotation) enables physical articles (object) to be customized via printing or embroidering (for manufacturing) and enables digital content to be customized and electronically shared. A user interface may be generated that includes an image of a model of an article of manufacture and user customizable design areas that are graphically indicated on the image corresponding to the model. A design area selection may be received. In response to an add design element instruction and design element specification, the specified design element is rendered in the selected design area on the model image. Customization permissions associated with the selected design area are accessed, and using the cus